Film Studies Indices


For a useful guide for beginning research, go to Finding Periodicals. See also the Motion Pictures/Cinema/Film bibliographic guide to film studies resources.


Film Indices

  • Film Literature Index (print only)
    Butler Reference R058.0922 F48
  • International Film Archive
    Now available from LibraryWeb–Electronic Resources–Databases

General & Interdisciplinary Indices

The following electronic databases are available from LibraryWeb–Electronic Resources–Databases.

  • ABSEES
  • America History and Life
  • Art Index (indexes several film periodicals)
  • Bibliography of Asian Studies
  • Essay and General Literature Index
  • Handbook of Latin American Studies
  • Hispanic American Periodical Index
  • Historical Abstracts
  • Humanities Abstracts
  • International Index to Music
  • International Index to the Performing Arts
  • Lexis Nexis
  • MLA Bibliography
  • ProQuest Direct
  • Women's Resources International

Retrospective Indices

The following are print resources.

  • Retrospective index to film periodicals, 1930-1971.
    Butler Reference R058.0922 B322
  • The critical index; a bibliography of articles on film in English, 1946-1973.
    Butler Reference R058.0922 G316
  • The new film index; a bibliography of magazine articles in English, 1930-1970.
    Butler Reference R058.0922 M125

Biography

The following electronic databases are available from LibraryWeb–Electronic Resources–Databases.

  • Biography and Genealogy Master Index
  • Biography Index
  • Biography Resource Center with Who's Who
  • Contemporary Authors