20th-century French Literature


General Bibliographies

A Critical Bibliography of French Literature.  Generally known as "Cabeen." D.C. Cabeen, general editor. -- : Press, [1947?]1952-(1985) Richard A. Brooks, general editor, v.2 (rev. 1985), 3-4 suppl., 6.

v. 6. The twentieth century. Edited by Douglas W. Alden and Richard A. Brooks (3 vols.) L.C. CALL NO: Z2171.C74 1947 PQ103     R016.84 C11 ( Reference Desk)

Pt. 1
Colette, Chapter XI, p.679-716.
Louis-Ferdinand Céline, Chapter XIV, p.743-765.
Louis Aragon, p.590-607.

Pt. 2
Valéry, Chapter XVIII, p.943-1023.
Surrealism, Chapter XX, p.1060-11-16.
Paul Eluard, Chapter XXI, p. 1117-1138

Pt. 3
Samuel Beckett, Chapter XXXIX, p.1865-1886.
Yves Bonnefoy, p.1762-1764
Aime Césaire, p.1765-1769.
René Char, p.1769-1775.
Marguerite Duras, p.1708-1712.
Kateb Yacine, p.1888 (no.17496)

Guide to French poetry explication. Kathleen Coleman. -- : G.K. Hall; : Maxwell Macmillan ; : Maxwell Macmillan International, c1993. xiv, 594 p.; 24 cm. -- (A reference publication in literature) R841 C67

 

Author Bibliographies

Breton, André

Revues surréalistes françaises autour d'André Breton, 1948-1972, par Marguerite Bonnet et Jacqueline Chénieux-Gendron, avec la collaboration de José Pierre ... [et al.]. -- : Kraus International Publications, 1982. R844B756 AB

Colette

Colette : an annotated primary and secondary bibliography compilation and annotation, by Donna M. Norell. 1993. ( Reference library of the humanities; vol. 805)  R844C67 AN

Duras

Marguerite Duras: a bio-bibliography. Robert Harvey and Helene Volat. Westprt, CT: Greenwood Press, 1997. xiv-273 p. R844D9393 AH26

Sartre

Jean-Paul Sartre and his critics: an international bibliography (1938-1980). François H. Lapointe ; with the collaboration of Claire Lapointe. -- Annotated and rev. 2nd ed. -- : , , c1981. 697 p.; 24 cm. -- (Bibliographies of famous philosophers) R844Sa77 AL312

Sartre : bibliographie 1980-1992. Michel Rybalka & Michel Contat; avec la collaboration de Yvan Cloutier, Laura Piccioni, Danièle Calvot. -- : CNRS; : , , 1993. 247 p. ; 24 cm. -- (CNRS littérature) (CNRS philosophie) R844Sa77 AR

The writings of Jean-Paul Sartre, compiled by Michel Contat and Michel Rybalka; translated by Richard C. McCleary. -- : Northwestern University Press, 1974. 2 v. ; 24 cm. -- ( studies in phenomenology & existential philosophy) Translation, with revisions and additions, of Les écrits de Sartre. v. 1. Contat, M. and Rybalka, M. A bibliographical life.--v. 2. Sartre, J.-P. Selected prose.  R844 SA 77 AC

Sartre: a comprehensive bibliography of international theses and dissertations, 1950-1985, by Gernot U. Gabel. -- 1st. ed. -- Köln: Gemini, 1992. 79 p.; 21 cm. -- (Bibliographien zur Philosophie,  15) R844 SA77 AG

 

Valéry

Arnold, A. James. Paul Valéry and his critics, a bibliography of French-Language Criticism, 1890-1927. : University Press of for the Bibliographical Society of the , 1970. Chronological list of 1969 items. Annotated. Index (names and some topics.) R844V237 AA

Karaïskakis, Georges and François Chapon. Bibliographie des OEuvres de Paul Valéry publiées de 1889 à 1965. : Librairie Auguste Blaizot, 1976. A detailed physical description of over 450 items arranged chronologically. Indexes by title and personal names. R844V237 AK

Online Texts

in ARTFL

Apollinaire, Guillaume, 1880-1918. [1911], La bestiaire (In Oeuvres Poétiques, Ed. M. Adema et M. Decaudin. Paris, Gallimard, 1962.)

Apollinaire, Guillaume, 1880-1918. [1911], Les exploits d'un jeune Don Juan

Apollinaire, Guillaume, 1880-1918. [1913], Alcools (In Oeuvres Poétiques, Ed. M. Adema et M. Decaudin. Paris, Gallimard, 1962.)

Apollinaire, Guillaume, 1880-1918. [1918], Calligrammes (Éd. M. Adéme et M. Décaudin (Paris: Gallimard, 1965))

Apollinaire, Guillaume, 1880-1918. [1918], Casanova (In Oeuvres Poétiques, Ed. M. Adema et M. Decaudin. Paris, Gallimard, 1962.)

Apollinaire, Guillaume, 1880-1918. [1918], Couleur du temps (In Oeuvres Poétiques, Ed. M. Adema et M. Decaudin. Paris, Gallimard, 1962.)

Apollinaire, Guillaume, 1880-1918. [1918], Les mamelles de Tirésias (In Oeuvres Poétiques, Ed. M. Adema et M. Decaudin. Paris, Gallimard, 1962.)

Aragon, Louis, 1897-1982. [1936], Les beaux quartiers (Paris, Denoël, et Steele, 1936

Aragon, Louis, 1897-1982. [1941], Le crève-coeur (Paris, Gallimard, 1956.)                                                                                                           

Aragon, Louis, 1897-1982. [1956], Le roman inachevé (Paris, Gallimard, 1956.)

Beckett, Samuel, 1906-1989. [1945], Nouvelles et Textes Pour Rien (Paris, Éditions de Minuit, 1958)

Beckett, Samuel, 1906-1989. [1945], Premier Amour (Paris, Éditions de Minuit, 1970.)

Beckett, Samuel, 1906-1989. [1947], Molloy (Molloy (suivi de «MOLLOY»: Un Événement Littéraire, Une œuvre, par J-J MAYOUX) (Paris: Éditions de Minuit, 1951))

Beckett, Samuel, 1906-1989. [1947], Murphy ((Paris: Éditions de Minuit, 1965)) [genre: roman]

Beckett, Samuel, 1906-1989. [1949], L'Innommable ((Paris: Éditions de Minuit, 1953

Beckett, Samuel, 1906-1989. [1951], Malone Meurt ((Paris: Éditions de Minuit, 1951).)

Beckett, Samuel, 1906-1989. [1952], En Attendant Godot ((Paris: Éditions de Minuit, 1952))

Beckett, Samuel, 1906-1989. [1957], Fin de Partie (In Fin de Parité suivi de Acte Sans Paroles, (Paris: Éditions de Minuit, 1957).)

Beckett, Samuel, 1906-1989. [1957], Tous Ceux Qui Tombent (Paris, Éditions de Minuit, 1957.)

Beckett, Samuel, 1906-1989. [1958], La Dernière Bande (In La dernière bande suivi de Cendres (Paris: Éditions de Minuit, 1959), pages 5-33.)

Beckett, Samuel, 1906-1989. [1959], Cendres (In La dernière bande suivi de Cendres (Paris: Éditions de Minuit.)

Beckett, Samuel, 1906-1989. [1960], Pochade Radiophonique (In Pas suivi de Quatre Esquisses (63-85), Paris, Éditions de Minuit, 1978.)

Beckett, Samuel, 1906-1989. [1961], Comment C'est ((Paris: Éditions de Minuit, 1961).)

Beckett, Samuel, 1906-1989. [1962], Paroles et Musique (In Comédie et actes divers (61-78), Paris, Éditions de Minuit, 1972.)

Beckett, Samuel, 1906-1989. [1963], Cascando (In Comédie et actes divers (Paris: Éditions de Minuit, 1972), pages 45-60.)

Beckett, Samuel, 1906-1989. [1963], Film (In Comédie et actes divers (Paris: Éditions de Minuit, 1972), pages 111-134.)

Beckett, Samuel, 1906-1989. [1963], Pas Moi (In Oh les beaux jours suivi de Pas moi (79-95), Paris, Éditions de Minuit, 1963-73.)

Beckett, Samuel, 1906-1989. [1965], Acte sans paroles I (In Comédie et actes divers (Paris: Éditions de Minuit, 1972), pages 93-101.)

Beckett, Samuel, 1906-1989. [1965], Acte sans paroles II (In Comédie et actes divers (Paris: Éditions de Minuit, 1972), pages 101-109.)

Beckett, Samuel, 1906-1989. [1965], Comédie (In Comédie et actes divers (Paris: Éditions de Minuit, 1972), pages 7-35.)

Beckett, Samuel, 1906-1989. [1965], Quoi Où (In Comédie et actes divers (37-44), Paris, Éditions de Minuit, 1972???.)

Beckett, Samuel, 1906-1989. [1965], Va-et-vient (In Comédie et actes divers (37-44), Paris, Éditions de Minuit, 1972.)

Beckett, Samuel, 1906-1989. [1968], Dis Joe (In Comédie et actes divers (Paris: Éditions de Minuit, 1972), pages 79-91.)

Beckett, Samuel, 1906-1989. [1968], Watt ((Paris: Éditions de Minuit, 1968))

Beckett, Samuel, 1906-1989. [1970], Le Dépeupleur ((Paris: Éditions de Minuit, 1970).)

Beckett, Samuel, 1906-1989. [1970], Mercier et Camier ((Paris: Éditions de Minuit, 1970).)

Beckett, Samuel, 1906-1989. [1972], Souffle (In Comédie et actes divers (135-137), Paris, Éditions de Minuit, 1972.)

Beckett, Samuel, 1906-1989. [1972], Têtes Mortes (Paris, Éditions de Minuit, 1972.)

Beckett, Samuel, 1906-1989. [1974], Oh les beaux jours (In Oh les beaux jours suivi de Pas moi (9-77), Paris, Éditions de Minuit, 1963-74.)

Beckett, Samuel, 1906-1989. [1975], Pour Finir Encore et Autres Foirades (Paris, Éditions de Minuit, 1976.)

Beckett, Samuel, 1906-1989. [1976], Poèmes suivi de Mirlitonnades (Paris, Éditions de Minuit, 1978.)

Beckett, Samuel, 1906-1989. [1978], Esquisse Radiophonique (In Pas suivi de Quatre Esquisses (Paris: Éditions de Minuit, 1978), pages 87-97)

Beckett, Samuel, 1906-1989. [1978], Fragment de Théâtre I (In Pas suivi de Quatre Esquisses (Paris: Éditions de Minuit, 1978), pages 19-34.)

Beckett, Samuel, 1906-1989. [1978], Fragment de Théâtre II (In Pas suivi de Quatre Esquisses (Paris: Éditions de Minuit, 1978), pages 35-61.)

Beckett, Samuel, 1906-1989. [1978], Pas (In Pas suivi de Quatre Esquisses (5-17), Paris, Éditions de Minuit, 1978.)

Beckett, Samuel, 1906-1989. [1980], Compagnie ((Paris: Éditions de Minuit, 1985

Beckett, Samuel, 1906-1989. [1981], Mal Vu Mal Dit ((Paris: Éditions de Minuit, 1981).)

Beckett, Samuel, 1906-1989. [1982], Berceuse (In Catastrophe et autres dramaticules (Paris: Éditions de Minuit, 1986), pages 39-55.)

Beckett, Samuel, 1906-1989. [1982], Catastrophe (In Catastrophe et autres dramaticules (Paris: Éditions de Minuit, 1986), pages 69-81

Beckett, Samuel, 1906-1989. [1982], Cette Fois (In Catastrophe et autres dramaticules (Paris: Éditions de Minuit, 1986), pages 7-25

Beckett, Samuel, 1906-1989. [1982], Impromptu d'Ohio (In Catastrophe et autres dramaticules (Paris: Éditions de Minuit, 1986), pages 57-67.)

Beckett, Samuel, 1906-1989. [1982], Solo (In Catastrophe et autres dramaticules (83-98), Paris, Éditions de Minuit, 1986.) 

Breton, André, 1896-1966. [1928], Nadja (Paris, Gallimard, 1963.)

Breton, André, 1896-1966. [1942], Les manifestes du Surréalisme (Paris, Ed. du Sagittaire, 1947.)

Céline, Louis-Ferdinand, 1894-1961. [1932], Voyage au bout de la nuit (Paris, Denoël et Steele, 1932.)

Céline, Louis-Ferdinand, 1894-1961. [1936], Mort à crédit (Paris, Denoël et Steele, 1936.)  

Char, René, 1907-1988. [1948], Fureur et mystère (In Oeuvres Complètes, Paris, Gallimard, 1983.)

Colette, 1873-1954. [1900], Claudine à l'école (Paris, A. Michel, 1929.)

Colette, 1873-1954. [1905], Sept dialogues de bêtes (Paris, Club Français du Livre, 1962.)

Colette. 1873-1954 [1907], La Retraite sentimentale

Colette, 1873-1954. [1922], La maison de Claudine (Paris, Ferenczi et Fils, 1922,

Colette, 1873-1954. [1928], La naissance du jour (Paris, Flammarion, 1928.)

Colette, 1873-1954. [1929], Sido (Paris, Ferenczi et Fils, 1930.).

Eluard, Paul, 1895-1952. [1926], Capitale de la douleur (Paris, Gallimard, 1962.)

Eluard, Paul, 1895-1952. [1939], Donner à voir (Paris, Gallimard, 1960)

Genet, Jean, 1910- [1948], Poèmes (Decines (Isere), L'Arbalète, 1962.)

Gide, André, 1869-1951. [1927], Voyage au Congo (In Journal, T.2. Paris, Gallimard, 1960.)

Merleau-Ponty, Maurice, 1908-1961. [1945], Phénoménologie de la perception (Paris, Gallimard, 1945)

Ponge, Francis, 1899-1988. [1942], Le parti pris des choses (Paris, Gallimard, 1949.)

Sartre, Jean Paul, 1905-1980. [1938], La nausée: roman (Paris, Gallimard, 1938.)

Sartre, Jean Paul, 1905-1980. [1943], Les mouches (In Théâtre, T.1. Paris, Gallimard, 1947.)

Sartre, Jean Paul, 1905-1980. [1944], Huis-clos (In Theatre, T.1. Paris, Gallimard, 1947.) 

Sartre, Jean Paul, 1905-1980. [1946], L'existentialisme est un humanisme (Paris, Nagel, 1946.)

Sartre, Jean Paul, 1905-1980. [1948], Les mains sales: pièce en sept tableaux (Paris, Gallimard, 1948.)

Sartre, Jean Paul, 1905-1980. [1949], La mort dans l'âme: roman (Paris, Gallimard, 1949.)

Sartre, Jean Paul, 1905-1980. [1964], Les mots (Paris, Gallimard, 1964.)

Valéry, Paul, 1871-1945. [1922], Album de vers anciens; La jeune parque; Charmes (In Oeuvres, Ed. J. Hytier, T.1. Paris, Gallimard, 1959.)

Valéry, Paul, 1871-1945. [1924], Variété I (Paris, Gallimard, 1924

Valéry, Paul, 1871-1945. [1929], Variété II (Paris, Gallimard, 1930.)

Valéry, Paul, 1871-1945. [1936], Variété III (Paris, Gallimard, 1936.)

Valéry, Paul, 1871-1945. [1938], Variété IV (Paris, Gallimard, 1938

Gide, André, 1869-1951: Valéry, Paul, 1871-1945. [1942], Correspondance, 1890-1942 (Ed. R. Mallet. Paris, Gallimard, 1955.)

Valéry, Paul, 1871-1945. [1944], Variété V (Paris, Gallimard, 1944.)

Articles: Bibliographic indexes and Full text databases

Book reviews

Other reference sources