Sources by Time Period


Medieval

See also: Cabeen, vol. 1.

Manuel bibliographique de la littérature française du Moyen âge : suivi des suppléments de 1949-1953 et 1954-1960. Robert Bossuat ; avec le concours de Jacques Monfrin. -- Genève : Slatkine Reprints, 1986. xxxiv, 638, 150, 132 p. ; 23 cm. Includes indexes. Reprint of ed. published: Melun : Librairie d'Argences, 1951-1961. ISBN 205100739X R016.84 B651 (Desk)

Manuel bibliographique de la littérature française du moyen âge. Troisieme supplément, 1960-1980 Françoise Vielliard, Jacques Monfrin. -- Paris : Editions du Centre National de la Recherche Scientifique, 1986- v. ; 25 cm. I. Les origines. Les légendes épiques. Le roman courtois. R016.84 B65 Suppl.3

The medieval Charlemagne legend : an annotated bibliography by Susan E. Farrier. -- New York : Garland Pub, 1993. 646 p. ; 22 cm. -- (Garland reference library of the humanities ; vol. 984) ISBN 0824009495  R016.841 C37

A guide to studies on the Chanson de Roland by Joseph J. Duggan. -- London : Grant and Cutler, 1976. 133 p. ; 23 cm. -- (Research bibliographies & checklists ; 15) ISBN 072930017X  R016.841 D879

The Roman de la rose : an annotated bibliography. Heather M. Arden. -- New York : Garland Pub., 1993. xxx, 385 p. ; 23 cm. -- (Garland medieval bibliographies ; vol. 8) (Garland reference library of the humanities ; vol. 1358) ISBN 0824057996 L.C. CALL NO: Z8374.6478.A73 1993 PQ1528 R841 R66 AA

An index of proper names in French Arthurian prose romances G. D. West. -- Toronto ; Buffalo : University of Toronto Press, c1978. xxix, 312 p. ; 26 cm. -- (University of Toronto romance series ; 35) ISBN 0802053882 R841 W52

Flutre, Louis-Fernand. Table des Noms propres ...figurant dans les Romans du Moyen Age. Poitiers: CESCM, 1962. R941 F671

Histoire littéraire de la France.... Les Bénédictins de la Congrégation de Saint-Maur, 1733-1763 [v. 1-12]; L'Académie des Inscriptions et Belles-Lettres, 1814 - [v. 13 - ] 41 in 44 vol. covering to the 14th century. R840.9 H62

Société Rencesvals. Bulletin bibliographique Paris: A. G. Nizet. Fasc. 1, 1958 - R016.841 So13 See also International Medieval Bibliography and Fonti medieaevi in the European history section of the Butler Reference collection.

The Fifteenth Century

See also: Cabeen, vol. 1.

British Museum. Dept. of Printed Books. Short-title catalogue of books printed in France and of French books printed in other countries from 1470 to 1600 now in the British Library. London: Quaritch, 1924; Reprint: London, British Museum, 1966. R015.44 B77 1924 Supplement. -- London : British Library, 1986. viii, 291 p. ; 22 cm. ISBN 0712300643 R015.44 B77 Suppl.

Brunet, Gustave. La France Littéraire au XVe siècle ou catalogue raisonné des ouvrages en tout genre imprimés en langue française jusqu'à l'an 1500. Paris: Librairie A. Franck; 1865. Alphabetically arranged by author or title. With descript ion and notes. R015.44 B835

Le Petit, Jules. Bibliographie des principales éditions originales d'écrivains français du XVe au XVIIIe siècles. Hildsheim, New York: Georg Olms Verlag, 1969. Reprint of the 1889, Paris, edition. Facsimiles of the title-pages and detailed description. In chronological order. Indicates the price. Indexes by author and title. R016.84 L551

See also Bibliographie internationale de la Renaissance et d'Humanisme.

The Sixteenth Century

See also: Cabeen, vol. 2.

Bibliographie de la littérature française du seizième siècle Alexandre Cioranescu ; collaboration et préface de V.-L. Saulnier. -- Paris : Klincksieck, 1959. xiv, 745 p. ; 27 cm. R016.84 C49

Saunders, Alison and Dudley Wilson. Catalogue des poésies françaises de la Bibliothèque de l'Arsenal, 1501-1600. Paris : Centre national de la recherche scientifique, 1985. 205 p. ; 25 cm. ISBN 2222036380 (pbk.)  R016.841 Sa87

La Croix du Maine, François Grudé, sieur de. Premier volume de la bibliothèque du sieur de la Croix du Maine...Paris: A. l'Angellier, 1584. Rare Books and Manuscript Library: B011 L11; Book Arts: 018.31 L114

Livres populaires du XVIe siècle : répertoire sud-est de la France sous la responsabilité de Guy Demerson ... [et al.]. -- Paris : Editions du centre national de la recherche scientifique, 1986. 397 p. ; ill., facsims. ; 25 cm.
R015.44 D394

Inventaire chronologique des éditions parisiennes du XVIe siècle par Brigitte Moreau, d'après les manuscrits de Philippe Renouard. -- Paris : Service des travaux historiques de la ville de Paris, 1972- v. ; 24 cm. -- (Histoire générale de Paris) Contents: 1. 1501-1510 -- 2. 1511-1520 -- 3. 1521-1530.R015.44 M813

British Museum. Dept. of Printed Books. Short-title catalogue of books printed in France and of French books printed in other countries from 1470 to 1600 now in the British Library. London: Quaritch, 1924; Reprint: London: British Museum, 1966. R015.44 B77 1924 Supplement. -- London : British Library, 1986. viii, 291 p. ; 22 cm. ISBN 0712300643 R015.44 B77 Suppl.

L'ère baroque en France : répertoire chronologique des éditions de textes littéraires. Roméo Arbour. -- Genève : Droz, 1977-1985. 4 v. in 5 ; 23 cm. -- (Histoire des idées et critique littéraire ; v. 165, 178, 191, 229) 1ère ptie. 1585-1615 (2 v.); 2e ptie. 1616-1628; 3e ptie. 1629-1643 4e ptie. Supplément 1585-1643. R016.84 Ar18

Répertoire bibliographique des livres imprimés en France au 16e siècle. Baden-Baden: Heitz; 1968- . (Bibliotheca bibliographica Aureliana, 75, 81, 84-6, 89, 91, 94, 97.). T.1-6,8-9. Arranged by town, printer and date. Butler stacks: 010.8 B472

The Seventeenth Century

See also: Cabeen, vol. 3.

Calvet. J. Histoire de la littérature française. Paris: Del Duca, 1955-64. v. 1: Le Moyen Age; v.2: La Renaissance; v.3: 1600-1660; v.4: 1660-1700; v. 5: Littérature religieuse. v.8: Le Romanticism; v. 9: Le Realisme et le Naturalisme; v.10: Les Lettres contemporaines. R840.9 H6291

L'ère baroque en France : répertoire chronologique des éditions de textes littéraires. Roméo Arbour. -- Genève : Droz, 1977-1985. 4 v. in 5 ; 23 cm. -- (Histoire des idées et critique littéraire ; v. 165, 178, 191, 229) 1ère ptie. 1585-1615 (2 v.); 2e ptie. 1616-1628; 3e ptie. 1629-1643 4e ptie. Supplément 1585-1643. R016.84 Ar18

British Museum.A Short Title Catalogue of French Books, 1601-1700. London: British Museum. V. F. Goldsmith, ed. Reprint: by Falkestone and London:Dawsons of Pall Mall, 1969-1973. R015.44 B773

French 17, an annual descriptive bibliography of French Seventeenth century studies. New York: Modern Language Association of America, Seventeenth century French division, 1954- Title varies. No.1:1953 (1954)--[no. 33: 1985] Pt.1, Bi bliogrpahies, linguistics and history of the book; pt.2, artistic, political and social bakground; pt.3, philosophy,science and religion; pt.4, literary history and criticism; pt.5, authors and personages; pt.6: research in progress. Includes conference papers, books and reviews. R016.84 B48: no.1-31; ...B481: no.32- [1978-2009].

Cioranescu, Alexandre. Bibliographie de la littérature du dix-septième siècle. Paris: CNRS, 1969- 2nd edition. lst ed.: 1965-66 (R016.84 C493) In 3 vols. The same organization as his 16th-century bibliography. Indexed by author, illustrator, cryptonym and subject. R016.84 C4931

The Eighteenth Century

See also: Cabeen, vol. 4.

Le siècle des lumières : bibliographie chronologique. Pierre M. Conlon. -- Genève : Droz, 1983- v. ; 23 cm. -- (Histoire des idées et critique littéraire ; vol. 213, 222, 227, 239, 250, 266, 282, 299, 302, 309) t. 1. 1716-1722 -- t. 2. 1723-1729 -- t. 3. 1730-1736 -- t. 4. 1737-1742 -- t. 5. 1743-1747 -- t. 6. 1748-1752 -- t. 7. 1753-1756 -- t. 8. 1757-1760 -- t. 9. Supplément: 1716-1760 -- t. 10. Index des titres: 1716-1760-- t.11: supplément 1716-1760 (1992).  B802 R015.44 C76

Erach, Johann Samuel. La France Littéraire contenant les auteurs français de 1771 à 1796. Hambourg: B.G. Hoffmann; 1797-1798. 3 vols. 2nd supplement (1805), Hambourg, 1806. corr. and add. Arranged alphabetically by author. Tables des matières. Fir st supplement (1800) with "Table des matières." R015.44 Er8

Quérard, Joseph M. La France Littéraire...pendant les XVIIIe et XIXe siècles. Paris: Maisonneuve et Larose; 1984. 12 vols. "Literature" in the broad sense of the term. Covers all fields. With biographical notes, historical or critical comments. Includes foreign authors writing in French. R015.44 Q351

Cioranescu, Alexandre. Bibliographie de la littérature française du dix-huitième siècle. Paris: CNRS, 196 -1969. In 3 vols. v.1, Généralités, A-D; v. 2, E-Q; v.3, R-Z, Indexes. Indexes by author, illustrator, cryptonym and subject. R016.84 C 494

Cohen, Henry. Guide de l'amateur de livres à vignettes (et à figures) du XVIIIe siècle. 4e éd. revue, corrigée et enrichie... Paris: Rouquette, 1880. Butler Stacks, Z1023.C67 1880.

Monglond, André. La France révolutionnaire et impériale: annales de bibliographie méthodique et description des livres illustrés... . Grenoble: Editions B. Arthaud, 1930-1978. 10 v. R016.944 M74

The Nineteenth Century

See also: Cabeen, vol. 5.

Thieme, Hugo Paul. Guide bibliographique de la littérature française de 1800 à 1906, par Hugo P. Thieme. Prosateurs, poètes, auteurs dramatiques et critiques. Paris, H. Welter, 1907. xxii, 510 p. map. 25 cm. R016.84 T3416

Drevet, Marguerite L. Bibliographie de la littérature française, 1940-1949. Complément à la bibliographie de H. P. Thieme. Genève, Librairie E. Droz, 1954 [i.e. 1954-55] xvi, 644 p. 25 cm. Issued in 7 parts. "Suite de l'oeuvre de Hugo H. [sic] Thieme qui avait été continuée de 1930 à 1939 par Mesdemoiselles Dreher et Rolli." Includes the work of 19th and 20th-century authors published for the most part between 1940 and 1949. "Patronymes, pseudonymes, etc.": p. [637]-[644].  R016.84 T3415

Cheron, Paul. Catalogue général de la Librairie française, 1800-1855. Paris: Au Bureau de la propriété littéraire, courrier de la Librairie; 1856-1859. "A-Dubuisson" in 3 vols. Alphabetically arranged by author. Jan. 1, 1800 through Dec. 31, 1855.R015.44 C424 (in very poor condition) See also Otto Lorenz for the period from 1840 to 1925 (Offsite AC40 L85).

Thième, Hugo P. Bibliographie de la littérature française de 1800 à 1930. Paris, 1933; Reprint: Genève: Slatkine, 1977. 3 vols. R016.84 T341 Paris, 1933; Genève: Slatkine Reprints, 1971 (v.1-2); Droz, 1954 (v.3). v.1: t. 1, A-K; v.2: t.2, L-Z; t.3, La Civilisation; v.3: Complément 1940-1949 Par Marguerite L. Drevet. Works and articles in chronological order under the subject-author. Reference works and periodical articles. Includes writers in divers fields. Vol. 3 is arranged by subject such as literary genres, schools and movements, civilization, education, feminism...Source periodicals are predominently French language publications. R016.84 T3411 &...T3415

Dreher, S. and M. Rolli. Bibliographie de la littérature française, 1930-1939. Genève: Droz; Lille: Librairie Giard, 1948. Updating of v.1-2. R016.84 T3414

Drevet, Marguerite L. Bibliographie de la littérature française, 1940-49. Genève, 1954-55. Updates the author vols. R016.84 T3415

Quérard, Joseph M. La France Littéraire...pendant les XVIIIe et XIXe siècles. Paris: Maisonneuve et Larose; 1984. 12 vols. Includes foreign authors writing in French. R015.44 Q351

Quérard, Joseph M., Charles Louandre and Felix Bourquelot. La Littérature française contemporaine XIXe siècle. Paris: G. P. Maisonneuve et Larose; 1965; 6 vols. 1827-1849, 1857(v.6). Paris: Daguin, 1840-1857. French writers and works translated into French. R015.44 Q3521

Vicaire, Georges. Manuel de l'Amateur de Livres du 19e siècle, 1801-1893. Paris: Librairie A. Rouquette; 1894-1910. 7 v. and Table; [v.8] Table des ouvrages cités, 1920. Arranged by author and title of anonymous work. Lists illustrated books and original editions. R015.44 V66

Carteret, Léopold. Le Trésor du bibliophile romantique et moderne, 1801-1875. Paris: L. Carteret, 1924-28. Le Trésor du bibliophile: livres illustrés modernes, 1875 à 1945. Paris: L. Carteret, 1946-48. 5 vols. Original editions and illustrated books of the 19th century. Indexes of cited works, illustrators and engravers. B844 AC24 (Special collections); Z2161.C32 (Graphic arts).

Talvart, Hector and J. Place. Bibliographie des authers modernes de langue française, 1801- . Paris: Eds. de la Chronique des lettres françaises, 1928- Last edition received: v. 22: 1801-1975 (1976). A biographical note and comp rehensive bibliography on authors alphabetically arranged. The last volume covers upto Claude Morgan. Index des titres des ouvrages décrits (t.I-XV); Index des noms des autheurs et collaborateurs des ouvrages décrits et des pseudonymes qui leurs sont attribué (t.I-XV); Index des illustrateurs des ouvrages décrits (t.I-XXII). R016.84 T14

The Twentieth Century

See also: Cabeen, vol. 6, and the 19th century section on  Thieme, Dreher and Drevet.

Französischsprachige Gegenwartsliteratur, 1918-1986/87 : eine bibliographische Bestandsaufnahme der Originaltexte und der deutschen übersetzungen. Joseph Jurt, Martin Ebel, Ursula Erzgräber ; unter Miterarbeit von Eugen Bader, Monika Hainm³ller, Jeanette Stoffel. -- Tübingen : Niemeyer, 1989. xxiv, 908 p. ; 24 cm. Text in German and French. ISBN 3484502495

Mahé, Raymond. Bibliographie des livres de luxe de 1900 à 1928 inclus. Paris: R. Kieffer, 1931 - 39. 3 v. Book Arts, Rare Books and Manuscripts Library, and Fine Arts, Avery

French XX Bibliogrpahy. Critical and biographical references for French literature since 1885. New York: French Institute-Alliance française, 1949- . Ed. by Douglas W. Alden and Peter C. Hoy. Annual (two to three year delay). Par t I: General subjects (bibliographies, collected articles, genres, history, memoires and letters, philosophy and religion, surrealism, symbolism, theater etc.); Part II: Author subjects; Part III: Cinema. R016.84 Al22

Dictionnaire des oeuvres du XXe siècle, littérature française et francophone Henri Mitterand, ed. Paris: Dictionnaires Le Robert, 1995. R844 D56