History of Latin America, the Caribbean, Spain, and Portugal


Reference Resources

file
Oxford Bibliographies. Latin American Studies

Oxford Bibliographies offers exclusive, authoritative research guides. Combining the features of an annotated bibliography and a high-level encyclopedia, this resource guides researchers to the best available scholarship across a wide variety of subjects.


file
Cambridge History of Latin America [Online]

Authoritative, multi-volume history published originally from 1984-2008. 

Also available in print.


file
Cambridge Economic History of Latin America [Online]

Volume One includes the colonial and independence eras up to 1850, linking Latin America's economic history to the pre-Hispanic, European, and African background. Volume Two treats the 'long twentieth century' from the onset of modern economic growth to the present. 

Also available in print.


file
Cambridge History of the Native Peoples of the Americas [Online]

The first comprehensive survey of the history of the indigenous peoples of the New World. The work's combination of archaeology, anthropology, and history raises new and important questions for scholars in the field, while also promoting a better understanding of Native American history by historians and anthropologists whose main concerns lie elsewhere. 

Also available in print.


The Oxford encyclopedia of Mesoamerican cultures

A comprehensive reference source to chronicle Pre-Hispanic, colonial, and modern Mesoamerica, defined as the lands stretching from Mexico to the southern tip of Central America. With more than 600 articles, it is useful for those interested in the rich heritage of this land. Also available in print.

file
Diccionario biográfico español [Print]

25 volumes published to date (A-H). Real Academia de la Historia. 2009.


file

Encyclopedia of Latin American History and Culture [Online]

Second edition (2008) of this authoritative, specialized encyclopedia. Completely searchable full-text reference source. 

Also available in print.



file
Historical Dictionary of ... [Series] 

An ongoing series of historical dictionaries published by Scarecrow Press that provides a concise approach to history by country (or theme). Search CLIO to locate the work on your particular country of interest. Titles available in print and/or digital editions.

Recent titles include: 


Find Books

Finding Books

Knowing the correct Library of Congress Subject Heading can greatly improve your results. Here are some possible headings to help you improve, expand or narrow or search. To use them, do a search in CLIO, WorldCat, or HLAS Online. To identify others, begin with a keyword search and look at the Subjects listed in the catalog records of your search results.

Keywords

Start with a a few basic concepts:

"bay of pigs" OR "playa giron"

trujillo "dominican republic"

banana* guatemal*

Subject Headings

Use the Subject Headings listed in records you've already identified to improve, expand or narrow your search.

Country -- Subject 
Mexico > History.
Puerto Rico > History. 
Cuba > History.

Region -- Subject
Andes Region > Religion.
Caribbean Area > History.
Latin America > Discovery and exploration  
Cuba > Economic conditions > 1990-

Bibliography
Brazil > Bibliography.

Specific Topics of Research

Banana trade > Caribbean Area
Cuba > History > Invasion, 1961.
Miscegenation > Latin America.
Trujillo Molina, Rafael Leónidas, 1891-1961.
Slavery > Haiti.

Find Articles

file

Handbook of Latin American Studies
HLAS Online (Coverage: 1936 - present)
HLAS WEB (Coverage: 1990 - present)

An annotated, authoritative bibliography on Latin America since 1936, HLAS is edited by the Hispanic Division of the Library of Congress. Covers books and published reports in addition to journal articles. The tables of contents from print volume 50 (1990) to the present may be browsed.


file
HAPI (Hispanic American Periodicals Index)

Information about Central and South America, Mexico, the Caribbean basin, the United States-Mexico border region, and Hispanics in the United States. Index to citations from over 500 Latin American studies journal with some links to full-text articles. Coverage: 1970 to the present.


file
Historical Abstracts with Full Text [Online]

Citations and abstracts for publications related to world history, excluding the U.S. and Canada, from 1450 to the present.


file
Clase/Periodica

CLASE indexes documents published in Latin American journals specializing in the social sciences and humanities. PERIODICA covers journals specializing in science and technology. Produced by National Autonomous University of  Mexico (UNAM). Covers all countries of Latin America. Coverage: 1975 to present.


file
Dialnet

Indexes thousands of journals (millions of articles), mostly published in Spain. Covers all subject areas, including works about Latin America. Also includes some full-text theses from Spanish universities.

Primary Sources


Primary Sources: Researching Latin American, the Caribbean, Portugal & Spain 

(Columbia University Libraries, Research Guide)


Additional Resources