Film and Television Guide
- Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences
Activities also include preservation of the moving image.
- American Film Institute
Website of the preeminent arts organization dedicated to advancing and preserving the art of the moving image.
- American Memory from the Library of Congress
Includes early motion pictures.
- Anthology Film Archives
Anthology preserves and exhibits motion pictures, collects literature and documents, and promotes understanding of cinema for students, scholars, the public.
- Archives With Significant Holdings of Silent Films
Listing of U.S. archives with silent film holdings.
- Berkeley Art Museum and Pacific Film Archive
The Pacific Film Archive (PFA) is an internationally recognized center for the exhibition and study of cinema.
- BFI Screenonline
Excellent resource for history of British film and television.
- BFI: British Film Institute
BFI's mission is to develop a greater understanding and appreciation of film, television and the moving image.
- Europa Film Treasures, the treasures from European Film Archives
Research and view films—search by film archive, genre, title. Links to information on film archives throughout Europe.
- FIAF: International Federation of Film Archives
The International Federation of Film Archives (FIAF) brings together institutions dedicated to rescuing films both as cultural heritage and as historical documents.
- Filmarchives online
Access to catalogue information of film archives from all over Europe. Search for content, filmographic data and physical characteristics.
- International Index to Film Periodicals
A FIAF publication, provides in-depth coverage of the world's foremost academic and popular film journals. Indexes articles related to television. Database also includes Treasures from Film Archives and Documentation Centres.
- Internet Archive
Collaborating with institutions including the Library of Congress and the Smithsonian, IA is working to preserve multimedia materials ranging from the Prelinger Archives, to dance materials and text.
Founded in 1935, the collection includes more than 14,000 films and four million film stills; the strongest international film collection in the United States, it incorporates all periods and genres.
- Motion Picture and Television Reading Room (Motion Picture, Broadcasting and Recorded Sound Division, Library of Congress)
Division responsible for the acquisition, cataloging and preservation of the motion picture and television collections, notably the paper print collection, copyright collection and AFI collection.
- National Archives and Records Administration
Collection dates 1894 to present and includes 35,000 sound recordings, 4.5 million photographic items, 150,000 reels of motion picture film and 20,000+ videotapes, including public domain motion pictures created by more than 75 Federal agencies.
- National Archives Learning Curve/UK
This site presents film as a historical source and considers its advantages and disadvantages as evidence for the past.
- Paul's 16mm Film Collecting Pages
Some useful information such as School Film Archives and links.
- Public Moving Image Archives and Research Centers--National Film Preservation Board (Library of Congress)
A Library of Congress Internet Resource Page. Page provides links to archives and preservation units U.S. and international.
- Silent Era
Excellent resource for information on the silent era.
- The Paley Center for Media
Sponsors discussion about the significance of television and radio. Maintains exceptional collection of programming.
- UCLA Film & Television Archive
UCLA Film and Television Archive is committed to the preservation of moving image materials.