Marketing and Advertising


Ad Spending

  • Ad*Access
    Ad*Access includes over 7,000 U.S. and Canadian advertisement images from newspaper and magazines for the period between 1911 and 1955. This free database is provided by Duke University libraries.
  • Ad$pender
    An online database that tracks millions of ad spending for millions of brands and companies across 18 media and ranks top spenders by industry, parent, brand, etc.  Contains a rolling five years worth of data.  For older data consult the print source, Ad$Summary, available from 1974 to 2005.  Please note: on-campus and off-campus access to this resource is restricted to CURRENT Columbia University students, faculty and staff.
  • Advertising Ratios & Budgets
    HF 5802 .A26 (Latest volume in Watson reference stacks)
    Tracks advertising expenditures for publicly traded companies. Also reports current and historical ad budgets, the ratio of ad spending to net sales, the ratio of ad spending to gross margin, and the annual average compound growth in ad spending for each company.
  • Brands and Their Companies
    T 223.V4 A221 (Latest volume in Watson reference stacks)
    Provides basic information on consumer brands and the manufacturers and distributors responsible for them. 
  • Advertising Red Books
    HF 5805 .S7312 (Latest volume in Watson reference stacks)
    Provides information on companies which spend a minimum of $200,000 on advertising
  • Standard Rate & Data Service (SRDS)
    SRDS contains media information, including advertising rates, deadline dates and contact data for the print and broadcast media. Includes the Direct Marketing List Source and Out of Home Advertising Source.

Demographics

  • American FactFinder
    AmericanFactFinder (AFF) is an online source for population, housing, economic and geographic data that presents the results from four key data programs: Decennial Census of Housing and Population - 1990 and 2000, Economic Census 1997 and 2002, American Community Survey - 1996-present, Population Estimates Program - July 1, 2003-present
  • The American Marketplace: Demographics and Spending Patterns
    1997 to present [updated biennally]
    Includes tabular data divided into eight topic areas and organized alphabetically: Education; Health; Income; Labor Force; Living Arrangements; Population; Spending; and Wealth. Tables are based primarily on data collected by the federal government. Also includes text analyzing the data and highlighting future trends. 
  • County and City Extra: Annual Metro, City and County Data Book [Some years available online]
    HA 203.C68 (Lastest volume in Watson reference stacks)
    Annual publication providing the latest statistical information for every state, county, metropolitan area, congressional district, and city in the United States with a population over 25,000. The vast majority of data is obtained from federal government sources.
  • Global Market Information Database
    GMID contains over a million demographic, economic and marketing statistics for 205 countries worldwide. The database also contains 6-year historic market size data for more than 330 consumer products in 52 countries, plus 5-year forecasts.  Please note: on-campus and off-campus access to this resource is restricted to CURRENT Columbia University students, faculty and staff.
  • Infoshare Online
    Contains population statistics, immigration trends, socio-economic indicators, birth and death data, hospitalizations, local economic data at the county level.
  • Lifestyle Market Analyst
    Demographic, geographic, and lifestyle information arranged by Designated Market Area (DMA), lifestyle, and consumer segment.
  • MPA: Market Profile Analysis: Consumer and Business Demographic Reports
    HC 107.N7 M63 (Latest volume in Watson reference stacks)
    Tool for evaluating existing markets, locations and proposed sites for offices, stores, and businesses.

Market Research

 

 

 

  • Faulkner's Advisory for IT Studies
    Contains reports covering IT infrastructure, telecom, data networking, wireless communications, security, enterprise systems, and the Internet.
  • Forrester Research
    Forrester's research publications analyze a broad range of technology areas such as new media, computing, software, networking, telecommunications and the Internet, and project how technology trends will affect businesses, consumers, and society. Forrester reports include up-to-date industry statistics, as well as illustrative graphs and charts.  Please note: on-campus and off-campus access to this resource is restricted to CURRENT Columbia University students, faculty and staff.
  • Gartner Intraweb
    In depth market research reports on information technology. Topic areas include: computing hardware, software infrastructure, IT services, communications, semiconductors and business objectives.
  • Global Market Information Database (GMID)
    GMID contains over a million demographic, economic and marketing statistics for 205 countries worldwide. The database also contains 6-year historic market size data for more than 330 consumer products in 52 countries, plus 5-year forecasts.  Please note: on-campus and off-campus access to this resource is restricted to CURRENT Columbia University students, faculty and staff.
  • Mintel Oxygen
    Offers yearly reports covering UK, Europe, US and International consumer markets in the CPG/FMCG, financial services, media, retail, leisure and industrial space. Market data including size, segmentation and forecasts.  Please note: on-campus and off-campus access to this resource is restricted to CURRENT Columbia University students, faculty and staff.
  • MRI+
    Provides consumer magazine audience data, measuring the readership of over 230 magazines in the United States; we also have access to Mediamark Reporter database that provides summary tables of key audience and product usage data from national probability sample of 27,000 households. Registration of e-mail address required.  Please note: on-campus and off-campus access to this resource is restricted to CURRENT Columbia University students, faculty and staff.
  • Richard K. Miller Market Research Handbooks [covers various industries in United States]
    Available in Business Source Complete: click on "market research reports" from the menu on the right and then browse for publisher "Richard K. Miller and Associates"
  • Simmons OneView
    Provides access to consumer surveys conducted by Simmons.  For information on using this database and interpreting your results see our quick tutorial.

 

Market Share

  • Global Market Information Database (GMID)
    GMID contains over a million demographic, economic and marketing statistics for 205 countries worldwide. The database also contains 6-year historic market size data for more than 330 consumer products in 52 countries, plus 5-year forecasts.  Please note: on-campus and off-campus access to this resource is restricted to CURRENT Columbia University students, faculty and staff.
  • Market Share Reporter
    HF 5410 .M38 (Latest volume in Watson reference stacks)
    Compilation of market share information on companies, products and services abstracted from periodicals and brokerage reports. Chapters are organized by 2-digit SICs and contain entries for 4-digit SICs.  (Also available through Business and Company Resource Center)
  • Mintel Global Market Navigator
    Contains market size, market share and forecast data for thousands of consumer goods categories worldwide.  Please note: on-campus and off-campus access to this resource is restricted to CURRENT Columbia University students, faculty and staff.

Articles and Journals

Find Articles

Search across these three databases by entering words in the box below:

  • ABI/INFORM Global
  • Business Source Complete
  • Factiva
  • ABI/Inform Global on ProQuest Direct
    Periodical database specializing in business literature, including full text of over 2060 of the 3040 ABI/Inform titles. All titles are indexed and abstracted. Also included in ProQuest are Newspapers and General Periodicals. Coverage: 1971 to present ; Updates: Daily
  • Business Source Complete
    Covers all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, accounting, finance, international business, econometrics and economics. Contains full text of the Harvard Business Review, California Management Review and other important journals. BSP also includes country reports from EIU and Global Insight as well as company reports from Datamonitor.
  • Factiva
    Factiva is an excellent resource for finding company and industry information. Factiva contains a database of nearly 8,000 publications, including: academic and trade publications, industry newsletters, international and regional newspapers, business magazines, and business newswires. The two sections of the database that are most commonly used for this assignment are the "Factiva Library" (which allows researchers to search the 8,000 sources) and the "Quick Company Search" (which contains company profiles - information about: finances, competitors, company history, etc.).
  • LexisNexis Academic
    Comprehensive online database which contains access to hundreds of information sources including the full text of newspapers (foreign and domestic), magazines, wire services, newsletters, journals, and broadcast transcripts, Financial filings, Coverage: Varies by source ; Updates: Varies by source