Bibliographic Resources for Middle East & Islamic Studies


This is a selective guide to major reference resources on Middle Eastern history, religion, literature, politics, and culture, available at Columbia University Libraries. The guide includes encyclopedias, biographical and subject-specific dictionaries, foreign-language dictionaries, research guides and subject bibliographies, and relevant databases for periodical articles and other writings.  Reference works are available in print or online.

You may also wish to consult Electronic Journals and News Sources for Middle East & Islamic Studies.


Atlases & Gazetteers

  • Abū Khalī l, S. (2000). Aṭlas al-Qur'an: amā kin, aqwā m, a'lā m.Bayrū t: Dā r al-Fikr al-Mu'ā sir.
    Islamic Studies Reading Room: BP131.2 .A29 2000g
  • Diler, O. (2001). Şehir lakapları = Titles and epithets of Islamic towns. İstanbul: Ö. Diler.
    Islamic Studies Reading Room: DS36.57 .D55 2001
  • Freeman-Grenville, G. S. P., Munro-Hay, S. C., & Kessel, L. (2002). Historical atlas of Islam. New York: Continuum International Pub. Group.
    Islamic Studies Reading Room: G1786.S1 F7 2002
  • Genç, S., & Savaş, R. (2002). İslam tarihi atlası. İzmir: İzmir İlahiyat Fakü ltesi Vakfı Yayınları.
    Islamic Studies Reading Room: G1786.S1 G463 2002
  • Iskandarī, N. i. ‘. a.-R., & Jā sir, H. (2004). Kitā b al-Amkinah wa-al-miyāh wa-al-jibā l wa-al-ā thā r wa-naḥwihā al-madhkū rah fī al-akhbā r wa-al-ash’ā r. al-Riyā ḍ: Markaz al-Malik Fayṣal lil-Buḥū th wa-al-Dirā sā t al-Islā mī yah, Dā rat al-Malik ‘Abd al-ʻAzī z.
    Islamic Studies Reading Room: G106.A7 I85 2004g, v.1-2
  • Kennedy, H. (2002). An historical atlas of Islam. Leiden: Brill.
    Barnard Reference: G1786.S1 H6 2002 ATLAS CASE.
    Butler Reference Desk: R912.297 H628.
    Islamic Studies Reading Room 602: G1786.S1 H6 2002g
  • Kettermann, G., & Khoury, A. T. (2001). Atlas zur Geschichte des Islam. Darmstadt: WBG.
    Islamic Studies Reading Room: G1046.E44 K4 2001
  • Nicolle, D. (2003). Historical atlas of the Islamic world. New York: Checkmark Books.
    Islamic Studies Reading Room: G1786.S1 N5 2003
  • Ruthven, M., & Nanji, A. (2004). Historical atlas of Islam. Cambridge, Mass: Harvard University Press.
    Barnard Reference: G1786.S1 R9 2004.
    Butler Stacks: G1786.S1 R9 2004

Bibliographies

  • Anees, M. A., & Athar, A. N. (1986). Guide to Sira and Hadith literature in western languages. East West University Islamic studies. London [u.a.]: Mansell.
    Butler Reference: R016.297 An32
  • Badr, I., Shā fi’ī, I., & Mamdū ḥ, M. (2000). Dalī l al-rasā ’il al-jā mi’ī yah fī majā l al-mar’ah. Bī bliyū jrā fiyā al-mar’ah, 2. al-Qā hirah: Multaqá al-Hay’ā t li-Tanmiyat al-Mar’ah, Markaz al-Tawthī q.
    Lehman: Z7964.A7 D35 2000g
  • Behn, W. (2004). Concise biographical companion to Index Islamicus: an international who's who in Islamic studies from its beginnings down to the twentieth century. Leiden: Brill.
    Burke: BP70 .B425 2004 .v.1-3.
    Butler Reference: R040.378 B395: v.1 and v.3.
    Islamic Studies Reading Room: BP70 .B425 2004: v.3
  • Bowker-Saur. (1994). Index Islamicus. East Grinstead, West Sussex, UK: Bowker-Saur.
    Butler Reference: R016.297 P3171
  • Daiber, H. (1999). Bibliography of Islamic philosophy. Leiden: Brill.
    Islamic Studies Reading Room: Z7128.I57 D53 1999.
  • Donohue, J. J., Tramontini, L., & Campbell, R. B. (2004). Crosshatching in global culture: a dictionary of modern Arab writers : an updated English version of R.B. Campbell's "Contemporary Arab Writers". Beiruter Texte und Studien, Bd. 101a-Bd.101b. Beirut: Orient-Institut der Deutschen Morgenländischen Gesellschaft.
    Butler Reference: R893.79 C57
  • Ibn Ḥamdā n, S. & Shā yi’, I. (2005). Kashf al-niqā b ‘an mu’allafā t al-aṣḥā b. al-Riyā ḍ: Dā r al-Ṣamī ’ī.
    Islamic Studies Reading Room: KBP305 .I264 2005g
  • Ibn Qā sim,. I. (2000). Al-Dalī l ilá al-mutū n al-‘ilmī yah. Al-Riyā ḍ: Dā r al-Ṣumay’ī.
    Islamic Studies Reading Room: Z7835.M6 I26 2000g
  • Isfandiyā rī, M. (1997). Kitā bshinā kht: kitā bshinā sī-i rūḥā nī yat, rawshanfikrī, īdiʼū lū zhī, kalā m-i jadī d va falsafah-ʼi dī n, falsafah-ʼi akhlā q, tā rī kh-i adyā n, jā miʻahʹshinā sī-i Islā m, Islā m va ḥuqū q-i bashar, Duktur ʻAlī Sharī ʻatī, nahz̤at-i millī-i Ī rā n va pī shguftā rī dar ā yī n-i tadvī n-i kitā bshinā sī.
    Qum: Nashr-i Khurram.
    Islamic Studies Reading Room: Z7835.M6 I84 1997g
  • Hamā yish-i Bar̄ ’rasī -i Mutū n va Manā bi’-i Ḥawzah’hā-yi Falsafah, Kalā m, Adyā n va ‘Irfā n, & Kalbā sī Ashtarī, H. (2005).
    Majmū ’ah-i maqā lā t-i Hamā yish-i Bar’rasī-i Mutū n va Manā bi’-i Ḥawzah’hā-yi Falsafah, Kalā m, Adyā n va ‘Irfā n (ASMA’): 30-31 Farvardī n va avval Urdibihisht-i 1384, Tihra ̄n-Qum. Tihrā n: Pizhū hishgā h-i ‘Ulū m-i Insā nī va Muṭā la’ā t-i Farhangī.
    Precataloging - Request at Butler Circ.: 7APR 60905
  • Ḥibshī, A. M. (2004). Jā mi’ al-shurū ḥ wa-al-ḥawā shī: mu’jam shāmil li-asmā ’ al-kutub al-mashrūḥah fī al-turā th al-Islā mī wa-bayā n shurū ḥihā. Abū Ẓabī: al-Majma’ al-Thaqā fī.
    Islamic Studies Reading Room: Z7835.M6 H327 2004g.
  • Jacoby, J., Kibbee, J. Z., & Kibbee, J. Z. (2007). Cultural anthropology: a guide to reference and infoRoomation sources. Westport, Conn: Libraries Unlimited.
    Lehman Reference: Z5111 .J33 2007
  • Leaman, O. (2006). The biographical encyclopaedia of Islamic philosophy. London: Thoemmes Continuum.
    Islamic Studies Reading Room: B741 .B56 2006g. Has v.1-2
  • Mollaibrahimoğ lu, S. (1993). Kur'an ilimleri sahasında neșredilen eserler (1923-1992) ve yapılan tezler. İstanbul: Sü leymaniye Vakfı.
    Islamic Studies Reading Room: Z7835.M6 M65 1993g
  • Roper, G. (1991). World survey of Islamic manuscripts. London: Al-Furqan Islamic Heritage Foundation.
    Islamic Studies Room: Z6605.O7 W67 1992g
  • Sī dū, A. S. (2001). Min a’lā m al-fikr al-‘ilmī fī al-ḥaḍā rah al-Islā mī yah: mu’jam bibliyū jrā fī. [Al-Riyā ḍ]: Markaz al-Malik Fayṣal lil-Buḥū th wa-al-Dirā sā t al-Islā mī yah.
    Islamic Studies Reading Room: DS36.85 .S53 2001
  • Silverburg, S. R. (1992). Middle East bibliography. Metuchen, N.J.: Scarecrow Press.
    Barnard Reference: DS44 .S54 1992g
    Lehman Reference: Z3013 .S54 1992.
  • Skreslet, P. Y. (2000). Northern Africa: a guide to reference and infoRoomation sources.Englewood, Colo: Libraries Unlimited.
    Lehman Reference: Z3515 .S57 2000
  • Skreslet, P. Y., & Skreslet, R. (2006). The literature of Islam: a guide to the primary sources in English translation.Lanham, Maryland: Scarecrow Press.
    Barnard: BP161.3 .S585 2006.
    Butler Reference: R016.297 Sk6.
    Islamic Studies Reading Room: Z7835.M6 S585 2006
  • Yūsuf, M. K. R. (2004). Mu’jam al-mu’allifī n al-mu’ā ṣirī n: fī ā thā rihim al-makhṭū ṭah wa-al-mafqū dah wa-mā ṭubi’a minhā aw ḥuqqiqa ba’da wafā tihim : wafayā t, 1315-1424 H/1897-2003 M. Maṭbū ’ā t Maktabat al-Malik Fahd al-Waṭanī yah, 55. al-Riyā ḍ: Maktabat al-Malik Fahd al-Waṭanī yah.
    Butler: DS36.88 .Y978 2004g. Has: v.1-2
  • Weipert, R. (2002). Classical Arabic philology and poetry a bibliographical handbook of important editions from 1960-2000. Boston: Brill.
    Butler Reference: R016.89379 W433.
    Islamic Studies Reading Room: Z7052 .W45 2002.

Biographies

  • Auchterlonie, P. (1987). Arabic biographical dictionaries: a summary guide and bibliography. Durham, UK: Middle East Libraries Committee.
    Butler Reference: R049.3 Au22
  • Behn, W. (2004). Concise biographical companion to Index Islamicus: an international who's who in Islamic studies from its beginnings down to the twentieth century. Leiden: Brill.
    Butler Reference: R040.378 B395
  • Fatḥī, M. (2001). Mawsū ’at a’lā m al-ḥaḍā rah al-Islā mī yah. Ammā n: Dā r Usā mah.
    Islamic Studies Reading Room: BP70 .F279 2001g
  • Jackson, R. (2006). Fifty key figures in Islam. London: Routledge.
    Butler Stacks: BP70 .J34 2006
  • Jum’ah, A. K. (2000). Nisā ’ fī quṣū r al-umarā ’. Dimashq: Dā r al-Yamā mah.
    Islamic Studies Reading Room: BP173.4 .J89 2000g
  • Leick, G. (1999). Who's who in the ancient Near East. London: Routledge.
    Butler Reference: R049.3 L532
  • Reich, B. (1990). Political leaders of the contemporary Middle East and North Africa: a biographical dictionary. New York: Greenwood Press.
    Butler Reference: R049.3 P759
    Lehman Reference: DS61.5 .P65 1990
  • Shamsuddin, A. (1993). Fahā ris Mu’jam al-udabā ’ aw, Irshā d al-arī b ilá ma’rifat al-adī b, taṣnī f Abī ‘Abd Allāh Yā qū t ibn ‘Abd Allā h al-Rū mī al-Ḥamawī, al-mutawafī sanat 626 H. Bayrū t: Dā r al-Kutub al-‘Ilmī yah.
    Islamic Studies Reading Room: DS38.4.A2 Y377 1993
  • Shimoni, Y. (1991). The Biographical dictionary of the Middle East. New York: Facts on File.
    Lehman Reference: DS62.4 .B56 1991
  • TiRoomā nī nī, S. (1994). Aḥdā th al-tā rī kh al-Islā mī: bi-tartī b al-sinī n. Dimashq: Ṭalā s lil-Dirā sā t.
    Islamic Studies Reading Room: DS38.3 .T57 1988g
  • Ṭabarī, & Landau-Tasseron, E. (1998). Biographies of the Prophet's companions and their successors. SUNY series in Near Eastern studies. Albany: State University of New York Press.
    Butler Stacks: DS38.2 .T313 1985 v.39
  • Who's who in the arab world. (2007). Detroit: Thomson Gale.
    Lehman Reference: DS222 .W56

Dictionaries

  • Sakkū t, H. (2007). Qā mū s al-adab al-‘Arabī al-ḥadī th. Madī nat Naṣr, al-Qā hirah: Dā r al-Shurū q.
    Butler Stacks: PJ7521 .Q268 2007g
  • Commins, D. D. (2004). Historical dictionary of Syria.Lanham, Md: Scarecrow Press.
    Lehman Reference: DS94.9 .C66 2004
  • Dughaym, S., ‘Ajam, R., & Jihā mī, J. (2002). Mawsū ’at muṣṭalaḥā t al-fikr al-‘Arabī wa-al-Islā mī al-Hadị̄ th wa-al-Mu’ ā ṣir. Silsilat mawsū ’at al-muṣṭalaḥā t al-‘Arabī yah wa-al-Islā mī yah.
    Bayrū t: Maktabat Lubnā n Nā shirū n.
    Islamic Studies Reading Room: B741 .D83 2002g
  • Dughaym, S. (2004). Mawsū ’at muṣṭalaḥā t Ṣadr al-Dī n al-Shī rā zī. Bayrū t: Maktabat Lubnān Nā shirū n.
    Islamic Studies Reading Room: PJ7507 .J55 2004g
  • Esposito, J. L. (2003). The Oxford dictionary of Islam. New York: Oxford University Press.
    Barnard: BP40 .O95 2003.
    Comp Lit & Society Reading Room: BP40 .O95 2000.
    Early Modern/Modern Europe Reading Room: BP40 .O95 2003.
    Islamic Studies Reading Room: BP40 .O95 2003
  • Ghareeb, Edmund. (2004). Historical dictionary of Iraq.Lanham: Scarecrow Press.
    Barnard: DS70.9 .G47 2004.
    Lehman Reference: DS70.9 .G47 2004
  • Groff, P. S., & Leaman, O. (2007). Islamic philosophy A-Z. Philosophy A-Z series. Edinburgh: Edinburgh University Press.
    Comp Lit & Society Reading Room: B741 .G76 2007g
  • Jihā mī, J., Dughaym, S., & ‘Ajam, R. (2004). Mawsū ’at muṣṭalaḥā t al-fikr al-naqdī al-‘Arabī wa-al-Islā mī al-hadị̄ th wa-al-mu’ā ṣir. Bayrū t: Maktabat Lubnā n Nā shirū n.
    Islamic Studies Reading Room: PJ7507 .J55 2004g
  • Khalī l, K. A. (2001). Mawsū ’at a’lā m al-‘Arab al-mubdi’ī n fī al-qarn al-‘ishrī n. Bayrū t: al-Mu’assasah al-‘Arabī yah lil-Dirā sā t wa-al-Nashr.
    Islamic Studies Reading Room: DS37.2 .K48 2001
  • Akay, H. (1991). İslâ mı̂ terimler sö zlü ğ ü. Taksim, İstanbul: İslâ m Bilgi Merkezi.
    Islamic Studies Reading Room: BP40 .A43 1991
  • Lorentz, J. H. (2007). Historical dictionary of Iran. Lanham, Md: Scarecrow Press.
    Lehman Reference: DS270 .L67 2007
  • Seddon, D. (2004). A political and economic dictionary of the Middle East. London: Europa Publications.
    Lehman Reference: DS63 .S43 2004g
  • Sourdel, D., & Sourdel-Thomine, J. (2007). A glossary of Islam. Edinburgh: Edinburgh University Press.
    Islamic Studies Reading Room: BP40 .S6813 2007

Encyclopedias

  • Cesari, J. (2007). Encyclopedia of Islam in the United States. Westport, Conn: Greenwood Press.
    Islamic Studies Reading Room: BP67.U6 E53 2007
  • Esposito, J. L. (2001). The Oxford encyclopedia of the Islamic world. New York, N.Y.: Oxford University Press.
    Comp Lit & Society Reading Room, Butler: DS35.53 .O95 2001
  • Glassé, C., & Glassé, C. (2001). The new encyclopedia of Islam. Walnut Creek, CA: AltaMira Press.
    Barnard: BP40 .G42 2001g
    Islamic Studies Reading Room: BP40 .G42 2001g.
    South Asian Studies Reading Room: BP40 .G42 2001g
  • Işık, I. (2005). Encyclopedia of Turkish authors: people of literature, culture and science. Ankara: Elvan yaynlar.
    Butler Stacks (Non-Circulating) : PL213 .I8214 2005g
  • Leaman, O. (2001). Companion encyclopedia of Middle Eastern and North African film. London: Routledge. New York: Routledge.
    Butler Reference: R809.22 C73
  • Mattar, P. (2004). Encyclopedia of the modern Middle East & North Africa. Detroit, Mich: Macmillan Reference USA.
    Butler Reference: R956 En191
  • McAuliffe, J. D. (2001). Encyclopaedia of the Qur’ā n. Leiden: Brill.
    Barnard Reference: BP133 .E53 2001g.
    Butler Reference Desk: R297 En19. Has: v.1-5
    Islamic Studies Reading Room: BP133 .E53 2001g. Has: v.1-5, index.
  • Meisami, J. S., & Starkey, P. (1998). Encyclopedia of Arabic literature. London: Routledge.
    Barnard Reference: PJ7510 .E53 1998
    Butler Reference: R893.79 En19
  • Meri, J. W., & Bacharach, J. L. (2006). Medieval Islamic civilization: an encyclopedia. Routledge encyclopedias of the Middle Ages, v. 13. New York: Routledge.
    Barnard Reference: DS36.85 .M434 2006. Has: v. 1-2
    Butler Reference: R956 M468. Has: v.1-2
  • Meyers, E. M. (1997). The Oxford encyclopedia of archaeology in the Near East. New York: Oxford University Press.
    Avery Reference: N5340 Ox2
    Barnard Reference: DS56 .O9 1997.
    Butler Reference: R039.13 Ox2112
  • Mīrsalī m, S. M., & ‘Ā dil, G. H. (1996). Dā niš nā ma-i ǧ ihā n-i Islā m. Tihrā n: Bunyā d-i Dā ’irat al-ma’ā rif-i islā mī.
    Islamic Studies Reading Room: DS35.53 .D36 1990g
  • Netton, I. R. (2004). Encyclopedia of Islamic civilisation and religion. Curzon encyclopedias of religion. London: Routledge Curzon.
    Butler Reference: R297 En17
  • Rāshid, R., & Morelon, R. (1996). Encyclopedia of the history of Arabic science. London: Routledge.
    Islamic Studies Reading Room: Q127.A5 E53 1996g
  • Sela, A. (2002). The continuum political encyclopedia of the Middle East. New York: Continuum.
    Barnard Reference: DS62.8 .P64 2002
    Lehman Reference: DS62.8 .P64 2002

Calendars & Handbooks

  • ‘Abd al-Rā ziq, J. a.-D., & Ben Sari, D. (2004). al-Taqwī m al-qamarī al-Islā mī al-muwaḥḥad = Calendrier lunaire islamique unifié (C.L.I.U.). Al-Rabā ṭ: Manshū rā t Marsam.
    Islamic Studies Reading Room: CE59 .A233 2004g
  • Alosh, M. (2004). Using Arabic: a guide to contemporary usage. New York: Cambridge University Press.
    Butler Stacks: PJ6307 .A397 2005
  • Amin, C. M., Fortna, B. C., & Frierson, E. B. (2006). The modern Middle East, a sourcebook for history. Oxford: Oxford University Press.
    Butler Stacks: DS62.4 .M635 2006
  • Hourani, A., Khoury, P. S., & Wilson, M. C. (2004). The Modern Middle East: a reader. London [u.a.]: I. B. Tauris.
    Lehman Reserves Call Number: DS62.4 .M63 2004
  • Lapidus, I. M. (2002). A history of Islamic societies. Cambridge: Cambridge University Press.
    Islamic Studies Reading Room: DS35.63 .L37 2002
  • Reich, B. (1998). Handbook of political science research on the Middle East and North Africa. Westport, Conn: Greenwood Press.
    Lehman Reference: JQ1758 .A58 1998
  • ‘Urā bī, M. (2008). Mawsū ’at al-shuhū r al-‘Arabī yah: faḍluhā wa-ahamm aḥdā thihā. Al-Jī zah: Dā r al-Fā rū q lil-Istithmā rā t al-Thaqā fī yah.
    Islamic Studies Reading Room: DS38.3 .U73 2008g
  • ‘Us̲mā hnī, M. T. (2002). Islamic months: merits and precepts. Karaci: Idaratul Ma'arif..
    Islamic Studies Reading Room: BP188 .U83 2002

Research Guides

  • Jacoby, J., Kibbee, J. Z., & Kibbee, J. Z. (2007). Cultural anthropology: a guide to reference and infoRoomation sources. Westport, Conn: Libraries Unlimited.
  • Religious studies subject guide.
    New York: Columbia University Libraries.
  • Islamic studies: a research guide (2005).
    Hanover, N.H.: Dartmouth College Library.
  • Morse, G. (2002). Research guides: Religion.
    Evanston, IL: Northwestern
  • Grant, G. (1989). Middle Eastern photographic collections in the United Kingdom. Durham, UK: Middle East Libraries Committee.
    Lehman Call Number: DS44.5 .G67 1989
  • Bleaney, C. H. (1985). Official publications on the Middle East: a selective guide to the statistical sources. Middle East Libraries Committee research guides, 1. [Durham, UK] : University of Durham, Centre for Middle Eastern and Islamic Studies.
    Butler Reference (Non-Circulating): R016.956 B614

Other Libraries

Databases – Reference


Originally compiled by Abed Aladien, Library Assistant, Global Studies Division, January 2009.  Last updated November 2010.