Art of the Americas


Reference Resources

file
Artists from Latin American cultures : a biographical dictionary [Print]

Westport, Conn. ; London : Greenwood Press, 2002


file
Bibliografía novohispana de arte [Print]

México, D.F., México : Fondo de Cultura Económica, 1988-


Dicionário das artes plásticas no Brasil [Print]

Rio de Janeiro] Civilização Brasileira [1969]


file
Dicionário de artistas plásticos brasileiros [Print]

São Paulo, SP : Cury Arte Brasil, 2005.


file
Encyclopedia of Latin American & Caribbean art [Print]

London : Macmillan Reference, New York : Grove's Dictionaries, 2000.


file
Oxford Art Online

Oxford Art Online is the access point for:

Grove Art Online 

Benezit Dictionary of Artists

Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms

Encyclopedia of Aesthetics

Oxford Companion to Western Art


file
Latin American and Caribbean artists of the modern era : a biographical dictionary of over 12,700 persons [Print]

A comprehensive reference book to the lives and works of artists and architects of the 19th and 20th centuries in Latin America (Mexico, Central America, South America) and the Caribbean. Entries include biographical information, stylistic notes, bibliographies, exhibitions, and museum collections. 


Latin American Art: Selected Sources (University of Texas - Austin) 

As published in BiblioNoticias No. 94, March 1998.


file
Latin American Artists of the Twentieth Century [Print]

"Published on the occasion of the exhibition, "Latin American Artists of the Twentieth Century," organized by Waldo Rasmussen, Director, International Program, The Museum of Modern Art, New York, June 6-September 7, 1993"




Repertorio de artistas en México : artes plásticas y decorativas [Print]

3 volumes. [México]: Grupo Financiero Bancomer, 1995-1997.


Find Books

Library Catalogs
CLIO 

Columbia's catalog.

Arcade (New York Art Resources Consortium, NYARC) 

Library catalog of the Frick Art Reference Library, the Brooklyn Museum Library and the Museum of Modern Art Library.

WorldCat 

A catalog of books and other materials in libraries worldwide. Identify and request materials not in CLIO or BorrowDirect.

Borrow Direct  

Borrow books from Borrow Direct member libraries.



Call Number Ranges for Latin American Fine Arts (PDF)

An exhaustive breakdown of the Avery and the LC call numbers for Latin American Fine Arts, useful for identifying artists and art movements by country.



Using Keywords (Parentheses and Truncation)

Improve your initial search in CLIO with these tips that will simplify the search process: 

"concrete art" brazil*

mural* mexic* art*


Subject Headings

Knowing the correct Library of Congress Subject Heading can greatly improve your results. Here are some possible headings to help you improve, expand or narrow or search. To use them, do a search in CLIO, WorldCat, or HLAS Online. To identify others, begin with a keyword search and look at the Subjects listed in the catalog records of your search results.

  • Art > Latin America
  • Art, Latin American
  • Art, Spanish colonial > Latin America > Catalogs.
  • Art > Mexico.
  • Art, Colonial > South America.
  • Art, Modern > 20th century.
  • Art > Latin America > Directories.
  • Art, Brazilian > 19th century > Exhibitions.
  • Art criticism > Cuba.
  • Art critics > Spain.
  • Art historians > Mexico 
  • Artists > Portugal 
  • Women artists > Colombia.
  • Avant-garde (Aesthetics) > Argentina
  • Modernism (Art) > Brazil.
  • Photography > Mexico > History.
  • Painting, Cuban
  • Concrete art > Brazil.
  • Chambi, Martin, 1891-1973
  • Posada, José Guadalupe, 1852-1913
  • Siqueiros, David Alfaro
  • Torres-Garcia, Joaquin, 1874-1949
  • Oiticica, Hélio, 1937-1980
  • Architecture > Latin America.
  • Architecture, Latin American
  • City planning > South America
  • Cities and towns > Latin America.
  • Cuba > Buildings, structures, etc. > Guidebooks.

Find Articles

file
Art Source

Developed from a merger of high-quality databases from EBSCO Publishing and H.W. Wilson (Art Full Text, Art & Architecture Complete, Art Restrospective), and including many unique sources that were never previously available, this database covers a broad range of related subjects, from fine, decorative and commercial art, to various areas of architecture and architectural design. This database features full-text articles as well as detailed indexing and abstracts for an array of journals, books, podcasts and more. International in scope, Art Source includes periodicals published in French, Italian, German, Spanish and Dutch and is designed for use by a diverse audience, including art scholars, artists, designers, students and general researchers.

 


file
ARTbibliographies Modern

Provides abstracts of journal articles, books, essays, exhibition catalogs, PhD dissertations, and exhibition reviews on all forms of modern and contemporary art dating from the late 19th century onwards, and including photography since its invention. It includes abstracts of English and foreign-language material on famous and lesser-known artists, movements, and trends. Coverage includes performance art and installation works, video art, computer and electronic art, body art, graffiti, artists' books, theatre arts, conservation, crafts, ceramic and glass art, ethnic arts, graphic and museum design, fashion, and calligraphy, as well as traditional media including illustration, painting, printmaking, sculpture, and drawing. Entries date back as far as the late 1960s.


Art History (Avery Library): Resources For Research

Research guide with additional article databases and other resources.


file
Handbook of Latin American Studies
HLAS Online (Coverage: 1936 - present)
HLAS WEB (Coverage: 1990 - present)

An annotated, authoritative bibliography on Latin America since 1936, HLAS is edited by the Hispanic Division of the Library of Congress. Covers books and published reports in addition to journal articles. The tables of contents from print volume 50 (1990) to the present may be browsed.


file
HAPI (Hispanic American Periodicals Index)

Information about Central and South America, Mexico, the Caribbean basin, the United States-Mexico border region, and Hispanics in the United States. Index to citations from over 500 Latin American studies journal with some links to full-text articles. Coverage: 1970 to the present.

Selected List of Periodicals

file
ARQ [Online]

Published in Santiago, Chile by theEscuela de Arquitectura de la Pontificia Universidad Católica de Chile. Also available in print.


file
Arqueología mexicana [Print]

México, D.F. : Editorial Raíces, 1993-. Website


file
Arquine : revista internacional de arquitectura = international architecture magazine. [Print]  

Website [Select content available]. México : Arquine S.A. de C.V. (1997-) 

Contemporary Latin American architecture, particular emphasis on Mexico.


file
Art Nexus. Bogotá, Colombia : Arte en Colombia. (1991-) [Print]

Online Edition

Fine Arts N9 Ar755 – Spanish edition [Columbia holds 1991-1999]
Fine Arts N1 Ar7459 – English edition [Columbia holds 1994 - current]


file
Art Libraries Journal [Print]

Vol. 37/4 (2012) is a Special issue: Resources for Latin American Art. This issue includes details on art resources in New York City.


file
Arte al Dia Internacional

Published since 1980, Arte al Dia International is a magazine focused on the promotion of contemporary Latin American art. 

Full Text Online available 2001 - 


file
Artecontexto [Online]

Madrid : Artehoy Publicaciones y Gestión, 2004-


file

Artes de Mexico. México, D.F. : Artes de México. (1988-) [Print]

Primarily pictorial Mexican art magazine, historical and contemporary.


file
Projeto/design [print]

São Paulo, SP : Arco Editorial


file

Summa⁺ [Print]

Buenos Aires : Donn S.A., 1993-

Additional Digital Resources

Archives of American Art: Latino and Latin American Artists (Smithsonian Archives of American Art)

Papers, oral histories, and images of artists from Latin America.



file
ARTstor [online]

ARTstor is a searchable database of digital images that cover many time periods and cultures, and documents the fields of architecture, painting, sculpture, photography, decorative arts, design, anthropology, ethnographic and women's studies, as well as many other forms of visual culture. Users can search, view, download and organize images.



file
ICAA Documents of 20th-century Latin American and Latino Art

Provides access to primary sources and critical documents tracing the development of twentieth-century art in Latin America and among Latino populations in the United States. Countries featured in the first phase of this multiyear project include Argentina, Brazil, Colombia, Chile, Mexico, Peru, Puerto Rico, Venezuela, and Latino USA.


file
Arteaméricas

Annual art fair in Miami.


file
LANIC: Art

Portal to online resources on Art in Latin America.



LatinAmericanArt.com 

LatinAmericanArt.com provides relevant news, information on artists, museums, galleries, and auction houses.



Románico Digital 

Un portal que ofrece contenidos digitalizados, seleccionados y archivados por la Fundación Santa María la Real, relativos al Arte Románico.



Howard Karno Books: Resources on Latin American Art 

A bookdealer of Latin American art publications, Karno Books offers here a list of links to resources on Latin American art.