Data Sources for Journalists


Intro

ProQuestStatAb

Quick Statistics

Statistical Abstract of the US
A compilation of statistical tables from various government agencies. It shows which agency produces the info you want.

New York State Statistical Yearbook
Similar resource to the US Stat Abstract, but for NY State.

The Almanac of NYC (print only)
Basic statistics and information for NY City. Located in Journalism Library Reference: F128.3 .A455 2008

Intro to this Guide

This guide lists data & statistics by topic. If you need help finding or using data, please see the Finding Data guide

Need Help?


Finding Data

Before you begin to search for your data, work through these questions and note your answers. They will help you in your search. 
 
  • Are you looking for statistics or for data?
  • What is the topic or subject?
  • What is the unit of analysis
  • What geography do you wish to consider? (country, state, city, neighborhood, etc.)
  • Are there time contraints (a range of years, monthly, quarterly, annually)?

For more information on these questions and how to answer them, see the Finding Data (for Journalists) Guide.

Maps

New York City Data Maps

Map-snapshot3

NY City Map (from DoITT): Map a neighborhood or intersection, then find nearby subway stops, schools, hospitals, police precincts, and more (user guide here). Also shows municipal boundaries like community districts & census tracts. Other city data maps include:

NYC Data

NYC OpenData: Data from various city agencies is gathered on this page. It’s a great place to start, but it's not comprehensive; not every agency posts all their data here.

USA Data

Data.gov: This is the federal (national) version of NYC’s open data website, with data across a wide variety of topics. Browse the dataset catalog: http://catalog.data.gov/dataset

Dept. of City Planning

NYC Dept. of City Planning (DCP): Includes community district profiles & needs (include census tract maps), commission reports, population reports, & more.

Demographics

NYC Department of City Planning >> Reference >> Population
The NYC DCP has great information on population change and demographic information on New Yorkers, including the foreign-born population of New York. (Data drawn from Census Bureau.)

Infoshare Online 
How many people live in your beat neighborhood? How many are on public assistance? How many have asthma? What are the crime statistics? Immigration trends? Answer these questions and more with this collection of statistics about NYC. The data can be retrieved by community district number or neighborhood name, covers demographic, health, and socio-economic variables, and in many cases is available for multiple years, which lets you chart trends.  Select Area Profile to begin your data retrieval.

American FactFinder (Census Bureau)
From the U.S. Census Bureau, American FactFinder is a tool that allows you to build custom searches using existing data tables from the Census Bureau’s many surveys, including the Decennial Census, American Community Survey (ACS), the Economic Census, and more.

Social Explorer
This database helps you visually analyze demographic information of the United States through the use of interactive maps and data reports.  Explore thousands of historical data maps, from the first US Census in 1790 to the present. Click on the Maps tab to begin using a vast collection of interactive maps.

Counting Undocumented Immigrants

Here's a great article on this topic from Pew Research, who has a respected estimate on the undocumented population:
Unauthorized Immigrants: How Pew Research Counts Them and What We Know About Them

The Dept. of City Planning's Chapter 7 of Newest New Yorkers 2013 discusses the undercount of the undocumented and how they make estimates.  

Counting the Homeless

NYC Department of Homeless Services
Provides statistics and reports on shelter populations.

Coalition for the Homeless
Authored the 2014 State of the Homeless Report.

HOPE (Homeless Outreach Population Estimate) NYC
Each year, this volunteers from this group count unsheltered people in parks, subways, and other public spaces. This is a helpful parallel to the shelter population statistics (above).  

Education

NYC Department of Education: Data
Enrollment, quality review reports, & HS graduations. Available by city, borough, & each school. Most popular items: graduation results, school demographics and accountability snapshot.  

SchoolBook 
From WNYC and The New York Times, news and data about schools in NYC.

National Center for Education Statistics  

Health

NYC Dept. of Health and Mental Hygiene

NYS Dept. of Health

NYC Department for the Aging: Demographic Profiles

Center for Disease Control (CDC)

National Institutes of Health (NIH)

Property

 

Looking for the value of a specific property, want to check if a building owner has paid their taxes, or view sales data for a neighborhood? Check the links below for ways to pull up property data for New York City. 

 

NYC Dept. of Buildings
Use the DOB's Buildings Information System to find actions (including new building permits), complaints, violations, alterations, CoOs, # buildings on lot, tax block/lot, landmark status, zoning documents, etc. Can also look up a block (or community district) for new buildings or alterations.

NYC Finance: Property Records

 

 

Census Data on Housing
The Census Bureau provides lots of property information including: monthly housing costs (rent or mortgage), home values, rent vs. own, vacancy rates, and more in the ACS (American Community Survey). You can access this data through a variety of tools:

NYC Housing & Vacancy Survey
Survey of NYC housing, both rental and owned, gathered by the US Census Bureau. HPD has a report on some past data.

NYC Dept. of Housing Preservation & Development (HPD)

NYC Dept. of Planning – Land Use

NYC Landmarks Preservation Commission: Publications  

Research Guide to NYC Buildings (from Columbia’s Avery Library) 

Justice

Justice, Law, & Public Safety

Want a quick way to explore NYC crime stats by geographic area? Try NYPD's Crime Map.

FBI Crime Statistics (by county/borough)
These are compiled from NYPD weekly reports. The NYPD do not archive their data online, although weekly stats (by precinct or borough) are available at: NYPD CompStats (Weekly Crime Reports). For Port Authority crime data (Port Authority has its own police force), see the New Jersey Crime Reports.

NY OpenData: Index Crimes by County & Agency (1990-2011) 
Reports total number per type of crime, per year, per county (borough-level info).

Relevant NYC Crime Reports:

NY State Division of Criminal Justice Services

NY Crime Statistics by County

  • Report on alternatives to incarceration

NYC: Criminal Justice Coordinator

 

Corrections

Bureau of Justice Statistics (federal level)
Provides statistics and surveys of inmate populations, prison facilities, expenditures, deaths in custody, victims of crimes, and more.

NYS Dept. of Corrections & Community Supervision (state level)

NYC Dept. of Correction Statistics 

NYC Dept. of Probation

Community Service Society of New York

  • Report on reentry of the incarcerated

Domestic Violence

Mayor’s Office to Combat Domestic Violence

Legal Information

Intro to NY Courts
Great introduction to New York State and City courts, including their jurisdictions, claim amounts handled, etc. To find out where court decisions are published for each court, see the NYU Law Library Guide to NY Court System.

Court Decisions

Some decisions (completed cases) can be found in LexisNexis Academic, others in the online NY Court Reporters. If the case isn't covered in either, you may need to go to the Law Library and use either the print Reporters, LexisNexis Pro, or a similar resource.

The "BLAW" section of the Bloomberg terminal includes pending cases. For help, see the Bloomberg Help Guide or contact the Business Library.

Politics

New York State Statistical Yearbook
Voter registrations, political party enrollment, & votes cast in presidential election by county (borough).

CQ Press: Political Reference 
Info on congress, voting & elections, and other political information. Federal level.

NYC City Council

NYS Board of Elections
The Enrollment by County document shows numbers of voters registered to each party, by county (borough).

Research Guides for Government Documents @ Columbia

Federal Election Commission
The FEC administers and enforces the Federal Election Campaign Act (FECA), which governs the financing of federal elections.  Campaign finance information is available, through the Disclosure Data Search, searchable by individual contributors, committee contributors/recipients, and candidate name.

NYS Board of Elections

NYC Campaign Finance Board provides provides a searchable contribution database, information on the Campaign Finance Program, a Voter's Guide, and more.

Follow the Money 
Database of campaign money on state-level elections and public policy. There is a list of what data can be found on this website.

Campaign Finance Guide (Columbia Libraries)

NYC Independent Budget Office

Business

Business

ReferenceUSA
Directory listing of U.S. businesses, searchable by county, NAICS, business type, and more.

Bloomberg Terminal (1 @ Journalism, 7 @ Business, 1 @ Lehman)
Provides current and historical financial quotes, business newswires, and descriptive information on over 52,000 companies worldwide. For help, see: Bloomberg Help Guide

LexisNexis Academic
Source for news, company profiles, and SEC filings. Also has state & federal case law.

Economic Census
Profiles national & local economies/businesses (e.g. number of employees, value of sales, etc.).

Business Research Guides (Columbia Libraries)

Non-Profits

The Foundation Center
Foundation Directory: search for 990s, company and grant-maker info, grants, and more.

ProPublica Nonprofit Explorer (find 990s)   

Associations Unlimited 
Lists all sorts of associations (non-profits, religious, and otherwise) at the local, regional, national, and international levels. Search by subject, association name, or location.  

Nonprofit Organizations Subject Guide (Columbia Libraries)

Economics & Employment

Bureau of Labor Statistics
Reports the unemployment rate, wages, and consumer price index (CPI).

NYC Office of Financial Empowerment

  • Research publications
  • The FE Briefs are good source for charts, particularly on bank accounts & credit card use.

Bureau of Economic Analysis

Transportation

Commuter Data (Census Bureau)

NYPD

NYC DOT

MTA/LIRR Public Transit Data:

NJ Transit

Port Authority of NY & NJ

NYS Dept. of Health

NYC Taxi & Limousine Commission

Other Transportation Data:

  • NYC Open Data (transportation)
  • Open NY Data Portal (state data, usually by county/borough)
    • Vehicle repair shops & inspection stations, electric cars registered, popular vehicle makes/bodies, etc.
  • NYS DMV (motor vehicle crashes, vehicle registration, drivers)
  • Safe NY
    • Data includes alcohol tickets, restraint (seatbelt) use, younger drivers (ages 16-20) and more across the state. Most reported by county (borough). General information about these topics is here.