Research Materials in German Language & Literature


Guides

  • Faulhaber, Uwe K. German literature: an annotated reference guide. New York: Garland Pub., 1979. R016.83 F27
  • Hansel, Johannes. Bucherkunde fur Germanisten: Studienausgabe. 8. Aufl. Berlin: E. Schmidt, 1983. GLX Z2235.A2 H3 1983
  • Richardson, Larry. Introduction to library research in German studies. Boulder, Colo. : Westview Press, 1984. R016.943 R394

General Bibliography

  • Goedeke, Karl. Grundriss zur Geschichte der deutschen Dichtung aus den Quellen. 2. Aufl. 15 vols. Dresden: Ehlerman, 1884-1966. R016.831 G54 Most complete bibliography of German literature. Contains exhaustive listing of individual works, including multiple editions of each. Index at end of each volume, plus a new index vol.
  • Handbuch der deutschen Literaturgeschichte. 2. Abt.: Bibliographien. Bern: Franke, 1969- v.1-6, 8-12. R016.83 H19 Monographic series offering select bibliographies of individual periods and sometimes authors as well.
  • Korner, Joseph. Bibliographisches Handbuch des deutschen Schrifttums. Bern: Francke, 1966. R016.83 K8441 Period arrangement. Not as complete as Goedeke, but sometimes better for more recents coverage.
  • Kottelwesch, Clemens. Bibliographisches Handbuch der deutschen Literaturwissenschaft, 1945-1969. Frankfurt am Main: Klostermann,1971- R016.83 K84 Includes literary criticism, both German and foreign.

Bibliography by Period

Middle Ages

  • Bibliographien zur deutschen Literatur des Mittelalters. Berlin: E. Schmidt, 1966- GLX Z2232.B53 Monographic series. After v.8 cataloged by individual title.
  • Die deutsche Literatur des Mittelalters: Verfasserlexikon. 2. Aufl. Berlin: de Gruyter, 1977. 5 v. R043 St21
  • International medieval bibliography.Leeds, Eng.: University of Leeds, 1967- R016.9401 In86 Also on CD-ROM. Ref. Room

Renaissance 15th and 16th Centuries

  • British Museum Dept. of Printed Books. Short-title catalogue of books printed in the German-speaking countries and German books printed in other countries from 1455 to 1600 now in the British Museum. London: Trustees of the British Museum, 1962. +1990 Suppl. R015.43 B77
  • Bibliographie internationale de l'humanisme et de la renaissance. Geneva: Droz, 1965- R106.9406 B473

Baroque 17th Century

  • Dunnhaupt, Gerhard. Personalbibliographien zu den Drucken des Baroch. 2d. ed. Stuttgart: Hiersemann, 1990-1993. R016.83 D9223
  • Yale University. Library. Yale Collection of German Literature. German Baroque literature: a catalogue of the collection. 2v. New Haven: Yale University Press, 1958-69. R106.83 F112

Enlightenment/Classicism 18th Century

  • Internationale Bibliographie zur deutschen Klassik 1750-1850. Weimar: Nationale Forschungs- und Gedenkstatten der klassischen deutschen Literatur, Folge 11/12- 1964/65-- R016.83 In82.
  • The eighteenth century; a current bibliography. Philadelphia, American Society for Eighteenth Century Studies. 1970-1974 n.s. 1- 1975-R016.82 Ei44

Romanticism 19th Century

  • The Romantic Movement; a selective and critical bibliography. Boulder, Col.: University of Colorado Press, 1937-R016.8 R663 Covers the entire movement, organized by country.

Modern 20th Century

  • Hopster, Norbert. Literaturlenkung im Dritten Reich. Hildesheim: Olms, 1993. R016.83 H77.
  • Melzwig, Brigitte. Deutsche sozialistische Literatur, 1918-1945. Berlin: Aufbau-Verlag, 1975. R016.831 M499
  • Raabe, Paul. Index Expressionismus. 18 v. Nendeln, Liechtenstein: Kraus-Thampson Organization. 1972. R050 In2
  • Sternfeld, Wilhelm. Deutsche Exil-Literatur, 1933-1945. 2d. Aufl. Heidelberg: L. Schneider, 1970. R043 St451
  • Wallas, Armin A. Zeitschriften und Anthologien des Expressionismus in Osterreich. 2 v. München: Saur, 1995. R106.83 W15

First Editions

  • Handbuch der Editionen: deutschsprachige Schriftsteller Ausgang des 15. Jahrhunderts bis zur Gegenwart. München: Beck, 1979. R016.83 H194
  • Hirschberg, Leopold. Der Taschengoedete: Bibliographie deutschen Erstausgaben. 2. Aufl. München: DTV, 1970. GLX Z2231 H67 1970 Also good source for anonyms and pseudonyms. New York Public Research Library has microfiche collection of all titles listed herein.
  • Wilpert, Gero von. Erstausgaben deutscher Dichtung; eine Bibliographie zur deutschen Literatur, 1600-1990. 2d. Aufl. Stuttgart: A. Kroner, 1992. GLX PT85.W54 1992g

Jewish Authors

  • Lexikon deutsch-judischer Autoren, Redaktionelle Leitung, Renate Heuer. München: Saur, 1992- R016.83 L46 Themes, Motifs
  • Schmitt, Franz A. Stoff-und-Motivgeschichte der deutschen Literatur. 3. Aufl. Berlin: de Gruyter, 1976. R106.83 Sch562 Indexes books, periodicals, chapters, etc. by the themes and motifs of German literature.

Women Authors

  • Bibliographie der deutschsprachigen frauenliteratur. Pfaffenweiler: Centaurus-Verlagsgesellschaft, 1995- R016.83 B646
  • Brinker-Gabler, Gisela. Lexikon deutschsprachiger Schriftstellerinnen, 1800-1945. München: Deutscher Taschenbuch Verlag, 1986. R016.83 B77
  • An Encyclopedia of German women writers, 1900-1933: biographies and bibliographies with exemplary readings. Lewiston, NY: E. Mellen Press, 1997- GLX PT1141 L495
  • The feminist encyclopedia of German literature, edited by Friederike Eigler and Susanne Kord. Westport, CT: Greenwood Press, 1997. R830.9 F34
  • Friedrichs, Elisabeth. Die deutschsprachige Schriftstellerinnen des 18. und 19. Jahrhunderts: ein Lexikon. Stuttgart: Metzler, 1981. R043 F91
  • Gallas, Helga. Romane und Erzahlungen deutscher Schriftstellerinnen um 1800: eine Bibliographie mit Standortnachweisen. Stuttgart: Metzler, 1993. R016.833 G13.
  • Pataky, Sophie. Lexikon deutscher Frauen der Feder; eine Zusammenstellung der seit dem Jahre 1840 erschienenen Werke weiblicher Autoren, nebst Biographien der lebenden und einem Verzeichnis der Pseudonyme. 2 v. Berlin: Pataky, 1898. R106.83 P27

Current Bibliography

  • Internationale germanistische Bibliographie. IGB München: Saur, 1981-- R016.83 G318

Bibliographies of Periodicals

  • Diesch, Carl. Bibliographie der germanischen Zeitschriften. Neudr. 1927. Stuttgart: Hiersemann, 1970. R016.05 D5621
  • Dietzel, Thomas. Deutsche Literarische Zeitschriften 1880-1945. Ein Repertorium. 5 v. München: Saur, 1988. R016.0543 D568
  • Estermann, Alfred. Die deutschen Literatur-Zeitschriften 1815-1850. Nendeln: Karus-Thamson, 1977-1981. R016.0543 Es 853
  • Estermann, Alfred. Die deutschen Literatur-Zeitschriften 1850-1880. München. R016.83 Es85
  • Kirchner, Joachim. Bibliographie der Zeitschriften des deutschen Sprachgebietes bis 1900. v.1-3, 4, pt.1 Stuttgart: Hiersemann, 1966. R106.0543 K633

Periodical Indexes

  • Bibliographie der deutschen Sprach- und Literaturwissenschaft. Frankfurt M: Klostermann, 1957- v.1-37. R016.83 B473
  • Germanistik: internationales Referatenorgan mit bibliographischen Hinweisen. Tubingen: Niemeyer, 1960- R016.83 G371
  • MLA International bibliography of books and articles. New York: Modern Language Association of America 1921- R016.8 M72 (Also available on CLIO+ and the Web)
  • The Year's work in modern language studies. London: Cambridge University Press, 1930- R016.8 Y33 Similar to MLA but more focused on UK and the continent.

Dictionaries (German-German)

  • Grimm, Jacob and Wilhelm. Deutsches Worterbuch. 16 v. in 33 v. München: DTV, 1984. R German G88 Oldest and most important German dictionary
  • Duden. Das grosse Worterbuch der deutschen Sprache. 2. Aufl. Mannheim: Duden, . 1993- R German G911 Best new dictionary.

Books in Print

  • Verzeichnis lieferbarer Bucher. Frankfurt a. M.: Verlag der Buchhandler-Vereinigung, 1971- GLX Z2221.V46 Annual. Corresponds to Books in Print. Volumes for Authors, Titles and Keywords. Latest volumes kept in Reference.

Comprehensive Book Catalogs

  • Gesamtverzeichnis des deutschsprachigen Schriftums (GV) 1700-1910. München: Saur, 1979-1987. R015.43 G331
  • Gesamtverzeichnis des deutschsprichigen Schriftums (GV) 1911-1965. München: Saur, 1976-1981. R105.43 G33 Together these constitute the most comprehensive listing of all German language publishing, including Austrian and Swiss imprints, in all formats: books, monographic series, dissertations. Arranged alphabetically by author.

Manuscripts

  • Frels, Wilhelm. Dichterhandschriften von 1400 bis 1900. Leipzig: Hiersemann, 1934. R016.83 F88
  • Mommsen, Wolfgang. Die Nachlasse in den deutschen Archives. Bd. 1, 1-2, Bd.2, 1st and 2d eds. R016.091 V629 Mss. of famous Germans, not just literary figures. Includes locations.

Dissertations

  • Jahresverzeichnis der Hochschulschriften der DDR, der BRD und Westberlins. 1. Jahrg.1884-87. Jahrg. 1971. Leipzig, VEB Bibliographisches Institut, 1887-1987. R016.37873 J1912 Official listing of all German university dissertations.
  • Gesamtverzeichnis deutschsprachiger Hochschulschriften (GVH) 1966- 1980. München: Saur, 1984-1991. GLX 016.37843 G33 Bibliography of German studies done by European universities. Alphabetical by author, with cross-index by keyword.

Translation into English

  • Gerber, Margy. Literature of the German Democratic Republic in English translation. Lanham, MD: University Press of American, 1984. R016.83 G31
  • Morgan, Bayard Qunicy. A critical blbliography of German literature in English translation. 1965 <c1938.> New York: Scarecrow Press, 1965.
  • ___ ___Supplement embracing the years 1928-1955. R106.83 M821
  • O'Neill, Patrick. German literature in English translation; a select bibliography. Totonto: University of Toronto Press, 1981. R016.83 On2

Biography

  • Allgemeine Deutsche Biographie (ADB). Leipzig: Duncker & Humblot, 1875-1912. 56 v. (v. 56 is index volume.) R043.A15 Most important German biographical dictionary. Corresponds to Britain's Dictionary of national biography or the US's Dictionary of American biography. Not just literary figures.
  • Neue Deutsche Biographie (NDB). Berlin: Duncker & Humblot, 1953- 18 v. R043 N394. Continues the Allgemeine Deutsche Biographie

Dictionaries of Authors and Literature

  • Berger, Bruno. Deutsches Literatur-Lexikon (DDL) Biographisch-Bibliographisches Handbuch. 3d ed. 18 v; Suppl. 6 v. Bern: Francke, 1968 R016.83 K84111
  • Die Deutsche Literatur. Biographisches und bibliographisches Lexikon. Reihe 2: Abt. A, Bd 1 Bern: Lang, 1979-- R016.83 D48. Monumental reference work still in progress. Organized into six time periods, each divided into two sections: Abteilung A: Authors, with biographical and critical essays, and Abteilung B: Research Literature Lexicon, containing secondary materials.
  • Garland, Henry B. The Oxford companion to German literature. 3rd. ed. Oxford: Oxford University Press, 1997. Excellent quick-check source for biographies of authors, plot summaries, short bibliographies, etc.
  • Kritisches Lexikon zur deutschsprachigen Gegenwartsliteratur (KLG) München: Edition Text + Kritik, 1978- R830.3 K89 Looseleaf. Arranged alphabetically by author. Each entry contains a biographical sketch, critical essay and bibliography of writings.
  • Kunisch, Hermann. Neues Handbuch der deutschen Gegenwartsliteratur seit 1945. München: Nymphenburger, 1980. R043 K962
  • Kurschners Deutsche Literatur-Kalender. v. 5-60. Berlin: de Gruyter, 1897- R043.W493 Good source for living authors. Kept up to date with annuals. Includes addresses, agents, obituaries.
  • Kutzbach, Karl August. Autorenlexikon der Gegenwart. Bonn: Bouvier, 1950- GLX Z2230 .K95 Good source for authors after 1945. Includes awards, obituaries.
  • Reallexikon der deutschen Literaturwissenschaft. Berlin: De Gruyter, 1997- R830.3 R229

History

  • Boor, Helmut de. Geschichte der deutschen Literatur von den Anfangen bis zur Gegenwart. München: Beck, 1949- GLX 830.9 B645
  • Grimminger, Rolf, ed. Hansers Sozialgeschichte der deutschen Literatur vom 16. Jahrhundert bis zu egenwart. Bd.3-6, 8, 10-12. München: Hanser, 1980- GLX PT85 H33
  • Kohlschmidt, Werner. Reallexikon der deutschen Literaturgeschichte. 2d ed. 5 v. Berlin: de Gruyter, 1958-1988. GLX 830.9 R229.
  • Lennartz, Franz. Deutsche Dichter und Schriftsteller unserer Zeit: Einzeldarstellungen zur Schonen Literatur in deutscher Sprache. Stuttgart: Kroner <1969> GLX PT155 .L4 1969.
  • Lennartz, Franz. Deutsche Schriftsteller des 20. Jahrhunderts im Spiegel der Kritik. 3 v. Stuttgart: Kroner, 1984. GLX PT155 L43 1984.
  • Robertson, John George. A history of German literature. 6th ed. Edinburgh: Blackwood, 1970. GLX PT91. R7 1970. Probably best-known English history of German literature and drama.
  • Allgayer, Wilhelm. Dramenlexikon: ein Wegweiser zu etwa 10,000 urheberrechtlich geschutzten Buhnenwirken der Jahre 1945-47. Koln: Kiepenheuer & Witsch <1958> GLX 830.12 AA154
  • Allgayer, Wilhelm. Dramenlexikon: zweite Band mit Nachtrag, 1957-1960. Köln: Kiepenheuer & Witsch <c1962> R016.832 Al54 Suppl.
  • Gregor, Joseph. Der Schauspielfuhrer. Bd.1-16. Stuttgart: Hiersemann, 1953- R832 G86 Most comprehensive guide to German drama, covering 1000. Contains exhaustive listings, usually with plots and historical and critical notes. Arranged by period with author and title indexes.
  • Hill, Claude. The drama of German expressionism; a German-English bibliography. Chapel Hill, University of North Carolina Press, 1960. R106.832 H55
  • Kosch, Wilhelm. Deutsches Theater-Lexikon; biographisches und bibliographischen Handbuch. Klagenfurt: Kleinmyr, 1953- R016.83 K846
  • Lederer, Herbert. Handbook of East German drama, 1945-1985. New York: Lang, 1991. R016.832 L46
  • Patterson, Michael. German theatre: a bibliography from the beginning to 1995. New York: G.K. Hall, 1996. R016.832 P277
  • Richel, Veronica C. The German stage, 1767-1890; a directory of playwrights and plays. New York: Greenwood Press, 1988. R016.823 R39

Bibliographies by Genre

Fiction

  • O'Pecko, Michael. The twentieth-century German novel: a bibliography of English language criticism, 1945-1986. Metuchen, N.J.: Scarecrow Press, 1989. R016.833 Op2

Poetry

  • Grosse, Siegfried. Die Rezeption mittelalterlicher deutscher Dichtung: eine Bibliographie ihrer Uberstzungen und Bearbeitungen seit der Mitte des 18. Jahrhunderts. Tubingen: Niemeyer, 1989. GLX Z2232 .G75 1989.
  • Paulus, Rolf. Bibliographie zur deutschen Lyrik nach 1945. Wiesbaden: Athenaion, 1977. R016.831 P286

Book Review Index

  • Zeller, Otto. Internationale Bibliographie der Rezensionen wissenschaftlicher Literatur (IBR) Osnanbruck: Felix Dietrich, 1971- R010.5 B472 (Annual) German version of Book review digest. International in scope, includes all subjects, not just literature. Also available on CD-ROM in the Butler Library Reference Room.