NEW & EXPANDED DATABASES 2012 - 2014


Resources marked with this symbol are restricted to Columbia affiliates.

The databases listed below have been either newly acquired or significantly expanded since January 2012.


New Databases

  • Afro-Americana imprints, 1535-1922: from the Library Company of Philadelphia      (Readex)
     "Created from the Library Company of Philadelphia's acclaimed Afro-Americana Collection - an accumulation that began with Benjamin Franklin and steadily increased throughout its entire history - this unique online resource provides researchers with more than 12,000 printed works. These essential books, pamphlets and broadsides, including many lesser-known imprints, hold an unparalleled record of African American history, literature and culture. This collection spans nearly 400 years, from the early 16th to the early 20th century." (from publisher's description)
    (Acquired August 2012)
  • Arte público Hispanic historical collection. Series 1     (EBSCO)
    "A digital collection of historical content pertaining to U.S. Hispanic history, literature, political commentary, and culture." (Acquired February 2012)   
  • British Literary Manuscripts Online    (Gale, Cengage Learning)
    Presents facsimile images of literary manuscripts, which range in date from the twelfth through the nineteenth centuries. Includies "letters and diaries, drafts of poems, plays, novels, and other literary works, and similar materials. Searching is based on tags and descriptive text associated with each manuscript. Images of the complete manuscript can be viewed, manipulated and navigated on screen. . . .  the text of the manuscripts themselves is not searchable. (Acquired December 2013, April 2014)
  • Digital theatre plus: the best of British theatre in your classroom        (Digital Theatre Limited)
    Provides online access to a digital streaming video collection of unique films of current, leading British theatre productions. Includes behind-the-scenes documentaries as well as teaching and learning resources to facilitate a deeper understanding of the productions and texts. Learning resources include a detailed introduction, plot summary, character biographies, a relationship map, language analysis, scene study, performance background and historical context for each play. Updates vary. (Acquired April 2013)
  • Gale Artemis : primary sources
    Provides an interactive research environment that allows researchers to cross-search an enormous range of source materials from the 16th through the 20th centuries. Includes the following databases in a single search platform: Eighteenth Century Collections Online; Nineteenth Century Collections Online; Indigenous Peoples: North America; Sabin Americana, 1500-1926; The Making of the Modern World; The Making of Modern Law: Legal Treatises, 1800-1926; The Making of Modern Law: Trials, 1600-1926; and Associated Press Collections Online. (acquired March 2014)
  • Global Commodities : Trade, Exploration & Cultural Exchange  (Adam Matthew Digital)
    Provides a vast range of visual, manuscript and printed materials sourced from over twenty key libraries and more than a dozen companies and trade organisations around the world. These original sources will help scholars to explore the history of fifteen major commodities and to examine the ways that these have changed the world. (Acquired December 2013)
  • The Grand Tour  (Adam Matthew Digital)
    These accounts of the English abroad, c1550-1850, highlight the influence of continental travel on British art, architecture, urban planning, literature and philosophy. This collection of manuscript, visual and printed works allows scholars to compare a range of sources on the history of travel for the first time, including many from private or neglected collections. Includes letters; diaries and journals; account books; printed guidebooks; published travel writing; paintings and sketches; architectural drawings and maps. (Acquired April 2012)
  • Lexicons of Early Modern English: LEME  (Uniersity of Toronto Press)
    "A a historical database of monolingual, bilingual, and polyglot dictionaries, lexical encyclopedias, hard-word glossaries, spelling lists, and lexically-valuable treatises surviving in print or manuscript from the Tudor, Stuart, Caroline, Commonwealth, and Restoration periods." (from publisher's description) (Acquired May 2013)
  • Literary manuscripts: 17th and 18th century poetry from the Brotherton Library, University of Leeds  (Adam Matthew)
    "Offers literary scholars the opportunity to examine complete facsimile images of 190 manuscripts of 17th and 18th century verse held in the celebrated Brotherton Collection at the University of Leeds. These manuscripts can be read and explored in conjunction with the powerful BCMSV database. . . .  The database includes first lines, last lines, attribution, author, title, date, length, verse form, content and bibliographic references for over 6,600 poems within the collection. Alongside original compositions are painstakingly copied verses, translations, songs and riddles.  The whole collection is situated within an assortment of manuscripts, some entirely dedicated to poetry, while others contain medicinal recipes, household accounts, draft letters, musical scores and plays. There are also several printed works, with handwritten verse additions." (from publisher's description) (Acquired April 2012)
  • Nineteenth Century Collections Online   (Gale, Cengage Learning)
    "A multi-year global digitization and publishing program focusing on primary source collections of the long nineteenth century. . . . The content is sourced from the world's preeminent libraries and archives. It consists of monographs, newspapers, pamphlets, manuscripts, ephemera, maps, photographs, statistics, and other kinds of documents in both Western and non-Western languages" (from publisher's description). Now includes nine in-depth collections -- Asia and the WestBritish Politics and SocietyBritish Theatre, Music, and LiteratureEurope and AfricaEuropean Literature, 1790-1840: The Corvey CollectionPhotographyScience, Technology, and Medicine: 1780-1925, Parts I & II;  and Women: Transnational Networks. (Acquired beginning June 2012; parts 5 - 8 added June 2013; part 9 - 12 being added in 2014 )
  • Queen Victoria's journals    (ProQuest)
    "Makes available online digital images of every page in the entire sequence of Queen Victoria's diaries, and provides full transcriptions and keyword searching of all journal entries. The Queen Victoria's Journals resource is the product of a unique partnership between the Bodleian Libraries and the Royal Archives, working in collaboration with the online publisher ProQuest.This website reproduces as high-resolution colour images every page of the surviving volumes of Queen Victoria's journals, along with separate photographs of the many illustrations and inserts within the pages." (from publisher's description) (Acquired November 2012)

Expansions of Existing Databases

  • British History Online
    has been expanded to include premium content, which consists of the Parliament Rolls of Medieval England (Edward I to Henry VII), all the volumes of the Calendar of State Papers, Domestic 1537-1714, the Calendars of State Papers for Scotland and Ireland, plus the Calendar of Close Rolls. (added November 2013)
  • Gale Newsvault
    has been expanded to include several new components: 19th Century British Library Newspapers: Part 2; British Newspapers, Part 3: 1780-1950; The Sunday Times Digital Archive, 1822-2006; Daily Mail Historical Archive 1896-2004; and The Picture Post Historical Archive, 1938-1957. (added December 2013)
  • State Papers Online : Early Modern Government in Britain and Europe
    has been expanded to include Eighteenth Century, 1714-1782, Part I: State Papers Domestic, Military, Naval and Registers of the Privy Council. (added July 2013)
  • Victorian Popular Culture 
    has been expanded to include a new module on Moving Pictures, Optical Entertainments & the Advent of Cinema. (Added November 2012)