- Annual Register of Grant Support.
Q180.A1 A5 (Reference, Butler Library)
The Annual Register of Grant Support provides descriptions of over 3,200 organizations in 12 categories ranging from the humanities to technology and industry. In addition to basic directory information, many of the entries include an e-mail address, areas of interest, type of funding, geographic restrictions, eligibility, amount of award, number of applicants and awards given, and an inquiry contact.
- Associations Unlimited
The Encyclopedia of Associations contains over 120,000 entries for regional, national, and international nonprofit organizations. The Encyclopedia provides directory (e.g., phone, address) and descriptive (e.g., organization profile, conference schedule) information. The database also provides links to each organization's home page.
- Corporate Giving Directory
Corporate Giving Directory is a leading source of information on corporate philanthropy. Fundraisers and other nonprofit executives seeking a share of corporate funding depend on CGE as a primary tool in finding and securiing chartiable support for their nonprofit organizations. This uniquue, single-volume source provides detailed descriptive profiles of over 1,000 of the top corporate chartitable giving programs in the United States.
- Foundation Directory Database
Foundation Directory provides descriptions of grant makers, including private grant-making foundations, community foundations, operating foundations, and corporate grant makers.
- Foundation Grants to Individuals
Comprehensive directory of grantmakers to individuals.
- National Directory of Nonprofit Organizations
AS29.5 .N3 (Business Reference)
Brief entries on 265,000 organizations. Indexed by activity and zip code.
- Financial and Accounting Guide for Not-For-Profit Organizations
HF5686.N56 G76 2000 (Business Reference) 2012 8th Ed ordered
- Nonprofit Handbook: Fundraising/ 2001
HD62.6 .N662 2001 (Business Course Reserves)
- Nonprofit Handbook: Fundraising: 2002 Supplement
HD62.6 .N662 2001 Suppl. 2002 (Business Course Reserves) 2003 Suppl. ordered
- Nonprofit Handbook: Management. 2001 Supplement
HD62.6 .N662 2002b Suppl. (Business Course Reserves)
- Nonprofit Handbook: Management. 2002 Supplement
HD62.6 .N662 2002b Suppl. (Business Course Reserves) 2003 Suppl. ordered
- 990 Handbook" A Line-by-Line Approach
HJ 4640 .B55 2001g (Business Reference)
- Chronicle of Philanthropy
Weekly news journal of the nonprofit sector includes a summary of news, plus full text of major feature stories. Available online.
- International Journal of Non Profit and Voluntary Sector Marketing
Available online 1999 to present.
- Nonprofit Management and Leadership
Available online 1990 to present
Refereed journal written for both scholars and practitioners. The focus is on nonprofit governance, human resources, fundraising and financial management, and organizational effectiveness. Includes calendar of conferences and meetings.
- Nonprofit Times
Includes: Salary Survey--Nonprofit Executives: published in January; NPT Sector Report/Year-end Review: published in December. Available online 1990 to present.
- Nonprofit World
Focuses on organizational management and leadership from the practitioner's viewpoint. Published by the Society for Nonprofit Organizations. Available through Business Source Complete (1986 to present).
- Philanthropy News Digest
Weekly news of philanthropy. Available via E-mail or on the Web from Foundation Center.
- Voluntas: International Journal of Voluntary and Non-Profit Organizations.
Available online 1997 to present
Scholarly journal on various aspects of the nonprofit sector.
Articles & Journals
- Associations on the Net
Collection of more than 500 Internet sites for professional and trade associations, cultural and art organizations, business, industry and labor groups, political parties and advocacy groups.
Includes materials to help board members and senior staff at nonprofits work together to lead their organizations more effectively.
- Charity Navigator
Provides evaluations and ratings of more than 5,000 charities in the United States. Registered users (free registration) can compare, track, and search charities based on financial health and efficiency to identify and assess worthy charities in America.
- Foundation Center
The Center's purpose is to disseminate information about foundations, corporate giving, and grant-making. This site includes a publications catalogue, statistics on foundation giving, and information about the Center's and activities.
- Foundation Center: Researching Philanthropy
Free access national, state, and metropolitan area data on U.S. foundations and their grants
- Global Directory of Nonprofit Web Sites (The Idealist)
Provides links to more than 10,000 Web sites in 120 countries.
- Guidestar Database of Non-Profits (data from IRS documents)
From Philanthropic Research, a free information service on the programs and finances of more than 600,000 charities and nonprofits, news on philanthropy, and resources for donors and volunteers.
- Independent Sector
Nonprofit organization whose mission is to strengthen the nonprofit sector by encouraging volunteerism, philanthropy and citizen action. IP publishes research reports on trends in the nonprofit sector.
- Indiana University Center on Philanthropy
In addition to supporting degrees in nonprofit management and philanthropic studies, the Center publishes research material on the nonprofit sector, including the Philanthropic Studies Index. The Joseph and Matthew Payton Philanthropic Studies Library accommodates reference requests from practitioners and researchers outside the Indiana University community.
- The Institute for Not-for-Profit Management (INM), Columbia University
INM was formed to build the managerial capacity of not-for-profit organizations. Through intensive, graduate-level programs, participants study core management disciplines tailored specifically to the not-for-profit sector. INM’s programs emphasize the importance of deploying resources strategically to fulfill the organization’s mission and meet its goals.
- The National Center for Charitable Statistics at the Urban Institute
The national repository of data on the nonprofit sector in the United States.
- New York State Attorney General Office's Charities Site
Tips and guides, reports, forms, and other web sites.
- U.S. Chief Financial Officers Council
An organization of CFOs and deputy CFOs of federal agencies, along with Treasury and Budget Office executives, dedicated to improving financial management in the federal government.