Brazilian Music


Introduction

This research guide was created as part of Columbia University's participation in Brazilian World Music Day, as a way to highlight some of the many resources available through the Columbia University Libraries. 

Brazilian music is home to a myriad of styles and influences, including many well-known genres such as Samba and Bossa Nova; yet, those only scratch the surface of Brazil's musical heritage. Furthermore, there is a growing wealth of scholarship covering a wide range of topics in Brazilian music, from anthropophagy to Zumbi of Palmares.

This guide, coupled with an exhibit on display at the Music & Arts Library, offers a way to get acquainted with the many forms of Brazilian music, as well the accompanying literature. The Subject Headings tab is useful for those interested in a particular genre. However, selected listings of CDs, DVDs, and books are also included. These lists highlight Columbia's holdings more generally, and offer a browsable entrance point for those new to the subject. 

I created this guide as part of a Spring/Summer 2012 internship with Columbia's Latin American Studies librarian, Sean Knowlton. In the process I was able to expand my own knowledge of the subject, and to share that here. I hope you find it useful in your study and appreciation of Brazilian music.

John Kroondyk
Dual Degree Student, MLS & MA in Latin American Studies, Indiana University-Bloomington

Reference Resources


file
Garland Encyclopedia of World Music Online

A comprehensive online resource devoted to music research of all the world's peoples.


file
Oxford Music Online

Major online resource that includes the Encyclopedia of Popular Music, The Oxford Dictionary of Music, The Oxford Companion to Music and Grove Music Online. 



Select Recent Print Reference Sources

Enciclopédia Da Música Brasileira 

Eds. Marcondes, Marcos Antônio, et al. São Paulo, SP : Art Editora, 2000.

Encyclopedia of contemporary Latin American and Caribbean cultures 

New York: Routledge, 2000. 3 vols.

História da música no Brasil 

Vasco Mariz. Rio de Janeiro, RJ, Brasil : Editora Nova Fronteira, c2000.

Music in Latin America and the Caribbean : an encyclopedic history  

Edited by Malena Kuss. Austin : University of Texas Press, c2004-. 
Note: Ask at Music circ desk for accompanying CDs.

Music of Latin America and the Caribbean 

Mark Brill. Upper Saddle River, NJ : Prentice Hall/Pearson, 2011.

Subject Headings

Knowing the correct Library of Congress Subject Heading can greatly improve your results. Here are some possible headings to help you improve, expand or narrow or search. To use them, do a "Subject" search in CLIO or WorldCat. To identify others, begin with a keyword search and look at the Subjects listed in the catalog records of your search results.

General Subject Headings

Music > Brazil.  
Folk music > Brazil. 
Popular music > Brazil. 
Songs, Portuguese > Brazil.

Brazilian Genres

Bossa nova (Music) 

Candomblé music 

Capoeira (Dance) > Songs and music.

Choros. / Choro (Music) 

Computer music > Brazil. 

Dance music > Brazil. 

Forró. 

Frevos. 

Funk (Music) > Brazil.

Indians of South America > Brazil >Music.

Instrumental music > Brazil.

Popular instrumental music > Brazil. 

Jazz > Brazil.

Música sertaneja

Rap (Music) > Brazil.

Rock music > Brazil. 

Sambas.

Tropicália (Music)

Vocal music > Brazil. 

Sacred vocal music > Brazil.

Call Numbers

Browse these call number ranges in person or virtually to discover additional works on Brazilian music.

ML 410 – Composer Biographies
ML3487.B7 – Brazilian Popular Music
ML3575.B7 – Brazilian Folk Music

Discover/Listen

Streaming Music

Columbia University Libraries provides over 100 albums of Brazilian music via Online Streaming through CLIO.



file
Jazz Music Library 

The largest and most comprehensive collection of streaming jazz available online, offering thousands of jazz artists, ensembles, albums, and genres.

Brazilian Music: 99 recordings and 101 biographies


file
Smithsonian Global Sound for Libraries

Produced in partnership with Smithsonian Folkways Recordings, this is a virtual encyclopedia of the world's musical and aural traditions. It contains:

37 Brazilian albums


file
Contemporary World Music

Delivers the sounds of all regions from every continent. Includes over 100 items from Brazil.


file
Brazilian World Music Day YouTube Channel

A compilation of videos from Brazilian musical artists. This channel was created as a part of Brazilian Music Day by the ARChive of Contemporary Music.

CDs

A Selection of Brazilian Music CDs

Below is a selected discography from that offers exemplary recordings in various genres. For Columbia’s complete Brazilian music holdings, explore the CLIO subject headings provided on the other tab.

AfroReggae. "Nenhum Motivo Explica a Guerra."
Brazil : Gege Produções Artisticas, 2005.

Azevedo, Teófilo de. "Brasil Com "S", 60 Anos."
Rio de Janeiro : Kuarup Discos, 2003.

Ben, Jorge. "Ben É Samba Bom."
São Paulo : Universal Music, 1964.

Ben, Jorge. "África Brasil."
São Paulo : Universal Music, 1976.

Ben, Jorge. "Jorge Ben."
São Paulo : Universal Music Brasil, 1969.

Ben, Jorge. "A Tábua De Esmeralda."
São Paulo, Brazil : Universal Music, 1974.

Brown, Carlinhos. "Alfagamabetízado." Eds. Badarou, Wally and Arto Lindsay. Missasauga, Ontario : Virgin Music Canada, 1996.

Buarque, Chico. "Chico."
Rio de Janeiro : Biscoito Fino, 2011.

Buarque, Chico. "Chico Revisitado: de Chico Buarque De Hollanda N° 4 1970 a Chico Buarque 1984." Rio de Janeiro, Brazil : Dubas Música, 2004.

Bueno de Almeida, Israel and Izaías. "O Choro e Sua História: Izaías E Israel Entre Amigos." Eds. Almeida, Israel and Izaías de Almeida. Brasil : CPC UMES, 2005.

Campos, Abdias. "Literatura De Cordel: Cantada e Declamada."
Brazil : A. Campos, 2005.

Carolina, Ana. "Ana & Jorge Ao Vivo." Ed. Seu, Jorge.
Brasil : Sony/BMG, 2006.

Coro da Orquestra Sinfônica do Estado de São Paulo. "Canções Do Brasil."
Brasil : Palavra Cantada, 2001.

da Cuíca, Osvaldinho. "História Do Samba Paulista."
Sáo Paulo : CPC UMES, 1999.

Duprat, Rogério. Gil, Gilberto. Veloso, Caetano. Costa, Gal. Leão, Nara. Mutantes. "Tropicália."
São Paulo : Philips, 1993.

Fresh, Tio. "Brazil Hip Hop Clube."
São Paulo : Humbatuque, 2011.

Gil, Gilberto. "Gil & Jorge Ogum Xangô." Ed. Ben, Jorge.
São Paulo : Universal Music, 1975.

Grupo de Capoeira Angola Pelourinho. "Capoeira Angola."
Washington, DC : Smithsonian Folkways Recordings, 2003.

Grupo de Capoeira Angola Pelourinho. "Capoeira Angola from Salvador, Brazil." Washington, DC : Smithsonian/Folkways, 1996.

Ilê Aiyê. "Canto Negro." Brazil : Gravado Eldorado, 2009.

Inaicyra. "Ọkanawa: Cânticos Da Tradição Yorubá."
Brazil : Atração Fonográfica, 2002.

Jobim, Antonio Carlos. "Antonio Carlos Jobim em Minas ao Vivo: Piano e Voz." Rio de Janeiro : Jobim Biscoito Fino, 2004.

Jobim, Antonio Carlos & Regina, Elis. "Elis & Tom." Brazil : Philips, 2004.

Lee, Rita. "Rita Lee." São Paulo : Mercury, 2000.

Melo, Maciel. Cruz, Juraildes da. Antunes, Jackson. Monte, Heraldo do."Só Forró." Rio de Janeiro, Brazil : Kuarup Discos, 2001.

Miranda, Carmen. "Carmen Miranda, the Brazilian Bombshell: 25 Hits 1939-1947." London : ASV, 1998.

Monte, Marisa. "Infinito Particular." Brazil : EMI :, 2006.

Moreira, Cida, et al. "Cantorias E Cantadores."
Rio de Janeiro, Brazil : Kuarup Discos, 1997.

Mutantes. "Mvtantes."
Rio de Janeiro : Sony BMG Music Entertainment Brasil, 2006.

MV Bill. "Falcão O Bagulho É Doido." Rio de Janeiro : Universal Music, 2006.

Nascimento, Joatan. "Eu Choro Assim."
Brazil : Maianga Discos, 2004.

Nascimento, Mílton. "Belmondo & Milton Nascimento."
Brazil : Biscoito Fino, 2009.

Orquestra e Coro Vox Brasiliensis. "História Da Música Brasileira."
Brasil : Estúdio Eldorado.

Pinheiro, Paulo César. "Capoeira De Besouro."
Rio de Janeiro, Brazil : Quitanda, 2010.

Pixinguinha. "Só Pixinguinha." Eds. Velha, Zé da and Silvério Pontes.
Rio de Janeiro : Biscoito Fino, 2006.

Pixinguinha. "Salve Pixinguinha!". Eds. Azevedo, Waldir, et al.
Manaus, Brazil : Warner Music Brasil, 2007.

Pixinguinha. "Teu Nome, Pixinguinha."
Rio de Janeiro, Brazil : Biscoito Fino, 2000.

Rastapé. "Cantado a História Do Forró: Ao Vivo."
São Paulo : EMI Music Brasil, 2005.

Regina, Elis. "A Arte De Elis Regina." Brazil : Universal Music, 1988.

Rita, Maria. "Maria Rita." Manaus, Brasil : Warner Music Brasil, 2003.

Rita, Maria. "Samba Meu." Brazil : Warner Music Brasil, 2007.

Santanna. "Forró Popular Brasileiro."
São Paulo : Atração Fonográfica, 2006.

Setton, Eliezer. "Amores Do Meu Forró."
Brasil : Set-tons, 2005.

Seu Jorge. "America Brasil O Disco."
Brazil : EMI, 2008.

Sociedade Brasileira de Música Eletroacústica. "Coletânea De Música Eletroacústica Brasileira."
Brasília-DF, Brasil : Sociedade Brasileira de Música Eletroacústica, 2009.

Souza Lopes, José Ananias. Gloeden, Edelton."Uma Festa Brasileira: Música Para Flauta E Violão." São Paulo : Paulus, 1998.

Szidon, Roberto. "100 Anos De Piano Brasileiro."
Manaus : Kuarup Discos, 1998.

Toquinho. "Toquinho E Mpb4 40 Anos De MúSica."
Brazil : Biscoito Fino, 2008.

Various Artists. "Anos 1970: O Renascimento Do Choro."
Manaus, Brazil : Warner Music Brasil, 2007.

Various Artists. "Chega De Saudade: História Da Bossa Nova."
France : Iris musique, 2000.

Various Artists. "Festival De Música Carnavalesca Do Recife 2011."
Rio de Janeiro : Biscoito Fino, 2011.

Various Artists. "Recife Rock Mangue."
Brasil : Garanguejo Records, 1998.

Veloso, Caetano. "The Best of Caetano Veloso."
New York : Nonesuch Records, 2003.

Veloso, Caetano. "Sem Lenço Sem Documento / Without Handkerchief Without Document." Brazil : Polygram do Brasil, 1989.

Veloso, Caetano. "Tropicália 2." Ed. Gil, Gilberto.
New York, N.Y. : Elektra Nonesuch, 1994.

Villa-Lobos, Heitor. "Choros 1-7." Eds. Oramas, Carlos, et al.
London : ASV, 2003.

Villa-Lobos, Heitor. "Os Chôros De Câmara."
Rio de Janeiro, RJ : Kuarup Discos.

Viola Quebrada. "Sertaneja."
Rio de Janeiro, Brazil : Kuarup Discos, 2002.

Violeiros Matutos. "Terra Brasil."
Brazil : Violeiros Matutos, 2008.

Zé, Tom. "Estudando a Bossa Nordeste Plaza."
Brazil : Biscoito Fino, 2008.Zeca Pagodinho. "Agua Da Minha Sede."
São Paulo : Universal Music, 2000.


DVDs

A selection of films, concerts and documentaries that highlight Brazilian music and musicians. 

Buarque, Chico, et al. Chico E as Cidedes.
BMG Music, São Paulo, 2000.

Camus, Marcel, et al. Orfeu Negro Black Orpheus.
Criterion Collection, Irvington, NY, 1999.

Jobim, Antonio Carlos, et al. Musicalmente.
Televisione svizzera, São Paulo.

Kaurismäki, Mika, et al. The Sound of Rio Brasileirinho.
Milan Entertainment, Burbank, CA, 2007.

Lins, Ivan. Cantando Histórias.
EMI Music Brasil, Miami Beach, FL, 2004.

Marre, Jeremy, et al. The Black Music of Brazil.
Shanachie Entertainment Corp., Newton, NJ, 2000.

Monte, Marisa, et al. Mais.
EMI Music Brasil, Brasil, 2004.

Nascimento, Mílton, et al. Milton Nascimento, Tambores De Minas.
Warner Music Brasil, Manaus, 2003.

Paes, Cesar, et al. Saudade Do Futuro.
Laterit Productions, Paris, 2000.

Seixas, Raul, et al. O Baú Do Raul.
Som Livre, Brasil, 2004.

Toquinho, et al. Toquinho.
Biscoito Fina : Kau Laser, Brazil, 2000.

Veloso, Caetano, et al. Caetano Veloso Em Prenda Minha.
Universal, Universal City, Calif., 1999.

Zimbalist, Jeff, et al. Favela Rising.
Genius Entertainment, Santa Monica, CA, 2007.

Books

A selection of monographs that explore the history and greater relevance of Brazilian music.

 Dicionário Musical Brasileiro

Andrade, Mário de.Eds. Alfarenga, Oneyda and Flávia Camargo Toni. Brasília : Ministério da Cultura, 1989. 

Tropicália : A Revolution in Brazilian Culture (1967-1972)

Basualdo, Carlos, ed. São Paulo : Cosac Naify, 2005. 

Bossa Nova and Samba : History, People, Scores, Books, Lyrics, Recordings.

Buenosaires, Oscar deAlbuquerque, NM : FOG Publications, 1999.

Bossa Nova : The Story of the Brazilian Music That Seduced the World

Castro, Ruy. Chicago, IL: A Cappella, 2000

Focus : Music of Northeast Brazil.

Crook, Larry. New York: Routledge, 2009.

White Face, Black Mask : Africaneity and the Early Social History of Popular Music in Brazil

East Lansing : Michigan State University Press, 2009. 

River of Tears Country Music, Memory, and Modernity in Brazil

Dent, Alexander Sebastian. "Durham : Duke University Press, 2009. [Online]

Brutality Garden : Tropicália and the Emergence of a Brazilian Counterculture

Dunn, Christopher. Chapel Hill : University of North Carolina Press, 2001. 

The Berimbau : Soul of Brazilian Music

Galm, Eric. Jackson : University Press of Mississippi, 2010. [Online]

Let's Make Some Noise : Axé and the African Roots of Brazilian Popular Music

Henry, Clarence Bernard. "Jackson : University Press of Mississippi, 2008. [Online]

Brazilian Popular Music : Caetano Veloso and the Regeneration of Tradition

Leu, Lorraine. "Aldershot, England : Ashgate, 2006. 

Hello, hello Brazil: popular music in the making of modern Brazil [eBook]

McCann, Bryan. "Durham: Duke University Press, 2004. 

The Brazilian Sound : Samba, Bossa Nova, and the Popular Music of Brazil

McGowan, Chris. "Ed. Pessanha, Ricardo. Rev. and expanded ed. ed. Philadelphia : Temple University Press, 2009.

Música Popular Brasileira Hoje

Nestrovski, Arthur Rosenblat, ed. "São Paulo : Publifolha, 2002. 

Ideologies of Marginality in Brazilian Hip Hop 

Pardue, Derek. "New York : Palgrave Macmillan, 2008. 

The World of Villa-Lobos in Pictures and Documents

Peppercorn, L. M. "Hants, England : Scolar Press, 1996. 

Masters of Contemporary Brazilian Song : Mpb, 1965-1985

Perrone, Charles A. "Austin : University of Texas Press, 1989. 

Brazilian Popular Music & Globalization

Perrone, Charles A. and Christopher Dunn eds. Gainesville : University Press of Florida, 2001.

Bossa Nova and the Rise of Brazilian Music in the 1960s : Original Cover Art

Peterson, Gilles and Stuart Baker eds. London : Soul Jazz Records, 2010. 

Why Suyá Sing : A Musical Anthropology of an Amazonian People

Seeger, Anthony.Urbana, Ill. : University of Illinois Press, 2004. Online 

Tropical Truth : A Story of Music and Revolution in Brazil

Veloso, Caetano. New York : Alfred A. Knopf, 2002.  

The Mystery of Samba : Popular Music and National Identity in Brazil

Vianna, Hermano. Ed. Chasteen, John Charles. Chapel Hill :: University of North Carolina Press, 1999.

Brazilian World Music Day

file


The ARChive of Contemporary Music (ARC) has launched Brazilian World Music Day (BWMD) in collaboration with Columbia University Libraries, and with the support of Founding Partners Gracenote and the Internet Archive.

ARC has lead an effort to celebrate Brazilian music on Brazil’s National Day in 2012, when they launched a website to present, promote and explore the rich cultural heritage of Brazilian music of the past, present and future. BWMD offers videos, histories, seminars, concerts, lectures, sound files, sheet music, album cover art galleries, essays, blogs, photos and links all highlightng the importance and beauty of Brazilian music as well as to educate a global audience about it's many genres. ARC will also create an interactve map that will pinpoint and link genres and artists by region.

A major component of BWMD is a database describing ARC’s Brazilian Music Collection and Brazilian recordings held by all archives and libraries around the world. Information on all Brazilian recordings in the world are posted in a freely available online database for reference and research.

Web Portals

Discos do Brasil 

Complete discographies of many artists that emerged with Bossa Nova or after it - for example, João Gilberto, Tom Jobim, Elis Regina, Chico Buarque, Caetano Veloso, Edu Lobo, Gilberto Gil, Baden Powell, Maria Bethania, Paulinho da Viola. Dorival Caymmi and Noel Rosa Cartola. 

LANIC: Music (Brazil)

Organized directory of web resources on Brazilian music 

Latin American Music Center (Indiana University School of Music)

The LAMC fosters the academic study, performance and research of Latin American art, popular and traditional music.

Links to Brazilian music resources 

Zona Latina: Latin American Music  

Major portal to media in Latin America, links to radio stations and websites about music.

Researching Brazil (Indiana University) 

Devised as a tool to support research in Brazilian Studies, Researching Brazil/Pesquisa no Brasil is both a bibliographic index and a gateway to online resources relevant to the field.

Additional Research Guides

Music in Latin America, the Caribbean, Portugal & Spain (Columbia University Research Guide)