Geology & Geosciences Research Guide


Books & E-books

Find Books

Library Services for Books

New Earth and Environmental E-books from SpringerLink

New Earth and Environmental E-books from Cambridge

New Earth and Environmental E-books from Elsevier

Databases & Indexes

Custom Search

Search the following Quick Set:

  • Earth Science/Ecology

Databases & Indexes

  • AAPG datapages
    Searchable collection of full-text publications from the American Association of Petroleum Geologists.
  • Agricola
    Citations for materials related to agriculture.
  • Applied Science & Technology Abstracts
    Citations and abstracts for articles in applied science and technology periodicals and book reviews.
  • ASFA: Aquatic Sciences and Fisheries Abstracts
    Citations and abstracts for materials related to the aquatic sciences.
  • Proquest Atmospheric Science Collection
    Meteorological & Geoastrophysical Abstracts database, full-text ProQuest Atmospheric Science Journals, and deep indexing. Subjects covered are air pollution, climatology, glaciology, weather forecasting, and more.
  • Beilstein Crossfire
    Index to organic chemistry literature including property data, 1771 - present
  • Biological Abstracts (BIOSIS)
    Citations and abstracts from life sciences literature.
  • Biological and Agricultural Index
    Citations for articles in biology and agriculture periodicals.
  • Chemical Abstracts Index
    See SciFinder below to access the online version.
  • Cold Regions Bibliography
    Citations and abstracts for articles on Antarctica and cold regions science and technology.
  • Compendex
    Citations and abstracts for articles in engineering and technology periodicals and conference papers and reports.
  • Current Index to Statistics (CIS)
    Index to statistics literature since 1974.
  • Dissertation Abstracts
    Citations and abstracts for dissertations and theses covering all academic subjects.
  • DOE Energy Information Administration
    Energy-related statistics for the U.S. and other countries.
  • Environment abstracts
    Collection of five separately searchable environment related databases
  • Environment complete
    Contains full text for more than 920 journals and the full text for more than 190 monographs.
  • General Science Abstracts
    Citations and abstracts for articles in general science periodicals.
  • GeoRef
    Citations and abstracts for publications in geology, geophysics, seismology, stratigraphy, paleontology, hydrology, and related earth science disciplines.
  • GeoScienceWorld
    Comprehensive resource (including Full-text journal collections) for research and communications in the geological and earth sciences.
  • Gmelin Crossfire
    Index to organometallic, inorganic compound, alloy, glass, ceramic and mineralogy literature, and chemical and physical property data, 1772 - 1994.
  • INSPEC
    Citations for articles in physics, astronomy, electrical and electronics engineering, and computing periodicals and conference proceedings.
  • Lyell Collection
    Full-text publications from the Geological Society of London including the Transactions, Journal, Memoirs, and Special Publications among others. 
  • MathSciNet
    Citations, abstracts, and review texts of research literature in mathematics.
  • MedLine
    Citations and abstracts for articles in biomedical journals.
  • Metadex
    Citations and abstracts for publications related to the science and technology of metals and alloys.
  • Meteorological and Geoastrophysical Abstracts
    Citations and abstracts for world meteorological, climatological and hydrological literature.
  • NTIS: National Technical Information Database
    The first place to look for reports of government grant and contract projects.
  • Oceanic Abstracts
    Citations and abstracts for materials related to marine literature.
  • Quakeline
    Bibliographic database for earthquakes, earthquake engineering, natural hazard mitigation, and related topics.
  • Science Citation Index Expanded
    The "Web of Science": bibliographic information and cited references in articles in scientific and technical journals.
  • SciFinder
    Citations with abstracts for the chemical literature. Downloadable installation and search software is available at this link. SciFinder is installed on one workstation in the Geoscience library.
  • Scopus
    Provides indexing, abstracting of and citation linking to journals in many fields all the sciences, social sciences, business and medicine.
  • Sustainability reference center
    Sustainability Reference Center is a comprehensive full-text database covering all aspects of sustainability and corporate social responsibility.
  • Sustainability science abstracts
    Explores aspects of sustainable development, human population and demography topics, and conservation and management of natural resources.
  • Treatise on geochemistry
    Comprehensive coverage of the full range of disciplines and topics in the field of geochemistry.
  • Treatise on geophysics
    A comprehensive summary of the present state of geophysics.
  • Water Resources Abstracts
    Citations and abstracts for publications related to water resources.
  • Zoological Record
    Index to zoological literature citations.

Resources & Websites

Content Sites

Developed, thematic sites, most with text and images that might be useful sources of information for finding out about a subject or writing a paper.

  • The Aurora Page
    Aurora Borealis - The Northern Lights are examined in this well-designed site with explanations, images, forecasting data, and good links to other sites.
  • Burgess Shale Fossils
    The Burgess Shale is an exceptional Middle Cambrian age fossil location in British Columbia,Canada. Site includes description, photographs and references.
  • Dinosaur Eggs
    This site takes you behind the scenes of NATIONAL GEOGRAPHIC magazine May 1996 article, "The Great Dinosaur Egg Hunt."
  • Dinosaur Provincial Park
    This site in Alberta, Canada contains extensive information on dinosaurs based on the significant fossil beds in the park.
  • The Dinosauria:Truth is Stranger than Fiction.
    Well hyper-texted article based on the Hall of Dinosaurs at The Museum of Paleontology of The University of California at Berkeley. Includes well-developed areas such as a guided tour of Dilophosaurus narrated by the discoverer of Dilophosaurus, Sam Welles.
  • El Niño Theme Page
    Most recent observational data and El Niño forecasts, as well as relevent scientific analyses and historical perspectives animations and frequently asked questions.
  • MTI Volcanoes Page
    Michigan Technological University site includes animations from Mt Etna, pictures, reports from Smithsonian Institution's Global Volcanism Network, information on remote sensing of volcanic activity
  • USGS Bedform sedimentology page
    The bedform and crossbedding images in this website are companions to the book: Cross-Bedding, Bedforms, and Paleocurrents, by D.M. Rubin (Columbia GEOLOGY QE472 .R82 1987g)
  • Web Time Machine
    A geologic web lift to stratigraphy, fossils and fossil locations throughout geologic time.

Guides

Locational guides to the internet for special subjects ranging from well developed guides to internet and printed resources on a topic to unsorted lists of internet sites.

  • The Electronic Volcano
    An exceptionally well organized site for finding electronic and paper resources on active volcanoes.
  • Radiocarbon Information Sources
    Annotated guide to internet resources related to radiocarbon including list of laboratories, computer programs, indexes and web servers specializing in C-14.

Reference Works & Data Sets

Some of the sites in this group are similar to printed reference books containing organized data on a subject, sometimes with sophisticated search and display options. Others are "no frills" sites with little information about the data or how to use it.

  • The IRI/LDEO Climate Data Library
    The Data Catalog has been developed by the Climate Group at Lamont-Doherty Earth Observatory. It is both a catalog and a library of datasets, i.e. it both helps you figure out which data you want, and helps you work with the data. The interface llows you to make plots, tables,and files from any dataset.
  • Geographic Names Information Service (US)
    Searchable geographic name database that provides type of feature (town, river, park, etc.), county, longitude and latitude, USGS topographic map sheet that shows feature and a general Tiger map showing location of feature within the US.
  • Global Change Master Directory (NASA)
    A comprehensive directory of descriptions of data sets of elevance to global change research. This database includes descriptions of data sets covering climate change, agriculture, the atmosphere, biosphere, hydrosphere & oceans, geology, geography, and human dimensions of global change.
  • National Geophysical Data Center
  • Tide Predictor
    WWW Tide Predictor presents worldwide (strongest coverage for US & Canada) tide predictions in tabular or graphical format adjusted for daylight savings time or UTC starting from the current or a specified date up to one week ahead. Start days for the years 1995-2025.

Other Resources

Tools & Software

Options for Citation Management

Support for citation management software products: EndNote, RefWorks, and Zotero.

Endnote, Mendeley, and Zotero all support retrieval and storage of references from bibliographic databases and the use of that information in formatting in-text citations, footnotes, endnotes, and bibliographies. Individuals involved in long-term careers in research may find EndNote's greater customizability, additional features (e.g. ability to handle figures as well as citations), and personal computer storage of data more to their needs. Zotero offers a new approach for downloading and searching full-text content as well as bibliographic data. Users of all three are likely to appreciate the fact that bibliographic information may be passed easily from one system to the other. Fuller information on each of the programs is available below.

Software Available in the Digital Science Center

Indexes by Subject


Aquatic

Aquatic Science Collection (ProQuest)
Citations and abstracts for materials related to the aquatic sciences.

Atmospheric Science Collection (ProQuest)
Citations and abstracts for world meteorological, climatological and hydrological literature.

Oceanic Abstracts
Citations and abstracts for materials related to marine literature.

GeoRef
Citations and abstracts for publications in geology, geophysics, seismology, stratigraphy, paleontology, hydrology, and related earth science disciplines.

GeoScienceWorld
Comprehensive resource (including Full-text journal collections) for research and communications in the geological and earth sciences.

Engineering Village
Citations for articles in physics, astronomy, electrical and electronics engineering, and computing periodicals and conference proceedings.

Scopus
Provides indexing, abstracting of and citation linking to journals in many fields all the sciences, social sciences, business and medicine.

Water Resources Abstracts
Citations and abstracts for publications related to water resources.


Atmospheric

Atmospheric Science Collection (ProQuest)
Meteorological & Geoastrophysical Abstracts database, full-text ProQuest Atmospheric Science Journals, and deep indexing. Subjects covered are air pollution, climatology, glaciology, weather forecasting, and more.

GeoRef
Citations and abstracts for publications in geology, geophysics, seismology, stratigraphy, paleontology, hydrology, and related earth science disciplines.

GeoScienceWorld
Comprehensive resource (including Full-text journal collections) for research and communications in the geological and earth sciences.

Engineering Village
Citations for articles in physics, astronomy, electrical and electronics engineering, and computing periodicals and conference proceedings.

Scopus
Provides indexing, abstracting of and citation linking to journals in many fields all the sciences, social sciences, business and medicine.


Biological

Agricola
Citations for materials related to agriculture.

Biological Abstracts (BIOSIS)
Citations and abstracts from life sciences literature.

Biological and Agricultural Index
Citations for articles in biology and agriculture periodicals.

Scopus
Provides indexing, abstracting of and citation linking to journals in many fields all the sciences, social sciences, business and medicine.

Zoological Record
Index to zoological literature citations.


Chemical

ReAxys
Index to organic chemistry literature including property data, 1771 - present

Materials Science Collection (ProQuest)
Citations and abstracts for publications related to the science and technology of metals and alloys.

SciFinder
Citations with abstracts for the chemical literature. Register and access SciFinder online.

Treatise on geochemistry
Comprehensive coverage of the full range of disciplines and topics in the field of geochemistry.

Web of Science
Index of chemicals and current chemical reactions.


Earth

AAPG datapages
Searchable collection of full-text publications from the American Association of Petroleum Geologists.

Agricola
Citations for materials related to agriculture.

Earthquake Engineering Abstracts (ProQuest)
Comprehensive resource (including Full-text journal collections) for research and communications in the geological and earth sciences.

GeoRef
Citations and abstracts for publications in geology, geophysics, seismology, stratigraphy, paleontology, hydrology, and related earth science disciplines.

GeoScienceWorld
Comprehensive resource (including Full-text journal collections) for research and communications in the geological and earth sciences.

Engineering Village
Citations for articles in physics, astronomy, electrical and electronics engineering, and computing periodicals and conference proceedings.

Lyell Collection
Full-text publications from the Geological Society of London including the Transactions, Journal, Memoirs, and Special Publications among others.

Quakeline
Bibliographic database for earthquakes, earthquake engineering, natural hazard mitigation, and related topics.

Scopus
Provides indexing, abstracting of and citation linking to journals in many fields all the sciences, social sciences, business and medicine.

Treatise on geophysics
A comprehensive summary of the present state of geophysics.


Environmental & Sustainability

Environment abstracts
Collection of five separately searchable environment related databases

Environment complete
Contains full text for more than 920 journals and the full text for more than 190 monographs.

GeoScienceWorld
Comprehensive resource (including Full-text journal collections) for research and communications in the geological and earth sciences.

Engineering Village
Citations for articles in physics, astronomy, electrical and electronics engineering, and computing periodicals and conference proceedings.

Scopus
Provides indexing, abstracting of and citation linking to journals in many fields all the sciences, social sciences, business and medicine.

Sustainability reference center
Sustainability Reference Center is a comprehensive full-text database covering all aspects of sustainability and corporate social responsibility.

Sustainability science abstracts
Explores aspects of sustainable development, human population and demography topics, and conservation and management of natural resources.


Miscellaneous

Applied Science & Technology Abstracts
Citations and abstracts for articles in applied science and technology periodicals and book reviews.

Book Citation Index - Coming Soon!

Cold Regions Bibliography
Citations and abstracts for articles on Antarctica and cold regions science and technology.

Conference Proceedings Index - Coming Soon!

Current Contents Connect - Coming Soon!

Current Index to Statistics (CIS)
Index to statistics literature since 1974.

Data Citation Index

Dissertations & Theses (ProQuest)
Citations and abstracts for dissertations and theses covering all academic subjects.

Engineering Village
Citations and abstracts for articles in engineering and technology periodicals and conference papers and reports.

General Science Abstracts
Citations and abstracts for articles in general science periodicals.

Journal Citation Reports

MathSciNet
Citations, abstracts, and review texts of research literature in mathematics.

MedLine
Citations and abstracts for articles in biomedical journals.

NTIS: National Technical Information Database
The first place to look for reports of government grant and contract projects.

Scopus
Provides indexing, abstracting of and citation linking to journals in many fields all the sciences, social sciences, business and medicine.

Web of Knowledge
The "Web of Science": bibliographic information and cited references in articles in scientific and technical journals.