Digital Collections


Resources marked with this symbol are restricted to Columbia affiliates.

eBook Collections

Digitalia

With an interface in English and Spanish, Digitalia offers a large, expanding catalog of ebooks and ejournals from Spanish and Latin American publishers in digital format. Many titles, but not all, are cataloged in CLIO.

ACLS Humanities E-book

Online collection from the American Council of Learned Societies of thousands of high quality works in the humanities, accessible through institutional and individual subscription. Titles are cataloged in CLIO.

Cambridge Collections Online and Cambridge Histories Online
Titles are cataloged in CLIO. Includes:

Cambridge Economic History of Latin America
Cambridge History of Latin America
Cambridge History of the Native Peoples of the America

Google Book Search 

Read and search within millions of works, usually published prior to 1923 (out of copyright). Many titles are cataloged in CLIO.

Red de Bibliotecas Virtuales de Ciencias Sociales de América Latina y el Caribe de la red (CLACSO)

Virtual library of eBooks, eJournals, Conference Proceedings, and Multimedia published in Latin America and the Caribbean. 

SciELO Livros

The SciELO Books Portal publishes national and thematic collections of academic books online published by FIOCRUZ, UFBA and UNESP. Includes Open Access ebooks as well as titles for purchase.

Literary Collections

Please Consult this research guide: Language, Literature, and Culture

Historical Collections

Archives of American Art: Latino and Latin American (Smithsonian Archives of American Art)
Papers, oral histories, and images of artists from Latin America.

Arte Público Hispanic Historical Collection : Series 1
A vast digital collection of historical content pertaining to U.S. Hispanic history, literature and culture. "Recovering the U.S. Hispanic Literary Heritage Project" -- from which the collections draws its content, is the largest national project ever to locate, preserve and disseminate Hispanic culture of the United States in its written form from colonial times until 1960. 

Biblioteca Digital Hispánica (Biblioteca Nacional de España)
Digitized texts, collections, and images from the collections of the Biblioteca Nacional de España.

Biblioteca Virtual del Patrimonio Bibliográfico (Spain)
Digitized manuscripts and rare books held in Spanish libraries and archives.

Biblioteca Virtual Miguel de Cervantes
Extensive site offering links to full-text collections of major literary authors and historical works

Brazil and the United States Expanding Frontiers, Expanding Cultures
Joint project of the Library of Congress and Brazilian National Library, providing digital images of books, maps, prints and photographs, manuscripts and other documents.

Colecciones Mexicanas
Universidad Nacional Autónoma de México site with literary and historical materials, and collection of historic Mexican photos.

Digital Archive of the Guatemalan National Police Historical Archive
Over 10 million scanned images of documents from the National Police Historical Archive of Guatemala.

Digital Collections: Cuban Heritage Collection (University of Miami)
Extensive collection documenting Cuban and Cuban-America history and culture. 

dLOC: Digital Library of the Caribbean
A cooperative of partners within the Caribbean and circum-Caribbean, dLOC provides users with access to Caribbean cultural, historical and research materials held in archives, libraries, and private collections.

Early Encounters in North America: peoples, cultures and the environment
Provides access to letters, diaries, memoirs and accounts concerning events that took place in North America between 1534 and 1860. The focus of the database is on description, travel, and accounts of interactions among various cultural groups.

Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO)
A comprehensive digital edition of The Eighteenth Century microfilm set, which has sought to include every significant English-language and foreign-language title printed in the United Kingdom, along with thousands of important works from the Americas, between 1701 and 1800.  Best for English-speaking Caribbean.

European Views of the Americas
This bibliographic database serves as a comprehensive guide to printed records about the Americas written in Europe before 1750. Based on the bibliography, European Americana: A Chronological Guide to Works Printed In Europe Relating to The Americas, 1493-1750. Full text is not available; cited works are held at the John Carter Brown Library and may be available at other research libraries. Consult CLIO and WorldCat to identify holdings.

Feminism in Cuba: Nineteenth through Twentieth Century Archival Documents

Latin American Travelogues (Brown University)
Digitized collection of English-language 16th-19th century Latin American travelogues.

The Making of the Modern World: the Goldsmiths'-Kress Library of Economic Literature, 1450-1850
This collection documents dynamics of Western trade, economies, and wealth. Includes facsimiles of rare books and primary source materials such as political pamphlets and broadsides, government publications, proclamations, and a wide range of ephemera.

Los Primeros Libros de las Américas: Impresos Mexicanos del Siglo XVI en las Bibliotecas del Mundo 
A digital collection of the first books printed in Mexico before 1601. These monographs represent the first printing in the New World and provide primary sources for scholarly studies focused on a variety of academic fields. Approximately 220 unique titles are held in institutions around the world with most held in Mexico and the United States. The project currently brings together 15 partner institutions in Mexico, the United States, South America, and Europe.

Románico Digital 
Un portal que ofrece contenidos digitalizados, seleccionados y archivados por la Fundación Santa María la Real, relativos al Arte Románico.

Sabin Americana, 1500-1926
"Based on Joseph Sabin's landmark bibliography, this collection contains works about the Americas published throughout the world from 1500 to the early 1900's. Included are books, pamphlets, serials and other documents that provide original accounts of exploration, trade, colonialism, slavery and abolition, the western movement, Native Americans, military actions and much more.

Slavery & Anti-Slavery: A Transnational Archive
Full-text documents from the United States, Europe, Latin America and the Caribbean. Includes books, pamphlets, newspapers, periodicals, and manuscripts. Currently contains Part 1, "Debates over Slavery and Abolition." Parts 2-4 are scheduled for release between 2011 and 2013.

World Digital Library
The World Digital Library makes available on the Internet, free of charge and in multilingual format, significant primary materials from countries and cultures around the world.

Political, Social and Legislative Collections

Castro Speech Data Base

This database includes speeches, interviews, etc., by Fidel Castro from 1959 to 1996. All texts are in English.

Brazil Nunca Mais 

Um compêndio com mais de 900.000 páginas que provam as torturas praticadas pela ditadura militar (1964-85).

Brazil's Popular Groups

Online index to political and social ephemera, including pamphlets, papers, journals, and posters, covering 1966 to the present. Includes collection of digitized posters. Full text of the documents are available on microfilm at Columbia. To locate, search in CLIO by title for "Brazil's Popular Groups".

Brazilian Government Documents (CRL)

Provincial Presidential Reports, 1830-1930
Presidential Messages, 1889-1993
The Almanak Laemmert, 1844-1889
Federal Ministerial Reports, 1821-1960

Código Brasiliense

Digital version of the Brazilian collection of colonial  laws, decrees etc.  Detailed indices and explantions available. Project of the John Carter Brown Library at Brown University.

Digital Collection of Mexican and Argentine Presidential Messages (LANIC and LARRP)

Full text of presidential messages from Argentina (1810-1993) and Mexico (1821-1993)

Digital National Security Archive   

Collection of declassified US government documents covering United States' foreign relations with Latin American countries and other international affairs in the second half of the 20th century. Columbia also owns several sets of NSA document collections on microform. Consult Guide to Latin American & Iberian Microforms or search CLIO by the collection title.

The National Security Archive (The George Washington University)

Additional declassified U.S. documents and other materials documenting U.S.-Latin American relations and political events. View the Electronic Briefing Books: Latin America.

Latin American Pamphlet Digital Collection (Harvard University)

 

Legislación Mexicana 1687-1902

Collection of laws, decrees and other legal documents;  digitized version of this printed compendium.
 

NACLA Archive of Latin Americana 

A microfilm collection of ephemeral materials collected between 1960s and 1990s by the North American Congress on Latin America, a non-governmental organization active in reporting and monitoring conditions in the region. Consult the finding aid. Borrow microfilm reels via interlibrary loan from the Center for Research Libraries. Columbia holds: Dominican Republic [microform] : North American Congress on Latin America (NACLA) archive of Latin Americana.

Princeton University Latin American Ephemera Collections

Princeton's Library has collected social and political ephemera (pamphlets, journals, newsletters, posters, flyers and other documents), from the 1960s to the present. These collections have been published on microfilm; request via Interlibrary Loan once you've identified material in these collections.

Guide to the Latin American Ephemera Collections at Princeton

WorldCat: Search as a keyword "Princeton University Library Latin American Microfilm Collection" AND [country name or topic] as keyword.

Guide to the Princeton University Latin American microfilm collection (Columbia University Law Library Catalog)

Columbia University Libraries holds: 

Princeton University Library Latin American microfilm collection. Supplement 3, Politics in Argentina
Princeton University Libraries Latin American microfilm collection. Supplement V, Socioeconomic crisis and political participation in Argentina, I, 1995-2005

U.S. Government Documents
See the extensive set of subject guides for navigating U.S. government documents. See especially:

The U.S. Intelligence Community.  Includes section on declassified document sources.
U.S. Foreign Policy Information Resources


Have a Research Question?
Contact Latin American & Iberian Studies Librarian.
Phone: 212-854-1679
Revised 6/4/2014