Dictionaries, Encyclopedias, & other Reference Sources
Find Books, Journals, & Dissertations
- Start with CLIO to find books and journals in Columbia University library collections. (In the case of the Law Library collection, use the Pegasus catalog.)
- Then try: WorldCat, the largest online public access catalog in the world, with over 40 million book and journal records.
- To find dissertations produced at universities in the United States and Canada, use Proquest Digital Dissertations. Coverage is from 1861 to the present, with full-text available for dissertations submitted after 1997. For European dissertations, use WorldCat Dissertations.
Find Articles & Book Reviews
- Philosopher's Index
Covers research published after 1940 in all fields of philosophy.
Provides full-text content from core scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences. Coverage is from the earliest issues of a journal to within approximately 5 years of current publication.
- Project Muse
Full-text content, with particularly strong coverage of articles and reviews published after 2000.
- Other databases worth consulting include:
Full-Text Book & Article Collections
- Oxford Scholarship Online - Philosophy
Makes available selected classic as well as newly published Oxford University Press books in philosophy.
- Past Masters
Includes collections of works (some in the original language) by key philosophers such Aquinas, Aristotle, Descartes, Hegel, Hume, Kant, Leibniz, Locke, Mill, Nietzsche, Plato, Rousseau, Spinoza, and others.
Contains full-text articles from nearly fifty participating philosophy journals.
- Periodicals Archive Online
Similar to JSTOR, but with more European content. Coverage is up to 1995.