Classical Studies Reference Sources: Introduction


Bibliographies

Greek and Roman Authors. Thomas Gwinup & Fidelia Dickinson, comp. 2nd ed. Metuchen, N. J. : Scarecrow Press, 1982. xii, 280 p.; 23 cm. R016.87 G991 (Desk)

Classical scholarship : an annotated bibliography. Thomas P.Halton, Stella O'Leary. xx, 396 p. ; 26 cm. White Plains, N.Y. : Kraus International, 1986. R016.88 H16 (Desk)

L'année philologique. Paris, Société d'édition "Les Belles Lettres." 1.ère année; 1924/26-

  • Printed edition: v. 1 (1924/26 - ) R016.88 M341
  • Microform edition: Chico, Ca. : Scholars Press. Vol. 24/26-44 (1924-1973)
    Butler 501, MICFICHE FX3 4123
  • CD-ROM version: Butler Library Local Area Network workstations in Alcove 1, Room 325

Hopwood, Keith. Ancient Greece and Rome, a bibliographical guide. xiv-450 p. Manchester: Manchester U. P., 1995. R016.88 Am353

Encyclopedias, dictionaries and guides

The Oxford classical dictionary ed. by Simon Hornblower and Antony Spawforth. 3rd ed;. liv, 1640 p. ; 26 cm. New York : Oxford University Press, 1996. R039.13 Ox211 (Desk)

Pauly, August Friedrich von. Paulys Realencyclopädie der classischen Altertumswissenschaft. Neue Bearbeitung unter Mitwirkung zahlreicher Fachgenossen herausgegeben von Georg Wissowa. 48 vols. Stuttgart: A. Druckenmüller Verlag, 1958-1974. R039.13 P28 (Book case 3, Main Reading Room)

Classical scholarship : a biographical encyclopedia, ed. by Ward W. Briggs and William M. Calder III. xxiv, 534 p. : ill. ; 27 cm. (Garland reference library of the humanities ; vol. 928) New York : Garland Pub., 1990. R880.9 C569

Greek literature, edited by P.E. Easterling and B.M.W. Knox. xv, 936 p., <8> p. of plates : ill. ; 24 cm. (Cambridge history of classical literature ; 1) Cambridge [Cambridgeshire] ; New York : Cambridge U. P., 1985. R880.9 G81 (Desk)

Latin literature, edited by E.J. Kenney ; advisory editor, W.V. Clausen. xviii, 973 p., <2> plates ; 24 cm. (Cambridge history of classical literature ; 2.) Cambridge [Eng.] ; New York : Cambridge University Press, 1982. R870.9 L347 (Desk)

Ancient Writers. New York: Scribner, 1982. 2 vols.: v.1, Homer to Caesar; v. 2, Lucretius to Ammianus Marcellinus. R880.9 An22 (Desk)

Greek and Latin authors, 800 B.C.-A.D. 1000. by Michael Grant. xiv,490 p. : ports. ; 27 cm. (Wilson authors series) New York : H. W. Wilson Co., 1980. R040 G767

Grimal, Pierre. The Dictionary of Classical Mythology [Dictionnaire de la mythologie grecque et romaine] New York: Blackwell, 1986. 603 p., ill. R039.13 G

Archaeology, History and Geography

The Princeton encyclopedia of classical sites. Richard Stillwell, editor, William L. MacDonald, associate editor, Marian Holland McAllister, assistant editor. xxii, 1019 p., <12> leaves of plates : maps ; 29 cm. Princeton, N.J. : Princeton University Press, 1976. R039.13 P93(Desk)

The Cambridge Encyclopedia of Archaeology New York: Crown Publishers/Cambridge University Press, 1980. 495 p., ill., 27 cm. R039.13 C14 (Desk)

The Cambridge ancient history Cambridge: The University Press, 1929 - 81. 12 vols. R909 C138

Grosser historischer Weltatlas 6th ed. 4 vols. T. 1: Vorgeschichte und Altertum. München: Bayerischer Schulbuch-Verlag, 1981-1995. R912 G915 (t. 1 at the desk)

Concordances

A Concordance of Ovid, by Roy J. Deferrari, Sister M. Inviolata Barry [and] Martin R.P. McGuire. ix, 2220 p. 29 cm. Washington, The Catholic University of America Press, 1939. R870G D36

Other concordances, bibliographies devoted to a single author and encyclopedias of Greek and Latin literatures are classed uder R870 and 880.

Language Dictionaries

Lewis and Short. A Latin dictionary founded on Andrews' ed. of Freund's Latin Dictionary; Rev. and Enlarged by Charlton T. Lewis and Charles Short. Oxford: Clarendon press, 1975. R Latin An112 (Desk)

Oxford Latin dictionary. Ed. by P. G. W. Glare. xxiii, 2126 p.; 32 cm. Oxford: Clarendon Press, 1982. R Latin Ox21 (Desk)

Niemeyer, Jan Frederik. Mediae Latinitatis lexicon minus: lexique latin médiéval-français anglais...xvi-1138 p. Leiden: E. J. Brill, 1993. R Latin Medieval N556 (Desk)

Classical Authors-Influences

L'étude des auteurs classiques latins aux XIe et XIIe siècles par B. Munk Olsen. (Documents, études et répertoires, Institut de recherche et d'histoire des textes, France.) Paris: Editions du Centre national de la recherche scientifique, 1982- R877.07 M925