GLOBAL STUDIES: METHODS / WORKSHOP IN DEVELOPMENT PRACTICE
Yuusuf Caruso, African Studies
Michelle Chesner, Jewish Studies
Robert H. Davis, Russian, Eurasian, & East European Studies
Gary Hausman, South Asian Studies
Sean Knowlton, Latin American & Iberian Studies
Peter Magierski, Middle East & Islamic Studies Librarian
This guide identifies key resources for global or world area studies resources and international economic and political development. It also highlights library services available to all students at Columbia University.
Basic Information on Columbia's Libraries
These databases help you to identify articles, books, reports and other published materials. Some databases include the full text of the materials and others will provide an E-Link which will help you locate online or print copies of the items.
Select "PAIS International" and or select individual databases from a list. See "Search Databases" on the main screen of the Proquest interface, on the upper left:
- PAIS International
- Sociological Abstracts
- Worldwide Political Science Abstracts
- Plus: ERIC (Education); Environment Abstracts; Water Resources Abstracts
- Columbia University Law Library -- Indexes and Databases (Select Foreign or International)
- Francis: International Humanities and Social Sciences
- International Political Science Abstracts
- SAGE Journals: Political Science and Sociology
- Africa-Wide Information
- Bibliography of Asian Studies (East, Southeast, and South Asia)
- CEEOL (Central & East European Online Library)
- East View Universal Databases and ABSEES (Russia / CIS / East Europe)
- HAPI Online (Latin American Studies--journal articles only)
- MECAS (Middle Eastern & Central Asian Studies)
News, Background Information, & Online Document Repositories
Background Information & Online Document Repositories
- CIA World Factbook
- Country Studies -and- Profiles (The Library of Congress)
- Demographic and Health Surveys
- DevInfo India ; IndiaStat ; National Bureau of Asian Research (South Asia)
- Directory of Development Organizations
- East View UDB Statistics (Russia / CIS)
- EIU Country Reports (Economist Intelligence Unit)
- ELDIS--Electronic Development and Environment Information System
- Europa World Plus (Annual survey for all world areas; current ed.)
For historical information, search in CLIO for "Regional surveys of the world"
- Maps: CU Lehman Library Map Collection & GIS ; IDPs ; Perry Castañeda Library ; UN Cartographic
- United Nations -- AccessUN ; FAO Documents and FAO Aquastat-Water & Agriculture ; UNDP and HDRs ;
UNEP Environmental Data Explorer ; UNESCO on Education, Institute for Statistics and "Education for All"
- USAID Development Experience Clearinghouse
- US Energy Information Administration ; US Dept of Energy's Open EI
- WHO country reports -and- data/statistics
Guides to Internet Resources & Topics in International Affairs
Internet Resources for Regional Studies
- African Studies WWW-Virtual Library (Columbia University)
- LANIC--Latin American Network Information Center (University of Texas, Austin)
- Middle East Studies WWW-Virtual Library (Columbia University)
- PAIR--Portal to Asian Internet Resources (2010) (University of Wisconsin, Madison)
-or- East & Southeast Asia (University of Redlands, CA)
- REESWeb--Russian & East European Studies WWW-Virtual Library (University of Pittsburgh)
- SARAI--South Asian Studies WWW-Virtual Library (Columbia University)
Topics in International Affairs
Contacts & other resources at Columbia's Libraries
- Global Studies
- Business and Economics Library
- Data Service (data and GIS/maps)
- Law Library
- Health Sciences Library
- Lehman Social Sciences Library
- Starr East Asian Library (China, Japan, Korea, Tibet)
- Bibliographic Software at Columbia (EndNote & RefWorks)
The Columbia University Libraries offer a wide range of research, instruction, and borrowing services to support all levels of academic research.
Hours & Study Spaces
Reference & Research Help
Librarians are available to assist you with research in person, via e-mail, phone, IM, or by appointment. If you need help, Ask a Librarian.
Library Tutorials and Workshops
Finding Library Materials
The Libraries' website is a gateway to collections and services, including access to a wide variety of databases and e-journals.
CLIO is the online catalog for the Columbia, Barnard, and Union Theological Seminary libraries. Search CLIO for print and electronic books, journals, videos and dvd's, sound recordings, newspapers, and other materials. Use CLIO to request materials from Offsite, renew books, place recalls and holds.
Borrow Direct enables you to borrow books directly from six other Ivy League university libraries in the event the book you need is either unavailable because it is circulating; or is not owned by a Columbia University library. Typical delivery time is 4 business days.
Interlibrary Loan is the service to use for all other items not available through Borrow Direct, such as journal articles. Delivery time may be within 1-2 days for articles; 2-3 weeks for books.
For more information about library services at Columbia, use the drop-down menus (under "Libraries & Collections," "Catalogs," etc. located at the top of this page).