Guide: News & General Journalism


Intro

News Montage

Popular Resources


Places to Start Research

Statistical Abstract of the US
A compilation of statistical tables from various government agencies. It shows which agency produces the info you want.

New York State Statistical Yearbook
Similar resource to the US Stat Abstract, but for NY State.

Introduction to this Guide

This guide will help you find news articles & other journalism resources. Please email, call, or tweet me with any questions (see box at right). I answer frequently asked questions & post popular resources on the Journalism Library Blog.

Journalism Library

  • located in 204 Pulitzer Hall (just off the Stabile Student Center)
  • open 7 days a week (see hours here)
  • books, newspapers, magazines, & last 4 years of CUJ master's projects

CU Journalism Faculty Publications

News

Newsboy6_Crop2

Historical News

ProQuest Historical Newspapers
Full-text and full-image articles from major American newspapers back to mid-1800s.

Chronicling America (LC)
Full-text American newspapers from 1836-1922, including many regional and local papers. Includes U.S. Newspaper Directory (1690-on).


Small & Alt Press

AlternativePress_Crop2

Alt-Press Watch
Selected newspapers, magazines, journals of the alternative and independent press.

Ethnic Newswatch
Newspaper, magazine, & journal articles from ethnic, minority, & native press in the U.S.


AP resources

AP-logo

General News

FactivaAPLN_logos

Factiva (& AP Daybook)
Excellent source for news, company profiles, and to read the latest major publications like the NY Times and Wall Street Journal. Find the AP Daybook by searching for “nyc daybook.”

LexisNexis Academic
Good source for news as well as case law, company profiles (including contact information), and SEC filings.


International News

MexicanNewspaper_Crop200

Factiva 
Provides sources in 28 languages from nearly 200 countries. Coverage goes back 35 years.

ProQuest Newspapers
Includes international English-language newspapers.

World Newspaper Archive
Historic newspapers from around the world.

Emerging Markets Information Service
News, financial and economic information on emerging market countries in Latin America, Europe, Asia, Africa, and Middle East.


Circulation Statistics

Newsboy4

Media Intelligence Center (AAM)

View circulation statistics for a variety of large, regional, and daily newspapers and magazines in the US and Canada. Can also sort and filter data, rank publications, and create comparison charts.


Abstracts, Transcripts, & Video

Television News Archive (Vanderbilt)

Searchable archive of abstracts of news broadcasts from 1968 to present (ABC, CBS, NBC), 1995 to present (CNN), selected content from PBS and FOX News. Selected video content from CNN viewable (RealOne). Descriptive summaries of the Vanderbilt University collection of network television news programs and other news-related programming.

Newsreels (American History in Video)

Streaming video portrays historical events over time, through commercial and governmental newsreels, archival footage, public affairs footage, and important documentaries. Includes over 1260 titles. 

Contacts

White Pages

whitepages

White Pages Reverse Address Search
Helpful free resource for phone numbers, addresses, or names of people living in a certain area. If you need historic phone books or city directories, try the New York Public Library.


Expert Contacts

Columbia University Experts
Faculty experts at Columbia are available to speak to the news media about a variety of topics ranging from finance and economics to literature and the arts.

Directories

switchboard_1b
Businesses & Nonprofits

ReferenceUSA
Directory listing of U.S. businesses, searchable by county, NAICS, business type, and more.

Associations Unlimited 
Associations Unlimited contains information for international and United States national, regional, state, and local nonprofit membership organizations. 

Green Book Online 
City-wide directory of agencies, offices, boards, and commissions. Also includes courts and state, federal, & international offices in NYC. Older versions of this title are available at Columbia Libraries in print.

Individuals

The Leadership Library 
Contains directory info for government officials, law firms, journalists, courts, finance, subject experts, etc.

Arts & Culture

CU Avery Library

Avery exterior

Art Research Guides

Columbia Art Research Guides
Research guides for a variety of arts and architecture topics, created by Columbia librarians.

Arts Databases & Guides

TwoMusiciansLC Image from the Library of Congress

JSTOR
Archive of scholarly articles in the arts and humanities.

ARTstor
Database of digital images and associated information. ARTstor covers many time periods and cultures, and documents many art fields as well as anthropology, ethnographic and women's studies, and many other forms of visual culture. 

Arts & Humanities Citation Index
Database covering the journal literature of the arts and humanities.

Humanities Full-text
Covers noted scholarly sources in the humanities, as well as lesser known specialized magazines.

MLA Bibliography
Indexes critical materials (books, journals, essays, etc.) on literature, languages, linguistics, and folklore.

Music Online (and related databases by Alexander Street Press)
Brings together reference materials spanning the entire history of Western classical music, from the Medieval period to the 21st century.

Grove Art Online & Benezit Dictionary of Artists (Oxford Art Online)
Provides access and cross-search functionality to many art reference titles in one database. 

Business

WatsonLibrary

Company & Industry Resources

Bloomberg
Provides current and historical financial quotes, business newswires, and descriptive information on over 52,000 companies worldwide. BLAW also covers legal cases. Available terminals: 7 in Watson Library, 1 in Journalism School, 1 in Lehman Library. See: Bloomberg help guide.

Orbis
Provides company information on thousands of public and private companies globally. (Other sources for public companies include Factiva; for private companies, try LexisNexis or ReferenceUSA.)

Securities and Exchange Commission
Click on Filings >> EDGAR to search company filings.  

Standard & Poor's NetAdvantage
Includes company profile information and financials. Provides comprehensive overview of industry profiles and competitors, and links to company news.  

Thomson ONE
Provides access to financial data on public companies, as well as merger and acquisition information and market data. Use with IE; does not work with Firefox.  


Economic Resources

Bureau of Economic Analysis
Reports the economic accounts (GDP, etc) for the United States.

Bureau of Labor Statistics
Reports the unemployment rate, wages & economic indicators such as consumer price index (CPI).

Current Population Survey (CPS)
Monthly survey of about 50,000 households conducted by the Census Bureau for the Bureau of Labor Statistics. Primary source of information on the labor force characteristics of the U.S.

Federal Reserve Economic Data (FRED)
Excellent source for US economics time series. Also see the Federal Reserve Board for data & reports.

National Bureau of Economic Research (NBER)
Dates for business cycles as well links to government data. Also working papers from the NBER.

Science

Popular Resources

ScientistLC

Grantsnet (from the AAAS)
Database of funds available for research in the sciences; includes a section on Funding News, highlighting new research funding programs.

MEDLINE
This version of the MEDLINE database of biomedical journal articles facilitates retrieval of full text (unlike PubMed).  

National Institutes of Health (NIH)
This site is the Research Portfolio Online Reporting Tool (RePORT) at NIH which is a gateway to NIH research and development activities, searchable by organization.

ScienceDirect
Provides abstracts and full articles for scientific research from more than 1500 science journals.

Science.gov
This site is a gateway to over 50 million pages of science information provided by U.S. government agencies.

SCOPUS 
Provides articles, abstracts, and citation linking to journals in many sciences fields (as well as social sciences, business, and medicine).

Web of Science (ISI)
Index to bibliographic information and cited references across all disciplines, including sciences.

Politics

NYC City Council Links

NYCcitycouncil1

NYC Gov Directory

greenbook

Green Book Online 
City-wide directory of agencies, offices, boards, and commissions. Includes courts and state, federal, & international offices in NYC.

Older versions of this title are available at Columbia Libraries in print.


Related Guides

General

UncleSam_1

NYC Independent Budget Office

New York State Statistical Yearbook
Voter registrations, political party enrollment, & votes cast in presidential election by county (borough).

CQ Press: Political Reference 
Info on congress, voting & elections, and other political information. Federal level.

Campaign Finance

campaign_milkingtime2 "Milking Time" from Puck

Federal Election Commission
The FEC administers and enforces the Federal Election Campaign Act (FECA), which governs the financing of federal elections.  Campaign finance information is available, through the Disclosure Data Search, searchable by individual contributors, committee contributors/recipients, and candidate name.

NYC Campaign Finance Board

Follow the Money 
Database of campaign money on state-level elections and public policy. 

Campaign Finance Guide (Columbia Libraries)

Data & Maps

NYC Data

NYC OpenData: Data from various city agencies is gathered on this page. It’s a great place to start, but it's not comprehensive; not every agency posts all their data here.


USA Data

Data.gov: This is the federal (national) version of NYC’s open data website, with data across a wide variety of topics. Browse the dataset catalog: http://catalog.data.gov/dataset


Dept. of City Planning

NYC Dept. of City Planning (DCP): Includes community district profiles & needs (include census tract maps), commission reports, population reports, & more.

New York City Data Maps

Map-snapshot3

NY City Map (from DoITT): Map a neighborhood or intersection, then find nearby subway stops, schools, hospitals, police precincts, and more (user guide here). Also shows municipal boundaries like community districts & census tracts. Other city data maps include:


US Census Data

You can access census data using several tools: