Film Studies (Latin America, Caribbean, Portugal and Spain)


Reference Sources

General Film Reference

Biography Resource Center
Film Index International 

"Person Search" allows you to look for biographical information.

Film Language Glossary 

Columbia University Libraries (Center for New Media, Teaching and Learning)

The Film Studies Dictionary [Print] 

Steve Blandford, Barry Keith Grant, Jim Hillier. New York:Oxford University Press, 2001.

The New Biographical Dictionary of Film 

David Thomson. 4th Ed. New York : A.A. Knopf, 2002. Some coverage of Latin American and Spanish personalities. Also available in print. 

International dictionary of films and filmmakers   

4th edition. / editors, Tom Pendergast, Sara Pendergast. Detroit : St. James Press, c2000.
Also available in print. 

Women film directors : an international bio-critical dictionary [Print]

Gwendolyn Audrey Foster. Westport, Conn. : Greenwood Press, 1995.


Region-Specific Film Reference

Astros e estrelas do cinema Brasileiro [Print]

Antonio Leão da Silva Neto. São Paulo : Imprensa Oficial do Estado de São Paulo, 2010. 

Diccionario Espasa cine español [Print]

Augusto M. Torres. Madrid : Espasa, 1999.

Diccionario de actores del cine argentino, 1933-1999 [Print]

Roberto Blanco Pazos y Raúl Clemente. Buenos Aires : Corregidor, c1999.

Diccionario de actrices del cine argentino, 1933-1997 [Print]

Roberto Blanco Pazos, Raúl Clemente. Buenos Aires : Corregidor, 1997.

Diccionario de directores del cine argentino : de comienzos del sonoro a nuestros días [Print]

Adolfo C. Martínez. Buenos Aires: Corregidor, c2004. 

Diccionario de directores del cine mexicano [Print]

[dirección] Perla Ciuk. México, D.F.: CONACULTA : Cineteca Nacional, [c2000] 

Diccionario del cine español [Print]

Academia de las Artes y las Ciencias Cinematográficas de España. Madrid : Alianza Editorial : Sociedad General de Autores y Editores : Fundación Autor, c1998.

Diccionario del cine iberoamericano : España, Portugal y América [Print]

Editor y coordinador: Emilio Casares Rodicio ; directores de España, Carlos F. Heredero, Eduardo Rodríguez Merchán ; director de América, Iván Giroud ; director de Portugal, João Bénard da Costa ; subdirector de España, José Enrique Monterde.
Madrid : SGAE, Sociedad General de Autores y Editores : Fundación Autor, 2011-

Diccionario del cine mexicano, 1970-2000 [Print]

Mario A. Quezada, compilador. México, D.F. : Universidad Nacional Autónoma de México, 2005. 

Directory of Spanish and Portuguese film-makers and films [Print]

Compiled and edited by Rafael de España. Trowbridge, Wiltshire, England : Flicks Books, 1994.

Guide to the cinema of Spain [Print]

Marvin D’Lugo. Westport, Conn. : Greenwood Press, 1997.

Quién es quién en el teatro y el cine español e hispanoamericano [Print]

Centro de Investigaciones Literarias Españolas e Hispanoamericanas. Barcelona: C.I.L.E.H., c1990.


Encyclopedias

When consulting theses sources look under entries for cinema, film, and names of individual directors, actors etc.

The Cambridge companion to modern Spanish culture 

Edited by David T. Gies. Cambridge ; New York : Cambridge University Press, 1999. Also available in print. 

Enciclopedia del cine español : cronología 

Pascual Cebollada, Luis Rubio Gil. Barcelona : Ediciones del Serbal, 1996.

Encyclopedia of contemporary Latin American and Caribbean cultures 

Edited by Daniel Balderston, Mike Gonzalez and Ana M. López. London ; New York : Routledge, 2000.

Encyclopedia of Latin American history and culture [Online] 
Encyclopedia of Modern Mexico

David W. Dent. Lanham, Md. : Scarecrow Press, 2002.

The film encyclopedia : the most comprehensive encyclopedia of world cinema in a single volume 

Ephraim Katz. 5th ed. / revised by Fred Klein and Ronald Dean Nolen. New York : Collins Reference, 2005.

Mexico : an encyclopedia of contemporary culture and history  

Don M. Coerver, Suzanne B. Pasztor, and Robert M. Buffington. Santa Barbara, Calif. : ABC-CLIO, c2004. Also available in print


Bibliographies

La Bibliografía cinematográfica española : aproximación histórica 

Juan Delgado Casado. Madrid : Arco/Libros, c1993.

Film, an international bibliography 

Malte Hagener, Michael Töteberg. Stuttgart : Metzler, 2002.

Film in Latin America: A Selective Bibliography, 1999

Compiled by Marianne Siegmund. Latin American Information Series No. 7, SALALM.

Film researcher’s handbook: a guide to sources in North America, South America, Asia, Australasia and Africa 

Compiled by Jenny Morgan. London ; New York : Routledge, c1996.

Filmographies & Film Catalogs

Antología crítica del cine español 1906-1995 : flor en la sombra 

Julio Pérez Perucha, ed. Madrid : Cátedra, 1997.

Catálogo general del cine de la guerra civil 

Edición a cargo de Alfonso del Amo García. Madrid : Cátedra : Filmoteca Española, c1996. 

The Cuban filmography, 1897 through 2001 

Alfonso J. García Osuna. Jefferson, N.C. : McFarland & Co., c2003.

A Guide to Latin American, Caribbean, and U.S. Latino made film and video 

Edited by Karen Ranucci and Julie Feldman. Lanham, Md. : Scarecrow Press, 1998.

Latin American films, 1932-1994 : a critical filmography 

Ronald Schwartz. Jefferson, N.C.: McFarland & Co., 1996.

The Mexican filmography : 1916 through 2001 

David E. Wilt. Jefferson, N.C. : McFarland & Co., c2004. 

South American cinema : a critical filmography, 1915-1994 

Edited by Timothy Barnard and Peter Rist. New York : Garland Pub., 1996.

Histories of Film

Tip: Do a "Subject" search in CLIO: Motion Pictures country name - history


Latin America (General)

A companion to Latin American film 

Stephen M. Hart. Rochester, NY : Tamesis, 2004.

The cinema of Latin America 

Edited by Alberto Elena & Marina Díaz López. London ; New York : Wallflower Press, 2003.

Hojas de cine : testimonios y documentos del nuevo cine latinoamericano

México, D.F. : Secretaría de Educación pública : Universidad Autónoma Metropolitan: Fundación Mexicana de Cineastas, 1988.

Magical reels : a history of cinema in Latin America 

John King. London ; New York : Verso, 2000.

New Latin American cinema 

Edited by Michael T. Martin. Detroit : Wayne State University Press, 1997.

World Cinema: Critical Approaches 

Oxford ; New York : Oxford University Press, 2000


Specific Latin American Countries

Brazilian cinema 

New York : Columbia University Press, c1995.

Brazilian cinema

Rutherford : Fairleigh Dickinson University Press ; London : Associated University Presses, c1982.

The New Brazilian Cinema [Online]

London ; New York : I.B. Tauris in Association with the Centre for Brazilian Studies, University of Oxford ; New York : In the United States of America distributed by Palgrave Macmillan, 2003.

Breve historia del cine mexicano : primer siglo, 1897-1997 

Emilio García Riera. México, D.F. : Instituto Mexicano de Cinematografía ; Zapopan, Jalisco : Ediciones Mapa, c1998.

100 años de cine en el Perú : una historia crítica

Ricardo Bedoya. Lima, Perú : Universidad de Lima, Instituto de Cooperación Iberoamericana, 1992.

Cuban cinema 

Michael Chanan. Minneapolis : University of Minnesota Press, c2004. Also available in print

Contemporary Argentine cinema 

David William Foster. Columbia: Univ. of Missouri Press, c1992.

Historia del cine argentino 

Jorge Miguel Couselo ... [et al.]. Buenos Aires : Centro Editor de América Latina, c1984.

Historia del cine cubano : cien años, 1897-1998 

Eduardo G. Noguer. Miami, Fla. : Ediciones Universal, 2002.

Historia documental del cine mexicano 

Emilio García Riera. Guadalajara, Jalisco, México : Universidad de Guadaljara, c1992-

Mexican cinema 

Edited by Paulo Antonio Paranaguá ; translated by Ana M. López. London : British Film Institute, 1995.

Panorama histórico del cine en Venezuela, 1896-1993 

José Miguel Acosta ... [et al.]. Caracas : Fundación Cinemateca Nacional, c1997.


Portugal & Spain

Burning darkness : a half century of Spanish cinema [Online]

Edited by Joan Ramon Resina. Albany : SUNY Press, c2008. Also available in print.

The cinema of Spain and Portugal 

Edited by Alberto Mira. London ; New York : Wallflower, 2005.

A Companion to Spanish Cinema [Online]

Malden, MA : Wiley-Blackwell, 2012.

Contemporary Spanish cinema 

Barry Jordan and Rikki Morgan-Tamosunas. Manchester ; New York : Manchester University Press, 1998.

Historia del cine español 

José María Caparrós Lera ; prólogo de Rafael Utrea ; apéndice "La censura del cine en España" de Rafael de España. Madrid : T&B, 2007.

Historia del cine español

Román Gubern ... [et al.]. Madrid : Cátedra, c1995.

Spanish cinema : a student’s guide 

Barry Jordan and Mark Allinson. London : Hodder Arnold, 2005.

Spanish national cinema 

Núria Triana-Toribio. London ; New York : Routledge, 2003.

Find Articles & Reviews

file
FIAF International Index to Film Periodicals Plus  

Includes citations and full text of many foremost academic and popular film journals. 


file
Film Index International

Provides in-depth indexing of over 125,000 films - from the first silent movies to the latest blockbusters - and biographical information for over 800,000 personalities. Film Index International includes records on films from over 170 countries and has extensive coverage of international film awards. Its rich content also includes searchable plot summaries, full cast and crew lists as well as references to periodical articles on film and film-makers.


file
Film and Television Literature Index with Full Text 

This database provides cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for hundreds of publications (and selected coverage of 300), as well as full text for more hundreds of journals and books. In addition, it includes Variety movie reviews from 1914 to present and over 36,300 images from the MPTV Image Archive.


file
Film Literature Index 

The Film Literature Index (FLI) annually indexes 150 film and television periodicals from 30 countries cover-to-cover and 200 other periodicals selectively for articles on film and television. The periodicals range from the scholarly to the popular. More than 2,000 subject headings provide detailed analysis of the articles. Covers 1976-2001. Also available in print (Covers 1973-2004).


file
International Index to the Performing Arts (IIPA)

IIPA draws its content from more than 210 international periodicals and also indexes articles and obituaries appearing in the New York times and the Washington post. Includes approximately 200,000 records with 90,000 from the backfile (up to 1997). Most records contain an abstract.


file
DIALNET

Indexes thousands of journals (millions of articles), mostly published in Spain. Covers all subject areas, including works about Latin America. Also includes some full-text theses from Spanish universities.


file
HAPI (Hispanic American Periodicals Index) 

Covers Central and South America, Mexico, the Caribbean, the US-Mexico border, and Hispanics in the US. Index to citations from over 500 Latin American studies journals with links to full-text articles. Coverage: 1970 to the present.


Humanities Full Text Index  

Citations 1984 – present; Full text 1995-present


file
MLA International Bibliography

Indexes critical materials on literature, languages, linguistics, and folklore. Proved access to citations from worldwide publications, including periodicals, books, essay collections, working papers, proceedings, dissertations and bibliographies. Some full-text and links to additional full-text. Coverage: 1923 - present.


News & Newspapers

Tip: Explore newspapers to find film reviews.

News & Newspapers (Latin America, Caribbean, Portugal, Spain)

Columbia University Libraries Research Guide

Selected Film Journals

El Amante Cine (Argentina)
Butaca : revista del Cine Arte del Centro Cultural de San Marcos (Peru)
Butaca sanmarquina (Lima, Peru, 1998-2004)
Cine Cubano [Online edition]
Festival Internacional del Nuevo Cine Latinoamericano
Filmhistoria Online (Spain) Includes "dossier" on Latin American film
Mostra Internacional do Filme Etnográfico : [catálogo] (Brazil)
Primary Source Periodicals: Classic Mexican Cinema [ONLINE]

"The Golden Age of Mexican Cinema is illuminated in this collection of popular movie periodicals. Not only does it include chief magazines such as Cinema Reporter (1943-1965) and Cine Mundial (1954-1955), it also features extremely rare copies of El Cine Gráfico from 1935 and of the weekly El Mundo Ilustrado (1902-1910). The true extent of the popularity of Mexican film is illustrated by Cinelandia (1931-1947), which was published in Hollywood both in Spanish and in English. This collection also includes dozens of film flyers, which were distributed on the streets to lure people into the cinema. Finally, for the first time this collection gives access to the personal scrap books of Fernando de Fuentes (1894-1958), one of the leading Latin-American filmmakers to this day. These volumes contain reviews, movie stills, programs, and advertisements, shedding a unique light on the career of this pioneering director."

Revista de Cinema (Sao Paulo, Brazil)
Studies in Documentary Film
Film Criticism [Online edition]
Film Journal International
International motion picture almanac
Variety international film guide

Web Portals & Other Guides

Internet Movie Database
Anuario del Cine Español 

[2001 - ; lists feature and short films produced each year, directors and producers]

Base de datos de peliculas [Spanish Ministry of Culture] 

Background, technical information and synopses of films.

Butler Media Services (Columbia University Libraries)

Film and Television Studies (Research Guide)

Cinema in Latin America (LANIC) 

An organized directory of online resources.

Film Studies Subject Guide (Barnard College Library)
Latin American and Spanish Video on the Internet: a Guide to Web Resources (SUNY Albany Libraries)
Portal del cine y el audiovisual latinoamericano y caribeño 

Gateway to online information about Latin American and Caribbean film, the film industry, festivals, and film research.

Find Books & Film

Tips For Finding Films in CLIO

Tip: To better search CLIO to identify films and books on films, combine the following terms in quotes with other relevant keywords:

“motion pictures” and “latin america”
“motion pictures” and country

Library of Congress Subject Headings

Search CLIO like a professional. Do a SUBJECT search using the following Subject Headings. Limit your results by refining for format, language or other facets.

  • Motion pictures > Spain (Works about film)
  • Motion pictures, Spanish (Films ... and also works about films)
  • Motion pictures > Latin America.
  • Motion pictures, Cuban
  • Motion pictures > Mexico > History
  • Motion pictures > country name
  • Documentary films
  • Feature films



Library Catalogs


CLIO
 

Columbia's catalog.

WorldCat

A catalog of books and other materials in libraries worldwide. Identify and request materials not in CLIO or BorrowDirect.

Borrow Direct 

Borrow books from Borrow Direct member libraries.

Call Number Ranges for Latin American Studies  (PDF)

An exhaustive breakdown of the LC call numbers for Latin American Studies.