Latin American, Caribbean and Iberian Studies


Reference Sources

file
Oxford bibliographies. Latin American Studies

Oxford Bibliographies offers exclusive, authoritative research guides. Combining the features of an annotated bibliography and a high-level encyclopedia, this resource guides researchers to the best available scholarship across a wide variety of subjects.


file

Cambridge History of Latin America 

Authoritative, multi-volume history published originally from 1984-2008. Also available in print.


file

Encyclopedia of Latin American History and Culture 

Second edition (2008) of this authoritative, specialized encyclopedia. Completely searchable full-text reference source. Also available in print.


file
Oxford Encyclopedia of Latinos and Latinas in the United States 

Also available in print. "The Encyclopedia draws together the diverse historical and contemporary experiences in the United States of Latinos and Latinas from Mexico, Puerto Rico, Cuba, the Dominican Republic, Central America, South America, Europe, Asia, and the Middle East. Over 900 A-to-Z articles written by academics, scholars, writers, artists, and journalists, address such broad topics as identity, art, politics, religion, education, health, and history."


file
The Oxford encyclopedia of Mesoamerican cultures 

A comprehensive reference source to chronicle Pre-Hispanic, colonial, and modern Mesoamerica, defined as the lands stretching from Mexico to the southern tip of Central America. With more than 600 articles, it is useful for those interested in the rich heritage of this land. Also available in print.



file
Cambridge Companion to Modern Latin American Culture 

Also available in print. Cambridge, UK ; New York : Cambridge University Press, 2004.



Latinoamericana : enciclopédia contemporânea da América Latina e do Caribe [Print]

São Paulo : Boitempo Editorial ; Rio de Janeiro : Laboratório de Políticas Públicas (LPP), [2006]



file
Historical Dictionary of ... [Series]

The historical dictionary series published by the Scarecrow Press is a useful supplement to your research. Recent titles include: 

Find Books

Library Catalogs

CLIO 

Columbia's catalog.

WorldCat

A catalog of books and other materials in libraries worldwide. Identify and request materials not in CLIO or BorrowDirect.

Borrow Direct 

Borrow books from Borrow Direct member libraries.

Call Number Ranges for Latin American Studies  (PDF)

An exhaustive breakdown of the LC call numbers for Latin American Studies.



Find Articles (Specialized Databases)

file

Handbook of Latin American Studies 

 

 HLAS Online (Coverage: 1936 - present)
 
HLAS Web (Coverage: 1990 - present)

An annotated, authoritative bibliography on Latin America since 1936, The Handbook of Latin American Studies is edited by the Hispanic Division of the Library of Congress. It covers books and published reports in addition to journal articles. The tables of contents from print volume 50 (1990) to the present may be browsed. 

 


file
HAPI (Hispanic American Periodicals Index) 

Covers Central and South America, Mexico, the Caribbean, the US-Mexico border, and Hispanics in the US. Index to citations from over 500 Latin American studies journals with links to full-text articles. Coverage: 1970 to the present.


file
Portal de Portales Latindex

Ofrece acceso a los textos completos de revistas disponibles en varias hemerotecas digitales de América Latina, el Caribe, España y Portugal, con el propósito de dar acceso y difundir el conocimiento científico que se publica en las mejores revistas de la región. Busca en: Dialnet, SciELO, Redalyc, E-revistas (UNAM), etc.


file
CLASE/PERIODICA

CLASE indexes documents published in Latin American journals specializing in the social sciences and humanities. PERIODICA covers journals specializing in science and technology. Produced by National Autonomous University of  Mexico (UNAM). Covers all countries of Latin America. Coverage: 1975 to present.


file
Informe

Full-text database of Latin American academic journals in social sciences, humanities, science and medicine; Informe also covers popular Latin American and Latino magazines and newspapers. Coverage: 1980 to present.


LAPTOC (Latin American Periodicals Tables of Contents)

The Latin American Periodicals Tables of Contents database, or LAPTOC, provides open electronic access to the tables of contents of journals published in Latin America and the Caribbean between the years 1994 and 2009. LAPTOC consists of more than 800 academic and research journals published in 29 countries in the region, including bibliographic references to more than 250,000 articles in the area's major languages. Database searches can be made by journal title, keywords in author and article titles, and country of publication. The user can save citations, create bibliographies, and e-mail or download results of searches. A project of The Latin Americanist Research Resources Project (LARRP) of the Center for Research Libraries.



file
Bases de datos Bibliográficas del CSIC (Spanish National Research Council) 

Full access restricted to susbcribers; summaries (short citations) available for free access. "The ICYT, ISOC and IME bibliographic databases covers the Spanish scientific production published in Spain from the 70s up to date. They mostly include articles from scientific journals, but also a selection of congress and conference proceedings, serials, compilations, reprots and monographies." The Bases de Datos del CSIC contains three databases that index Spanish journals and conference papers. ISOC - 1970 to present; contains nine subdatabases in the social sciences and humanities. ICYT - 1979 to present; science and technology. IME - 1971 to present; medicine.


file
Dialnet

Indexes thousands of journals (millions of articles), mostly published in Spain. Covers all subject areas, including works about Latin America. Also includes some full-text theses from Spanish universities.

 

Scielo logo

SciELO

Database and collection of open access full-text journals.  SciELO is based in Brazil, with strong coverage of science, technology, and medicine but with many social sciences and some humanities journals.  Several other Latin American countries are covered.

redalyc logo

RedALyC

Open Access portal for journals published in Latin America, Spain, Portugal and the Caribbean.  Contains over 900 journals in the social sciences, humanities and sciences.

Find Articles (General Databases)


FRANCIS: International Humanities and Social Sciences

A multilingual and multidisciplinary bibliographic database with international scope, covering the humanities (archaeology, history of art, history of science, linguistics, literature, philosophy, prehistory, religions); social sciences (administration, Latin America, computer and law, education, ethnology, geography, health, sociology); and economics. Coverage: 1984 to the present.

 


file
Historical Abstracts with Full Text

Historical coverage of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada, which are covered in America: History and Life). Index, with some links to full-text. Coverage: 1954 to present.


file
MLA International Bibliography

Indexes critical materials on literature, languages, linguistics, and folklore. Proved access to citations from worldwide publications, including periodicals, books, essay collections, working papers, proceedings, dissertations and bibliographies. Some full-text and links to additional full-text. Coverage: 1923 - present.

 


ProQuest

Search across 80+ databases covering social sciences, business, economics, public affairs, historical and contemporary news -- or limit your searching to specific databases of relevance.


file
PAIS International (and Archive)

Indexes articles, books, conference proceedings, government documents, book chapters, and statistical directories in the area of public affairs. Topics include business, government, international relations, banking, environment, health, social sciences, demographics, law and legislation, political science, public administration, finance, agriculture, education, and statistics. Index and abstracts with links to some full-text. Coverage: 1972 to the present.


file
Web of Science

Access the world’s leading scholarly literature in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities and examine proceedings of international conferences, symposia, seminars, colloquia, workshops, and conventions. The interface encompasses the former "Social Sciences Citation Index" (1898-present)" and "Arts & Humanities Citation Index" (1975-present). Index and abstracts with some full-text.


file
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts 

The database provides access to citations and abstracts of journal articles appearing political science journals. Years of Coverage: 1975 to the present.


file
Columbia International Affairs Online (CIAO)

Comprehensive source for theory and research in international affairs. CIAO includes working papers, occasional papers, foundation-funded research projects, proceedings, books, journals and policy briefs. Coverage: 1991 - present.

CLIO: Databases

Find additional databases provided by Columbia University Libraries. Browse or search by title, discipline or resource type. 

Web Portals

file
LANIC (Latin American Networked Information Center)

This web portal (University of Texas at Austin) provides a directory of links to resources from and about Latin America.


file
WESS Iberian Studies Web

Western European Studies Section, ACRL: American Library Association. The Iberian Studies Web is designed to provide access to scholarly resources in Iberian Studies (for Spain, Portugal and Andorra).