Medieval Europe, Reference Sources


This bibliography lists Medieval Studies reference sources in Butler Reference Department and those available on the Internet. For sources relating to a specific country see the Medieval section of history and literature bibliographies which are listed under Subject Guides.

Bibliographies of Sources

Repertorium fontium historiae Medii Aevi primum ab Augusto Potthast digestum, nunc cura collegii historicorum e pluribus nationibus emendatum et auctum.Romae, Instituto storico italiano per il Medio Evo, 1962- [90]. V. 1-6 [v. 1: collections; v. 2-6: A - K.] R016.94 R299

Bak, János M. Medieval narrative sources : a chronological guide, with a list of major letter collections. New York : Garland Pub., 1987. (Garland reference library of the humanities ; vol. 734.) R016 .9401 B17

Caenegem, R. C. van. Encyclopedie van de geschiedenis der Middeleeuwen. Guide to the sources of medieval history / by R. C. van Caenegem, with the collaboration of F. L. Ganshof. Amsterdam ; New York : North-Holland Pub. Co.; New York : dist. by Elsevier/North Holland, 1978. (Europe in the Middle Ages ; v. 2) DESK R016.9401 C1159

Medieval studies : a bibliographical guide. Crosby, Everett Uberto, C. Julian Bishko & Robert L. Kellogg. New York : Garland Pub., 1983. (Garland reference library of the humanities ; vol. 427.) Incl. Byzantine Empire and Islam. R016 .9401 C88

Dictionaries and Encyclopedias

Dictionary of the Middle Ages / Joseph R. Strayer, editor in chief. 13 v. New York : Scribner, 1982-1989. Desk R940 D56

Caenegem, R. C. van. Kurze quellenkunde des westeuropäischen Mittelalters; eine typologische, historische und bibliographische Einführung von R. C. Van Caenegem. Unter mitarbeit von F. L. Ganshof. [Berechtigte Übersetzung aus dem Niederlandischen von M. Gysseling.] Göttingen : Vandenhoeck & Ruprecht [1964] R016.9401 C116

Current Bibliographies of Works

International medieval bibliography. Semiannual, 1993- Frequency varies [Leeds, Eng.] University of Leeds [etc.] 1967- The 1976 - 95 issues available also on the Columbia University Libraries CD-ROM LAN. R016.9401 In86

Medioeve latino: Bollettino bibliografico della cultura europea dal secolo VI al XIII. Spoleto : Centro italiano di studi sull'alto Medioevo, 1980- v. 1- v.1-16, v.18 (1997) Vol. 2 covers 1979. R016. 9401 M4

Historiography

Medieval studies : an introduction / edited by James M. Powell. 2nd ed. Syracuse, N.Y. : Syracuse University Press, 1992. DESK R016 .9401 M461

Paetow, Louis John. A guide to the study of medieval history / by Louis John Paetow ; with errata compiled by Gray C. Boyce and an addendum by Lynn Thorndike ; prepared under the auspices of the Mediaeval Academy of America. Rev. and corr. ed. Millwood, N.Y. : Kraus Reprint, [1980] c1917. Revised ed. originally published in 1931 by F. S. Crofts, New York. R016 .9401 P131

Boyce, Gray Cowan. Literature of medieval history, 1930-1975,/: a supplement to Louis John Paetow's A guide to the study of medieval history / compiled and edited by Gray Cowan Boyce ; sponsored by the Medieval Academy of America. 5 v. (civ, 2630 p.) Millwood, N.Y. : Kraus International Publications, c1981. R016 .9401 P131 Suppl.

Williams, Harry Franklin. An index of mediaeval studies published in Festschriften, 1865-1946, with special reference to Romantic material. Berkeley, Univ. of California Press, 1951. R016.9401 W67

Bibliographies: Special Topics

Atiya, Aziz Suryal. The crusade: historiography and bibliography.Bloomington, Indiana University Press, 1962. "A companion volume to Crusade: commerce and culture." R016.9404 At49

Mayer, H. E. (Hans Eberhard). Bibliographie zur Geschichte der Kreuzzüge. Hannover, Hahnsche Buchhandlung, 1960. R016.9404 M45

Atlases

Atlas of medieval Europe / edited by Angus Mackay with David Ditchburn. London ; New York : Routlege, 1997. R912 M19

Medieval Texts on the Internet