Statistics and Data


Databases

Europa World Plus 

Economic, political, historical, and geographic profiles of 250+ countries and global regions.

EIU (Economist Intelligence Unit) 

Country Reports and Profiles produced by the same company that publishes the Economist weekly magazine. Online archive of these weekly, monthly and annual reports.

Inter-American Development Bank: Statistics and Databases 

Established in 1959, IDB is the largest source of development financing for Latin America.

International Monetary Fund: Data and Statistics
Emerging Markets Information Service (EMIS) 

Full-text sources from and about Latin America, including government publications, news, political, economic and financial sources.

United Nations
Economic Commission for Latin America and the Caribbean
(ECLAC): CEPALSTAT: Databases and Statistical Publications
Comisión Económica para América Latina
(CEPAL): CEPALSTAT: Bases de Datos y Publicaciones Estadisticas
Statistical Yearbook for Latin America and the Caribbean / Anuario Estadístico
USAID 
Latin America and the Caribbean Selected Economic and Social Data (1991-2011)
World Bank 
Data and Research

National Statistical Agencies

National Statistical Agencies

National governments often mandate the keeping of statistics and task key agencies with this duty. The data collected often change over the years, statistics may not always be published, and raw data and data sets are not always accessible. Additionally, data may be only available in print format only.

The best strategy for finding statistics is to do a thorough search of the agencies' publications both print and online. Search CLIO by publisher or, alternately, do a "Subject Heading" search:


Websites of National Statistical Agencies




Public Opinion

file
Latin American Public Opinion Project (LAPOP)

Datasets of surveys of democratic public opinion and behavior in the Americas using national probability samples of voting-age adults. Also known as AmericasBarometer. (Vanderbilt University)

AmericasBarometer Surveys

Subscriber Login. Columbia Patrons may login only via IP authentication.

file
Latinobarómetro

An annual public opinion survey in 18 Latin American countries.

file
Polling the Nations

A database of polls taken on a variety of subjects all over the world from 1986 to the present.

Subject Headings

Knowing the correct Subject Headings can greatly improve your results when searching in CLIO or WorldCat. Here are some possible headings to help you improve, expand, or narrow your search. Or, simply add terms like "statistics" and "census" to your keyword searches.


Print Resources

International Historical Statistics. Americas 1750-2005

The latest edition of an authoritative collection of statistics. Updated to 2004 wherever possible, it provides key economic and social indicators for the last 254 years for countries on the American continent, serving as an essential reference source for both hard-to-find historical data and the latest figures available, and as a tool for comparisons between countries and across time.

Statistical Abstract of Latin America for ...

The annual Statistical Abstract of Latin America (SALA) published (up to 2002) current reliable statistics on the societies, economies, and politics of Latin America and guides users to additional quantitative publications and statistical sources on the region. Also explore Supplementary titles cataloged separately.

General Statistical Sources

General Statistical Sources: International Statistics 

Columbia University Libraries Research Guide.