French Literature: Sources by Genres


Poetry

Guide to French poetry explication. Kathleen Coleman. -- New York : G.K. Hall; Toronto : Maxwell Macmillan Canada ; New York : Maxwell Macmillan International, c1993. xiv, 594 p. ; 24 cm. -- (A Reference publication in literature) ISBN 0816190755 R841 C67

Cooper, Clarissa B. Women poets of the twentieth century in France, a critical bibliography. New York: King's Crown Press, 1943. Covers the period 1900-1939. A survey (p.3-55) and a bibliography, arranged by author and with sample lines and notes. R016.841 C78< p> Lachèvre, Frédéric. Bibliographie des recueuils collectifs de poésies publiés e 1597 à 1700. Genève: Slatkine Reprints, 1967 (4 v.in 1); Paris, 1901-1905. t. 1:1597-1635; t.2: 1636-1661; t.3: 1662-1700; t.4: supplement. Aranged by author or edito r, with biographical notes, titles and first lines. Alphabetical index by editor, author or names mentioned in the titles or first lines. R016.841 L111

Lachèvre, Frédéric. Bibliographie des recuils collectifs de poésies du XVIe siècle (1503-1609). Paris: Librairie ancienne Honoré Champion, 1922. "..la description et le contenu des recueils une table générale des pièces anonymes ou signées d'initiales de ces recueils (titre et premier vers), avec l'indication du nom des auteurs pour celles qui ont pu être attribuées." R016.841 L12

Lachévre, Frédéric. Les Recueils collectifs de poésies libres et satiriques publiés depuis 1600 jusqu'à la mort de Théophile (1626). Paris: H. Champion et Edouard Champion, 1914. (Le Libertinage au XVIIe siècle. 4.) Supplément, additions et corrections, 1922. R016.841 L112

Barre, André. Bibliographie de la poésie symboliste. Paris: Jouve et Cie., 1911. Bibliographies, anthologies, critical works, articles in periodicals. Editions, translations and critical works in French and foreign Languages arranged by subject author. R016.841 B274

Theater

La Comédie-Française de 1680 à 1900; dictionnaire général des pièces et des auteurs [par] A. Joannidès. Avec und préface de Jules Claretie. Genève, Slatkine Reprints, 1970; Réimpression de l'édition de Paris: Librairie Plon, 1901. R840.128 C73

Joannidès, A. La Comédie française de 1680 à 1920. Tableau des représentations par auteurs et par pièces. Paris: Librairie Plon, 1921. Author and title index of plays performed by the Company from 1680 to 1920. R840.128 C732  

Champion, Edouard La Comédie française , 1er janvier 1927 - 31 décembre 1932. S.l., 1934-1938. Continues Joannidès. The 1926 ed. by J. Coüet. Year 1927/32 - 1937 (Paris: Librairie R. Munier, 1934-1938). Yearbook or annual report of the Company; on organization, finances and other administrative matters, chronicle and list of works performed. R840.128 C733

Petit de Julleville, L. Répertoire du théâtre comique en France au Moyen age. Paris: Librairie Léopold Cerf, 1886. (L'Histoire du théatre en France.) Contains three lists: Catalogue des pièces comiques dont le text est conservé; catalogue des pièces comiques perdues; Catalogue des représentations de pièces comiques. Arranged by title. Lists editions manuscripts, reference works, biography etc. R016.842 P443

Soleinne, Martineau de. Bibliothèque dramatique de Monsieur de Soleinne, catalogue rédigé par P. L. Jacob [Paul Lacroix]. Paris, 1843-45; reprint: Burt Franklin, 1965 . (Burt Franklin Biblography and reference series. 83.) R016.842 So41

Table des pièces de théatre décrites dans le catalogue de la bibliothèque de M. de Soleinne , par Charles Brunet. Morgand, 1914; Reprint: New York, Burt Franklin, 1965.. Alphabetical index of plays by title. R016.842 So41

Brenner, Clarence D. A Bibliographical list of plays in the French language,1700-1789. Berkeley, CA: the Associated students' store, 1947. Arranged alphabetically by author or title of anonymous works. Title index. Author, title, genre, number of acts, the theater and date of the first performance; indicates the location of manuscripts. R016.842 B75

Wicks, Charles Beaumont. The Parisian stage, alphabetical indexes of plays and authors, 1800-1900 . University, Alabama: University of Alabama Pr., 1950-1979. (University of Alabama Studies) [v.1] Part 1: 1800-1815 (1950); 2: 1816-1830 (1953) ; 3: 1831-1850 (1961). [v.2] Part 4: 1851-1875 (1967); 5: 1876-1900 (1979). Lists 31,879 items. With Author index. Arranged by title. Notes genre, number of acts and the place and date of the first performance. R016.842 W633

Mason, Hamilton. French theatre in New York; a list of plays, 1899-1939. New York, AMS Press, 1966. viii, 442 p. R016.842 M381

Novels

Godenne, René. Bibliographie critique de la nouvelle de langue française (1940-1985). -- Genève : Droz, 1989. 392 p. ; 23 cm. -- (Histoire des idées et critique littéraire ; vol. 269) L.C. CALL NO: Z2174.S5.G63 1989 PQ631 R016.843 G542

Godenne, René. Premier supplément à la Bibliographie critique de la nouvelle de langue française (1940-1990). Genève : Libr. Droz, 1992. 282 p. : ill. ; 23 cm. -- (Histoire des idées et critique littéraire ; vol. 315)  R016.843 G542 suppl.

Bibliographie du genre romanesque français, 1751-1800. Angus Martin, Vivienne G. Mylne, Richard Frautschi. -- London : Mansell, 1977. lxxii, 529 p. : ill. ; 29 cm. ISBN 0720103797 L.C. CALL NO: Z2174.F5.M37 PQ648 R016.843/M36

Woledge, Brian. Bibliographie des Romans et Nouvelles en prose française antérieurs à 1500. Genève: L. Droz; Lille: Libr. Giard, 1954. Supplément 1954-73. Droz, 1975. Manuscripts, old editions, modern critical editions. Date, sources and author of a story. R016.84 W83

Lever, Maurice. La Fiction narrative en prose au XVIIe siècle. Répertoire bibliographique du genre romantique en France (1600-1700). Paris: CNRS, 1976. The main list by title. Author and chronological lists. Proper noun index. Indicates location of copies (library and call number). A separate list for foreign authors' works translated into the French. R016.84 L57

Williams, Ralph Copplestone. Bibliography of the seventeenth century novel in France. London: Holland, 1964. Classified alphabetically by author. Novels are arranged in chronological order. Title index. Includes location of works. R016.84 W675

Baldner, R. W. Bibliography of Seventeenth-century French prose fiction. New York: M.L.A.A., dist. Columbia University Press, 1967. A short-title catalog without notes. Three separate lists by author, title and year of publication. Gives call numbers for copies in the Bibliothèque nationale, Paris, l'Arsenal, the Library of Congress and the British Museum. R016.843 B19

Martin, Angus, Vivienne G. Mylne and Richard Frautschi. Bibliographie du genre romanesque français, 1751-l800. London: Mansell; Paris: France Expansion, 1977. A bibliography and union catalog of French roman, conte, nouvelle and similar forms: "une présentation de tout ce qui a été publié en langue française en matière de roman, de conte, de nouvelle, de récit fictif en prose sous toutes les formes." A chronological list with an index by author and title. With brief notes on the subject and form of each title. Indicates reference sources and other editions. The library locations mostly in France and the U. S. A. R016.843 M36

Jones, Silas Paul. A List of French prose fiction from 1700 to 1750. New York: H. W. Wilson Co., 1937. Continues Williams. Roman, conte, histoire nouvelle and other forms of prose fiction which first appeared in print from 1700 to 1750. Excludes those published in periodicals. Chronological list with library locations (BN, Arsenal and BM). No call numbers. R016.843 J725