Italian Literature: A Selected Bibliography of Reference Sources - Literary Criticism and Research Guides


Research Guides

Caretti, L. Avviamento allo studio della letteratura italiana. In appendice: Profile di storia linguistica italiana, di G. Devoto. Firenze: Nouva Italia, 1958. 318 p. {nic}

Letteratura italiana a cura di Piero Cudini. Milano: Garzanti, 1988. 322 p.
R016.85 L56

Frattarolo, R. Introduzione bibliografica alla letteratura italiana. Roma: Ediz. dell'Ateneo, 1963. 194 p.
PATERNO 850 AF86

Puppo, M. Manuale critico-bibliografico per lo studio della letteratura italiana, 13. ed. Torino: Soc. edit. intern., 1983.
R016.85 P96

Del Beccaro, F. Guida allo studio della letteratura italiana. Milano: Mursia, 1975. 350 p.
R016.85 B38

Wittschier, H. W. Die itlaienische Literatur, einführung und Studienführer von den Anfängen bis zur Gegenwart. 2. Aufl. Tübingen: Niemeyer, 1979. 356 p.  {nic}

MLA Style FAQ
Print editions of the Handbook and the MLA Style Manual at the Reference Desk.

Literary History and Criticism

Prezzolini, G. Repertorio bibliografico della storia e della critica della letteratura italianan dal 1902 al 1932. Roma: Ed. Roma, 1937-1939. xx-1,101 p. Suppl. 1933-42 (New York, Vanni, 1946-48), 2 v.
R016.85 P92 1902-1932

Continued by:

Bosco, U. Repertorio bibliografico della letteratura italiana Firenze: Sansoni, 1953-60.
R016.85 P92 1948-

Del Beccaro, F. Letteratura italiana. Note critico-bibliografiche, 1945-1964. Parigi: Istituto Ital. di Cultura, 1965. 240 p.
GLX PQ4013/G85 1985

Encyclopedias and Dictionaries

Renda, U. and Operti, P. Dizionario enciclopedico della letteratura italiana. 4a ed. Torino: Paravia, 1959. 1,241 p. Dizionario enciclopedico della letteratura italiana. Ed. by G. Petronio. Bari: Laterza, 1966-1970. 6 v.
R850.3 D648

Dizionario critico della letteratura italiana. V. Branca. Torino: UTET, 1974. 3 v.
PATERNO PQ4057.D59

Dizionario della letteratura italiana contemporanea. E. Ronconi. Firenze: Vallecchi, 1973.
PATERNO PQ4088.D5

Dizionario generale degli autori italiani contemporanei.  Firenze: Vallecchi, 1974. 2 v.
PATERNO PQ4113.D58

De Vendittis, Luigi. La letteratura italiana : otto secoli di storia : gli autori, le opere, i movimenti, la critica / di Luigi De Vendittis. 1a ed.  xviii, 1113 p. : ill. ; 28 cm. Bologna : Zanichelli, 1988.
R850.3 D34

Dictionary of Italian literature / Peter Bondanella and Julia Conaway Bondanella, editors-in-chief ; Jody Robin Shiffman, associate editor. Rev., expanded ed. 716 p. ; 24 cm. Westport, Conn. : Greenwood Press, 1996.
DESK R850.3 D561  BARNARD REFERENCE PQ4006 .D45 1996

Dizionario enciclopedico della letteratura italiana.  6 v. illus. 24 cm.  Bari, Laterza; Roma, Unedi, 1966-[70] 6 v. illus. 24 cm. Bari, Laterza; Roma, Unedi, 1966-<70>
R850.3 D648

Dizionario della letteratura italiana del Novecento  /direzione, Alberto Asor Rosa ; redazione, Giorgio Inglese, Graziella Girardello, Angela Asor Rosa. xx, 595 p. ; 21 cm. Piccoli dizionari Einaudi ; 1  Torino : Einaudi, c1992.
R850.3 D6483

The Feminist Encyclopedia of Italian Literature. R. Russell, ed. Westport, CT: Greenwood Press, 1997.
R850.3 F34

Surveys

La Letteratura Italiana, storia e testi. 10 v. in 20. Bari: Laterza, 1970-1980.
PATERNO PQ4202.L4

Problemi ed orientamenti critici di lingua e di letteratura italiana. dir. da A. Momigliano. 2a ed. a cura di E. Bignone. Milano: Marzorati, 1958-61; 1re ed. 1948-1949. [Catalogued separately]

Letteratura italiana  Milano: Marzorati, 1956-1974. 5 tomes en 19 v.
GLX PQ4037.L45

Letteratura italitana. Novocento. I contemporanei, gli scrittori e la cultura letteraria nella socita italiana.  Dir. G. Grana. Milano: Marzorati, 1979 -
Novecento PATERNO PQ4027.L4 5 v. 1969 and PATERNO pq4087.N6 1980

Flora, F. Storia della letteratura italiana. 16a ed. Milano: Modadori, 1965-67. 5 v. Storia della letteratura italiana. Dir. E. Cecchi, N. Spegno. Milano: Garzanti, 1965-1967. 9 v. 8,294 p.
14th ed.: BARNARD 850.9 F663

Croce, B. La Letteratura italiana per saggi storicamente disposti.   Bari: Laterza, 1963-1966, 4 v.
PATERNO PQ4037.c76 1967

De Sanctis, Francesco. Storia della letteratura italiana. History of Italian Literature. New York: Harcourt, Brace Co., [c. 1931]. 2 v.
PATERNO 850.9 Sa533  GLX 850.9 Sa53

Foscolo, Ugo. Storia della letteratura italiana per saggi.Torino: Einaudi, 1979.
PATERNO PQ4005.F68

Sapegno, N. Compendio di storia della letteratura italiana. 3rd ed. Firenze: Nuova Italia, 1986.
GLX PQ4042.S3 1989g

Pompeati, A. Storia della letteratura italiana. Torino: UTET, 1965. 4 v.
1969 ed.: PATERNO 850.9 P771

Momigliano, A. Storia della letteratura italian dalle origini ai nostri giorni. Messina: Principato, 8a ed. 1963; reimpressione, 1968.
PATERNO PQ4042.M73 1971

Concordanze della lingua poetica italiana delle origini v. ; 33 cm.  Series: Documenti di filologia ; 25, etc. Milano : R. Ricciardi, 1992-
R851 C74 v.1 -

Collections

How to Find More Reference Books in Card Catalogs, CLIO and Eureka

  • Search online catalogs combining subject/title keywords of the topic with a subject keyword such as "bibliography," "encyclopedias" and "sources." For example: Italian literature--16th century--bibliography

  • Look up a topic, for example, "Italian poetry" in the Topical Subject Catalog and then check subdivisions under the topic such as encyclopedias, anthologies.

  • In the Card Catalog, books by and about an author are found in the Names and Titles Card Catalog. A typical order of filing under the author is: books by the author (complete and collected works and then individual titles), works edited by the author and then books about the author. There may be some subheadings such as bibliography, biography, criticism, etc. Works are filed by the original title and translated titles are filed after the original title. For example, to look for an english translation of "Promessi sposi" look under the original title.

How to Find More Online Resources