U.S. Diplomatic History & Foreign Relations


The "Foreign Relations Series" comprises collections of official papers relating to United States foreign relations, including diplomatic correspondence both to and from foreign governments and their representatives and to and from U.S. representatives abroad. The series is listed in the catalogs of the Columbia University Libraries as:

U.S. Dept. of State. Foreign relations of the United States. Diplomatic papers, 1861- . Washington, DC: Govt. Printing Office, 1862- . Annual.

In Butler Library (off-site), volumes for the years prior to 1948 are included in the "U. S. Serial Set" and the appropriate serial number for the year in question must be obtained from various printed indexes to U.S. government publications, or from a list of the series volumes in this bibliography. Volumes from 1948 onward are classed together under the call number: J2233.A3. In addition to the Butler Library off-site location, partial sets are located in the International Law Library, Lehman Library and Barnard College Library. Consult CLIO for holdings.

For the period prior to 1861, similar material was contained in various congressional documents and may be located through the Checklist of U.S. government publications or through the index by Adelaide Hasse noted below. Papers from the first fourteen Congresses are brought together in the first six volumes (designated as "Foreign Relations") of the American State Papers. (Butler Stacks 328.734 Serial no.01-038)

Indexes to the "Foreign Relations Series" have been published for the years 1861-99 and 1900-18; copies of these indexes will be found in the Butler Reference Department. An additional index for the 1939-45 period has been published as:

U.S. Dept. of State. The cumulated index to the U.S. Department of State papers relating to the foreign relations of the United States, 1939-45. Millwood, N.I., Kraus, 1980. 2v. R341.273 Un3  (also in Lehman: JX233.A3 Index)

For the period 1828-61, the following work provides indexing to a broad range of publications relating to United States foreign affairs:

Hasse, Adelaide R. Index to United States documents relating to foreign affairs, 1828-1861. Washington, DC: Carnegie Inst., 1914-21. 3v.  R341.273 H2761

The Hasse compilation provides indexing of relevant reports of Congress (i.e., House and Senate Documents, House and Senate Reports, and House and Senate Journals), the Senate Executive Journal for diplomatic and consular appointments and treaty ratifications; opinions of the Attorneys General for decisions on questions of international controversy; Statutes at Large for acts and resolutions relating to international affairs; the Congressional Globe for speeches and correspondence; and references to British Parliamentary Papers, as applicable.

United States. Department of State. The Foreign Relations of the United States in the Serial Set 328.734

Year Serial Set No. No. of Vol. Year Serial Set No. No. of Vol.
1861 1117   1906 5104-1,2 2
1862 1156   1907 5271-1,2 2
1863 1180-1181 2 1908 5411  
1864 1216-1219 4 1909 5704  
1865 1244-1247 4 1910 5945  
1866 1281-1283 3 1911 6183  
1867 1322-1323 2 1912 6367  
1868 1364-1365 2 1913 6598  
1869 1411   1914 6786  
1870 1445   1915 6955  
1871 1502   1916 7127  
1872 1552-1557 6 1917 7331  
1873 1594-1596 3 1918 7470  
1874 1634   1919 7673 2
1875 1672-1673 2 1920 7795 3
1876 1741   1921 7989 2
1877 1793   1922 8172 2
1878 1842   1923 8275 2
1879 1902   1924 8446 2
1880 1951   1925 8585 2
1881 2009   1926 8739 3
1882 2090   1927 8901 3
1883 2181   1928 9038 3
1884 2276   1929 9258 3
1885 2368   1930 9361 3
1886 2460   1931 9565 3
1887 2352   1932 9683 5
1888 2626-2627 2 1933 9834 5
1889 2714   1934 9938 5
1890 2830   1935 10035 4
1891 2920   1936 10130 5
1892 3076   1937 10270 5
1893 3197   1938 10355 5
1894 3292-9294 3 1939 10507 5
1895 3368-3369 2 1940 10604 5
1896 3477   1941 10705 7
1897 3629   1942 10805 7
1898 3743   1943 10888 6
1899 3893   1944 10975 7
1900 4069   1945 11065 9
1901 4268   1946 11161 11
1902 4440-4442 3 1947 11248 8
1903 4627   *    
1904 4780        
1905 4941        

*Starting with the 1948 volume, the series is cataloged as a separate serial (JX 233.A3). Check CLIO for the holdings in Butler, Lehman and Barnard. For Law Library holdings, check Pegasus.

Supplementary Volumes

World War I:
1917, suppls. 1,2 9037
1914 suppl. 8582
1913, suppl. 1 9385-9389 (2v)
1915 suppl. 8533 suppl. 2 9390
1916 suppl. 8733
Lansing Papers. 1919-1920 10034 (2v )

Also available separately: BUTLER STACKS E766 .U43 (Papers relating to the foreign relations of the United States. Department of State publication; 1420-1421.)

Conferences

Paris Peace Conference, 1919 10699-10704, 10799-10802 10886-10887, 11064 (13v)
Malta and Yalta Conferences, 1945 11832
Conference of Berlin (Potsdam), 1945 (2v) 12232
Teheran Conference 12320
Conferences at Cairo And Tehran 1943 12414
Conferences at Washington, 1941- 1942 and Casablanca, 1943 12829
Conference at Washington-Quebec 12380
Conference at Quebec, 1944 13015

Individual Countries

China

1942 11878
1943 11879
1944 11880
1945 11973-11974 (2v)
1946 11969-11971 (3v)
1947 11972

Japan

1931-1941 10803 -10804 (2v)

Russia/Soviet Union

1918 7470 (3v)
1919 7673
1933-1939 11432

General Index. 1900-1918 10269

  • Indexes to the "Foreign Relations Series," 1861-1899 and 1900-1918 in the Butler Reference Department. R341.273 Un3

Other Indexes

  • United States. Department of State. The Cumulated Index to the U.S. Department of State Papers relating to Foreign Relations of the United States, 1939-45. Millwood, N. Y., Kraus, 1980. 2 vols. R341.273 Un3;Index;1939-45
  • For 1828-1861, consult Adelaide R. Hasse, Index to United States Documents relating to Foreign Affairs, 1828-1861. Washington, DC, 1914-21. 3 vols. R341.273 H2761