Journals & Magazines


This is a list of selected ejournal and online magazine collections accessible through Columbia University Libraries.

Resources marked with this symbol are restricted to Columbia affiliates.


eJournal Collections

JSTOR

Full-text journal archive. Includes over 50 Latin American Studies journals. Tip: Most recent 3-5 years are not available on this archive. Journal titles are cataloged in CLIO. Individual articles are indexed in relevant databases, like HLAS Online and HAPI.

Project MUSE

Access current and recent issues from over 10 Latin American studies journals. Allows you to create journal alerts for when new content is added. Journal titles are cataloged in CLIO. Individual articles are indexed in relevant databases, like HLAS Online and HAPI.

Informe  

Full-text Latin American studies academic journals, covering social sciences, business, humanities, and medicine. Also includes popular Hispanic publications and newspapers from Latin America. Titles are cataloged in CLIO.

Latin American Network Information Center (LANIC)

Academic Journals
Magazines

Periodicals Archive Online (PAO)

Archive of hundreds of digitized journals published in the arts, humanities and social sciences.

Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ)

SciELO, Scientific Electronic Library Online

Full-text journals in all subjects from Brazil, Chile, Cuba, Venezuela and Spain. Strong coverage of public health and medicine. Titles are cataloged in CLIO. 

Red ALyC

Full-text Latin American journals in social sciences and humanities. Titles are cataloged in CLIO.

Revistas Europeas  

Tables of contents, abstracts and selected full-text from European journals about Latin America.

Réseau Amérique Latine

Tables of contents and selected full-text from European journals about Latin America.

E-Journal UNAM  

Full-text of selected journals published by the National Autonomous University of Mexico.

Revistas - El Colegio de México

Full text of journals published by the Colegio de Mexico; most recent year not available online. Must search and cannot browse issues. 

e-revist@s  

Searchable collection of hundreds of full-text, open access journals from Latin America and Spain, sponsored by the Consejo Superior de Investigaciones Científicas (CSIC) in Madrid, Spain.

See also Columbia Libraries' E-Resources to browse or search for journals by title. Most ejournals are also cataloged in the Library's online catalog, CLIO.


Indices to Journals

Digital

LAPTOC (Latin American Periodicals Tables of Contents)
The Latin American Periodicals Tables of Contents database, or LAPTOC, provides open electronic access to the tables of contents of journals published in Latin America and the Caribbean between the years 1994 and 2009. LAPTOC consists of more than 800 academic and research journals published in 29 countries in the region, including bibliographic references to more than 250,000 articles in the area's major languages. Database searches can be made by journal title, keywords in author and article titles, and country of publication. The user can save citations, create bibliographies, and e-mail or download results of searches. A project of The Latin Americanist Research Resources Project (LARRP) of the Center for Research Libraries.

CARINDEX
An index to the contents of West Indian journals published in the Caribbean region. It also includes theses, conference papers and collections of working papers.

Latinindex
Provides detailed, comprehensive information on serials published in Latin America. Not an index of articles in journals.

CONUCO: Indice de Puerto Rico
Database that indexes articles from journals published in Puerto Rico.

Indices de Revistas de la Literatura Feminina del Siglo XIX Mexicano

Print

Grismer, Raymond Leonard
Bibliography of articles on Spanish literature
Minneapolis, Minn., Burgess Publishing Company, c1933.
Butler Reference R016.86 G88

Grismer, Raymond Leonard.
A bibliography of articles and essays on the literatures of Spain and Spanish-America
Minneapolis, Perrine Book Company, c1935
Butler Reference R016.86 G882

Index to Latin American periodical literature, 1929-1960, and First supplement, 1961-65.
Boston, MA: G.K. Hall, 1968.
Butler Reference R050.P19

Index to Latin American periodical literature, 1966-1970
Boston, MA: G.K. Hall, 1980.
Butler Reference Oversize R050.P19

Indice general de publicaciones periódicas latinoamericanas; Humanidades y ciencias sociales. Index to Latin American periodicals 
Boston, MA: G.K. Hall, 1961-70.
Butler Reference R050 Sp223
Coverage does not overlap with the Index to Latin American literature's first supplement.

Leavitt, Sturgis E.
Revistas hispanoamericanas; índice bibliográfico, 1843-1935.
Santiago, Chile: Fondo Histórico y Bibliográfico José Toribio Medina, 1960.
Butler Reference R050 Sp223


Have a Research Question?
Contact Sean Knowlton, Latin American & Iberian Studies Librarian.
Phone: 212-854-1679
 Revised 4/2/2013