Company Information: US and International


General Databases

  • Amadeus [available via WRDS]
    Amadeus is a pan-European financial database containing information on over 10 million public and private companies from 41 countries, including all the EU countries and Eastern Europe. Up to 10 years of detailed information (consolidated statements are also provided when available) comprising 24 balance sheet items, 25 profit and loss account items and 26 ratios. The descriptive information includes: official national identification number, address, telephone, fax, website, legal form, year of incorporation, senior managers, auditors, number of employees, quoted/unquoted indicator, industry and activity codes and, when available, a trade description in the local language and English.
  • Bankscope
    Information on over 30,000 public and private banks worldwide. It combines data from the main information provider, Fitch Ratings, and nine other sources, with software for searching and analysis.
  • Bloomberg
    Online database providing current and historical financial quotes, business newswires, and descriptive information, research and statistics on over 52,000 companies worldwide. Printing and downloading are available. For search help see our Bloomberg Help Guide. There is also one Bloomberg terminal available in the Digital Social Science Center in Lehman Library.
  • CapitalIQ
    Current non-Business School affiliates can use Capital IQ at one of the 10 designated terminals in the library.
    Business School students and faculty must request individual accounts.  For access information see: Business 24/7 HelpAccess to this resource is restricted to CURRENT Columbia University affiliates.
  • ChinaScope Financial
    ChinaScope Financial offers China-focused company, sector and macro-economic data as well as media reports and market developments.
  • Compustat [available via WRDS]
    Includes Compustat North America, Compustat Global, and Emerging Markets Data Base. Compustat North America is a database of U.S. and Canadian fundamental and market information on active and inactive publicly held companies. It provides more than 300 annual and 100 quarterly Income Statement, Balance Sheet, Statement of Cash Flows, and supplemental data items. Compustat Global is a database of non-U.S. and non-Canadian fundamental and market information on more than 33,900 active and inactive publicly held companies with annual data history from 1987. Standard & Poor's Emerging Markets Data Base (EMDB) serves as a vital statistical resource for the international financial community. With information collected since 1975, EMDB was the first database to track emerging stock markets.
  • FactSet
    Provides analytic tools and financial and economics data on public and private companies and their debt issues, private equity and venture capital firms and funds, macroeconomic series, global M&A deals, ownership details, and people data.
  • Emerging Markets Information Services
    Full-text news, financial and economic information on emerging market countries.
  • Orbis
    Orbis integrates data from all of BvDEP's databases. Includes data for millions of public and private companies globally.
  • Osiris
    OSIRIS is a database of listed companies around the world. In addition to the income statement, balance sheet, cash flow and ratios it contains ownership, earnings estimates and stock data. Covers over 120 countries, includes 30,000 publicly listed corporates (7,500 US and 22,500 non US).
  • ReferenceUSA
    Directory information on U.S. and Canadian business, health care, and residential listings. Search by company name, geographic area, business type, SIC code, yellow page listing, revenue, location, number of employees or any combination of the above. In addition to address and phone number, each entry includes officer names and titles, corporate affiliation, business type and size of yellow page advertising. Toll-free and fax numbers are given for some companies.
  • Thomson ONE
    Thomson ONE provides access to financial data on public companies, as well as merger and acquisition information and market data. Users can search and screen across databases to identify companies that meet your specific investment criteria as well as conduct peer analysis.  Includes Investext, Private Equity database (Venturexpert) and Thomson Deals (SDC Platinum).

Corporations' Filing with the SEC

See also the US Corporate Filings and Annual Reports page.

  • Bloomberg [available in Watson library and other locations in Uris Hall & Warren Hall]
    Bloomberg provides access to SEC filings such as 10Ks, 10Qs, Proxies.  Includes scanned annual reports
  • Capital IQ (Library use only)
    Extensive financial database covering publicly traded companies around the world. Also includes private equities.
  • EDGAR [from sec.gov]
    SEC filings from publicly registered companies. 
  • Thomson One
    Thomson One contains real-time and historical SEC EDGAR filings, scanned images of company annual reports and foreign exchange filings.

Company Histories

  • International Directory of Company Histories
    Via Business Insights: Essentials
    Also available in print: HD2721 .I581988 (Reference Stacks)
    Contains a 2 or more page summary of a company's history along with a brief bibliography of other sources for information. Companies included must have at least $500 million (US) in annual sales or be a leader in their industry. 
  • Notable Corporate Chronologies
    Via Business Insights: Essentials
    This source identifies important events in a company's history.

Stock Prices

  • Bloomberg [available in Watson library and other locations in Uris Hall & Warren Hall]
    Ticker Symbol <EQUITY> HP <GO> for Historical Prices
  • Capital IQ (Library use only)
    Extensive financial database covering publicly traded companies around the world. Also includes private equities.
  • CRSP via WRDS
    Business Electronic Resources (Library Use Only)
    Contains historical equity and index data.
  • Daily Stock Price Record
    Serials S (Serials)
    Shelved with Standard & Poor's. Alphabetical listing by company giving daily high, low, close and volume for each quarter along with dividend and stock split information.
  • Datastream
    Business Electronic Resources (Library Use Only)
    Datastream contains time series data for equities, including stock prices.
  • National Stock Summary
    Serials N (Serials)
    Contains a summary of market quotations which have appeared in the National Daily Services or have been supplied by dealers or special lists.
  • Thomson ONE [must use Internet Explorer]
    Thomson ONE provides access to financial data on public companies, as well as merger and acquisition information and market data. Users can search and screen across databases to identify companies that meet your specific investment criteria as well as conduct peer analysis.

Financial & Operating Info

  • Bloomberg [available in Watson library and other locations in Uris Hall & Warren Hall]
    Online database providing current and historical financial information, research and statistics on over 52,000 companies worldwide. Printing is available. Downloading is not available. For search help see our Bloomberg Help Guide.
  • Capital IQ (Library use only)
    Extensive financial database covering publicly traded companies around the world. Also includes private equities.
  • Compact Disclosure
    Business Electronic Resources (Library Use Only)
    CD-ROM database which contains extracts of the Securities and Exchange Commission filings from 12,000 public companies required to file with the SEC. Coverage: Current 18 months. Updates: Monthly. (Backfiles are available at the Reserves Desk in the Business Library.)
  • Mergent Manuals
    Check CLIO for call numbers
    Depending on the company, information includes a brief corporate history, explanation of the business/products, list of subsidiaries, key management personnel, financial data, and description of outstanding securities (debt, capital stock). There are Mergent Manuals for Industrial, International, OTC Industrial, OTC Unlisted, Public Utilities, and Bank & Finance Companies.
  • OSIRIS
    OSIRIS is a comprehensive database of listed companies, banks and insurance companies around the world. In addition to the income statement, balance sheet, cash flow and ratios it contains news, ownership, ratings, earnings estimates and stock data. Covers over 120 countries, includes 25,000 publicly listed corporates (10,000 US and 15,000 non US) 1,500 banks, and 350 insurance companies.
  • Standard & Poor's Net Advantage
    Includes electronic versions of S&P publications providing company, industry and market specific information and data.  Includes the S&P Stock Reports.
  • S & P's Stock Reports (aka tearsheets) [via S&P Net Advantage]
    Print: Serials S
    Contains 2 page summaries on 1800 NYSE companies, 800 ASE companies, 1500 OTC combines, and 1 page summaries for 600 OTC companies. Information included: summary of the business; per share data; income data; balance sheet data; finances; dividends; capitalization; address; telephone; key personnel; incorporation date; employees; selected betas; S&P ranking; and S&P analyst.
  • Thomson ONE [must use Internet Explorer]
    Thomson ONE Banker provides access to financial data on public companies, as well as merger and acquisition information and market data. Users can search and screen across databases to identify companies that meet your specific investment criteria as well as conduct peer analysis.
  • Value Line Investment Surveys
    Current reports in reference stacks [HG4501 .V262]
    Contains 1 page summaries on approximately 1750 publicly traded companies. Information included: financial data; ratios; forecasts on financials & ratios; line of business; analyst information; quarterly sales, EPS, and dividends; capital structure; rankings for timeliness, safety, beta, price projections, insider & institutional decisions; and a long term price chart.  For more information on Value Line see our short tutorial.

Charts & Graphs

  • Bloomberg [available in Watson library and other locations in Uris Hall & Warren Hall]
    The Bloomberg system offers comprehensive information on companies and securities as well as many analytical functions. Bloomberg allows you to chart and graph a company's financial data.
  • Capital IQ (Library use only)
    Extensive financial database covering publicly traded companies around the world. Also includes private equities.
  • Thomson ONE [must use Internet Explorer]
    Thomson ONE provides access to financial data on public companies, as well as merger and acquisition information and market data. Users can search and screen across databases to identify companies that meet your specific investment criteria as well as conduct peer analysis.

Analysts' Reports

  • Thomson ONE[must use Internet Explorer]
    Web accessible database which contains the full text of over 50,000 company and industry research reports covering 11,000 US and international companies and 53 industries. Reports are written by over 270 brokerage, investment bank and research firms from the US, Canada, Europe, and Asia Pacific.

    For step by step instructions on finding analyst reports in Thomson ONE consult our quick tutorial.

Articles & Journals

Find Articles

Search across these three databases by entering words in the box below:

  • ABI/INFORM Global
  • Business Source Complete
  • Factiva
  • ABI/Inform Global on ProQuest Direct
    Periodical database specializing in business literature, including full text of over 2060 of the 3040 ABI/Inform titles. All titles are indexed and abstracted. Also included in ProQuest are Newspapers and General Periodicals. Coverage: 1971 to present ; Updates: Daily
  • Business Source Complete
    Covers all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, accounting, finance, international business, econometrics and economics. Contains full text of the Harvard Business Review, California Management Review and other important journals. BSP also includes country reports from EIU and Global Insight as well as company reports from Datamonitor.
  • Factiva
    Factiva is an excellent resource for finding company and industry information. Factiva contains a database of nearly 8,000 publications, including: academic and trade publications, industry newsletters, international and regional newspapers, business magazines, and business newswires. The two sections of the database that are most commonly used for this assignment are the "Factiva Library" (which allows researchers to search the 8,000 sources) and the "Quick Company Search" (which contains company profiles - information about: finances, competitors, company history, etc.).
  • LexisNexis Academic
    Comprehensive online database which contains access to hundreds of information sources including the full text of newspapers (foreign and domestic), magazines, wire services, newsletters, journals, and broadcast transcripts, Financial filings, Coverage: Varies by source ; Updates: Varies by source

Environmental/Social/Governance

  • GMI Analyst
    Providing access to "ESG ratings, research and real-time updates on about 6,000 companies worldwide based on 150 carefully selected risk factors, AGRĀ® ratings, research and real-time updates on about 18,000 companies worldwide based on more than 50 discrete risk factors, Environmental performance data from Trucost ..., including Greenhouse Gases (GHGs), water, waste, pollutants and natural resource dependency, unique data on litigation and financial-distress risk, daily and weekly updates, quarterly ratings reviews and event-driven analysis, search functionality, screening and analytical tools, including WatchLists, Portfolio Analysis, Alerts, Industry Browser, and peer-group analysis"--Publisher information.
  • Risk Metrics via WRDS
    Provides historical Governance, Historical Directors data, Voting Results data, and Shareholder Proposal data.

Resources for Obtaining Annual Reports & SEC Filings

There are numerous forms that companies must file with the SEC.   A complete list of SEC filings is available at the Securities Exchange Commission website.

*Annual reports are provided only if the company chooses to file them with the SEC.

  • Bloomberg
    Business Electronic Resources
    Bloomberg contains EDGAR filings. To get a list of a company's EDGAR filings, type: "[ticker symbol] <EQUITY> CF <GO>" . Bloomberg has filings back to 1993.
  • Capital IQ
    Current non-Business School affiliates can use Capital IQ at one of the four designated terminals in the library.
    Business School students and faculty must request individual accounts.  For access information see: Business 24/7 HelpAccess to this resource is restricted to CURRENT Columbia University affiliates.
  • Company Home Pages
    One of the best places to find a company's annual reports and filings is that company's home page. Most public companies have an "investor relations" page on their website that provides annual report(s) and/or SEC filings.
  • EDGAR: The Official Securities Exchange Commission filings database
    EDGAR is the key database for SEC filings; almost all financial, operations, and ownership data is derived from documents in the EDGAR database. The Securities Exchange Commission's Electronic Data Gathering, Analysis, and Retrieval system (EDGAR), performs automated collection, validation, indexing, acceptance, and forwarding of SEC filings. Not all documents filed with the Commission by public companies are available on EDGAR; for example, filings by foreign companies are not required to be filed on EDGAR, but some of these companies do so voluntarily.
  • Thomson ONE
    Thomson ONE contains real-time and historical SEC EDGAR filings, scanned images of company annual reports and foreign exchange filings.

Historical Annual Reports & SEC Filings

  • The Business and Economics Library has on microfiche Annual Reports to Stockholders, 10Ks, Prospectuses and Proxies for NYSE and ASE companies.  They are filed alphabetically in the cabinets with the red discs in the microforms area, first floor. Both microfiche readers and reader/printers are located in this area. Annual reports and 10Ks generally are from 1969 - 1994.

    Please consult the Excel finding aid for a list of companies and available reports. 

    For annual reports before 1934, consult the library's collection of Historical Corporate Annual Reports.  Columbia University's Watson Library of Business and Economics owns a unique collection of historical annual reports.  

    The 4,482 corporations whose reports comprise the collection represent most of the industries that were instrumental in the creation of early industrialized America.

    All reports are housed in Columbia University Libraries' off-site facility. To request a report:

    1. Open Excel finding aid and find the company in the list
    2. Write down the barcode associated with the company
    3. Call or visit the Business and Economics Library to request the report from off-site [barcode is needed]* Telephone: (212) 854-7804 or e-mail.

    *Reports must be requested in advance and be used in the library.

    Please note that access policies for Columbia University Libraries differ for non-affiliates.
  • ProQuest Historical Annual Reports
    Database offers corporate annual reports for U.S. companies from 1884 to the present. Key data (financial, Fortune 500 ranking, industry classification, key people, geographic location, auditor, and related companies) are indexed in the citation and can be searched. Reports can be browsed by company name, industry or date.