Finding Articles in Journals or Magazines


Start out with

  • MLA International Bibliography (Literature Online [LION] version)
    -->The Literature Online (LION) version of MLA provides enhanced search functionality--allowing you to search for words inside the full-text of articles from 388 literary journals.
  • MLA International Bibliography (ProQuest version)
    -->The ProQuest version of MLA only allows you to search descriptions of articles; but it provides you with more options for sorting your search results.
    Coverage: 1926 to present
    This is the major database for researching modern languages and literatures. For the areas of literature, linguistics, language, and folklore, it provides international listings of journal articles, book articles, books, working papers, proceedings, dissertations, and bibliographies.
  • Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature: ABELL
    Type of Resource:
    Index, with full text access to more than 190 journals
    Coverage:
    1920 onwards
    For the areas of English literature, English language, and English philology, covers monographs, periodical articles, critical editions of literary works, book reviews, collections of essays, and doctoral dissertations published anywhere in the world from 1920 onwards. All aspects and periods of English literature are covered, from Anglo-Saxon times to the present day. British, American and Commonwealth writing are all represented. Coverage is international, including material in languages other than English.
    -->Choose "Combined Search" to search simultaneously with MLA (Literature Online version) above.

Other Significant Resources

  • Literature criticism online
    Provides essays or articles, or excerpts thereof, about an extensive range of literary works written as far back as 1400 and recently as the 21st century. Major literary works will typically be the focus of numerous entries in Literature criticism online. Each entry provides a mini-anthology of critical responses across a range of years. The earliest critical responses will typically be from as close as possible to the time of the work’s original publication or performance; the latest can be as late as the 21st century.
  • EBSCOhost research databases
    Allows you to cross-search simultaneously more than 80 databases in a wide range of academic fields. Includes key databases in anthropology, art, history, humanities,  law, religion, science, and social sciences.
  • Google scholar   
    "Provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations." When you Use the link above to connect to Google Scholar, you will also have direct access to articles in online journals to which Columbia subscribes.
  • Book Review Digest Plus
    Type of Resource: Index with excerpts; includes full text for many reviews
    Coverage: 1983 onwards
    Book Review Digest Plus brings together the data of Book Review Digest, which includes descriptive summaries of books as well as excerpts of book reviews, with all the book review citations and full text of book reviews from eleven other H. W. Wilson indexes.
  • Humanities Full Text
    Type of Resource: Index, with full text for selected titles beginning 1995
    Coverage: 1984 onwards; updated monthly
    Provides listings, brief summaries, and in some cases full text, of articles in a wide variety of humanities fields, including: Archaeology, Global Studies, Art, Classical Studies, Communications, Dance, Film, Folklore, Gender Studies, History, Journalism, Linguistics, Literary & Social Criticism Literature, Music, Performing Arts, Philosophy, Religion and Theology.  Types of articles covered include: feature articles, interviews, obituaries, bibliographies, original works of fiction, drama, and poetry, book reviews, and reviews of ballets, dance programs, motion pictures, musicals, operas, plays, radio and television programs, and more.
  • JSTOR : the scholarly journal archive. 
  • Periodicals archive online  
    Archive of hundreds of digitized journals published in the arts, humanities and social sciences.
  • Project Muse : scholarly journals online. 
    Full-text articles from more than 200 scholarly journals in history and the humanities, the social sciences, and the sciences. Disciplines covered include literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics, and many others.
  • Readers Guide Full Text
    Type of Resource: Index, with full text for many titles beginning 1994
    Coverage: 1983 to the present
    Provides listings, brief summaries, and in some cases full text,  for articles from popular and general-interest periodicals. Coverage includes literary works published in those periodicals (short stories, poetry, etc.).
  • Readers Guide Retrospective
    Type of Resource: Index
    Coverage: 1890-1982
    Provides listings of  articles in popular and general-interest periodicals. Coverage includes literary works published in those periodicals (short stories, poetry, etc.).
  • The TLS Historical Archive, 1902-2005
    Type of Resource:
    Full text and full page image
    Coverage: items published 1902-2005
    A fully searchable resource containing every page of the Times Literary Supplement from 1902 to 2005.NOTE: for listings of articles appearing in TLS subsequent to 2005, see Humanities Full Text.
  • Victorian Database Online
    Type of Resource:
    Index
    Coverage: 1945-2004
    Searches over 100,000 records listing books, articles, and dissertation abstracts published from 1945 to the present on every field of nineteenth-century British studies.

Branching out in Your Research

Depending on the nature of your English and/or American literature research, there is a wide range of additional resources that may be useful to you.

In order to assist you in branching out in your research, some of the core databases in various disciplinary areas are listed below. For help in identifying further resources, consult the appropriate Subject Guide.

  • America: History and Life
    Type of Resource:
    Index, with accessible full text for selected items
    Coverage: items published 1955 onwards, updated monthly
    Covers writings about the history and culture of United States and Canada from prehistory through the recent past. Provides listings for journal articles, book articles, book reviews, media reviews, and dissertations, along with brief summaries of journal and book articles. Also provides links to full text for selected journal articles.
  • Art Full Text
    Type of Resource:
    Index, with full-text for selected titles beginning 1997
    Coverage: items published 1984 onwards; updated monthly
    Indexes art periodicals in English and other Western European languages. Subjects covered include: archaeology, architecture, art history, city planning, computer graphics, crafts, film, folk art, graphic arts, industrial design, interior design, landscape architecture, museology, painting, photography, sculpture, television, textiles, and video.
  • ATLA Religion Database + ATLAS
    Type of Resource:
    Index, featuring full text for selected items
    Coverage: Religion Index 1 - Periodicals, 1949-present; Religion Index 2 - Multi-author works, 1960-present; Research in Ministry, 1981-present; Index to Book Reviews in Religion, 1949-present; Methodist Reviews Index, 1818-1985.
    An international index of religion and theology journals, festschriften, and essay collections, with some links to full-text articles.
  • Bibliography of British and Irish History
    Type of Resource: Index, with abstracts; and with accessible full text for selected items
    Coverage: items published 1900 onwards (with some pre-1901 publications), updated 3 times a year
    Provides listings of historical writings "dealing with the British Isles, and with the British empire and commonwealth, during all periods for which written documentation is available - from 55BC to the present." It "aims to be as comprehensive as is practical for publications since 1900."  Includes books, articles in journals and collective volumes, and review articles. Now includes data from Irish History Online and London's Past Online. The database as a whole contains listings for over 387,000 items.
  • Historical Abstracts
    Type of Resource:
    Index, with abstracts; and with accessible full text for selected items
    Coverage: 1954 onwards
    Covers the history of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada), as represented in more than 2,000 journals published throughout the world. Provides listings for journal articles, book articles, books, and dissertations.
  • FIAF International Filmarchive Database
    Type of Resource: Index
    Contains: International index to film periodicals, 1972- ; International index to television periodicals, 1979- ; List of periodicals indexed; Treasures from the film archives; International directory of film and TV documentation collections; and Bibliography of FIAF members' publications.
  • International Index to Performing Arts Full Text
    Use this to find articles about: Dance, Theater, Film, Mime, Opera, Puppetry, Radio, Television, Storytelling, Video, and/or Performance Art.
  • International Medieval Bibliography Online
    Type of Resource: Index
    Indexes articles, notes, and similar literature on medieval subjects in journals, Festschriften, conference proceedings, and collected essays. Covers all aspects of medieval studies within the date range of 400 to 1500 for the entire continent of Europe, the Middle East and North Africa for the period before the Muslim conquest and parts of those areas subsequently controlled by Christian powers. Includes more than 300,000 articles published 1967- , all of which are fully classified by date, subject and location.
  • The Music Index
    Type of Resource:
    Index
    Coverage: 1978 onward
    Covers topics in "every aspect of classical and popular" music as reflected in more than 670 international music periodicals.
  • Social Sciences Full Text
    Type of Resource:
    Index with abstracts; full text for selected titles 1995 onwards
    Coverage: items published 1980 onwards
    Provides listings of, or access to, articles from a wide range of social sciences journals. Subjects covered include: "Addiction Studies, Anthropology, Global Studies, Community Health & Medical Care, Corrections, Criminal Justice, Criminology, Economics, Environmental Studies, Ethics, Family Studies, Gender Studies, Geography, Gerontology, International Relations, Law, Minority Studies, Planning & Public Administration, Policy Sciences, Political Science, Psychiatry, Psychology, Public Welfare, Social Work, Sociology, Urban Studies."