Dinosaurs: Library resources to help with your paper
Researching your paper
Selected Internet Resources
This is a very select collection of dinosaur resources on the internet. The selected sites are fairly rich in text, images and some multi-media and might be helpful when writing your term paper.
- Library of Congress Dinosaur Resources
- Virtual Fossil Museum
- Paleobiology Database
- Bibliography of fossil vertebrates
Indexed Published Literature of Vertebrate Paleontology, 1509-1993.
- New Scientist Dinosaur page
Dinosaur website from the journal The New Scientist.
- AMNH Fossil Halls
Fossil Halls at the American Museum of Natural History.
A variety of useful links to additional dinosaur Web sites.
- Zoom Dinosaurs
A useful resource including information on many types of dinosaurs.
- Paper Dinosaurs, 1824-1969
Illustrations from classic dinosaur papers and books, including the original publications of Gideon Mantell, Richard Owen, Othniel Marsh, and a host of others.
- The Dinosauria: Truth is Stranger than Fiction
Well hyper-texted article based on the Hall of Dinosaurs at The Museum of Paleontology of The University of California at Berkeley. Includes well-developed areas such as a guided tour of Dilophosaurus narrated by the discoverer of Dilophosaurus, Sam Welles.
Indexes and Databases
Locating research articles on dinosaurs
Citations and abstracts for publications related to geology.
- General Science Abstracts
Covers leading journals and magazines, conferences, review articles in science publications.
- Biological Abstracts
Citations and abstracts from life sciences literature.
- Zoological Record
Citations to the zoological literature.
- Animal Behavior Abstracts
Citations and abstracts for journal articles on animal behavior.
Provides indexing, abstracting of and citation linking to journals in many fields
- Web of Science
Bibliographic information and cited references across all disciplines.
Locating books & journals
- Books on dinosaurs and evolution are located in many Columbia libraries including: Geology, Geoscience, Butler, and off site.
Use the CLIO online catalog to locate books in all Columbia Libraries.
- Science journals
The journals received in the Columbia Libraries are included in CLIO. The names of the library or libraries owning the titles and the actual volumes held are listed. Most recent journals are also available in full-text online format: E-Journals
Citing your sources
- Endnote, Mendeley & Zotero
Columbia Libraries offer access to several citation management software packages including EndNote, Mendeley, and Zotero. All support retrieval and storage of references from bibliographic databases and the use of that information in formatting in-text citations, footnotes, endnotes, and bibliographies.
- APA Style Guide (From Purdue)
- MLA Style Guide (From Purdue)