Anice MillsUndergraduate Services Librarian
205 Butler Library
535 West 114th St.
New York, NY 10027
This research guide identifies library resources to support your research in the University Writing course. If you need research help, feel free to contact me directly. I'd be glad to set up an appointment with you.
Watch Now! Library Research Tutorials and Videos
Find Books, Films, Music, E-Books
Columbia's online catalog for books, journals, films and music.
Search Tip: Use Quick Limit to find films or music; re-sort titles by newest first.
Search for books and journals in major library collections around the world.
- Borrow Direct
A borrowing service offered by the university libraries of Columbia, Brown, Cornell, Dartmouth, Pennsylvania, Princeton, Yale, Harvard and MIT. It is designed to allow students, faculty and staff to request (and receive in four days) books directly from each other's collections.
Background Information and Facts
- Literati by Credo
Use the concept map to visualize your idea in context. Consult Research Tips, videos and tutorials.
- Gale Virtual Reference Library
Search across a large collection of subject encyclopedias in many disciplines.
- Oxford Reference Online
Search across hundreds of Oxford University Press encyclopedias and companions.
- Biography in Context
Biographies contemporary and historical.
Find Articles and Reviews
Search Tip: Click in search results to get full-text.
How to evaluate the credibility of an online source.
Use the suggested topics to search by subject.
Scholarly articles from more than 1,500 peer-reviewed journals in the humanities, sciences, and social sciences.
- EBSCOhost Research Databases
Select All to search across a wide selection of scholarly databases.
- Google Scholar
Useful for broad searches of scholarly literature. Click Preferences option to link directly to Columbia's collection of e-journals.
- Web of Science
Provides access to the Arts & Humanities Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index, Science Citation Index. Click E-Link to see full text.
- Project Muse
Coverage typically starts with journal issues after 2000.
- LexisNexis Academic
Articles from newspapers, wire services; law reviews, case law, government documents.
Resources on Film
- Film & Television Literature Index with Full Text
Covers journal and magazine titles for film and television reviews, scholarly and critical analysis of cinema and television, and articles of popular interest about film and television.
- FIAF: international Index to Film Periodicals Plus
The International Federation of Film Archives (FIAF) covers the foremost academic and popular film journals up to the present day, many of which are available full text.
- Film Language Glossary
Provides definitions and multimedia examples of essential terms used in basic and advanced film courses representing the major categories of film studies from practical and technical terminologyto historical terms and the language of criticism and theory.
- The Internet Movie Database (IMDB)
Covers more than 100,000 movies and contains over a million and half filmography listings for actors, producers, directors, and others associated with film making. It also includes reviews and awards.
- International Dictionary of Films & Filmmakers
Provides coverage of films and filmmakers, including legendary films, actors and actresses, directors, writers, and other production artists. Entries include detailed essays written by experts; biographies; filmographies; comprehensive credits; major awards; and updated bibliographies, as well as photographs.
The Columbia University Libraries offer a wide range of research, instruction, and borrowing services to support all levels of academic research.
Hours & Study Spaces
Reference & Research Help
Librarians are available to assist you with research in person, via e-mail, phone, IM, or by appointment. If you need help, Ask a Librarian.
Library Tutorials and Workshops
Finding Library Materials
The Libraries' website is a gateway to collections and services, including access to a wide variety of databases and e-journals.
CLIO is the online catalog for the Columbia, Barnard, and Union Theological Seminary libraries. Search CLIO for print and electronic books, journals, videos and dvd's, sound recordings, newspapers, and other materials. Use CLIO to request materials from Offsite, renew books, place recalls and holds.
Borrow Direct enables you to borrow books directly from six other Ivy League university libraries in the event the book you need is either unavailable because it is circulating; or is not owned by a Columbia University library. Typical delivery time is 4 business days.
Interlibrary Loan is the service to use for all other items not available through Borrow Direct, such as journal articles. Delivery time may be within 1-2 days for articles; 2-3 weeks for books.
For more information about library services at Columbia, use the drop-down menus (under "Libraries & Collections," "Catalogs," etc. located at the top of this page).