Then try WorldCat, the largest online public access catalog in the world, with over 40 million book and journal records.
To find dissertations produced at universities in the United States and Canada, use Proquest Digital Dissertations. Coverage is from 1861 to the present, with full-text available for dissertations submitted after 1997. For European dissertations, use WorldCat Dissertations.
Reference: dictionaries, encyclopedias, & other sources of information
- Blackwell Reference Online: Philosophy
- Cambridge Dictionary of Philosophy (2nd ed., 1999). Online edition Print edition
- Encyclopedia of Philosophy (2nd ed., 2006). Online edition Print edition
- Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy. Online edition Print edition
- Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy
- Selected Reference Works in Philosophy
Indexing & Abstracting Databases
- Philosopher's Index
Covers research published after 1940 in all fields of philosophy.
Other databases worth consulting include:
- Blackwell Synergy
- Ebsco Host
- Humanities Full Text
- International Bibliography of Periodical Literature
- Project Muse
- Web of Knowledge
To learn more about classes that will teach you how to use these databases, or any of the other resources listed in this guide, please contact Meredith Levin.
Full-Text Book & Journal Collections
Provides full-text content from core scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences. Coverage is from the earliest issues of a journal to within approximately 5 years of current publication.
- Oxford Scholarship Online - Philosophy
Makes available selected classic as well as newly published Oxford University Press books in philosophy.
- Past Masters
Includes collections of works (some in the original language) by key philosophers such Aquinas, Aristotle, Descartes, Hegel, Hume, Kant, Leibniz, Locke, Mill, Nietzsche, Plato, Rousseau, Spinoza, and others.
Contains full-text articles from nearly fifty participating philosophy journals.
- Periodicals Archive Online
Similar to JSTOR, but with more European content. Coverage is up to 1995.