Research Guides, Bibliographies of Literary Criticism and Collections


General Bibliographies

A Critical Bibliography of French Literature.  Generally known as "Cabeen." D.C. Cabeen, general editor. -- Syracuse, N.Y. : Syracuse University Press, [1947?]1952-(1985) Richard A. Brooks, general editor, v.2 (rev. 1985), 3-4 suppl., 6.

1. The medieval period. Edited by Urban T. Holmes, Jr.

2. The sixteenth century. Edited by Alexander H. Schutz

2A. The sixteenth century. Edited by Raymond C. La Charité; (rev. 1985). (First and second editions: second edition somewhat different from the first in coverage and organization. Both editions should be consulted.)

3. The seventeenth century Edited by Nathan Edelman

3A suppl. The seventeenth century. Edited by H. Gaston Hall

4. The eighteenth century. Edited by George R. Havens & Donald F. Bond

4. suppl. The eighteenth century. Edited by Richard A. Brooks

5. The nineteenth century. Edited by David Baguley. (2 vols. )

6. The twentieth century. Edited by Douglas W. Alden and Richard A. Brooks (3 vols.)

R016.84 C11 (Desk)

French language and literature : an annotated bibliography. Fernande Bassan, Donald C. Spinelli, Howard A. Sullivan. -- New York : Garland, 1989. xix, 365 p. ; 23 cm. -- (Garland reference library of the humanities ; vol. 954) Includes index. ISBN 0824047982 (alk. paper)

R016.8404 B296

Beugnot, B. and J.-M. Moureaux. Manuel bibliographique des études littéraire. Paris: Fernand Nathan; 1982. Etats presents, p.151-206; sémiologie, p.298-302. Coverage: to 1982 inclusive. Classified by subject area. Chronological arrangement within a field. Indexes by name, title and subject.

R016.84 B466

Littérature française et critique italienne (1950-1980) : bibliographie par Delia Gambelli et Anna Maria Scaiola ; essais de Giovanni Macchia, Massimo Colesanti, Lionello Sozzi. -- Roma : Bulzoni, 1981. 175 p. ; 24 cm.

R016.84 G14

Giraud, Jeanne. Manuel de bibliographie littéraire pour les XVIe, XVIIe, XVIIIe siècles français ... 1921-1935; 2e éd.: Paris: Librairie philosophique J. Vrin, 1958. (Publications de la faculté des lettres de l'Université de Lille. II.) The f irst ed. in 1939. 1936-1945: Paris: Librairie Nizet, 1956. 1946-1955: Paris: Librairie Nizet, 1970. Arranged by period and then by subject field (anthologies, bibliographies, recueils, méthode, société et vie intellectuelle, histoire des idées, enseig nement, comparatisme, formes et genres littéraires, thèmes et motifs, moyen d'expression, doctrines et grands courants littéraires) or by author as a subject. Indexed by author, title and subject. Includes both articles and books.

R016.84 L293

Harvard University. Widener Library. Shelflist 47: French literature. Cambridge, MA, Harvard University Press, 1973. 2 vols. 1: Classified and chronological lists; 2: Author and title listing.

R016.84 H26

Research Guides

Guide bibliographique des études d'histoire de la littérature française par Michel Brix. -- 2e éd. rev et augm. -- Namur : Bibliothèque universitaire Moretus Plantin : Distribué par Presses universitaires de Namur, 1987. 134 p. ; 24 cm. -- (Publication Bibliothèque universitaire Moretus Plantin ; no 2) ISBN 287235011X

R016.84 B779

Manuel bibliographique des études littéraires : les bases de l'histoire littéraire : les voies nouvelles de l'analyse critique. B.Beugnot, J.-M. Moureaux. -- [Paris] : Nathan, 1982. 478 p. ; 22 cm. ISBN 2091905143

R016.84 B466

Introduction to library research in French literature Robert K. Baker. -- Boulder, Colo. : Westview Press, 1978. xvii, 137 p. ; 24 cm. -- (A Westview special study) ISBN 0891580824. -- ISBN 0891580824 (pbk.)

L.C. CALL NO: Z2171.B34
R016.84B17

Marshall, Donald G. Contemporary critical theory: a selective bibliography New York: Modern Language Association of America, 1993.

R016.8 M35

General Encyclopedias

French encyclopedias, from Diderot's to the Encyclopaedie Universalis, are shelved in Alcove 1 in Butler 310.   A CD version of the Larousse du XIXe siecle is available in DHC,  Butler 305.

Online version of the Encycliopaedia universalis

Encyclopedias of Literature

Dictionnaire des littératures de langue française. J.-P. de Beaumarchais, Daniel Couty, Alain Rey. -- [Nouv. éd. mise à jour et enrichie]. -- Paris : Bordas, 1987. 4 v. (xv, 2874 p., [95] p. of plates) : ill. (some col.), ports., facsims. ; 27 cm. ISBN 2040163514 (set)

R840.3 D561

Dictionnaire des lettres françaises. Publié sous la direction de Georges Grente [et al.] Paris, A. Fayard, 1951-1972. 5 v. in 7. 28 cm. [1] XVIe siècle.--[2] Le dix-septieme siècle.--[3] Le dix-huitieme siècle. 2. v.--[4] Le Moyen Age.--[5] Le dix-neuvième siècle. 2 v.

R840.3 D563

Signed articles on literay forms (rondeau, tombeau etc.), historical topics (collège, colportage etc.) and biobibliographies of authors (works by and about the author, manuscripts, collected and selected works and reference sources). Divided by period : Medieval, 16th and 17th centuries in one volume each and 18th and 19th centuries in two volumes each.

Dictionnaire Bordas de littérature française et francophone par Henri Lemaître. -- Paris : Bordas, c1985. x, 850 p. ; 22 cm. ISBN 204016169

R840.3 L543

Dictionnaire des oeuvres littéraires de langue française. Jean-Pierre de Beaumarchais, Daniel Couty. Paris: Bordas, 1994

R840.3 B381

Dictionary of modern French literature : from the age of reason through realism. Sandra W. Dolbow. -- Westport, Conn. : Greenwood Press, 1986. x, 365 p. ; 25 cm. ISBN 0313237840 (lib. bdg. : alk. paper)

R840.3D68p

Modern French literature : a library of literary criticism compiled and edited by Debra Popkin, Michael Popkin. -- New York : Ungar, c1977. 2 v. ; 24 cm. ISBN 0804432562

R840.9 M72

Curley, Dorothy Nyren and Arthur Curley. A Library of Literary Criticism, Modern Romance Literatures. New York: F. Ungar Publ. Co., 1967. Arranged by Subject-Author. Includes a dozen lines of text from each critic. Covers some 150 authors f rom 20th-century European, Romance language literature. See also Popkin. Curley's sources do not in general overlap with those of Popkin.

R840 C928

Braun, Sidney David, 1912- ed. Dictionary of French literature. New York, Philosophical Library [1958] xiii, 362 p. ports. 22 cm. Includes bibliographical references.

R840.3 B738

A New history of French literature. Edited by Denis Hollier. Cambridge, Mass. : Harvard University Press, 1989. xxv, 1150 p. : ill. ; 7 cm. ISBN 0674615654

R840.9 N42 (Desk)

The Oxford Companion to French Literature. Compiled and edited by Paul Harvey and J. E. Heseltine. Oxford: Clarendon Press, 1959. x, 771 p. maps. 24 cm.

R840.3 H26

The Concise Oxford dictionary of French literature. Edited by Joyce M. H. Reid. -- Oxford : Clarendon Press, 1976. 669 p. ; 22 cm. An abridged and rev. version of The Oxford companion to French literature, first published in 1959. ISBN 0198661185 / ISBN 0192812009 (pbk.)

R840.3 H26 (Desk)

Giraud, Jeanne. Manuel de bibliographie littéraire pour les XVIe, XVIIe, XVIIIe siècles français ... 1921-1935; 2e éd.: Paris: Librairie philosophique J. Vrin, 1958. (Publications de la faculté des Lettres de l'Université de Lille. II.) The first ed. in 1939. 1936-1945: Paris: Librairie Nizet, 1956. 1946-1955: Paris: Librairie Nizet, 1970.

R016.84 L293

Topical Encyclopedias and Dictionaries

Dictionnaire des plagiaires. Roland de Chaudenay. Paris : Perrin, c1990. 319 p. ; 20 cm. ISBN 226200739X

R840.3 C39

Lexique pour l'explication de texte J.D. Biard. -- [Exeter] : University of Exeter, 1980. 42 p. ; 21 cm. ISBN 0859891518 

R840.7 B47

Collections

La Bibliothèque de la Pléiade    Non-circulating collection in the European Reading Room.  Circulating copies in the Butler Stacks (separately cataloged under author or subject).

GENERAL HISTORY OF FRENCH LITERATURE

The Cambridge History of French Literature in Cambridge Histories Online

Histoire litteraire de la France.  Paris Imprimerie national, 1733-  v.1- [43] R840.9 H62

    The work was started by Benedictine monks of the Congregation de Saint Maur in the 18th century.  Currently edited by the Academie des inscriptions et belles lettres.

Histoire de la litterature franciase.  2e ed. Paris: Del Duca, 1956-1965, 10 v.  R840.9 H6291