- Vanderbilt Television News Archive
Has been videotaping the evening network news from 1968 to the present, and also videotapes special reports programming. Abstracts of the broadcasts can be searched, and tapes can be copied or compiled and loaned to researchers for a fee.
- Library of American Broadcasting
At the University of Maryland, College Park. Contains primary source material related to the history of broadcasting in the United States, including papers of broadcasting pioneers, broadcast transcripts, film and video collections, and other materials. The web site contains a catalog that is searchable by keyword.
- National Public Broadcasting Archives
At the University of Maryland, College Park. Brings together the archival record of major entities of non-commercial broadcasting in the United States, as well as the personal papers of many contributors to public broadcasting.
A centralized commercial source for stock footage from both news and non-news sources, also includes the article, "Archival Survival", a guide to using film and stock footage archives.
- Broadcast communications dictionary (1989)
New York: Greenwood Press.
Lehman PN1990.4 .D5 1989
- MacDonald, R. H. (1987) Broadcast news manual of style
New York: Longman.
Lehman PN4784.B75 M24
- Broadcasting and cable yearbook, v.1 & 2
New Providence, N.J. : R.R. Bowker
Journalism Reference HE8689 .B77211 Latest volume only
Lehman HE8689 .B77211 1996-
- Murray, Michael D. (1999) Encyclopedia of television news.
Journalism Reference PN4888.T4 E53 1999
- Gale directory of publications and broadcast media
Detroit, Mich. : Gale Research
Business Library Reference, Butler Reference Z6951 .I421
- Bognár, Desi. (1995) International dictionary of broadcasting and film
Boston : Focal Press
BUTLER REFERENCE R English Technical B63
LEHMAN PN1990.4 .B64 1995
- International handbook of broadcasting systems (1988)
New York : Greenwood Press
Lehman, Business HE8689.6 .I54 1988
Educause is a nonprofit association whose mission is to advance higher education by promoting the intelligent use of information technology.
- Federal Communications Commission
The Federal Communications Commission is an independent federal regulatory agency responsible directly to Congress. Established by the Communications Act of l934, it is charged with regulating interstate and international communications by radio, television, wire, satellite, and cable. Downloadable files are available here including the FCC's Daily Digest.
- National Association of Broadcasters
Access to NAB's member services, legislative and regulatory information, convention and meeting updates, NAB's weekly newsletter ON-LINE@NAB, and a telecommunications library.
- The National Telecommunications & Information Administration
An agency of the U.S. Department of Commerce, is the President's voice on domestic and international telecommunications and information policy-making. This site provides extensive information about the National Information Infrastructure.
Commercial and not-for-profit radio related services, with links to downloadable audio files, news and other resources.