French Studies Reference Sources: Authors


Medieval and Early Modern

Christine de Pizan

Christine de Pizan : a bibliographical guide . Angus J. Kennedy. -- London : Grant & Cutler, 1984. 131 p.(Research bibliographies & checklists ; 42) ISBN 0729301788  R841C463 AK

Yenal, Edith. Christine de Pizan : a bibliography. 2nd ed. Metuchen, N.J. : Scarecrow Press, c1989. R841C463 AY

Marie de France

Marie de France : an analytical bibliography . [by] Glyn S. Burgess. -- London : Grant and Cutler, 1977. 133 p.(Research bibliographies and checklists ; 21) ISBN 0729300447  R841M33 AB

......Suppl. no.1: London : Grant & Cutler, 1986. R841M33 AB Suppl.

Montaigne

Bibliographie annotée des ouvrages relatifs à Montaigne, publiés entre 1976 et 1985 : avec un complément de la Bibliographie de Pierre Bonnet . H. Peter Clive. -- Paris : H. Champion, 1990. 250 p. (Etudes montaignistes ; 4) ISBN 205101101x R842M76 AC

Bibliographie méthodique et analytique des ouvrages et documents relatifs à Montaigne (jusqu'à 1975) . Pierre Bonnet ; avec une préface de Robert Aulotte. -- Genève : Editions Slatkine, 1983. 586 p. . ISBN 2051005281 R842M76 AB

Rabelais

Concordance des Oeuvres de François Rabelais , préparée par J.E.G. Dixon, avec la collaboration de John L. Dawson. -- Genève : Droz, 1992. xx, 1159 p.(Etudes rabelaisiennes ; t. 26) (Travaux d'Humanisme et Renaissance ; 260) R842R11 GD

Villon

François Villon : a bibliography . Robert D. Peckham. -- New York : Garland Pub., 1990. xx, 534 p.(Garland reference library of the humanities ; vol. 1059) (Garland medieval bibliographies ; v. 3) ISBN 0824045300  R842V719 AP

François Villon, Bibliographie und Materialien 1489-1988 , herausgegeben von Rudolf Sturm. -- M_unchen ; New York : Saur, 1990- v. : ill. (some col.) ; 25 cm. Bd. 1. Bibliographie -- Materialien zu Werk und Wirkung ISBN 3598108923 (set) R 842 V 719 AS

Seventeenth Century

Corneille

Bibliographie zu Pierre Corneille von 1958 bis 1983 . Ada Ritter. -- Erftstadt : Lukassen, c1983. . ISBN 3923769067  R843C81 AR

Pascal

Bibliographie Blaise Pascal (1960-1969) , par Lane M. Heller et Thérèse Goyet. -- Clermont-Ferrand : ADOSA, c1989. 177 p. ; 24 cm. ISBN 2866390644 R843 P 26 AH 36

Eighteenth Century

Diderot

Bibliographie de Diderot : répertoire analytique international. Frederick A. Spear. -- Genève : Droz, 1980-1988. 2 v. ; 23 cm. -- (Histoire des idées et critique littéraire ; v. 187, 264)  R843D56 AS

Montesquieu

Répertoire des ouvrages et des articles sur Montesquieu . Louis Desgraves. -- Genève : Librairie Droz, 1988. 358 p. ; 23 cm. -- (Histoire des idées et critique littéraire ; 265) R 843 M 76 AD 458

Rousseau

A Rousseau dictionary. N.J.H. Dent. -- Cambridge, MA : Blackwell Reference, 1992. vii, 279 p. ; 24 cm. -- (The Blackwell philosopher dictionaries) ISBN 0631175687 (hb). -- ISBN 0631175695 (pb)  R843 R 76 GD

Voltaire

A bibliography of writings on Voltaire, 1825-1925 , by Mary Margaret H. Barr. -- New York : Institute of French Studies, 1929. xxiii, 123p. ill. 21cm. -- (Publications of the Institute of French Studies.) R843 V 88 AB 2

Spear, Frederick A. (Frederick Augustus) Bibliographie analytique des ecrits relatifs a Voltaire 1966-1990 . Oxford : Voltaire Foundation, 1992. R843V88 DS

Dictionnaire Voltaire . Bruxelles : Espace de libertes, 1994. R843V88 GD

Dictionnaire de la pensee de Voltaire par lui-meme : Ed. Complexe, c1994. R843V88 GV

Nineteenth Century

Chateaubriand

Bibliographie de la critique sur François-René de Chateaubriand, 1801-1986. Pierre H. Dubé & Ann Dubé. -- Paris : A.-G. Nizet, 1988. ix, 483 p. ; 24 cm. ISBN 2707811149 R844C39 AD

Gide

Martin, Claude, 1933- Bibliographie chronologique des livres consacrés à André Gide, 1918-1986. Claude Martin. -- Lyon : Centre d'études gidiennes, Université Lumière (Lyon II), 1987. vii, 51 p. ; 30 cm. R844 G36 AM

An annotated bibliography of criticism on André Gide : 1973-1988 . Catharine Savage Brosman. -- New York : Garland, 1990. xxii, 327 p. ; 24 cm. -- (Garland reference library of the humanities ; vol. 959) ISBN 0824079736  R844 G36 AN

Hugo

Victor Hugo's drama : an annotated bibliography, 1900-1980 compiled by Ruth Lestha Doyle. -- Westport, Conn. : Greenwood Press, 1981. x, 217 p. ; 25 cm. ISBN 0313228841 (lib. bdg.)  R844H87 AD777

Maupassant

Maupassant criticism : a centennial bibliography, 1880-1979 Jefferson, N.C. : McFarland, 1982. R844M44 AA

Rimbaud

Le dictionnaire Rimbaud. Claude Jeancolas. -- Paris : Balland, c1991. 427 p. ; 25 cm. "oeuvre poétique complète [de Rimbaud]": p. [289]-[424]. ISBN 2715809018  R844R462 GJ

A concordance to the Oeuvres complètes of Arthur Rimbaud, compiled by William C. Carter and Robert F. Vines. -- Athens : Ohio University Press, c1978. xiv, 810 p. ; 27 cm. ISBN 0821402161  R844 R 462 AC

Zola

Dictionnaire d'Emile Zola : sa vie, son oeuvre, son époque ; suivi du Dictionnaire des "Rougon-Macquart" ; et des Catalogues des ventes après décès des biens de Zola. Colette Becker, Gina Gourdin-Servenière, Véronique Lavielle. -- Paris : Robert Laffont, c1993. vi, 700 p., 16 p. of plates : ill. ; 20 cm. -- (Bouquins) ISBN 2221076125 R844 Z7 GB

A Zola dictionary; the characters of the Rougon-Macquart novels of Emile Zola, by J. G. Patterson. With a biographical and critical introd., synopses of the plots, bibliographical note, map, genealogy, etc. London, G. Routledge; New York, Dutton, 1912. Detroit, Gale Research Co. 1969. xl, 232 p. 22 cm.  R844 Z7 GP1

Emile Zola : a selective analytical bibliography. Brian Nelson. -- London : Grant & Cutler, 1982. 150 p. ; 23 cm. -- (Research bibliographies & checklists ; 36) ISBN 0729301265 R844Z7 AN135

Bibliographie de la critique sur Emile Zola, 1971-1980 . David Baguley. -- Toronto ; Buffalo : University of Toronto Press, 1982. 235 p. ; 24 cm. ISBN 0802024564 R844Z7 AB1

Baguley, David. Bibliographie de la critique sur Emile Zola, 1864-1970. Toronto: U. of Toronto Pr., 1976. Chronological arrangement by the date of publication. All types of publications, including theses in a separate list. Indexes by names and broad subject category. R844Z7 AB

Twentieth Century

Barthes, Roland

Roland Barthes, a bibliographical reader's guide. Sanford Freedman, Carole Anne Taylor. -- New York : Garland, 1983. xxxvi, 409 p. ; 23 cm. -- (Garland bibliographies of modern critics and critical schools ; v. 6) (Garland reference library of the humanities ; v. 322) ISBN 0824092929  R844B28 AF87

Breton, André

Revues surréalistes françaises autour d'André Breton, 1948-1972, par Marguerite Bonnet et Jacqueline Chénieux-Gendron, avec la collaboration de José Pierre ... [et al.]. -- Millwood, N.Y. : Kraus International Publications, 1982. x, 294 p. ; 24 cm. ISBN 0527097500  R844B756 AB

Colette

Colette : an annotated primary and secondary bibliography compilation and annotation, by Donna M. Norell. -- New York ; London : Garland Pub., 1993. xxix, 552 p. : ill. ; 23 cm. -- (Garland reference library of the humanities ; vol. 805) R844C67 AN

Mallarmé

Stéphane Mallarmé : twentieth-century criticism (1972-1979), by D. Hampton Morris. -- University, Miss. (P.O. Box 7553, University 38677) : Romance Monographs, 1989. 97 p. ; 26 cm. -- (Romance Monographs, Inc. ; no. 48)  R844 M295 AM

Mauriac

François Mauriac : essai de bibliographie des oeuvres de François Mauriac, par Keith Goesch. -- Paris : Lettres modernes : Minard, 1986- v.1 - ; 18 cm. -- (Calepins de bibliographie ; no. 8) ISBN 225690847x (v. 1) R844 M446 AG

------------ François Mauriac, essai de bibliographie chronologique, 1908-1960 K. J. Goesch. 1965. Butler Stacks: 844M445 AG

Proust

Marcel Proust : a reference guide. Janet C. Stock. -- Boston, MA : G.K. Hall, 1991. xxiv, 565 p. ; 24 cm. -- (A Reference guide to literature) ISBN 0816189870  R844P94 AS

Newman-Gordon, Pauline. Dictionnaire des idees dans l'oeuvre de Marcel Proust. Avec une préface d'Alphonse Juilland. The Hague, Mouton & Co., 1968. 548 p. 27 cm. (Collection Dictionnaires des idées dans les littératures occidentales: Littérature française, 1. sér.: Dictionnaires d'auteurs, 3)  R844 P 94 GN 2

Kilmartin, Terence. [Guide to Proust] A reader's guide to Remembrance of things past, compiled by Terence Kilmartin. -- 1st American ed. -- New York : Random House, c1983. viii, 193 p. ; 22 cm. Originally published in England under ti tle: A guide to Proust. ISBN 0394533267  R844P94 GK

Marcel Proust and his contexts : a critical bibliography of English language scholarship. Elisabeth Russell Taylor. -- New York : Garland, 1981. xvii, 235 p. ; 23 cm. -- (Garland reference library of the humanities ; v. 264) ISBN 0824093550  R844P94 AT

Nathan, Jacques. Citations, références et allusions de Marcel Proust dans A la recherche du temps perdu. Nouvelle édition corrigée er augmentée. Paris, A.G. Nizet, 1969. 221 p. 19 cm. First edition issued under title: Citations, références et allusions de Proust dans A la recherche du temps perdu.  R844 P 94 GN 19

A Proust dictionary, by Maxine Arnold Vogely. -- Troy, N. Y. : Whitston Pub. Co., 1981. vii, 755 p. ; 24 cm. ISBN 0878752056 R844P94 GV

Sartre

Jean-Paul Sartre and his critics : an international bibliography (1938-1980). François H. Lapointe ; with the collaboration of Claire Lapointe. -- Annotated and rev. 2nd ed. -- Bowling Green, Ohio : Philosophy Documentation Center, Bowling Green State University, c1981. 697 p. ; 24 cm. -- (Bibliographies of famous philosophers) ISBN 0912632445  R844Sa77 AL312

Sartre : bibliographie 1980-1992. Michel Rybalka & Michel Contat ; avec la collaboration de Yvan Cloutier, Laura Piccioni, Danièle Calvot. -- Paris : CNRS ; Bowling Green, Ohio : Philosophy Documentation Center, Bowling Green State University, 1993. 247 p. ; 24 cm. -- (CNRS littérature) (CNRS philosophie) ISBN 2271051142 R844Sa77 AR

The writings of Jean-Paul Sartre, compiled by Michel Contat and Michel Rybalka ; translated by Richard C. McCleary. -- Evanston : Northwestern University Press, 1974. 2 v. ; 24 cm. -- (Northwestern University studies in phenomenology & existential philosophy) Translation, with revisions and additions, of Les écrits de Sartre. v. 1. Contat, M. and Rybalka, M. A bibliographical life.--v. 2. Sartre, J.-P. Selected prose. ISBN 0810104393  R844 SA 77 AC

Sartre : a comprehensive bibliography of international theses and dissertations, 1950-1985, by Gernot U. Gabel. -- 1st. ed. -- K_oln : Gemini, 1992. 79 p. ; 21 cm. -- (Bibliographien zur Philosophie, ISSN 0173-1831 ; 15) ISBN 3922331300 R844 SA77 AG

Jean-Paul Sartre and his critics : an international bibliography (1938-1980). François H. Lapointe ; with the collaboration of Claire Lapointe. -- Annotated and rev. 2nd ed. -- Bowling Green, Ohio : Philosophy Documentation Center, Bowling Green State University, c1981. 697 p. ; 24 cm. -- (Bibliographies of famous philosophers) ISBN 0912632445  R844 S 77

Valéry

Arnold, A. James. Paul Valéry and his critics, a bibliography of French-Language Criticism, 1890-1927. Charlottesville: University Press of Virginia forr the Bibliographical Society of the University of Virginia, 1970. Chronological list of 1969 items. Annotated. Index (names and some topics.) R844V237 AA

Karaïskakis, Georges and François Chapon. Bibliographie des OEuvres de Paul Valéry publiées de 1889 à 1965. Paris: Librairie Auguste Blaizot, 1976. A detailed physical description of over 450 items arranged chronologically. Indexes by title and personal names. R844V237 AK