Jewish Studies Research Guides


About

Columbia University's collection of Jewish Studies Internet Resources is an on-going compilation of electronic bibliographic resources and research materials on Jewish Studies (in the broadest sense) available on the global Internet. These electronic resources are organized primarily by subject. All materials are arranged to encourage an awareness of authorship, type of information, and subject. The scope of the collection is research-oriented, but it also provides access to other websites with different or broader missions.

Among the many selected resources on these pages are:

  • Online catalogs of the world's top libraries with large Jewish Studies collections
  • Bibliographies from Columbia University Libraries and other research institutions around the world
  • Electronic journals and news archives that specialize in Jewish Studies
  • Extensive information on Israel and Jewish Studies
  • Information on major Jewish organizations and activities
  • Links to other Jewish Studies websites

This website collection is currently undergoing major construction. Please feel free to contact the Jewish Studies Librarian with any suggestions and questions regarding the content on these pages.

Basic Resources

Below are resources that will be useful to research in any field of Jewish Studies. (Note: resources with a key next to them indicate restricted sites that are only available to scholars with a Columbia UNI and password)

Maintained by The Natinal Library of Israel, this is a searchable catalog for articles (from journals, book chapters, etc.) in all fields of Jewish Studies.  Note that the catalog only lists references to the articles, not the articles themselves.  Check CLIO to see if Columbia holds the resources listed in your search (they are often accessible online).

Also available in print, EJ is the essential encyclopedia for all subjects in Jewish Studies.  It lists brief (and sometimes not-so-brief) entries for subjects across the Jewish studies spectrum.                          

Indexing to English-language articles, book reviews, and feature stories covering Jewish affairs.

This database combines an index to journal articles, book reviews, and collections of essays in all fields of religion with ATLA's online collection of major religion and theology journals. Coverage begins in 1949 with some earlier indexing. Full text is available for many citations in this database.

JSTOR provides images for back issues of many important journals in Jewish Studies, including Jewish Quarterly Review, AJL Review, Jewish Social Studies, Proofnexts and Nashim.  JSTOR is also beginning to include Hebrew journals, such as Tarbits and Tsiyon.
Note: Although there is currently a pilot to test current journal access, most JSTOR journals are NOT available to the present day.  For current journal access, see Project Muse:

Full-text articles from more than 200 scholarly journals in history and the humanities, the social sciences, and the sciences. Disciplines covered include literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics, and many others. A brief bibliographic description of each title is given. Searches can be conducted across the full text of all journals in the database.

Heidi Lerner, Hebraica/Judaica cataloguer at Stanford University Libraries, writes "Perspectives on Technology," a column on technology-based resources related to teaching and research in Jewish studies, for AJS's biannually-published magazine, AJS Perspectives.  Past columns are available online, and include topics such as Jewish Economics, Jewish Linguistics, Jewish Treasures, Jewish Political Studies, and many other topics.

Jewish History

General Jewish History

The Central Archives for the History of the Jewish People hold the archives of hundreds of Jewish communities, as well as of local, national and international Jewish organizations and the private collections of many outstanding Jewish personalities. The Archives now hold the most extensive collection of documents, pinkassim (registers) and other records of Jewish history from the Middle Ages to the present day.

Fordham University's immense corpus of links to full-text primary sources.  Includes texts from the ancient to the modern period.

The Dinur Center for Research in Jewish History of the Hebrew University of Jerusalem has created over 5000 links to websites in 25 categories dealing with Jewish History.

Organized by Jenny Mendelsohn at the University of Toronto, this guide attempts to compile all major resources in Jewish History, both in print and online.  Note that online resources listed as available at the University of Toronto need to be searched in CLIO for Find Databases in order to get access from Columbia.

The COJS is an online repository of rich digital images depicting primary resources from throughout Jewish history.  "History 101" is the primary gateway to these images.

This site contains a collection of Jewish newspapers published in various countries, languages, and time periods. The site displays digital versions of each newspaper, making it possible to view the papers in their original layout. Full-text search is also available for all content published over the course of each newspaper’s publication.  More content is continuously being added. 

Languages included are: Hebrew, Yiddish, French, Hungarian, English

Ancient Judaism

This four-volume work includes essays describing four periods in ancient Judaism: 1) The Persian Period 2) The Hellenistic Age 3) The Early Roman Period 4) The Late Roman-Rabbinic Period

 

Early Modern/Modern Period

This database provides digital images of collections from the American Jewish Historical Society in New York. All of the typescript and printed material is full-text searchable.

Full-text of Howard M. Sachar's standard textbook on the history of the Jews in the Modern period.

Full-text of Hasia Dinar's comprehensive history of American Jewry

This website provides digital access to the personal papers and publications of Isaac Leeser, widely regarded as the foremost American Jewish leader in antebellum America

The portal contains records from the Sherith Israel, B'nai Jeshrun, Ansche Chesed, Kane Street, and Eldridge Street Synagogues and date from the 1730s through the 20th century.

The vast digital collection contains searchable text collections from 1914-1932, a detailed interactive timeline, historically-themed exhibitions, over 45,000 photographs, findings aids, educational resources, relevant archives news and more.

Anti-Semitism and the Holocaust

Anti-Semitism

  • The Felix Posen Bibliographical Project on Antisemitism
    Comprises an on-line database accessible through Israel's university library network (ALEPH), and printed bibliographies. The bibliography includes works published throughout the world about antisemitism -- books, dissertations, master's theses, and articles from periodicals and collections. It does not include newspaper articles, reviews, and works of fiction, nor does it cover antisemitic publications.  Click "Search the Bibliography of Antisemitism" to access the database.

Holocaust

  • Visual History Archive of the Shoah Foundation
    Contains nearly 52,000 video testimonies of survivors and other witnesses of the Holocaust taped in 56 countries and in 32 languages between 1994 and 1999. Most testimonies have been indexed for keywords at one-minute segments. 

Note: Because the testimonies are uploaded to a Columbia server, testimonies can only be viewed from a Columbia-networked computer. 

  • United State Holocaust Memorial Museum
    The United States Holocaust Memorial Museum is America’s national institution for the documentation, study, and interpretation of Holocaust history, and serves as this country’s memorial to the millions of people murdered during the Holocaust.

A partial bibliography, by subject, of Holocaust related resources compiled by the US Holocaust Memorial Museum can be found here

  • Yad Vashem
    Established in 1953 as the world center for documentation, research, education and commemoration of the Holocaust.

Dictionary of key terms (people, places, etc.) used in Holocaust studies

Produced by the US Holocaust Memorial Museum, this is a comprehensive encyclopedia of the Holocaust.

This very comprehensive two-volume work includes essays (some as long as 8000 words) on all notable figures in Holocaust literature.  Literature in all languages is represented.

  • Holocaust History Project
    A free archive of documents, photographs, recordings, and essays regarding the Holocaust, including direct refutation of Holocaust-denial.
  • Teaching the Holocaust
    by Chaya Ostrower, Tova Perlmutter; trans. Yafa Kleiner-Brandwein
        Uses stamps, pictures, texts, and paintings by children in the Holocaust to create a teaching unit dealing with the Holocaust.

Hebrew Language and Literature

Hebrew Language

Full-text of the comprehensive Biblical Hebrew grammar (note that while the 1910 edition is limited to Columbia users, earlier editions are available for the public via HathiTrust.  Check CLIO for full list of digitized editions).

 

Hebrew Literature

Founded in 1962 with the aim of acquainting foreign readers with the best of modern Hebrew literature

A free digital library of Hebrew literature, maintained and updated by volunteers

This extensive lexicon, compiled by Joseph Galron-Goldschlager, includes a description and bibliography for nearly every important author of Hebrew literature. (In Hebrew)

A concise overview of the field of modern Hebrew literature, presented in English by the Israel Ministry of Foreign Affairs.

This Hebrew site is a forum for authors to present their literature.  Users can vote and comment on the works.  It is a good resource for new and cutting edge forms of literature.

Yiddish Language and Literature

Yiddish Language

Extensive class-related resources from the Language Resource Center at Columbia University

Center for Advanced Research on Language Acquisition, Univ. of Minnesota.
Search by Language in the LCTL Database for "Yiddish".

The Language and Culture Archive of Ashkenazic Jewry (LCAAJ), is an extraordinary resource for research in Yiddish language studies, consists of 5,755 hours of audio tape field interviews with Yiddish speaking informants collected between 1959 and 1972 and ca. 100,000 pages of accompanying linguistic field notes.  The audio tapes have been digitized by Columbia Libraries' Preservation and Digital Conversion Division, and are available online through EYDES: Evidence of Yiddish Documented in European Sources.

Published by the YIVO Institute for Jewish Research, this online Gazetteer presents an extensive listing of the many cities, towns, rivers, and countries in Eastern Europe, along with various names that may     have been used throughout history.  A very good resource for identifying obscure places.

"Call to Youth": a worldwide organization of Yiddish-speaking and Yiddish-learning young adults.

Yiddish Literature

By Iosef Vaisman.

By Ona Wu, Almaz Enterprises

By Iosef Vaisman

By Iosef Vaisman

Women

This comprehensive encyclopedia is actively maintained and updated by the Jewish Women's Archive (www.jwa.org)

By Phyllis Holman Weisbard
Women's Studies Librarian's Office, University of Wisconsin, Madison
This bibliography concentrates on books, chapters in anthologies, and periodical articles on the collective history of American Jewish women and archival resources on individuals and women's organizations.

Edited by Judith Pinnolis
    A website dedicated to Jewish women's contributions in music.

An academic, refereed journal published exclusively on the Internet, and devoted to scholarly debate on gender-related issues in Judaism.

Jewish Languages

While Yiddish and Hebrew are probably the best-known Jewish languagues today, many other vernaculars existed (and continue to exist throughout Jewish history).  Some resources for studying these are described below:

This site, maintained by a global team of experts in their respective fields, includes a map of 18 Jewish languages, as well as descriptions and resources for their use and study.

Aramaic

The CAL is a text base of the Aramaic texts in all dialects from the earliest (9th Century BCE) through the 13th Century CE, currently with a database of approximately 2.5 million lexically parsed words, and an associated set of electronic tools for analyzing and manipulating the data, whose ultimate goal is the creation of a complete lexicon of the language.

Note: It is a work in progress, not a completed dictionary. Accordingly, any citations for scholarly purposes should include the date when the data was found.

Jewish Religion and Religious Texts

A collection of Jewish texts in Hebrew, including the Bible, the Talmud, and all major works of responsa through the 20th century, which embody thousands of years of Jewish learning and rabbinic case-law rulings, all in fully-searchable Hebrew.  This database also includes the Entsiḳlopedyah Talmudit

The databank includes typed transcriptions and images of nearly all of the critical manuscripts and early printings of the Talmud, to allow scholarly research of variants and alternate readings of the text.

This encyclopedia encompasses everything there is to know about all forms of the Jewish religion.

This interdisciplinary encyclopedia defines reference terms from the Hebrew and New Testements, as well as their uses in modern scholarship.  Note: The online edition is constantly evolving, and as of June 2013 contained only the first six volumes.

  • Sefaria

Sefaria is a crowdsourced website aimed at translating and including all texts of the Bible and the commentaries surrounding them.

Israel

Covers articles from approximately 1060 Hebrew periodicals and 185 monographs dealing with the land of Israel.

The Confidential Print collection includes documents relating to Middle Eastern history from the years 1839-1969, produced by the British Foreign and Colonial Offices.

 

Newspapers and Journals

This site contains a collection of Jewish newspapers published in various countries, languages, and time periods. The site displays digital versions of each newspaper, making it possible to view the papers in their original layout. Full-text search is also available for all content published over the course of each newspaper’s publication.  More content is continuously being added. 

Languages included are: Hebrew, Yiddish, French, Hungarian, English

  • Aufbau

Thanks to the Library of the Leo Baeck Institute, the German-Jewish newspaper is now available in completely digital format online, though the Internet Archive

Among the newspapers they are working with are The Polish Yidel (1884-1886), Hashulamith. (1891-1895), and The Ladies' Garment Worker. (1910-1918).

A premier resource for "news about the Jews," the JTA reported news worldwide, and was (and is) cited by many other newspapers throughout its time.