Film & Television Studies

Film & Television Studies


Maya Deren

The following electronic resources are representative of a wide variety of indexing and abstracting resources and full-text databases available to researchers and scholars in the fields of theatre and film studies. With few exceptions, these resources are commercially acquired, subscription-based databases.

Nancy E. Friedland
Librarian for Butler Media, Film Studies, & Performing Arts
nef4@columbia.edu

Archives

Articles

Film & Television

  • Film and Television Literature Index
    Annual index covering film and television periodicals with some full-text. International in scope with excellent coverage of American film, this index is useful for the scholar, student and general reader.
  • FILMINFOCUS
    The subtitle says it all—"Movie lovers welcome." This amazing website produced by Focus Features includes links to movie resources, articles, think pieces, and much more.
  • International Index to Film Periodicals
    A FIAF publication, provides In-depth coverage of the world's foremost academic and popular film journals. Indexes articles related to television. Database also includes Treasures from Film Archives and Documentation Centres.

World (Film & Television)

General & Interdisciplinary

  • 19th Century Masterfile
    Includes several 19th-century periodical indexes and the New York Daily Tribune Index (1875-1906).
  • Alternative Press Index
    More than 300 alternative, radical, and left journals, newspapers, and magazines and includes selected abstracts from research journals. Indexes journals covering cultural, economic, political, and social change. Coverage is international and interdisciplinary.
  • Alternative Press Index Archive
    Index of journals (1969-1990) featuring alternative, radical, and left journals, newspapers, and magazines and includes selected abstracts from research journals. Indexes journals.
  • American Periodicals Series Online, 1740-1900
    Searchable full-text and page images of several hundred American periodicals of the 18th and early 19th centuries.
  • Essay and General Literature Index
    Provides access to nearly 65,000 essays contained in some 5,300 anthologies and collections. Some 300 single and multi-author collections are indexed annually, plus more than 20 selected annuals and serials. Coverage spans the entire range of the humanities.
  • Google Scholar
    Search for articles, papers, conference proceedings.
  • Humanities and Social Science Retrospective
    Search journals in the humanities and social sciences from 1907-1983.
  • Humanities full-text
    Indexes articles from over 500 arts and humanities periodicals. Also useful for finding book reviews, movie reviews, play reviews, and creative writing published in journals, magazines and literary reviews. Covers such academic disciplines as archaeology.
  • Proquest
    Coverage of magazines, scholarly publications, and newspapers.
  • Reader's Guide
    Coverage of popular interest periodicals.
  • Reader's Guide Retrospective
    Coverage of popular interest periodicals from 1890 through 1982.

History

  • America, History and Life
    Premiere source for research on all aspects of US and Canadian history from prehistory to the present from articles, books, book reviews, and dissertations. Provides abstracts in English of articles published in more than 40 languages.
  • Historical Abstracts
    Premiere source for research on all aspects of non-U.S. and non-Canadian history covering content from 1450 to the present from articles, books, book reviews, and dissertations.

Philosophy

  • Philosopher Index
    More than 480 journals, books, and anthologies in the areas of ethics, aesthetics, social philosophy, political philosophy, epistemology, and metaphysic logic, philosophy of law, religion, science, history, education, and language. 1940 to the present.

Religion

  • ATLAreligion
    Provides abstracts and indexing for articles, essays, and book reviews in over 1550 journals and multi-author works dealing with religious and theological scholarship. International in scope and language.

Anthropology

  • Anthropological Literature
    Comprehensive international resource for the fields of anthropology, archaeology, and related interdisciplinary research. Indexes entries at least two pages long in nearly 900 journals and monographic series held in Harvard University's Tozzer Library.

Awards & Festivals

  • Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences
    Activities also include preservation of the moving image.
  • American Film Institute
    Website of the preeminent arts organization dedicated to advancing and preserving the art of the moving image.
  • The Oscars
    The official Academy Awards web site. Produced by the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences.
  • Film Festival World
    Comprehensive listing of international film festivals. Search by genre, location or date. Includes maps.
  • Film Festivals.com
    The Film Festival Server takes you to the heart of film festival action through interviews, news updates, film synopsis and photos. Includes listing of Film Festivals Worldwide.
  • Sundance Institute
    Website for the Sundance Institute -- dedicated to the support and development of emerging screenwriters and directors, and to the national and international exhibition of new, independent dramatic and documentary film.

Biography

Blogs

Books

  • Cambridge Collections Online
    Subject or theme-based PDF collections of CambridgeUniversity Press titles. Includes significant collection of the Cambridge Companion series. Browse by title or keyword search entire full-text.
  • Cambridge Histories Online
    Full text online access to the complete 250-plus volumes of Cambridge Histories reference series. Included are The Cambridge History of American Theatre and The Cambridge History of British Theatre.
  • CLIO: Columbia Libraries Information Online
    Search for books, journal holdings, plays, screenplays, videos, DVDs and sound recordings.
  • Google Books
    If the book is out of copyright, or the publisher has given Google permission, you'll be able to see a preview of the book, and in some cases the entire text. Public domain works are free to download.

Box Office

  • Box Office Guru
    Compilation of current and archived weekend box office receipts. The archives include figures since 1997. In addition, the site hosts a film database with comprehensive box office data on motion pictures released between 1989 and the present.
  • Box Office Mojo
    Started in 1999, works as an online movie publication and box office reporting service.
  • Proquest
    Coverage of magazines, scholarly publications, and newspapers.

Dictionaries & Encyclopedias

  • Encyclopedia of Dance
    Articles on all aspects of dance, including theatrical, ritual, dance-drama, folk, traditional, ethnic, and social dance.
  • Encyclopedia of Television
    Includes 1,000 original essays from more than 250 contributors and examines specific programs and people, historic moments and trends, major policy disputes and much more.
  • Film Language Glossary
    Multimedia definitions of essential film studies terms.
  • Gale Virtual Reference
    History of the American Cinema is now available electronically through the Gale Virtual Reference Collection. This essential resource, also available in print, documents American film history decade by decade currently through the 1980s. In addition, Gale Virtual Reference includes The Columbia Companion to American History on Film: How the Movies Have Portrayed the Past, International Dictionary of Films and Filmmakers, Movies Made for Television: 1964-2004, and Schirmer Encyclopedia of Film.
  • Glossary of Film Terms
    Written and designed for the web by Joel Schlemowitz. Definitions of film terms.
  • International Dictionary of Films and Filmmakers
    Comprehensive resource provides thorough coverage of films and filmmakers.
  • Oxford Encyclopedia of Theatre and Performance
    Provides information about theater and performance from ancient Greece to the present.
  • Oxford English Dictionary
    The OED.
  • Oxford Reference Online
    Searchable full-text of about 100 language dictionaries and reference books published by Oxford University Press. See section "Performing Arts".

Filmography

Images

  • Accunet/Associated Press Multimedia Archive
    Image archive of the Associated Press.
  • American Memory: Library of Congress
    A rich collection of images and full-text documents relating to U.S. history and culture from the Library of Congress.
  • Archive of Americana
    Comprehensive historical collections including the American Broadsides and Ephemera Collection containing scanned images of playbills, photographs, poems, advertising cards, passenger lists and more.
  • ARTstor
    Digital imags of architecture, painting, photography, scultpure, decorative arts, design and material culture.
  • Black Studies Center
    Cross-searchable gateway to Black Studies. Includes full-text articles and newspapers such as the Chicago Defender, still and moving images documenting African American experience and history.
  • CLIO: Columbia Libraries Information Online
    Search for books, journal holdings, plays, screenplays, videos, DVDs and sound recordings.
  • Early Encounters: peoples, cultures, and the environment
    Contains 1,482 authors and over 100,000 pages of letters, diaries, memoirs and accounts of early encounters. Includes more than 1,700 images.
  • Film and Television Literature Index
    Annual index covering film and television periodicals with some full-text. International in scope with excellent coverage of American film, this index is useful for the scholar, student and general reader.
  • Google Images
    Search for images on the web.
  • Visible Earth
    Search or browse this collection of images, visualizations, and animations of Earth.

Industry

Moving Images

Preservation

Print Resources

Reviews

Film Reviews

  • Alternative Press Index
    More than 300 alternative, radical, and left journals, newspapers, and magazines and includes selected abstracts from research journals. Indexes journals covering cultural, economic, political, and social change. Coverage is international and interdisciplinary.
  • Alternative Press Index Archive
    Index of journals (1969-1990) featuring alternative, radical, and left journals, newspapers, and magazines and includes selected abstracts from research journals. Indexes journals.
  • Bloomberg
    Links to film and stage reviews.
  • Emanuel Levy
    Emanuel Levy is an American film critic and writer. This site hosts film and DVD reviews, profiles, interviews and Hollywood news.
  • Film and Television Literature Index
    Annual index covering film and television periodicals with some full-text. International in scope with excellent coverage of American film, this index is useful for the scholar, student and general reader.
  • FILMINFOCUS
    The subtitle says it all—"Movie lovers welcome." This amazing website produced by Focus Features includes links to movie resources, articles, think pieces, and much more.
  • Humanities full-text
    Indexes articles from over 500 arts and humanities periodicals. Also useful for finding book reviews, movie reviews, play reviews, and creative writing published in journals, magazines and literary reviews. Covers such academic disciplines as archaeology.
  • International Bibliography of Theatre and Dance
    International Bibliography of Theatre & Dance with Full Text contains all of the content available in International Bibliography of Theatre & Dance as well as full text for 100 titles.
  • International Index to Film Periodicals
    A FIAF publication, provides In-depth coverage of the world's foremost academic and popular film journals. Indexes articles related to television. Database also includes Treasures from Film Archives and Documentation Centres.
  • International Index to the Performing Arts
    Search and browse nearly half a million citations, abstracts, and selected full text records in a comprehensive range of journals covering the full spectrum of the performing arts. Subjects covered include drama, dance, film, television.
  • MRQE: Movie Review Query Engine
    Current and retrospective reviews from a wide variety of resources.
  • Proquest
    Coverage of magazines, scholarly publications, and newspapers.
  • Reader's Guide
    Coverage of popular interest periodicals.
  • Reader's Guide Retrospective
    Coverage of popular interest periodicals from 1890 through 1982.
  • Roger Ebert
    Reviews

Book Reviews

  • Alternative Press Index
    More than 300 alternative, radical, and left journals, newspapers, and magazines and includes selected abstracts from research journals. Indexes journals covering cultural, economic, political, and social change. Coverage is international and interdisciplinary.
  • Alternative Press Index Archive
    Index of journals (1969-1990) featuring alternative, radical, and left journals, newspapers, and magazines and includes selected abstracts from research journals. Indexes journals.
  • Book Review Digest
    Citations and abstracts for book reviews in leading English-language periodicals.
  • Book Review Digest Retro
    Excerpts from and citations to book reviews from 1905 to 1982.
  • Humanities full-text
    Indexes articles from over 500 arts and humanities periodicals. Also useful for finding book reviews, movie reviews, play reviews, and creative writing published in journals, magazines and literary reviews. Covers such academic disciplines as archaeology.
  • Proquest
    Coverage of magazines, scholarly publications, and newspapers.
  • Reader's Guide
    Coverage of popular interest periodicals.
  • Reader's Guide Retrospective
    Coverage of popular interest periodicals from 1890 through 1982.

Screenplays

  • American Film Scripts Online
    Over 700 accurate and authorized versions of copyrighted screenplays, formatted in the conventional screenplay format. Also includes a bibliographic and biographic database of directors and writers, as well as nearly 500 unpublished screenplays.
  • CLIO: Columbia Libraries Information Online
    Search for books, journal holdings, plays, screenplays, videos, DVDs and sound recordings.

Stock Footage