Hispanic New York


Reference Resources

file
Oxford Encyclopedia of Latinos and Latinas in the United States

Also in print edition. Oxford ; New York : Oxford University Press, 2005.


file
Encyclopedia of Latin American History and Culture

Second edition (2008) of this authoritative, specialized encyclopedia. Completely searchable full-text reference source.


file
Encyclopedia Latina : history, culture, and society in the United States [Print]

An interdisciplinary reference book to chronicle Latino contributions to art, culture and commerce in the United States. In its four volumes, 650 entries, 2000 pages and 1.2 million words, Encyclopedia Latina explores every aspect of Latino life in America from a myriad of perspectives, spanning the arts, media, cuisine, government and politics, science and technology, business, health, and sports, among others.


file
Encyclopedia of New York. [Print]

2nd edition. 2010. Edited by Columbia University Professor Kenneth T. Jackson.


file
Hispanic New York: A Sourcebook [Online] 

Also in print edition. 2010. People referred to as Hispanics or Latinos have been part and parcel of New York since the beginning of the city's history. Hispanic New York is the first anthology to offer a comprehensive view of this multifaceted heritage. Edited by Claudio Iván Remeseira (Columbia University).


Wikipedia

Wikipedia is a free, web-based, collaborative, multilingual encyclopedia project supported by the non-profit Wikimedia Foundation. This tool may be useful for initial exploration and identification of organizations or individuals, as well as other popular sources found outside of academic resources. Articles may also provide a "further reading" section or bibliography that may direct you towards scholarly sources.

For brief instruction on Using Wikipedia for Academic Research, view this short video.

Find Books

Library Catalogs

CLIO

Columbia's catalog.

WorldCat 

A catalog of books and other materials in libraries worldwide. Identify and request materials not in CLIO or BorrowDirect.

Borrow Direct 

Borrow books from Borrow Direct member libraries.



Truncation

Expand your keyword search by using truncation:

hispan* finds hispano, hispanic, hispana, hispanos ...

Also consider: latin* chican* dominican* mexic* brazi* colomb* peru*

Combine those concepts into a search string: "Washington Heights" dominican*


Subject Headings

Explore CLIO like a professional: 

Hispanic Americans > New York (State) > New York.

Hispanic Americans > New York (State) > New York > Statistics.

Puerto Ricans > New York (State) > New York.

Dominican Americans > New York (State) > New York

Mexican Americans > New York (State) > New York

Colombians > New York (State) > New York. 

Cuban Americans > New Jersey > Union City 

Salvadorans > New York (State) 

New York (N.Y.) > Emigration and immigration

Ethnicity > New York (State) > New York. 

Neighborhoods > New York (State) > New York  

Brooklyn (New York, N.Y.) 

East Harlem (New York, N.Y.)

Lower East Side (New York, N.Y.)

Long Island (N.Y.)

Union City (N.J.)

Washington Heights (New York, N.Y.)

Find Articles

file
America, History and Life with full text

Index of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. The database indexes journals from 1964 to present and includes citations and links to book and media reviews.


file
Chicano Database

Provides listings of all types of materials concerning the Mexican-American, Chicano, and broader Latino experience.


file
Ethnic Newswatch

Full-text newspaper, magazine, and journal articles from the ethnic, minority, and native press in the U.S. Coverage is from 1960 to date.


file
HAPI (Hispanic American Periodicals Index) 

In addition to Latin America, also covers the US-Mexico border, and Hispanics in the US. Index to citations from over 500 journals with links to full-text articles. Coverage: 1970 to the present.


file
Hispanic American Newspapers, 1808-1980

Full-text Spanish-language newspapers printed in the U.S. during the 19th and 20th centuries.


file
New York Times

Complete archival and current coverage of this major newspaper via various scholarly databases.


file
El Diario 

Online access to the web edition of this Spanish-language Hispanic newspaper published in New York City. 

NOTE: Full-text articles from 1992 through the present of this newspaper are available via the Ethnic Newswatch database (linked above).

Statistics

United States Census Bureau
Hispanic Origin

A presentation that highlights past, present and future trends of the Hispanic population in the United States.

American FactFinder: Hispanic or Latino Origin
American FactFinder: Community Facts  

ZIP Code Definitions of New York City Neighborhoods (NY State Dept. of Health) 

Map of ZIP Codes (NYC)

Mapping America: Every City, Every Block [New York Times]

Browse local data from the Census Bureau's American Community Survey, based on samples from 2005 to 2009.

Digital Atlas of New York City

By Professor William A. Bowen, California State University, Northridge. Data is principally for 1990, atlases are divided into six major topics, including Ancestry.

New York City Latino Neighborhoods Databook [Print]

Published in 1996. Data for the 21 Latino neighborhoods and an additional 33 smaller Latino "sub-neighborhood" areas, along with statistics for the city as a whole and for each borough.

NYC2010 : results from the 2010 census : population growth and race/Hispanic composition 

The City of New York, Michael R. Bloomberg, Department of City Planning, Amanda M. Burden.

General Statistical Sources: New York City and State

Columbia University Libraries Research Guide.

Additional Online Resources

Columbia University Guides

New York City History

New York City Documents

Catalan, Hispanic, and Luso-Brazilian New York (Directory of NY area libraries and cultural centers)

Hispanic New York and the Latinoization of the United States [Video]

Panel Discussion & Presentation of Hispanic New York: A Sourcebook (Columbia University Press, 2010)

LANIC: Spanish-Language Newspapers in the Continental U.S.
ALZAR (Academic Latina/o Zone of Activism & Research)

Its goal is to provide to resources addressing Latina/o issues in the academic setting.


Archives of the Centro de Estudios Puertorriqueños (Hunter College-CUNY)
Dominican Studies Institute Archives (City College of New York)
New Jersey Hispanic Research and Information Center

Houses the Latino Oral History Collection.

Ventanas al pasado (New York State Library)

Ventana al pasado is a bilingual web-based research collection that links the Latino-related records located in ten New York State archival repositories. Ventana brings together collections documenting the New York’s Latino/Hispanic community, and makes them accessible to researchers all over the world.


Archival Resources at Columbia

El Diario Photo Archive

This photograph collection from El Diario La Prensa newspaper (the nation’s oldest continuously publishing Spanish-language newspaper), which dates from the 1960’s and includes over 5,000 photographs, documents the lives of New York City’s Latino population, their struggles and their contributions to the city and its culture. Acquired by the Rare Book and Manuscript Library in September 2013. [This collection is being processed. As of February 2014, a finding aid is not available. If you have questions, please contact the Rare Book and Manuscript Library

Jack Agüeros Papers

Jack Agueros (b. 1934) is a Puerto Rican-American poet, community activist, playwright, educator and a former director of El Museo del Barrio. He is the author of a collection of short stories and three collections of poetry. Jack Agueros's work across all mediums celebrates and highlights the complexities and struggles of the Puerto Rican American experience and more broadly the American experience. His poems typically implement traditional forms such as psalms and sonnets through which he explores subjects such as poverty, injustice and immigration. A prolific translator, during his career he translated numerous plays from Spanish to English as well as the complete works of the influential poets Julia de Burgos and Jose Marti.

Oscar Hijuelos Papers

Oscar Hijuelos was born to Cuban immigrants in 1951 in the Morningside Heights neighborhood of New York City. His novel, The Mambo Kings Play Songs of Love, was published in 1989 and won The Pulitzer Prize for Fiction in 1990 --the first novel by a Latino writer to win the prize. Since the enormous success of The Mambo Kings Play Songs of Love, Hijuelos has written five novels, all of which depict the lives of Cuban-born or Cuban-descended characters living in the United States: The Fourteen Sisters of Emilio Montez O'Brien (1993), Mr. Ives' Christmas (1995), Empress of the Splendid Season (1999), A Simple Habana Melody (2002), and Dark Dude (2008).