News & Newspapers (Latin America, Caribbean, Iberia)


Current News

Current News

file
Latin American Newsstand

Full-text of Latin American newspapers and newswires covering international and Latin-American regional topics. Has a built-in translation tool.


file
Emerging Markets Information Service (EMIS)

Full-text news from Latin America, including government publications, and political, economic and financial sources. From ISI.


file
Latin American Newsletters (latinnews.com)

Daily and weekly political, economic, regional, and security reports in English and Spanish. Archives: 1960s  - present. 


file
LADB: Latin America Data Base

Archive of news digests covering Latin American countries from 1985 to the present.  Articles cite original sources in Latin American newspapers, so you can use this database to identify articles in the Latin American press. You must specify beginning and end dates for searches.


file
Information Services Latin America (ISLA)

Assembles news from major US sources and organizes stories by country. Coverage of Latin American topics from Christian Science Monitor, Financial Times, Los Angeles Times, Miami Herald, Manchester Guardian/Le Monde, New York Times, Washington Post, and Wall Street Journal.


file
NACLA Digital Archive

North American Congress on Latin America's Report on the Americas. A biweekly source of analysis and news on Latin American Affairs.


file
Ethnic NewsWatch

Full-text newspaper, magazine and journal articles from the US ethnic press, including Latino news sources and coverage of Latin America.


file
Factiva

Full-text news sources, includes Latin American and Iberian papers. Change the language option to All Languages or Spanish or Portuguese to get foreign language results. Use Spanish or Portuguese keywords to search. Browse recent headlines by choosing "News Pages" from the top of the screen, then "Factiva Pages," followed by selecting a country from the drop-down menu.


file
Lexis-Nexis Academic

Large database of full-text news, covering U.S. papers and several Latin American sources.  Worthwhile to use Power Search and learn about language and geographic limits to focus your searching.


file
Veja [Online]

A major Brazilian weekly newsmagazine published in São Paulo.


file
World News Connection

Full-text summaries and translations of news appearing in print and broadcast media around the world; goes back to 1994.  For previous years see our Foreign Press Translation guide and consult the Foreign Broadcast Information Service Daily Reports, 1941-1996.

Historical News

Historical News

file
World Newspaper Archive

(Includes Latin American Newspapers, Series 1 and 2). Digitized newspapers from the collections of the Center for Research Libraries covering 1805-1922. Tip: Select "Newspaper Titles" to view available papers. Not all titles have complete holdings.


file
Caribbean Newspaper Digital Library

Digital Library of the Caribbean (dLOC). Growing collection of newspapers and magazines from the region.


file
Hispanic American Newspapers, 1808 - 1980

Full-text and searchable Spanish-language papers published in the US from the 19th and 20th centuries.


file
Historic Mexican and Mexican American Press

This collection documents and showcases historic Mexican and Mexican American publications published in Tucson, El Paso, Los Angeles, San Francisco, and Sonora, Mexico from the mid-1800s to the 1970s.
(University of Arizona University Libraries)


file
Hemeroteca Digital (Biblioteca Nacional de España)

Historical newspapers and periodicals from Spain, spanning the 17th to early 20th centuries.


file
Portuguese-American Digital Newspaper Collections

The Ferreira-Mendes Portuguese-American Archives at the Claire T. Carney Library, the Center for Portuguese Studies and Culture of the University of Massachusetts Dartmouth


file
Publicações Periódicas

National Library of Portugal's Digital Library


file
Spanish Periodicals & Newspapers: Women's Magazine Digital Collections

Spanish periodicals and newspapers dating from the 18th through the 20th century, with the bulk of the collection dating from the 19th century. (University of Connecticut)


file
Publicaciones Periódicas del Uruguay

Full-text of 19th and 20th century newspapers and journals published in Uruguay. Navigate to Presentación and use the Índice de títulos to navigate to information about each publication and links to full text.


file
Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) Daily Reports

Coverage: 1941-1996. Searchable collection of translations produced by the US government of print and broadcast media from throughout the world. Translated articles cite original foreign language sources and thus can be used to help identify articles appearing in the Latin American press.


Other online historical collections of interest
ProQuest Historical Newspapers 

Full-text, searchable collections of major US newspapers

The Times Digital Archive 

Coverage: 1785-1985. Full-text, searchable articles from the Times of London.

19th Century British Library Newspapers
Historical Guardian and Observer (U.K.)

Analysis

News Analysis

file
EIU (Economist Intelligence Unit)

Country Reports and Profiles produced by the same company that publishes the Economist weekly magazine. Online archive of these weekly, monthly and annual reports.


file

CountryWatch

Political & Economic Intelligence, Analysis, Forecasts & News Across the Globe.


Microfilm

Newspapers on Microfilm at Columbia University Libraries


Accessing Microfilm at Columbia University Libraries

First, check holdings and locations in CLIO. Most microfilm holdings are located in ReCAP, an offsite storage facility.

To request microfilm held offsite, go to the CLIO record of the desired title and select "Request: Offsite" to request delivery to Butler Library. The Periodical & Microfilm Reading Room (Butler Library, room 401) and the Digital Humanities Center have microfilm readers, copiers and high-speed scanners.

Strategies for Locating Sources

Strategies for Locating News Sources

When You Know The Title
CLIO: Catalog Search 

Search by "Journal Title" in CLIO: Catalog. Once you have a results list, use the facets on the left side of the screen to limit by format to "Microformat." 

For items not in CLIO

Do a title search in WorldCat to see if other libraries have holdings. Limit your search to "Serial Publications" and, under "Subtype Limits," select "Microform." change the "ANY FORMATS" to MICROFORM. If your title is a common word (Nación) add a city or country name as a keyword in your search.

When You Do Not Know The Title
CLIO: Catalog Search 

In the search box, enter: [country name] - newspapers.
Select "Subject" from the drop-down menu. Hit "Search."
For example, search: Argentina Newspapers.

WorldCat 

Enter [country name] "newspapers" and select "Subject" from the drop down menu. Limit the search to "Serial Publications" and/or "Microforms." To further limit your search, add names of place of publication (city) as a keyword.


Additional News Sources


Bibliographies, union lists, and historical dictionaries can allow you to identify older newspapers not represented in WorldCat or other online databases.

LANE Union List (Latin America North East Libraries Consortium) 

A union list of newspapers, news, and business magazine titles held in select research libraries in the North East US.

Latin American Newspapers in United States Libraries / Steven M. Charno (PDF) 

Published 1969. Organized by country and city and covering over 5,000 newspaper titles, this publication allows quick searching of newspapers held in US libraries (up to the 1960s). Provides holdings information that CLIO and Worldcat might be lacking.

Newspapers in Microform: United States and Foreign Countries 

(3 volumes) 1948-1983. Also Available in PDF

Bibliografía - Publicaciones Periódicas del Uruguay 
Catálogo de periódicos brasileiros microfilmados 

Rio de Janeiro : Fundação Biblioteca Nacional, 1994.

Cien años de prensa en Colombia, 1840-1940 

Medellín: Editorial Universidad de Antioquia, 2002.

English-language Press in Latin America

Oliver Marshall. London: Institute of Latin American Studies, 1996.

German-Language press of the Americas, 1732-1968

Pullach/München, Verlag Dokumentation [1973]

Historia del periodismo argentino : desde los orígenes hasta el centenario de mayo   

Buenos Aires : Editorial de la Universidad Católica Argentina, c2006.

Online News

Online News

Diario de Notícias (Portugal)  
Jornal de Notícias (Portugal) 
ABC (Spain) 
El Pais (Spain) (Provides complete full-text access to the current issue and the searchable archive.)
iSiS: Newspapers and Radio (Iberian Peninsula)
LANIC: News & Newspapers 

Links to major news sources and agencies throughout Latin America.
Also a Twitter-based news feed.

The Center for Research Libraries (CRL)

The Center For Research Libraries (CRL)

file

The Center for Research Libraries (CRL) is a consortium of North American universities, of which Columbia University is a member. Microfilm identified here may be requested via interlibrary loan. CRL maintains an impressive collection of foreign language newspapers in print and on microfilm, both historical and current. Request materials via Interlibrary Loan. Include information about CRL holdings in your ILL request.  

Search CRL's Catalog

LAMP: The microform collections of LAMP (formerly Latin American Microform Project) form a large pool of historical, political, linguistic, economic, and geographical data and primary source materials not available elsewhere. Explore LAMP Collections or Search the CRL Catalog.

Notable Resources at CRL

Revolutionary Mexico in Newspapers, 1900-1929
Guide to the Microfilm Set

Independent Mexico in Newspapers, the 19th Century
Guide to the Microfilm Set

Rare Paraguayan Newspapers

El Pueblo (Asunción) November 24, 1966–August 26, 1987

El Radical (Asunción) October 1, 1970–August 23, 1978

Sendero (Asunción) July 1973–May 9, 1986.

Uno más Uno (Mexico, DF) Oct 1, 1979–Dec 31, 1987