Latin American & Iberian Studies Microform Collections: General


General

A listing of major collections of primary source research materials held in the collections of Columbia University Libraries that have content from or about Latin America, the Caribbean, Portugal and Spain.


file
Latin America, 1941-1961

Accompanied by guide: print and online (PDF). 

Reproductions of a wide variety of Office of Strategic Services reports written about Latin America from 1941 to 1961. The O.S.S. was the precursor to the Central Intelligence Agency. The reports cover politics, international relations, trade, agriculture, the economy, finances, etc. Reports range in length from 2 pages to several hundred.

Note: This is only one part of a much larger collection of O.S.S./State Departments reports that is divided into 14 parts by major world area. 

Language(s):  English

Arrangement:  Reels 1-3) Latin America; Reel 4) Latin America, Argentina; Reel 5) Argentina; Reel 6) Bolivia, Brazil; Reel 7) Caribbean, Chile; Reel 8) Colombia, Costa Rica, Cuba, Dominican Republic, Ecuador; Reel 9) Guatemala, British Guiana, Haiti, Honduras, Jamaica, Mexico, Nicaragua; Reel 10) Panama, Paraguay, Peru, Surinam, Uruguay, Venezuela10 microfilm reels.



file
Latin America, 1946-1976 (CIA Research Reports)

5 microfilm reels. Guide: Print and Online (PDF).

Author: United States. Central Intelligence Agency
Published: Frederick, Md. : University Publications of America, Inc., 1982
Language: English

The CIA Research Reports: Latin America, 1946-1976 provide information on political activities in Latin America, especially those that could be “troublesome” to the United States. A good amount of attention is given to Cuba, the Dominican Republic and Brazil, but a number of other Latin American countries are covered as well. The focus lies overwhelmingly with suspected communist activity in all these areas. [From The Roosevelt Study Center]


file
NACLA ARCHIVE OF LATIN AMERICANA 

A microfilm collection of ephemeral materials collected between 1960s and 1990s by the North American Congress on Latin America, a non-governmental organization active in reporting and monitoring conditions in the region. Consult the Finding Aid [online].

Borrow microfilm reels via interlibrary loan from the Center for Research Libraries.

Columbia holds: Dominican Republic [microform] : North American Congress on Latin America (NACLA) archive of Latin Americana.


Princeton University Latin American Library Microfilm Collections

For complete holdings in this collection, consult WorldCat. Search as a keyword "Princeton University Library Latin American Microfilm Collection" AND [country name or topic] as keyword.

Guide to the Princeton University Latin American microfilm collection 
(Columbia University Law Library Catalog)

Columbia University Libraries holdings:  

Princeton University Library Latin American microfilm collection. Supplement 3, Politics in Argentina 

Princeton University Libraries Latin American microfilm collection. Supplement V, Socioeconomic crisis and political participation in Argentina, I, 1995-2005


file

UNDERGROUND NEWSPAPER COLLECTION 

The Underground Newspaper Collection (also known as the Underground Press Collection) is a microfilm set reprinting the full text of thousands of issues from hundreds of alternative/underground newspapers of the period 1963-1985. 

476 microfilm reels. 

See: Underground Press Collection: a Guide to the Microfilm Collection [Print]