American Newspapers


This checklist of U.S. newspapers, from 1704 to the present, is arranged by state and city of publication.

It includes currently received paper issues, newspapers in microform, and newspapers available online through our subscriptions to several news databases. This list does not include our underground newspaper collection, which is listed in CLIO.

Unless otherwise noted, all call numbers (F, FA, FN, etc.) refer to the Microform Reading Room, 401 Butler Library.

There are three ways to navigate this list: use the "find in page" (ctrl + f) command to search for an individual newspaper or city, use the following list to jump to a specific state, or scroll through using the cursor or direction keys.

Newspapers by State

Alabama

City Newspaper Dates
Call Number or URL
Ashford Ashford Power 2002- Lexis-Nexis Academic Universe
Auburn Auburn Bulletin 2002- Lexis-Nexis Academic Universe
Birmingham Birmingham Weekly 3/2001- Alternative PressWatch
Birmingham Birmingham World 1945-1986 FN 2248
Blakely Blakely Sun 1818-1819 FN 1872
Decatur Speakin' Out News 3/1998 Ethnic Newswatch
Dothan Dothan Eagle 2002- Lexis-Nexis Academic Universe
Dothan Dothan Progress, The 2002- Lexis-Nexis Academic Universe
Enterprise Enterprise Ledger 2002- Lexis-Nexis Academic Universe
Headland Headland Observer 2002- Lexis-Nexis Academic Universe
Mobile Mobile Register 12/1821- 9/1899 FN 254
Opelika Opelika-Auburn News 2002- Lexis-Nexis Academic Universe

Alaska

City Newspaper Dates Call Number or URL
Anchorage Anchorage Daily News 1995- Lexis-Nexis Academic Universe
Anchorage Tundra Times 6/1993-5/1997 Ethnic Newswatch

Arizona

City Newspaper Dates Call Number or URL
Phoenix Greater Phoenix Jewish News 6/1996- Ethnic Newswatch
Phoenix Phoenix New Times 1989-
6/2001-
Lexis-Nexis Academic Universe
Alternative PressWatch
Scottsdale Au-Authm Action News 4/1994- Ethnic Newswatch
White River Fort Apache Scout 1/1992- Ethnic Newswatch
Window Rock Navaho Nation Today 10/1991-2/1992 Ethnic Newswatch
Window Rock Navajo Times 2/1995- Ethnic Newswatch

Arkansas

City Newspaper Dates Call Number or URL
Arkansas Post Arkansas Gazette 1819-1824 FN 1872
Little Rock Arkansas Democrat-Gazette 1984-1991,1994- Lexis-Nexis Academic Universe
Little Rock Arkansas Times 2000- Alternative PressWatch

California

City Newspaper Dates Call Number or URL
East San Francisco East Bay Express 7/2001- Lexis-Nexis Academic Universe
Emeryville India West 12/1975- Ethnic Newswatch
Fresno Fresno Bee 1994- Lexis-Nexis Academic Universe
Gilroy The Dispatch 1996- Lexis-Nexis Academic Universe
Los Angeles African Times 12/2000- Ethnic Newswatch
Los Angeles Daily News 1997- Lexis-Nexis Academic Universe
Los Angeles Daily Variety 10/1992- Lexis-Nexis Academic Universe
Los Angeles Hollywood Reporter 5/1991- Lexis-Nexis Academic Universe
Los Angeles Korean Times 1/1994- Ethnic Newswatch
Los Angeles La Opinion 1/1992- Ethnic Newswatch
Los Angeles LA Weekly 9/1996- Lexis-Nexis Academic Universe
Los Angeles Los Angeles New Times 8/1996-
6/2001-
Lexis-Nexis Academic Universe
Alternative PressWatch
Los Angeles Los Angeles Times 1969-
last six months

(Full-Text) 3/1985-
1/1985-
Printed index, 1972-


 
FN 23
Lexis-Nexis Academic Universe
ProQuest Direct
Factiva
Butler Reference Department
past three months in PMRR
past two weeks in Journalism
Los Angeles Los Angeles Sentinel 10/1991- Ethnic Newswatch
Los Angeles Metropolitan News Enterprise 7/1995- Lexis-Nexis Academic Universe
Modesto Modesto Bee 1/2001- Lexis-Nexis Academic Universe
North County North County Times 4/1996- Lexis-Nexis Academic Universe
Oakland East Bay Express 6/2001 Alternative PressWatch
Oakland El Mundo 11/1991- Ethnic Newswatch
Oakland Oakland Post 10/1991- Ethnic Newswatch
Orange County Orange Country Register 11/1986-
1/1996-
Factiva
Lexis-Nexis Academic Universe
Riverside Business Press 1/1984- Lexis-Nexis Academic Universe
Riverside Press Enterprise 9/1992- Lexis-Nexis Academic Universe
Sacramento Sacramento Observer 10/1991 Ethnic Newswatch
San Bernardino Precinct Reporter 6/1993- Ethnic Newswatch
San Diego El Latino San Diego 5/1992 Ethnic Newswatch
San Diego San Diego Union-Tribune 1/2000-
1/2000-
Factiva
Lexis-Nexis Academic Universe
San Francisco Asianweek 10/1991- Ethnic Newswatch
San Francisco The California Voice 9/1991-2/1998 Ethnic Newswatch
San Francisco El Bohemio News 7/1991- Ethnic Newswatch
San Francisco Horizontes 9/1991-3/1996 Ethnic Newswatch
San Francisco Jewish Bulletin 10/1991- Ethnic Newswatch
San Francisco El Mensajero 12/1991-2/1992 Ethnic Newswatch
San Francisco Metro Reporter 8/1991-4/1994 Ethnic Newswatch
San Francisco Recorder 1991- Lexis-Nexis Academic Universe
San Francisco SF Weekly 6/2001- Alternative PressWatch
San Francisco San Francisco Chronicle 1900-1943
(Full-Text) 1/1985-
10/1989-

3/1985-
FN 191
Factiva
Lexis-Nexis Academic Universe
ProQuest Direct
San Francisco San Francisco Examiner 8/1993-11/2000 Lexis-Nexis Academic Universe
San Francisco Sun Reporter 9/1991- Ethnic Newswatch
San Jose San Jose Mercury News 1996- Lexis-Nexis Academic Universe
San Leandro India West 11/1975- Ethnic Newswatch
San Pedro Random Lengths 11/2000- Alternative PressWatch
Sanger El Sol del Valle 11/1991-10/1997 Ethnic Newswatch
Santa Barbara Santa Barbara Independent 2/1987- Alternative PressWatch
Ventura Ventura County Star 7/1997- Lexis-Nexis Academic Universe

Colorado

City Newspaper Dates Call Number or URL
Boulder      
Colorado Springs Gazette 10/1996- Lexis-Nexis Academic Universe
Colorado Springs Colorado Springs Independent 1998- Alternative PressWatch
Denver Denver Post 1895-1987
(Full Text) 2/1996-
1/1994-
8/1988-
FN 257
ProQuest Direct
Lexis-Nexis Academic Universe
Factiva
Denver La Voz de Colorado 1/1992- Ethnic Newswatch
Denver Rocky Mountain News 3/1993-
1994-
Factiva
Lexis-Nexis Academic Universe
Denver Westword 6/2001
1994-
Alternative PressWatch
Lexis-Nexis Academic Universe

Connecticut

Bridgeport
American Telegraphe 1800-1804 FN 1872
Bridgeport Advertiser 1806-1809 FN 1872
Bridgeport Gazette 1810-1811 FN 1872
Bridgeport Herald 1805-1806 FN 1872
Republican Farmer 1812-1815 FN 1872
Danbury
Connecticut Intelligencer
on same reel as:
Day,Danbury Gazette
1809-1810

1812-1814
FN 1872

FN 1872
Danbury Gazette
on same reel as:
Connecticut Intelligencer, Day
1813-1814 FN 1872
Day
on same reel as:
Connecticut Intelligencer, Danbury Gazette
1812 FN 1872
New-England Republican 7/1804-11/1808 FN 1872
Republican Farmer 1803-1805 FN 1872
Fairfield
Fairfield Gazette 1786-1789 FN 1872
Hartford
American Mercury 1764-1820
1784-1829
FA10-Ct5
FN 1872
Connecticut Courant 1764-1841 FN 1872
Connecticut Mirror 1815-1832 FN 1872
Hartford Advertiser
on same reel as: Times
1823-1824 FN 1872
Hartford Gazette 1794-1795 FN 1872
Hartford Courant 5/1991-
6/1991-
Factiva
Lexis-Nexis Academic Universe
Hartford Times 1843-1862 F 5364
Times
on same reel as:
Hartford Advertiser
1817-1820 FN 1872
Litchfield
Litchfield Gazette
on same reel as: Witness
1808-1809 FN 1872
Litchfield Journal 1818 FN 1872
Litchfield Monitor 1784-1807 FN 1872
Litchfield Republican 1819-1821 FN 1872
Miscellany 1821-1822 FN 1872
Witness
on same reel as:
Litchefield Gazette
1805-1807 FN 1872
Mashantucket
Pequot Times 1/2000- Ethnic Newswatch
Middletown
Connecticut Spectator 1814-1816 FN 1872
Middlesex Gazette 1785-1828 FN 1872
New Haven
Columbian Register 12/1812-1814 FN 1872
Connecticut Gazette 1755-1768
1808-1809
FA10-Ct4
FN 1872
Connecticut Herald 1822-1825 FN 1872
Connecticut Herald
on same reel as:
Connecticut Herald, and General Advertiser
1806-1811,
1814-1815,
1-3/1818
FN 1872
Connecticut Herald, and General Advertiser
on same reel as:
Connecticut Herald
3/1818-1821 FN 1872
Connecticut Journal 1767-1820 FN 1872
Haven Chronicle 1786-1787 FA10-Ct1
New Haven Gazette 1784-1786
1786-1793
FA10-Ct1
FN 1872
New Haven Gazette and
Connecticut Magazine
1786-1789 FA10-Ct1
New Haven Union 7/1871-6/1874 FN 394
Visitor 1802-1803 FN 1872
New London
Bee 1797-1802 FN 1872
Connecticut Gazette 1763-5/1823 FN 1872
Morning News 1844-1848 FN 1872
New London Gazette 1763-1820 FA10-Ct2
New London Gazette and General Advertiser
on same reel as:
Connecticut Gazette
5/1823-12/1826 FN 1872
New London Summary 1758-1763 FN 1872
Republican Advocate 1818-1819 FN 1872
Springer's Weekly Oracle
on same reel as:
Weekly Oracle
10/1797-10/1801 FN 1872
True Republican 1807-1808 FN 1872
Weekly Oracle
on same reel as:
Springer's Weekly Oracle
10/1796-10/1797 FN 1872
Newfield
American Telegraphe 1795-1796 FN 1872
Norwich
Chenango Weekly Advertiser 1811-1815 FN 1872
Connecticut Centinel 2/1804-1807 FN 1872
Courier 1796-1820 FN 1872
Native American 3/1812-6/1813 FN 1872
Nordwesfliche Post 1818-1822 FN 1872
Norwich Courier 1821-1833 FN 1872
Norwich Packet 1773-1802 FN 1872
Religious Messenger 1831-1832 FN 1872
True Republican 1804-11/1806 FN 1872
Weekly Register 1785-1802 FN 1872
Sharon
Independant Republican 1802-1803 FN 1872
Rural Gazette
on same reel as:
Independant Republican
1800-1801 FN 1872
Stonington
Impartial Journal 10/1799-3/1804 FN 1872
Journal of the Times
on same reel as:
Patriot (Windham)
1798-1799 FN 1872
Windham
Advertiser 1818-1819 FN 1872
Patriot
on same reel as:
Stonington: Journal of the Times
1801-1803 FN 1872
Political Visitant
on same reel as:
Register
1820 FN 1872
Register 1817-1818 FN 1872
Windham Herald 1791-1805
1809-1810
FN 1872

Delaware

City Newspaper Dates Call Number or URL
Wilmington Delaware Gazette 4/1814-11/1814 FN 1872
Wilmington Delaware Gazette and
Peninsula Advertiser
11/1814-12/1814 FN 1872
Wilmington Wilmington American Watchman 1809-1820 FN 1872
Wilmington American Watchman 1809-1820 FN 1872

District of Columbia

City Newspaper Dates Call Number or URL
Georgetown Centinel of Liberty 1796-1800 FN 1872
Georgetown Courier
on same reel as:
Metropolitan
Senator
1812,1818,1820 FN 1872
Georgetown Federal Republican 1812-1816 FN 1872
Georgetown Independent American 1809-1811 FN 1872
Georgetown Metropolitan
on same reel as:
Courier
1820 FN 1872
Georgetown National Messenger 1817-1820 FN 1872
Georgetown Olio 1802-1803 FN 1872
Georgetown Washington Federalist 1800-1809 FN 1872
Washington City of Washington Gazette 1817-1820
2/1821-6/1821
FN 1872
Washington Daily National Intelligencer 1813-1820 FN 1872
Washington El Pregonero 12/1991- Ethnic Newswatch
Washington Federal Republican 8/1812-4/1816 FN 1872
Washington Hill, The 1995- Lexis-Nexis Academic Universe
Washington Monitor 5/1808-6/1809 FN 1872
Washington National Era 1847-1860 Accessible Archives
Washington National Intelligencer 1800-1812 FN 1872
Washington National Intelligencer 1858-1859 FN 62
Washington Roll Call 1989- Lexis-Nexis Academic Universe
Washington Spirit of Seventy-six 1810-1811 FN 1872
Washington Universal Gazette 1805-5/1814 FN 1872
Washington Washington Afro-American 10/1992- Ethnic Newswatch
Washington Washington City Weekly Gazette 1815-1817 FN 1872
Washington Washington Expositor 1807-1809 FN 1872
Washington Washington Gazette 1796-1798
7/1821-12/1821
FN 1872
Washington Washington Informer 1/1992- Ethnic Newswatch
Washington Washington Post 12/1877-
1/1977-
(Full-Text) 1/1984
1/1984-
Print index, 1972-
past two weeks
past two weeks
FN137
Lexis-Nexis Academic Universe
ProQuest Direct
Factiva
Butler Reference
R070 N475
in Journalism
in Lehman
Washington Washington Times 7/4/1989- Lexis-Nexis Academic Universe
Washington Washingtonian 1808-1820 FA10-Va2
Washington WE/MBI 1993 Ethnic Newswatch

Florida

City Newspaper Dates Call Number or URL
Deerfield Beach Jewish Journal 8/1991- Ethnic Newswatch
Fort Lauderdale Sun Sentinel 1/1990- Factiva
Hollywood Seminole Tribune 3/1984- Ethnic Newswatch
Jacksonville Jacksonville Free Press 8/1996- Ethnic Newswatch
Long Wood La Prensa 10/1991- Ethnic Newswatch
Miami Caribbean Today 1/1994- Ethnic Newswatch
Miami Miami Herald 10/1994-
7/1974-12/1999
past three months
Factiva
Lexis-Nexis Academic Universe
in PMRR
Miami Miami New Times 6/2001- Alternative PressWatch
Miami Miami Times 12/1991- Ethnic Newswatch
Miami El Nuevo Herald 3/1992- Ethnic Newswatch
Orlando Orlando Sentinel Tribune 9/1991- Factiva
St. Petersburg Red Sticks Press 6/1994-6/1996 Ethnic Newswatch
St. Petersburg St. Petersburg Times 1/1987-
11/1986-
Lexis-Nexis Academic Universe
Factiva
Tampa Tampa Tribune 11/1994-
1/1994-
Lexis-Nexis Academic Universe
Factiva

Georgia

City Newspaper Dates Call Number or URL
Atlanta Atlanta Constitution 1868-1944 FN 138
Atlanta Atlanta Daily World 1931-1968 FN 2247
Atlanta Atlanta Inquirer 10/1991 Ethnic Newswatch
Atlanta Atlanta Journal & Constitution 1991-
1986-
1/1995-
past three months
Lexis-Nexis Academic Universe 
ProQuest Direct
in PMRR
  
Atlanta Mundo Hispanico 11/1991- Ethnic Newswatch
Columbus Columbus Times 4/1992- Ethnic Newswatch
Milledgeville Milledgeville Republican & Reflector 1816-1819 FN 1872
Savannah Columbian Museum
& Savannah Advertiser
1799 FN 1872
Savannah Georgia Gazette 4/1763-5/1770
1798-1802
FN 1872
FN 1872
Savannah Royal Georgia Gazette 1781 FN 1872

Idaho

City Newspaper Dates Call Number or URL
Fort Hall Sho-Ban News 11/1991- Ethnic Newswatch

Illinois

City Newspaper Dates Call Number or URL
Champaign News-Gazette 3/2000- Factiva--selected
Chicago American Muslim Journal 1982- FN 1696
Chicago Chatham-South 11/1991 Ethnic Newswatch
Chicago Chicago Daily Tribune
(see also Chicago Tribune)
1870-1946 FN 35
Chicago Chicago Defender
(Abstracts)
7/2000-1/2001 ProQuest Direct
Chicago Chicago Independent Bulletin 4/1996- Ethnic Newswatch
Chicago Chicago Reader 2001- Alternative PressWatch
Chicago Chicago Sun-Times 7/1985-
1/1992-
Factiva
Lexis-Nexis Academic Universe
Chicago Chicago Tribune 1870-1946
1/1986-
past three months
print index, 1972-77
FN 35
ProQuest Direct
in PRR
Butler Reference

Chicago Chicago Weekend 1/1992- Ethnic Newswatch
Chicago Disclosure 10/2000- Alternative PressWatch
Chicago Hyde Park Citizen 12/1991- Ethnic Newswatch
Chicago Industrial Worker 3/2001- Alternative PressWatch
Chicago Muhammad Speaks 10/1961-6/1975 FN 504
Chicago Muslim Journal
(Abstract)
1985-
1/1989-9/2001
FN 1696
ProQuest Direct
Edwardsville Edwardsville Spectator 3/1819-1822 FN 1872
Orland Park Arab American News 3/2001- Ethnic Newswatch
Skokie Chicago Jewish Star 3/1991- Ethnic Newswatch

Indiana

City Newspaper Dates Call Number or URL
Brookville Brookville Enquirer 1819-1820
1819-1820
FN 1872
Fa10-Ind1
Indianapolis Indianapolis News/Star 2002- Factiva
Indianapolis Indianapolis Recorder 11/1991- Ethnic Newswatch

Iowa

City Newspaper Dates Call Number or URL
Iowa City Iowa Frontier Newspapers   F 5164

Kansas

City Newspaper Dates Call Number or URL
Emporia Emporia Gazette 1893-1946 FN 33
Emporia Emporia Weekly Gazette 1895-1946 FN 34
Kansas City Kansas City Pitch Weekly 6/2001- Alternative PressWatch

Kentucky

City Newspaper Dates Call Number or URL
Danville Mirror 1804-1812 FN 1872
Danville People's Friend 1818-1819 FN 1872
Frankfort Frankfort Commonwealth 1/29-3/25/1858 F 1356
Fort Knox Kentucky Journal 1795 FN 1872
Georgetown Telegraph 1811-1813 FN 1872
Lancaster Political Theatre 1808-1810 FN 1872
Lexington Kentucky Reporter
partially on same reel as:
Reporter
1816-1820 FN 1872
Lexington Reporter
partially on same reel as:
Kentucky Reporter
3/1808-1813,
1816-9/1817
FN 1872
Lexington Western Monitor 1814-1815 FN 1872
Louisville Louisville Eccentric Observer 4/1995- Alternative PressWatch
Maysville Eagle 1814-1820 FN 1872
Paris Instructor 1818 FA10-Ky1
Richmond Globe 1809-1810 FN 1872
Russellville Weekly Messenger 1814-1820 FN 1872
Washington Republican Auxiliary 1806-1810 FN 1872
Washington Union 1814-1820 FN 1872
Washington Kentucky-Miscellaneous titles 1795-1821
various dates
Fn 1872
FN 1872

Louisiana

City Newspaper Dates Call Number or URL
New Orleans Gambit Weekly 8/2000- Alternative PressWatch
New Orleans Louisiana Advertiser 4/1820-12/1820 FN 1872
New Orleans Times Picayune



Print Index
1837-1958
1991-
4/1992-
4/1992
1972-1978
FN 202
Lexis-Nexis Academic Universe
Factiva
ProQuest Direct
Offsite R070 N473
St. Francisville Louisianian 1819-1820 FN 1872

Maine

Augusta
Edes' Kennebec Gazette 11/1801-4/1803 FN 1872
Herald of Liberty 2/1810-9/1815 FN 1872
Kennebec Gazette
on same reel as:
Edes' Kennebec Gazette
11/1800-11/1804 FN 1872
Bangor
Bangor Register
partially on same reel as:
Bangor Register and
Penobscot Advertiser
1820,6/1822-1825 FN 1872
Bangor Register and
Penobscot Advertiser
partially on same reel as:
Bangor Register
1821-6/1822 FN 1872
Bangor Weekly Register 1818-1819 FN 1872
Bath
Maine Gazette
partially on same reel as:
Hancock Gazette
12/1820-1822 FN 1872
Belfast
Hancock Gazette 7/1820-12/1820 FN 1872
Waldo Patriot 1837-1838 FN 1872
Brunswick
Maine Intelligencer 1820 FN 1872
Buckstown
Gazette of Maine. 
Hancock Advertiser
partially on same reel as:
Gazette of Maine. Hancock
and Washington Advertiser
7/1805-6/1807 FN 1872
Gazette of Maine. Hancock
and Washington Advertiser
on same reel as:
Gazette of Maine. 
Hancock Advertiser
7/1807-1808 FN 1872
Castine
Eagle 1809-1812 FN 1872
Charleston
American Recorder 1785-1787 FN 1872
Falmouth
Falmouth Gazette and Weekly Advertiser 1785-1786 FN 1872
Eastport
Eastport Sentinel 1823-1826 FN 1872
Eastport Sentinel and Passamaquoddy Advertiser 8/1818-1822 FN 1872
Hallowell
American Advocate
partially on same reel as:
American Advocate and
General Advertiser
1/1810-1820
11/1825-1/1835
FN 1872
FN 1872
American Advocate
(semi-weekly edition)
1832-9/1834 FN 1872
American Advocate and
General Advertiser
partially on same reel as:
American Advocate
1-11/1825 FN 1872
Hallowell Gazette 1814-1817
1820-11/1821
FN 1872
FN 1872
Tocsin 8/1795-8/1797 FN 1872
Haverhill
Essex Patriot 1817-3/1824 FN 1872
Gazette and Patriot 1824-1825 FN 1872
Kennebunck
Eagle of Maine 7/1802-11/1802 FN 1872
Kennebunck Gazette
on same reel as:
Eagle of Maine
1800-1802
3/1805-7/1805

FN 1872
Weekly Visiter 1811-1814
1817-1820
FN 1872
Portland
Cumberland Gazette 7/1786-1791 FN 1872
Eastern Argus 9/1803-1834 FN 1872
Eastern Herald 1792-1795
1/1796-8/1796
FN 1872
FN 1872
Eastern Herald and Gazette of Maine
on same reel as:
Eastern Herald
9/1796-12/1800,1803 FN 1872
Gazette 4/1798-1807 FN 1872
Gazette of Maine 1825-1826 FN 1872
Herald of Gospel Liberty 1810-1811 FA10-NH5
Oriental Trumpet 12/1796-11/1800 FN 1872
Portland Commercial Gazette 11/1803-8/1804 FN 1872
Portland Gazette
partially on same reel as:
Portland Gazette, and Maine Advertiser
1808-1814
4/1818-1824
FN 1872
FN 1872
Portland Gazette, and Maine Advertiser
partially on same reel as:
Portland Gazette
1815
1817-3/1818
FN 1872
Saco
Freeman's Friend 1805-1810 FN 1872
Wiscasset
Lincoln Intelligencer
on same reel as:
Lincoln Telegraph
1821-1822 FN 1872
Lincoln Telegraph 1821 FN 1872
Wiscasset Argus
on same reel as:
Wiscasset Telegraph
1797-1798 FN 1872
Wiscasset Telegraph 1796-1799 FN 1872

Maryland

Annapolis
Maryland Gazette 1743-1839 F 105
Baltimore
American Farmer
on same reel as:
Misc. Titles
1819-1820 FN 1872
American Patriot
on same reel as:
American Patriot and Fell's Point Advertiser
9/1802-8/1803 FN 1872
American Patriot and Fell's Point Advertiser
on same reel as:
American Patriot
8-10/1803 FN 1872
Baltimore Afro-American 10/1992- Ethnic Newswatch
Baltimore Daily Gazette and
Federal Intelligencer
10/1794-12/1795 FN 1872
Baltimore Daily Intelligencer 1793-1794 FN 1872
Baltimore Daily Repository 10/1791-10/1793 FN 1872
Baltimore Evening Post 1792-1793 FN 1872
Baltimore Evening Sun 1912-1957 FN 192
Baltimore Gazette and
Daily Advertiser
1793-1794
1826-1827
FA10-Md2
FN 1872
Baltimore Patriot 1812-1813 FN 1872
Baltimore Patriot &
Evening Advertiser
1813-4/1817 FN 1872
Baltimore Patriot &
Mercantile Advertiser
5/1817-1824
1825-1826
1828-1831,1834
FN 1872
FN 1872
FN 1872
Baltimore Price-Current 2/1803-1808,
1815-1818,
1819-1820
FN 1872
FN 1872
FN 1872
Baltimore Recorder
on same reel as:
Misc.Titles
1810 FN 1872
Baltimore Sun 1/1994-
9/1990-
Lexis-Nexis Academic Universe
Factiva
Baltimore Weekly Price Current 1809-1813 FN 1872
Bartgil's Marylandische Zeitung
listed under:
Frederickstown
1785-1789 FN 1872
Democratic Republican 1802 FN 1872
Federal Gazette 1796-1800 FN 1872
Federal Gazette and
Baltimore Daily Advertiser
1804 FN 1872
Federal Republican 1808
1810
FN 1872
FN 1872
Maryland Gazette, or,
The Baltimore Advertiser
1789-1790 FN 1872
Maryland Journal and Baltimore Advertiser 1785, 1787 FN 1872
Mechanics' Gazette and
Merchants Daily Advertiser
1815 FN 1872
Palladium of Freedom
on same reel as:
Misc. Titles
1787 FN 1872
Republican 1802-1804 FN 1872
Richmond Afro-American 10/1992-1/1996 Ethnic Newswatch
Chestertown
Apollo;or Chestertown Spy 3/1793-7/1793 FN 1872
Chestertown Gazette 7/1793-12/1793 FN 1872
Cumberland
American Eagle
on same reel as:
Misc.Titles
1809 FN 1872
Cumberland Impartialist
on same reel as:
Misc.Titles
1808-1809 FN 1872
Cumberland American Eagle 1809 FA10-Md3
Cumberland Gazette
on same reel as:
Misc.Titles
1814 FN 1872
Cumberland Imperialist 1808-1809 FN 1872
Easton
Easton Gazette 2/1822-1828 FN 1872
Easton Gazette, and
Eastern Shore Intelligencer
7/1818-2/3/1822 FN 1872
Maryland Herald, and
Eastern Shore Intelligencer
5/1790-1792 FN 1872
Republican Star 1814-1816
1821-1832
FN 1872
Republican Star or Eastern
Shore General Advertiser
2/1800-1813 FN 1872
Repubican Star & General
Advertiser
1829-1832 FN 1872
Elizabethtown
Maryland Herald, and
Elizabeth-Town Advertiser
includes:
Hagerstown Maryland Herald &
Hagerstown Weekly Advertiser
1797-1800
1803-1804
FN 1872
FN 1872
New Jersey Journal 1803-1804
1806-1808
FN 1872
Washington Spy 1792-2/1797 FN 1872
Fredericktown
Bartgis's Marylandische Zeitung
*includes misc.titles
Bartgis's Maryland Gazette
and Frederick-Town
1785-1789 FN 1872
Bartgis's Republican Gazette 2/1801-1803 FN 1872
Freiheifsbothe
on same reel as:
Misc.Titles
1810 FN 1872
General Staatsbothe 1810-1813 FN 1872
Hornet 1802-1805,
2/1809-7/1809
FN 1872
Maryland Chronicle or
Universal Advertiser
1786-1788 FN 1872
Republican Advocate
partially on same reel as:
Hornet
12/1802-1808,
8/1809-12/1810
FN 1872
Weekly Advertiser 1792-1794 FN 1872
Grantsville
German Life 1994- Ethnic Newswatch
Hagers-Town
Hagers-Town Gazette 5/1809-6/1813 FN 1872
Hagertstown Weekly Gazette 2/1804-12/1804 FN 1872
Potomac
The Week 5/1994- Ethnic Newswatch
Rockville
Centinel of Freedom 1820
1820
FN 1872
FN 1872
True American 1824
1820
FA10-Md3
FN 1872

Massachusetts

Boston
Aegis amd Gazette 1801-1820 FA10-MA23
Agriculture Intelligence
on same reel as:
Ladies Portfolio
1820 FN 1872
American Apollo
on same reel as:
Federal Orrery, 1794-1796
1792-1794 FN 1872
American Herald 1784-1788 FA10-MA5
Argus
on same reel as:
Herald of Freedom
1791-1793 FN 1872
Baystate Banner 3/1992 Ethnic Newswatch
Berkshire Star 1815-1820 FA10-MA39
Boston Chronicle
on same reel as:
Massachusetts Spy
1767-1775 FN 1872
Boston Commercial Gazette 1821-1822
1824-1826
FN 1872
Boston Daily Advertiser 3/13/1813-1821 FN 1872
Boston Evening Post
on same reel as:
Boston Post-Boy
1735-1775
1735-1775
1781-1789
F103
FN 1872
FN 1872
Boston Gazette 1719-1798 FN 1872
Boston Gazette (bi-weekly) 10/1802-1820 FN 1872
Boston Globe 9/1988-
1987-
3/1987-
past three months
past two weeks
Lexis-Nexis Academic Universe
Factiva
ProQuest Direct
in PRR
in Journalism
Boston Herald 7/26/1991-
1/1994-
Factiva
Lexis-Nexis Academic Universe
Boston Intelligencer 8/1816-1820 FN 1872
Boston Mirror
includes:
Satirist;Scourge;
Kaleidoscope;Idiot
1808-1810 FN 1872
Boston News-Letter 1704-1776 FN 1872
Boston Patriot 1809-1820 FN 1872
Boston Post Boy
on same reel as:
Boston Evening Post
1735-1775 FN 1872
Boston Price Current 1795-1799 FN 1872
Boston Recorder 1816-1820 FN 1872
Boston Spectator
on same reel as:
Ladies Portfolio
1814-1815
1816-1820
FN 1872
FN 1872
Cavier 6/1795-12/1795 Uncat.
Censor 1771-1772 FA10-MA2
Christian Science Monitor
(Full-Text)
Printed index,


1908-
5/1990-
1960-
past three months
1/1980-
FN 31
ProQuest Direct
Butler Reference
in PRR
Lexis-Nexis Academic Universe
Christian Watchman 5/1918-12/1820 FN 1872
Chronicle 1767-1770 FA10-MA1
Columbian Centinel 1790-1822 FN 1872
Columbia Centinel. American Federalist 1823-1825 FN 1872
Columbian Detector 1802-1809 FN 1872
Constitutional Intelligencer 1799-1802 FA10-MA30
Constitutional Telegraph 1799-1802 FN 1872
Continental Journal 5/1776-6/1787
1776-1787
FN 1872
FN 1872
Courier 1795-1796 FA10-MA32
Courier de Boston 1789 FN 1872
Daily Advertiser
on same reel as:
Fredonian
1809

1810
FN 1872

FN 1872
Pilot 1812-1813 FN 1872
Democrat 1804-1809 FN 1872
Essex Journal 1773-1777 FA10-MA17
Evening Post 1735-1775 F 103
Evening Post 1781-1784 FA10-MA5
Federal Gazette 1798 FA10-MA32
Federal Orrery
on same reel as:
American Apollo
1794-1796 FN 1872
Fredonian
on same reel as:
Daily Advertiser
1810 FN 1872
Gazeteer
on same reel as:
Republican Gazetteer
1803 FN 1872
Herald of Freedom
on same reel as:
Argus
1788-1791 Fn 1872
Idiot
on same reel as:
Boston Mirror
1817-1819 FN 1872
Independent Chronicle 1776-1820 FN 1872
Independent Chronicle and
Boston Patriot
1821-1825 FN 1872
Independent Ledger 6/1778-10/1786 FN 1872
Jewish Advocate 8/1991- Ethnic Newswatch
Kaleidoscope
on same reel as:
Boston Mirror
1818-1819 FN 1872
Ladies Portfolio
on same reel as:
Boston Spectator
1820 FN 1872
Liberator (Garrison's) 1831-1865 F 1386
Massachusetts Centinel 1784-1790 FN 1872
Massachusetts Gazette 1785-1788 FA10-MA9
Massachusetts Mercury 1793-1803 FN 1872
Massachusetts Spy
on same reel as:
Boston Chronicle
1775-1820 FN 1872
Mirror 1808-1810 FA10-MA24
New England Chronicle 4/1776-1820 FN 1872
New England Courant 1721-1727 FN 1872
New England Galaxy 1817-1820 FN 1872
New England Palladium 3/1803-1822 FN 1872
New England Weekly Journal 1727-1741 FN 1872
Pilot
on same reel as:
Daily Advertiser
1812-1813 FN 1872
Polar Star 1796-1797 FA10-MA32
Post-Boy 1734-1775 FA10-MA11
Price Current 1795-1798 FA10-MA12
Repertory 1804-1820 FN 1872
Repertory [Alternate Ed] 1814-1819 FN 1872
Repertory 1817 FN 1872
Report (weekly) 1819-1820 FA10-MA30
Republican Gazetteer
on same reel as:
Gazetteer
1802-1803 FN 1872
Russell's Gazette 1798-1800
1/1800-7/1801
1/1802-4/1803
FN 1872
FN 1872
FN 1872
Satirist
on same reel as:
Boston Mirror
1812 FN 1872
Saturday Evening Gazette 1816-1820 FA10-MA39
Saturday Evening Herald 1790-1794 FN 1872
Scourge
on same reel as:
Boston Mirror
1811 FN 1872
Times
on same reel as:
Saturday Evening Herald
1794 FN 1872
Times 1807-1808 FN 1872
Weekly Messenger
on same reel as:
Ladies Portfolio
1811-1820 FN 1872
Weekly Rehearsal 1721-8//1735 FN 1872
Weekly Report
on same reel as:
Ladies Portfolio
1819-1820 FN 1872
Yankee 1812-1820 FN 1872
Brookfield
Moral and Political Telegraph 1795-1796 FN 1872
Political Repository 1798-1802 FN 1872
Worcester Intelligencer 1794-1795 FN 1872
Cambridge
New England Chronicle
on same reel as:
Essex Gazette, Salem
1775-1776 FN 1872
Charleston
Recorder 1785-1787 FN 1872
Dedham
Columbian Minerva 1799-1804 FN 1872
Dedham Gazette 1813-1819 FN 1872
Minerva 1796-1798 FN 1872
Norfolk Repository 1805-1809 FN 1872
Village Register 1820-1829 FN 1872
Dorcester
Boston Irish Reporter 1/1994- Ethnic Newswatch
Greenfield
Franklin Herald 1812-1813
1816-1817
FN 1872
Traveller 1811 FN 1872
Haverhill
Essex Gazette 1827-1836 FN 1872
Essex Gazette
on same reel as:
Haverhill Gazette
1839-5/1840 FN 1872
Essex Patriot 1817-1836 FN 1872
Gazette and Patriot 1824-1825 FN 1872
Haverhill Gazette &
Essex Patriot
1823-1827
1827-1837
FN 1872
Haverhill Gazette 1840-1841 FN 1872
Merrimack Intelligencer 1808-1817 FN 1872
Lenox
Berkshire Journal 1829-1831 FN 1872
Leominster
Rural Repository 1795-1797 FN 1872
Telescope 1800-1802 FN 1872
Weekly Messenger 1806 FN 1872
Nantucket
Nantucket Gazette 1816-1817 FN 1872
New Bedford
Cape Verdean News (CVN) 5/1979- Ethnic Newswatch
Christian Philanthropist 1822-1823 FN 1872
Columbian Courier 1798-1805 FN 1872
Medley 1792-1799 FN 1872
New Bedford Gazette 1811-1812 FN 1872
New-Bedford Mercury 1807-1840
1844-1845
1820-1867
FN 1872
FN 1872
FN 1872
Old Colony Gazette
on same reel as:
New Bedford Gazette
1808-1811 FN 1872
Newburyport
American Intelligencer and
General Advertiser
on same reel as:
Newburyport Gazette
1801 FN 1872
Essex Journal 1773-1794 FN 1872
Impartial Herald 1793-1797 FN 1872
Merrimack Gazette 1803-1804 FN 1872
Merrimack Magazine 1805-1806 FN 1872
Morning Star 4/1794-12/1794 FN 1872
Newburyport Gazette
on same reel as:
American Intelligencer
1807 FN 1872
Newburyport Herald 1797-1824,1826
1829-1837
FN 1872
FN 1872
New England Repertory 1803-1804 FN 1872
Political Calendar 1804-1805 FN 1872
Political Gazette 1795-1797 FN 1872
Statesman 1808-1809 FN 1872
Northampton
Hampshire Gazette 9/1786-1789
1793-1794
1815-1818
FN 1872
FN 1872
FN 1872
Hampshire Gazette and
Public Advertiser
1819-1820 FN 1872
Hive 1803-1805 FN 1872
Pittsfield
Berkshire Chronicle 1788 FN 1872
Berkshire Chronicle & The
Massachusetts Intelligencer
on same reel as:
Berkshire Chronicle
1788-1790 FN 1872
Berkshire County Whig 3/11/1841-1849 FN 1872
Berkshire Gazette 1798-1800 FN 1872
Berkshire Reporter 1807
1810-1811
FN 1872
Pittsfield Sun 1821-1835
1838-1847
1850-1851
1854-1855
1858-1859
1864-1865
1868-1869
FN 1872
FN 1872
FN 1872
FN 1872
FN 1872
FN 1872
FN 1872
Sun 1800-1820 FN 1872
Plymouth
Plymouth Journal 1785-1786 FN 1872
Salem
American Gazette
on same reel as:
Constitutional Journal,
Salem Chronicle &
Essex Advertiser
6/1776-7/1776 FN 1872
Anti-slavery Bugle 1849-1850 F 1203
Essex Gazette
on same reel as:
New England Chronicle,
Cambridge, MA
1768-1775
1827-1836
FN 1872
FN 1872
Essex Register
on same reel as:
Impartial Register
1800-1820
1821-1827
FN 1872
FN 1872
Friend 1807 FN 1872
Impartial Register
on same reel as:
Essex Register
1800-1820 FN 1872
Salem Chronicle 1786 FN 1872
Salem Gazette 1781-1785
1790-1820
1821-1838
FA10-MA9
FA10-MA20
FN 1872
Salem Mercury
on same reel as:
Salem Gazette
1786-1820 FN 1872
Salem Register
on same reel as:
Impartial Register
1800-1820 FN 1872
Springfield
Federal Spy 12/1792-1/1793
1801-1805
FN 1872
FN 1872
Federal Spy and Springfield Advertiser
on same reel as:
Federal Spy
1/1793-12/1793 FN 1872
Hampshire Federalist 1/1806-7/1812 FN 1872
Hampden Patriot 1818-1820 FN 1872
Hampden Patriot & Liberal
Recorder
1821-2/1824 FN 1872
Republican Spy 1803-1808 FN 1872
Stockbridge
Andrews's Western Star
on same reel as:
Western Star
1797

1797-1798
FN 1872
Berkshire Star 11/1815-1820 FN 1872
Political Atlas 1807-1808 FN 1872
Western Star 1789-1796,
1801
1804-11/1806
FN 1872
FN 1872
FN 1872
Western Star
on same reel as:
Andrew's Western Star
1797-1798 FN 1872
Sudbury
Reunion 7/1993- Ethnic Newswatch
Worcester
Independent Gazetteer 1800-1801 FN 1872
Massachusetts Spy 5/1788-1820 FN 1872
National Aegis 1801-1820 FN 1872
FA10-MA23
Worcester Intelligencer 1794-1795 FA10-MA37
Worcester Magazine 1786-1788 FA10-MA19

Michigan

City Newspaper Dates Call Number or URL
Dearborn Arab American News 7/1994- Ethnic Newswatch
Detroit Detroit News & Free Press
(Abstracts)
2/1995-1/1997 ProQuest Direct
Detroit Detroit Free Press 1/1994-  
Detroit Detroit News 1/1990- Factiva
Detroit Michigan Chronicle
(Abstracts)
1/1999-9/2001
1/1994-
ProQuest Direct
Ethnic Newswatch
Grand Rapids Take Pride! Community 4/2000- Ethnic Newswatch
Hancock Finish America 6/2001- Ethnic Newswatch
Highland Park Michigan Citizen 11/1991- Ethnic Newswatch

Minnesota

City Newspaper Dates Call Number or URL
Bemidji Ojibwe News 1994- Ethnic Newswatch
Minneapolis-St.Paul Asian Pages 10/1991- Ethnic Newswatch
Minneapolis-St.Paul Circle 1992- Ethnic Newswatch
Minneapolis-St.Paul Minneapolis Star Tribune 9/1991- Lexis-Nexis Academic Universe

Mississippi

City Newspaper Dates Call Number or URL
Jackson Daily Clarion Ledger 1865-1902 FN 253
Jackson Tri-Weekly Clarion 1865-1870 FN 266

Missouri

City Newspaper Dates Call Number or URL
Kansas City Kansas City Star 1/1991 Factiva
St. Louis Missouri Gazette 1808-1820 FA10-MD1
St. Louis Riverfront Times 6/2001- Alt-PressWatch
St. Louis St. Louis Post-Dispatch




Print index
1874-1996
1989-
3/1997-
1992-
past three months
1980-
FN 36
Lexis-Nexis Academic Universe
ProQuest Direct
Factiva
in PMRR
Butler Reference R070 C465

Montana

City Newspaper Dates Call Number or URL
Missoula Missoula Independent 6/2000- Alt-PressWatch
Pablo Char-Koosta News 10/1991- Ethnic Newswatch

Nebraska

City Newspaper Dates Call Number or URL
Omaha Jewish Press 1/1986- Ethnic Newswatch
Omaha Omaha World Herald 8/1983-
8/1994-
Factiva
Lexis-Nexis Academic Universe

Nevada

City Newspaper Dates Call Number or URL
Reno Native Nevadan 10/1991-6/1992 Ethnic Newswatch

New Hampshire

Amherst
Amherst Journal and
New Hampshire Advertiser
1795-1796 FN 1872
Farmers' Cabinet 1802-1879 FN 1872
Hillsboro Telegraph 1820-7/1822 FN 1872
Village Messenger 1798-1801 FN 1872
Concord
American Patriot
on same reel as:
New Hampshire Patriot
1808-1809 FN 1872
Concord Gazette 7/1806-5/1819 FN 1872
Concord Herald 1790-1794 FN 1872
Concord Observer 1819-1820 FN 1872
Courier of New Hampshire 1794-1805 FN 1872
Mirrour
on same reel as:
New Star,and
Republican Gazetter
1792-1799 FN 1872
New Hampshire Patriot
on same reel as:
American Patriot
1809-1820
1821-1830
1832-1833
FN 1872
FN 1872
New-Hampshire Patriot &
State Gazette
1834-1850 FN 1872
New Hampshire Repository
partially on same reel as:
Repository & Observer
1823-6/1826 FN 1872
New Star
on same reel as:
Mirrour
1797 FN 1872
Repository & Observer
on same reel as:
New Hampshire Repository
7-12/1826 FN 1872
Republican Gazeteer
on same reel as:
Mirrour
1796-1797 Fn 1872
Dover
Dover Sun
parially on same reel as:
Sun. Dover Gazette, and County Advertiser
7/1812-1813 FN 1872
New-Hampshire Republican 1823-1824 FN 1872
Phoenix 2/1792-8/1795 FN 1872
Political and Sentimental 1790-1792 FN 1872
Repository
Sun. Dover Gazette, and County Advertiser
partially on same reel as:
Dover Sun
1802-1807
1810-1812
FN 1872
FN 1872
Exeter
Constitutionalist 1810-1814 FN 1872
Exeter Journal 1778-1779 FN 1872
Freeman's Oracle, and New-Hampshire
Advertiser
7/1786-11/1789 FN 1872
Newhampshire Gazetteer 8/1789-2/1793 FN 1872
Great-Falls
Portsmouth & Great-Falls
Journal of Literature
& Politics
8/1836-1838 FN 1872
Hanover
American 1816-1817 FN 1872
Dartmouth Gazette 8/1799-1800 FN 1872
Eagle: or, Dartmouth Centinel 7/1793-6/1799 FN 1872
Keene
New Hampshire Sentinel 3/1799-1807
1813-1814,1819
1821-1825
1828-1841,
1848-1849
FN 1872
New Hampshire Recorder 1787-1791 FN 1872
Rising Sun 1795-1798 FN 1872
Portsmouth
Federal Observer 1798-1800 FN 1872
Freeman's Journal
on same reel as:
New Hampshire Gazette
1776-1778 FN 1872
Herald of Gospel Liberty
also from Portland, ME,
Philadelphia, PA
1808-1816 FN 1872
Intelligencer 12/1806-1812 FN 1872
New Hampshire Gazette 1756-1831
1832-1834
FN 1872
New Hampshire Mercury 1784-1788 FN 1872
New Hampshire Spy 1786-1793 FN 1872
Oracle of the Day 1793-1803 FN 1872
Oracle of New Hampshire
on same reel as:
Political Star
1817 FN 1872
People's Advocate
on same reel as:
Political Star
1816-1817 FN 1872
Political Star 1804 FN 1872
Portsmouth Journal 1824-1831 FN 1872
Portsmouth Journal &
Rockingham Gazette
1832-1835 FN 1872
Portsmouth Journal of
Literature and Politics
1793-1834
8/1836-1839
FN 1872
FN 1872
Portsmouth Oracle
on same reel as:
Oracle of the Day
1803-1821 FN 1872
Oracle Post 1803-1805 FN 1872
United States Oracle
on same reel as:
Political Star
1793-1803 FN 1872
War Journal 1813 FN 1872
Walpole
Democratic Republican 1812-1813 FN 1872
Farmer's Weekly Museum 1797-10/1810 FN 1872
New Hampshire Journal
on same reel as:
New Hampshire Mercury
1793-1797 FN 1872
Political Observatory 11/ 1803-3/1809 FN 1872

New Jersey

City Newspaper Dates Call Number or URL
Bridgeton Washington Whig 1815-1820 FN 1872
Bridgeton East Jersey Republican 1816 FA10-NJ3
Burlington Burlington Advertiser 1790-1791 FN 1872
Burlington Burlington Gazette 1814-1817
1891
FN 1872
Burlington New Jersey Gazette 1777-1786 FN 1872
Burlington Rural Visitor 1810-1811 FN 1872
Camden Camden Gazette 1816-1822 FN 1872
Chatham New Jersey Journal 1779-11/1783 FN 1872
Elizabeth-Town Federal Republican 1803-1804 FN 1872
Elizabeth-Town New-Jersey Journal 1786-1802,1805
1809-1812
1815-1820
FN 1872
Elizabeth-Town Political Intelligencer 1783-1786 FN 1872
FN 1872
FN 1872
Gloucester Constitution and Farmers' and
Mechanics Advertiser
1834-1945 FN 1872
Jersey City The Filipino Express 11/1994- Ethnic Newswatch
Jersey City Ukrainian Weekly 1/1993- Ethnic Newswatch
Mount Pleasant Jersey Chronicle 1795-1796 FN 1872
New Brunswick Political Intelligencer 10/1783-4/1785
4/1785-5/1786
FN 1872
FN 1872
Newark Centinel of Freedom 1796-1820 FA10-NJ2
Newark Sentinel of Freedom 1796-1820 FN 1872
Newark New Jersey Telescope 1808-1809 FN 1872
Newark Newark Gazette
partially on same reel as:
Newark Gazette and
New-Jersey Advertiser
5/1799-1800
1801-1804
FN 1872
FN 1872
Newark Newark Gazette and
New-Jersey Advertiser
partially on same reel as:
Newark Gazette
11/1797-5/1799 FN 1872
Newark Star-Ledger 1996
past two weeks
Factiva
in Journalism
Newark Woods's Newark Gazette 5/1791-1794 FN 1872
Paramus Armenian Report 11/1967- Ethnic Newswatch
Totowa Italian Voice 7/1992- Ethnic Newswatch
Trenton Miscellany 1805 FN 1872
Trenton New Jersey Gazette 1778-1786 FA10-NJ1
Trenton Trenton Federalist 1807-1812
1823-1824
FN 1872
Trenton True American 1805-1806 FN 1872
Whippany New Jersey Jewish News 7/1997- Ethnic Newswatch
Whippany Metrowest Jewish News 1/1995-6/1997 Ethnic Newswatch

New Mexico

City Newspaper Dates Call Number or URL
Santa Fe Santa Fe Reporter 5/2001- Alternative PressWatch

New York

Albany
Albany Advertiser 1815-1817 FN 1872
Albany Argus 1813-1820 FN 1872
Albany Centinel 7/4/1797-1805 FN 1872
Albany Chronicle 1796-1798 FN 187
Albany Daily Advertiser 9/1815-3/1817 FN 1872
Albany Gazette 1797 FN 1872
Albany Journal 1788-1789 FN 1872
Albany Register 1794-1798,
1801-1802,
1807-1808,
1813, 1815
FN 1872
Balance 1801-1811 FN 1872
Geographical and Military 1814 FN 1872
Museum
on same reel as:
Guardian
   
Guardian 1807-1808 FN 1872
Metroland 3/2001- Alt-PressWatch
New York Gazetteer 1782-1784 FN 1872
New York Statesman
on same reel as:
Plough Boy
1820 FN 1872
Plough Boy
on same reel as:
New York Stateman
1819-1820 FN 1872
Republican Crisis 11/1806-1808 FN 1872
Amherst
Hillsboro Telegraph 1820-1822 FN 1872
Balston Spa
Balston Spa Gazette 1821-1825 FN 1872
Independent American 9/1808-5/1818 FN 1872
People's Watchtower
on same reel as:
Saratoga Sentinal
1818-1820 FN 1872
Rural Visitor
on same reel as:
Sartoga Sentinal
1812 FN 1872
Saratoga Courier
on same reel as:
Saratoga Sentinal
1815-1817 FN 1872
Saratoga Farmer
on same reel as:
Saratoga Sentinal
1821 FN 1872
Saratoga Patriot 8/1812-12/1813 FN 1872
Saratoga Register 1798 FN 1872
Saratoga Sentinal 1819-1820 FN 1872
Binghamton
Broome County Patriot 1811-1815 FN 1872
Political Olio 1813-1814 FN 1872
Brooklyn
Big Red News 10/1991-9/1992 Ethnic Newswatch
Network Journal 2/1994- Ethnic Newswatch
Buffalo
Buffalo News 11/1992-
2/12/1992-
Lexis-Nexis Academic Universe
Factiva
Polish-American Journal 1/1985- Ethnic Newswatch
Catskill
American Eagle 1808-1811 FN 1872
Catskill Packet 1792-1793 FN 1872
Cherry Valley
Cherry Valley Gazette
on same reel as:
Ostego Republican Press
1818-1820 FN 1872
Otsego Republican Press
on same reel as:
Cherry valley Gazette
1812-1813 FN 1872
Cooperstown
Cooperstown Federalist
on same reel as:
Impartial Observer
1809-1817 FN 1872
Impartial Observer
on same reel as:
Cooperstown Federalist,
& Freeman's Journal
1808-1809 FN 1872
Freemans' Journal
on same reel as:
Impartial Observer
1817-1820 FN 1872
Otsego Herald 1795-1821 FN 1872
Watchtower 1814-1819
1821-1831
FN 1872
FN 1872
Fresh Meadows
Armenian Reporter 11/1967- Ethnic Newswatch
New York Voice 3/1992- Ethnic Newswatch
Goshen
Orange County Patriot; or the
Spirit of 'Seventy Six
2/1809-1823
FN 1872
Herkimer
Bunker Hill 11/1809-8/1810 FN 1872
Herkhimer Herald 7/1808-11/1809 FN 1872
Hudson
Balance 1801-1808 FN 1872
Bee 8/1802-1808
1811-1812
FN 1872
Northern Whig 1809-1820 FN 1872
Wasp 1802-1803 FN 1872
Ithaca
American Journal
on same reel as:
Seneca Republican
1821-1823 FN 1872
Ithaca Gazette
on same reel as:
Seneca Republican
1817 FN 1872
Ithaca Herald 1836-1837 FN 1872
Ithaca Journal
includes:
Ithaca Gazette and
General Advertiser
7/1823-11/1825

11-12/1825
FN 1872

FN 1872
Ithaca Journal and General Advertiser 1830-1831 FN 1872
Republican Chronicle
on same reel as:
Seneca Republican
1820-1822 FN 1872
Seneca Republican 1815 FN 1872
Kingston
Farmers' Register 1792-1793 FN 1872
Plebian
also known as:
Plebeian
1803-1805
1814-6/1815
FN 1872
FN 1872
Ulster Plebeian 1815-1820 FN 1872
Mount Pleasant
Westchester Herald 1818-1820 FN 1872

New York
African Mail 1903-1916 FN 246
American 1800-1810 FA10-NY22
American 3/3/1819-1820 FN 1872
American Banker
(Full-Text)
Print Index
1950-
1/1987-
1980-
Business Library
ProQuest Direct
Business Reference HG 1501 .A521
American Citizen 1800-1810 FN 1872
American Minerva 1793-1797 FN 1872
Amsterdam News

(Full Text)


Print Index
past three months
past two months
3/1993-9/2001
1919-1974 and
1995-1998
1977-1981
in PRR
in Journalism
ProQuest Direct
FN 503

Butler Reference R070 In25
Argus & Greenleaf's
New Daily Advertiser
1795-1796 FN 1872
Barnard Bulletin 1901-Present Barnard College Library and full text
Barron's Chicopee
(Abstracts)
(Full-Text)

3/1975-12/1995
1/1996-

ProQuest Direct
ProQuest Direct
Black Enterprise 1978-
1994-
Business FN 1570
Ethnic Newswatch
Brooklyn Daily Eagle 1841-1902  Brooklyn Daily Eagle Online
Chronicle Express 1802-1804 FN 1872
City Record 1880-1920
1980-1995
FN 1871
Colored American 1840-1841
1837-1841
F 4629
Accessible Archives
Columbia Spectator 1877-
current paper issues
FN 458
in PRR
Columbia University Record 1975-1998
current papers
current papers
FN 4671
in PRR
at Barnard
also at Columbiana
Columbian 1809-1820 FN 1872
Columbian Gazetteer 1793-1794 FN 1872
Commercial Advertiser 10/1797-12/1820 FN 1872
Constitutional Gazette 1775-1776 FN 1872
Corrector
includes:
Remembrancer
Weekly Suspector
New York Spy
1804

1805
1806-1807
1806-1807
FN 1872
Courier 1815-1817 FN 1872
Daily Advertiser 1785-1807 FN 1872
Daily Graphic 1873-1889 FN 304
Daily News 3/1995-
12/1992-
current three months
past two weeks
past week
Lexis-Nexis Academic Universe
Factiva
in PRR
at Journalism
at Barnard
Daily Sentinel 1830-1832 F 106
Daily Worker see catalog  
El Diario/La Prensa 1/1992- Ethnic Newswatch
Diary 1792-1795
1/97-3/1897
FN 1872
Diary and Mercantile Advertiser 3-12/1797 FN 1872
Evening Post 1/2/1802- FA10-NY17
Exile
on same reel as:
Political Bulletin
1817--1818 FN 1872
Filipino Reporter 8/1991- Ethnic Newswatch
Forward 1/1994- Ethnic Newswatch
Freedom's Journal 3/1827-12/1829
1827-1829
F 1355
Accessible Archives
Gazette Francaise 1795-1799 FN 1872
Gazette of the United States 1789-1804 FN 1872
Greenleaf's NY Journal
and Patriotic Register
1795-1797 FN 1872
Herald 6/1794-9/1797 FN 1872
Impacto Latin News 6/1992- Ethnic Newswatch
Impartial Gazetteer
& Weekly Museum
1788-1817 FN 1872
Independant Gazette 1783-1784 FN 1872
Independent Journal 11/1783-1788 FN 1872
Independent New York Gazette
on same reel as:
Independant Gazette
1783 FN 1872
Independent Reflector 1752-1753 FN 1872
India Abroad 10/1988- Ethnic Newswatch
India in New York 10/1997- Ethnic Newswatch
Irish Voice 10/1991- Ethnic Newswatch
Jewish Week 1/1994- Ethnic Newswatch
Ladies Weekly Museum
on same reel as:
Youth's Newspaper
1817 FN 1872
Mercantile Advertiser 11/1798-1810
1811-12/1820
FN 1872
FN 1872
Military Monitor 8/1812-4/1814 FA10-NY13
Military Monitor and
American Register
on same reel as:
War
1812-1813 FN 1872
Minerva 1793-1797 FA10-NY6
Morning Chronicle 10/1802-6/1807 FN 1872
Mott and Hurtin's New York
Weekly Chronicle
1795 FN 1872
National Advocate 1812-1820 FN 1872
National Anti-Slavery Standard 1840-1871 F 4630
Network Journal 2/1994- Ethnic Newswatch
New Leader 1924-1950 FN 396
New Lebanese American Journal 8/1991-2/1992 Ethnic Newswatch
News India 8/1991 Ethnic Newswatch
New York Age 1905-1960 F 4538
New York Amsterdam News
(Abstract)
1919-1974, 1995-
1/1993-
past three months
past two months
1/1989-9/2001
FN 503
Ethnic Newswatch
in PRR
in Journalism
ProQuest Direct
New York Beacon 5/1993- Ethnic Newswatch
New York Chronicle 1769-1770 FN 1872
New-York Columbian 1-6/1821 FN 1872
New York Daily Advertiser 1817-1820 FN 1872
New York Daily Gazette 1788-1795 FN 1872
New York Daily News 3/1995-
past three months
past two weeks
Lexis-Nexis Academic Universe
in PRR
in Journalism
New York Evening Post 1744-1753
1794-1795
11/1801-1822
FN 1872
FN 1872
FN 1872
New York Gazette 1747-1752,
1757-1758
FN 1872
FN 1872
New York Gazette, or
Weekly Post-Boy
1769-1770 FN 1872
New York Gazette
& General Advertiser
1798-1799, 1801,
1806-1807
1809, 1812-1813
FN 1872
New York Gazette &
Weekly Journal
1768-1783 FN 1872
New York Gazette &
Weekly Mercury
1768-1783
1802-1817
FN 1872
FN 1872
New York Gazetter 1783-1787 FN 1872
New York Herald 5/1835-12/1919
Civil War years
FN 204
Accessible Archives
New York Herald Tribune 1925-4/1966 FN 204
New York Journal 1784-1793
1802-1877
FN 1872
FN 1872
New York Journal-American 7/1937-4/1966 FN 37
New York Journal or
General Advertiser
10/1766-8/1776 FN 1872
New York Mercury 1752-1768 FN 1872
New York Morning Post 1810-1812 FA10-NY4
New York Newsday 7/1985-
past three months
past two weeks
Factiva
in PRR
in Journalism
New York Observer past two weeks in Journalism
New York Packet 1783-1792 FN 1872
New York Post
General news index
Editorial index
1801-1820
1873-1921
1902-1903, 1906-1923
9/1997-
past three months
past two weeks in
FA10-NY7
FN 360
FN 360
FN 360
Factiva
in PRR
Journalism
New York Press past two months in Journalism
New York Price Current 1797-1817 FN 1872
New York Spectator 1797-1820
1821,1823-1825,1827
FA10-NY11
FN 1872
New York Spy
on same reel as:
Corrector
1806-1807 FN 1872
New York Star 1948-1949 F 108
New York Times
Printed index
9/1851-
1851-
1851-1999
1936-
6/1980-
6/1980-
past three months
past two weeks
past two weeks
FN 41
Butler Reference Index Tables
ProQuest Historical Newspapers
Barnard
Lexis-Nexis Academic Universe
Factiva
in PRR
in Journalism
in Lehman
New York Tribune
Print index
Online index
4/1841-12/1924
1875-1906
1875-1906
FN 309
Butler Reference Index Tables
Nineteenth Century Masterfile
New York Weekly Chronicle 1795 FN 1872
New York Weekly Journal 1733-1751 FN 1872
New York World Telegram & Sun 11/1935-4/1966 FN 39
Observateur Impartial
on same reel as:
Oracle
1808 FN 1872
Observer 1809-1811 FN 1872
Olio 1813-1814 FN 1872
Oracle
on same reel as:
Observateur Impartial
1808 FN 1872
Otsego 4/1795-1/1821 FA10-NY20
P.M. 6/1940-12/1948 F 107
Patron of Industry 1820-1821 FN 1872
People's Friend 1806-1807 FN 1872
People's Weekly World 4/1997- Alternative PressWatch
Political Bulletin
on same reel as:
Prisoner of Hope
1810-1811 FN 1872
Price Current 1797-1817 FN 1872
Prisoner of Hope
on same reel as:
Political Bulletin,
and Exile
1800 FN 1872
Public Advertiser 1807-1813 FN 1872
Republican Watch-Tower 1806-1809 FN 1872
Register of the Times 1796-1798
1807-1813
FN 1872
Remembrancer
on same reel as:
Corrector
1805 FN 1872
Rivington's Royal Gazette 1773-1783 FN 1872
Shamrock 1810-1817 FN 1872
Spectator 10/1797-12/1820 FN 1872
Spirit of Seventy-six 1809 FN 1872
Satesman 1812-1813 FN 1872
Sun 1870-1947 FN 310
Temple of Reason 1800-1801 FN 1872
Time Piece 1797-1798 FN 1872
United States Shopping List
on same reel as:
Spirit of 76
1810-1812 FN 1872
Variety 1990-
1933-1936
past three months
past three months
Business FN 2541
FN 84
in PRR
in Business
Village Voice 10/26/1955-
past three months
past three months
past two months
FN 457
in PRR
at Barnard
in Journalism
WWD see Women's Wear Daily    
Wall Street Journal

(Abstracts)
(Full-Text)
Print index
1889-
1889-1985
5/1973-
4/1986-
1955-
1/1984-
past three months
past three months
past two months
past two weeks
past two weeks
Business Library
ProQuest Historical Newsapapers
Lexis-Nexis Academic Universe
ProQuest Direct
Business Reference HG 1 .W15
Factiva
in Business
in PRR
at Barnard
in Journalism
in Lehman
War
on same reel as:
Military Monitor
and American Register
1812-1817 FN 1872
Washington Republican
on same reel as:
Spirit of 76
1809-1810 FN 1872
Wasp 7/1802-1/1803 FA10-NY12
Weekly Museum 1788-1817 FN1872
Weekly Suspector
on same reel as:
orrector
1806-1807 FN 1872
Weekly Visitor 11/1817-4/1820 FN 1872
FN 1872
Weekly Visitor, or,
Ladies' Miscellany
10/1802-1803 FN 1872
Western Star 1812-1813
1815
FN 1872
FN 1872
Westside News 1967 FN 1872
Weyman's Gazette 1759-1767 FA10-NY3
Women's Wear Daily 1960- Business Microfilm FN110
Working Man's Advocate 1829-1835 F 101
World 6/1860-2/1931 FN 308
World Journal Tribune 9/1966-5/1967 FN 217
Youth's Newspaper
on same reel as:
Ladies Weekly Museum
1797 FN 1872
Norwich
Chenango Weekly Advertiser 1811-1815 FN 1872
Columbian Telegraph
on same reel as:
Telegraph
1812-1813 FN 1872
Olive Branch
on same reel as:
Olica Branch (Sherburne, NY)
1808-1809 FN 1872
Republican Agriculturalist 1818-1819 FN 1872
Telegraph 1813-1814 FN 1872
Ogensburgh
St. Lawrence Gazette 1817-1818 FN 1872
Palmyra
Palmyra Register 1817-1820 FN 1872
Peterboro
Madison County Herald 1815-1818
1811-1815
FA10-NY21
FN 1872
Pittsfield
Sun 1800-1820 FN 1872
Plattsburgh
American Monitor on same reel as:
Clinton Advertiser,
and Political Observatory
1809-1810 FN 1872
Clinton Advertiser
on same reel as:
American Monitor,
and Politcal Observatory
1810-1811 FN 1872
Political Observatory
on same reel as:
American Monitor,
and Clinton Advertiser
1811 FN 1872
Republican 1811-1820 FN 1872
Poughkeepsie
Independence 1832-1834 FN 1872
Political Barometer 1810-1811 FN 1872
Poughkeepsie Journal 1785-1795 F 5263
Rochester
Frederick Douglass Paper 1851-1855 Accessible Archives
North Star 1847-1851 Accessible Archives
Rochester Telegraph 1818-1820 FN 1872
Roosevelt
Akesame Notes 1/1985- Ethnic Newswatch
Sag Harbor
Suffolk County Recorder 1816-1817 FN 1872
Suffolk Gazette 1804-1811 FN 1872
Salem
Northern Centinel 1798 FN 1872
Northern Post 1804-1806
1810-1817
FN 1872
FN 1872
Washington Patrol 5/1795-11/1795 FN 1872
Saratoga Springs
Saratoga Sentinel 1819-1822
1825-1828
FN 1872
FN 1872
Schenectady
Cabinet 7/1810-1820 FN 1872
Mohawk Mercury 2/1795-3/1798 FN 1872
Sherburne
Olive Branch
on same reel as:
Olive Branch (Norwich,NY)
1806-1808 FN 1872
Republican Messenger 1810-1811 FN 1872
Sing Sing
Hudson River Chronicle 10/1837-9/1850 FN 1872
Syracuse
Syracuse New Times 2000- Alternative PressWatch
Troy
Farmer's Register 1814-1820 FN 1872
Utica
Patrol 1815-1816 FN 1872
Patriot
on same reel as:
Utica Patriot
1803-1804 FN 1872
Utica Patriot
on same reel as:
Patriot
1804 FN 1872
Yonkers
Yonkers Gazette 1864-1893 F 5224

North Carolina

City Newspaper Dates Call Number or URL
Asheville Mountain Xpress 2000- Alternative PressWatch
Charlotte Charlotte Observer 1994- Factiva
Durham Carolina Times 5/1937-1978 FN 2250
Halifax North Carolina Journal 1792-1793,
1800-1801
FN 1872
New Bern Carolina Centinel/Sentinel 1818-1823 FN 1872
New Bern Carolina Federal Republican 1809-1813,
1817-1818
FN 1872
New Bern Morning Herald
on same reel as:
New Bern Herald,
True Republican
1807-1808 FN 1872
New Bern New Bern Herald
on same reel as:
Morning Herald
1809-1810 FN 1872
New Bern True Republican
on same reel as:
Morning Herald
1810-1811 FN 1872
Raleigh Star 11/3/1808-12/27/1810
1811-1812
FN 1872

North Dakota

Ohio

City Newspaper Dates Call Number or URL
Athens Athens News 2000- Alternative PressWatch
Cadiz Cadiz Informant
on same reel as:
Misc. reel
1818 FN 1872
Chillicothe Weekly Recorder 1814-1820 FN 1872
Cincinnati Whig
on same reel as:
Misc.Reel
1809-1810 FN 1872
Cleveland Call and Post
(Abstracts)
1992-
1/1989-7/2001
Ethnic Newswatch
ProQuest Direct
Cleveland Cleveland Jewish News 11/1995- Ethnic Newswatch
Cleveland Cleveland Scene 6/2001- Alt-PressWatch
Cleveland Plain Dealer 3/1989- Factiva
Clinton Ohio Register 1813-1815 FN 1872
Columbus Call and Post 1992- Ethnic Newswatch
Columbus Columbus Alive 1996- Alternative PressWatch
Columbus Columbus Dispatch 12/1991-
1/1992-
 
Factiva
Lexis-Nexis Academic Universe
Lancaster Independent Press
on same reel as:
Misc. Reel
1812 FN 1872
Lancaster Neue Unpartheyishe Lancaster Zeitung und
Anzeigs-Nachrichten
1789 FN 1872
Lancaster Political Observatory
and Fairfield Register
on same reel as:
Misc.Reel
1810 FN 1872
St. Clairsville Impartial Expositor 1809 FN 1872
Salem Anti-Slavery Bugle 1849-1850 F 1203
Urbana Spirit of Liberty
on same reel as:
Misc. Reel
1816 FN 1872
Williamsburgh Western American 1814-1816 FN 1872

Oklahoma

City Newspaper Dates Call Number or URL
Parkhill Cherokee Observer 1/994-12/1999 Ethnic Newswatch
Tahlequah Cherokee Advocate 2/1992-9/2000 Ethnic Newswatch
Tahlequah Cherokee Phoenix 1/2001- Ethnic Newswatch
Tulsa Native American Times 4/2001- Ethnic Newswatch
Tulsa Oklahoma Indian Times 2/2000- Ethnic Newswatch

Oregon

City Newspaper Dates Call Number or URL
Eugene Eugene Weekly 9/2000- Alternative PressWatch
Pendleton Confederated Umatilla
Journal
8/1997- Ethnic Newswatch
Portland The Asian Reporter 1/2000- Ethnic Newswatch
Portland Oregonian 7/1989- Factiva
Portland Portland Skanner 10/1991- Ethnic Newswatch

Pennsylvania

Ashland
An Scathan 3/1995-6/1998 Ethnic Newswatch
Bedford
True American
on same reel as:
Armstrong True Republican
1813-1815 FN 1872
Brownsville
American Telegraph 4/1814-3/4/1818 FN 1872
Carlisle
Carlisle Gazette 1785-1817 FN 1872
Carlisle Republican
on same reel as:
Democratic Republican
1819- FN 1872
Freyheit's-Fahne 1814-1817 FN 1872
Spirit of the Times
& Carlisle Gazette
on same reel as:
Democratic Republican
1817-1819 FA10-PA21
Chambersburg
Democratic Republican
on same reel as:
Carlisle Republican,
and Spirit of the Times
1815-1817 FN 1872
Farmers' Register 1798-1799 FN 1872
Chestnut Hill
Chestnuthiller Wochenschrift 1790-1793 FN 1872
Dingman's Ferry: Country
Road Chronicles
9/1997- Ethnic Newswatch
Wochenscrift 1790-1794 FN 1872
Doylestown
Pennsylvannia Correspondent and
Farmer's Advertiser
1804-1805
1806-1807
FN 1872
FN 1872
Easton
Pennsylvania Herald 1808-1810 FN 1872
Greensberg
Greensberg and Indiana Register 1812-1816 FN 1872
Harrisburg
Chronicle
or Harrisburg Visitor
1813-1814 FN 1872
Oracle of Dauphin, and
Harrisburgh Advertiser
1799-1802 FN 1872
Kittanning
Armstrong True American
on same reel as:
True Republican
1813 FN 1872
Lancaster
Deutsche Porcupein 1798-1799 FN 1872
Neue Unpartheische Lancaster Zeitung
und Anzeigs-Nachrichten
1787-1788 FN 1872
Pennsylvania Packet 1777-1778 FN 1872
Der Wahre Amerikaner 1804-1811 FN 1872
Lebanon
Weltbothe
on same reel as:
Amerikanischer Beobacter
1809-1811 FN 1872
Newton Square
Star of Freedom 1817-1818 FN 1872
Philadelphia
American Herald
on same reel as:
Royal penn Gazette
1784 FN 1872
American Weekly Mercury 1714-1746 FN 1872
American Star 1794 FN 1872
Amerkanischer Beobachter
on same reel as:
Weltbothe
1808-1811 FN 1872
Aurora 1-11/1924 FN 994
Aurora. General Advertiser 1794-1795,
1798,
1804-1805
FN 1872
Carey's U.S. Recorder
on same reel as:
Constitutional Diary
1798 FN 1872
Christian Recorder 1861-1870 Accessible Archives
Claypool's American Daily 1796-1800 FN 1872
Advertiser
Constitutional Diary
on same reel as:
Carey's U.S. Recorder
1799-1800 FN 1872
Constitutional Diary and
Philadelphia Evening Advertiser
12/1799-2/1800 FA10-PA22
Corrector
on Misc.Reel
1814 FN 1872
Courier de L'Amerique
on Misc.Reel
1792-1793 FN 1872
Democratic Press 3-12/1807, 1813 FN 1872
Deutsche Porcupein 1798-1799 FN 1872
Dunlap's American Daily
Advertiser
1791-1795 FN 1872
Federal Gazette 1788-1793 FN 1872
Freeman's Journal 4/1781-5/1792 FN 1872
Finlay's American Naval
and Commercial Register
1795-1798 FN 1872
Gazette of the United States 1789-1804 FN 1872
General Advertiser 10/1790-11/1794 FN 1872
Grotjan's Public Sale Report 5/1812-1820 FN 1872
Herald of Gospel Liberty
on same reel as:
Herald of Gospel
(Portsmouth, NH,&
Portland, ME)
1808-1816 FN 1872
Independent Gazetteer 1782-1796
1800-1801
FN 1872
FN 1872
Independent Whig
on Misc.Reel
1802 FN 1872
Jewish Exponent 9/1991- Ethnic Newswatch
Level of Europe &
North America
1794-1796 FN 1872
Library
on same reel as:
Whig Chronicle
1804-1805 FN 1872
Literary Intelligencer
on same reel as:
Misc.Reel
1807 FN 1872
Mail 1791 FN 1872
Miscellaneous Titles various dates FN 1872
Miscellaneous Titles various dates FA10-PA26
Miscellaneous Titles various dates FN 1872
National Gazette 1791-1793
4/1820-12/1820
FA10-PA1
FN 1872
Pelican
on Misc.Reel
1805-1807 FN 1872
Pennsylvania Chronicle 1767-1774 FN 1872
Pennsylvania Evening Herald 1/1785-2/1788 FN 1872
Pennsylvania Evening Post 1775-1784 FN 1872
Pennsylvania Freeman 1836-1854 F 2002
Pennsylvania Ledger 1775-1778 FN 1872
Pennsylvania Gazette 1742-1747,
1754-1757
1770-1773
FN 1872
Pennsylvania Gazette 1728-1800 Accessible Archives
Pennsylvania Mercury 8/1784-3/1792 FN 1872
Philadelphia Minerva 1795-1798 FN 1872
Pennsylvania Packet 1771-1790 FN 1872
Pennsylvanische Fama 1748-1751 FN 1872
Philadelphia City Paper 2001- Alternative PressWatch
Philadelphia Evening Post 1804 FN 1872
Philadelphia Gazette 1794-1802 FN 1872
Philadelphia Gazette
and Daily Advertiser
10/1788-1783 FA10-PA2
Philadelphia Inquirer 10/1994-
past three months
Factiva
in PRR
Philadelphia Literary Reporter
on Misc.Reel
1809 FN 1872
Philadelphia Minerva 1795-1798 FA10-PA1
Philadelphia Public Sale Report 5/1812-12/1820 FA10-PA24
Philadelphia Repository 1800-1804 FN 1872
Philadelphia Tribune 10/1991- Ethnic Newswatch
Political and Commercial Register 7-12/1804 FN 1872
Porcupine's Gazette 1797-1800 FN 1872
Poulson's American Daily Advertiser 1800-1820 FN 1872
Relf's Philadelphia
Price Current
(on misc. reel)
1801 FN 1872
Royal Pennsylvania Gazette
on same reel as:
American Herald,
Scott's Phila.Price-
Current
1778 FN 1872
Scott's Philadelphia Price-
Current
on same reel as:
Royal Pennsylvannia
Gazette
1813 FN 1872
Southwark Gazette
(om misc.reel)
1797 FN 1872
Spirit of the Press 1805-1813 FN 1872
Star of Liberty
(on misc.reel)
1812 FN 1872
Story and Humphrey's
Pennsylvania Mercury
(on misc.reel)
1775 FN 1872
Temple of Reason
(w/NY Temple of Reason)
1801-1803 FN 1872
Tickler 1807-1813 FN 1872
Universal Gazette 1797-1800 FN 1872
United States' Gazette 1804-1809 FN 1872
Voice of the Nation 1813-1814 FN 1872
Whig Chronicle
on same reel as:
Library
1812 FN 1872
Wochenliche Philadelphische
Staatsbote
1762-1779 FN 1872
Pittsburgh
Jewish Chronicle 3/2000- Ethnic Newswatch
New Pittsburgh Courier 8/1991- Ethnic Newswatch
Pittsburgh Courier
Print Index
1/1923-
1977-1981
FN 32
Butler Reference R070 In25
Pittsburgh Post-Gazette 6/1924-8/1924
7/1990-
FN 265
Factiva
Reading
Readinger Adler 1796-1825 FN 1872
Weekly Advertiser of Reading 5/1796-1797 FN 1872
Weltbothe
on same reel as:
Amerikanischer Beobacter
1810-1820 FN 1872
Shippensburg
Spirit of the Times
Democratic Republican
1817 FN 1872
Sunbury
Nordwestliche Post
on same reel as:
Northumberland Republicaner
1818-1822 FA10-PA16
Northumberland Republicaner
on same reel as:
Nordwestliche Post
1812-1818 FN 1872
Washington
Herald of Liberty 1798-1802 FN 1872
Reporter 8/1808-1811 FN 1872
Westchester
Village Record 1818-1820 FN 1872
Wilkes Barre
Gleaner
on same reel as:
Gleaner and Lucern Advertiser
8/1812-1814 FN 1872
Gleaner and Lucern Advertiser
on same reel as: Gleaner
1811-1812 FN 1872

Rhode Island

Bristol
Mount Hope Eagle 1807-1808 FN 1872
Newport
Companion
on same reel as:
Rhode Island Museum
1798-1799 FN 1872
Gazette Francoise
on same reel as:
Rhode Island Gazette
1780-1781 FN 1872
Guardian of Liberty
on same reel as:
Rhode Island Museum
1800-1801 FN 1872
Newport Gazette 1777-10/1779 FN 1872
Newport Herald
on same reel as:
Rhode Island Gazette
1787-1791 Fn 1872
Newport Mercury 1758-1848 FN 1872
Rhode Island Gazette
includes:
Gazette Francoise,and
Newport Herald
1732-1733 FN 1872
Rhode Island Museum
includes:
Companion, and
Guardian of Liberty
1794 FN 1872
Rhode Island Republican
also known as:
Rhode-Island Republican
1801-1804
1809-1839
1818-1820
1840-1841
FN 1872

FA10-RI1
FN 1872
Providence
American
on same reel as:
Rhode Island American
1808-1833 FN 1872
American Journal 1779-1781 FN 1872
Columbian Phoenix 1808-1814 FN 1872
Manufacturer's and Farmer's Journal 12/8-12/1820 FN 1872
Providence Gazette 1762-1825 FN1872
Providence Journal
on same reel as:
State Gazette
1799-1801 FN 1872
Providence Patriot 1802-1819
1814-1829
FA10-RI5
FN 1872
Providence Phoenix 1803-1808 FN 1872
Religious Intelligencer 5/1820-11/1820 FN 1872
Rhode Island American
on same reel as:
American
1809-1833 FN 1872
Rhode Island Farmer
on same reel as:
State Gazette
1804-1805 FN 1872
Rhode Island Republican 1826-1830 FN 1872
State Gazette
on same reel as:
Rhode Island Farmer
1796 FN 1872
United States Chronicle 1783-1804 FN 1872
Warren
Bristol County Register 1809-1810 FN 1872
Herald of the United States 1792-1793 FN 1872

South Carolina

Charleston
Canden Gazette 1818-1822 FN 1872
Carolina Gazette 1798-1805
1808-1813
FN 1872
FN 1872
Charleston Courier 1812-1814 FN 1872
Charleston Evening Gazette 1785-1786 FN 1872
Charleston Mercury 1822-1845
Civil War years
FN 252
Accessible Archives
Charleston Morning Post 1786-1787 FN 1872
Chronicle of Liberty
on same reel as:
Misc.Reel
1783 FN 1872
City Gazette 1787-1788
1791-1794
1796-1805
FN 1872
City Gazette and
Commercial Daily Advertiser
7/1810-1824
1826-1829
FN 1872
FN 1872
City Gazette and
Daily Advertiser
1795
1806-6/1810
FN 1872
City Gazette, or
Daily Advertise
1790 FN 1872
City of Washington Gazette 1817-1820 FN 1872
Columbian Herald 1784-1796 FN 1872
Charleston Daily Courier 1803-1873 F 2588
Daily Evening Gazette
on same reel as:
Misc.Reel
1795 FN 1872
Echo de Sud
on same reel as:
Misc.Reel
1801 FN 1872
Evening Courier
on same reel as:
Misc.Reel
1798 FN 1872
Gazette of the State
of South Carolina
1732-1780 F 2041
Investigator 8/1812-2/1814 FN 1872
Oracle 1807 FN 1872
Royal Gazette 1781-1782 F 2044
Royal South Carolina Gazette 1780-1782 F 2043
South Carolina and American General Gazette 1759-1781 F 2043
South Carolina Gazette
and Country Journal
1765-1775 F 2042
South Carolina Gazette and
General Advertiser
1783-1785 FN 1872
South Carolina State Gazette 1794 FN 1872
South Carolina State Gazette
and Timothy's Daily Advertiser
1794, 1799-1800
1802
FN 1872
South Carolina Weekly Advertiser
on same reel as:
Misc.Reel
1783 FN 1872
South Carolina Weekly Gazette 1758-1765
2/1783-1/1786
FN 1872
Southern Patriot 1814-1818 FN 1872
State Gazette of South Carolina 1785,1787
1791-1793
FN 1872
Strength of the People 1809-1810 FN 1872
Telegraph
on same reel as:
Misc.Reel
1795 FN 1872
Columbia
Columbia Gazette
on same reel as:
Misc.Reel
1794 FN 1872
South Carolina Gazette
on same reel as:
Misc.Reel
1792-1793 FN 1872
Edgefield
Anti-Monarchist
on same reel as:
Misc.Reel
1811-1815 FN 1872
Southern Evangelical Intelligencer 3/1819-12/1820 FN 1872
Southern Patriot & Commercial Advertiser 1821 FN 1872
Georgetown
Georgetown Gazette 5/1798-1800 FN 1872
South Carolina Independent Gazette
on same reel as:
Misc.Reel
1791-1796 FN 1872
Winyau Intelligencer
on same reel as:
Misc.Reel
1817-1820 FN 1872
Greenville
South Carolina/misc. titles 1758-1820 FN 1872
Pendleton
Miller's Weekly Messenger 1807-1811 FN 1872
Pendleton Messenger 1813-1820 FN 1872

South Dakota

City Newspaper Dates Call Number or URL
Aberdeen Aberdeen Saturday Pioneer 1890-1891 FN 78
Rapid City Indian Country Today 1993- Ethnic Newswatch

Tennessee

City Newspaper Dates Call Number or URL
Carthage Carthage Gazette
on same reel as:
Western Express
1808-1817 FN 1872
Carthage Western Express 1808 FN 1872
Clarksville Clarksville Gazette
on same reel as:
Town Gazette
1819-1820 FN 1872
Clarksville Tennessee Weekly Chronicle
on same reel as:
Tennessee Herald
1819 FN 1872
Clarksville Town Gazette 1819 FN 1872
Clarksville Weekly Chronicle
on same reel as:
Tennessee Herald
1818 FN 1872
Memphis Memphis New Flyer 5/2000- Alt-PressWatch
Memphis Tri State Defender 11/1994 Ethnic Newswatch
Nashville Nashville Gazette 5/1819-1820 FN 1872
Nashville Review 1809-1811 FN 1872
Nashville Tennessee Gazette 2/1800-1804 FN 1872
Nashville Tennessee Gazette and
Metro-District Advertiser
1805-5/1807 FN 1872
Nashville The Tennessee Tribune 2/1995 Ethnic Newswatch
Rogersville Western Pilot
on same reel as:
Review (Nashville)
1815 FN 1872
Shelbyville Tennessee Herald 1817-1819 FN 1872

Texas

City Newspaper Dates Call Number or URL
Austin Texas Observer 2000- Alternative PressWatch
Dallas El Sol de Texas 10/1991- Ethnic Newswatch
Dallas Dallas Morning News 8/1994- Factiva
Dallas Dallas Observer 6/2001 Alt-PressWatch
Fort Worth El Informador Hispano 3/1992-10/1993 Ethnic Newswatch
Fort Worth Fort Worth Star-Telegram 12/1990- Factiva
Fort Worth Fort Worth Weekly 6/2001 Alternative PressWatch
Galveston Galveston Daily News 1849-1932 FN 102
Galveston Galveston Tri-Weekly News 1855-1867 F 1358
Houston Houston Chronicle
(Full-Text)
2/1985-
1/1985-
9/1991-
Factiva
ProQuest Direct
Lexis-Nexis Academic Universe
Houston Houston Post
(Abstract)
3/1989-4/1995 ProQuest Direct
Houston Houston Press 7/2001- Alt-PressWatch
Houston La Voz de Houston 4/1992- Ethnic Newswatch
San Antonio La Prensa de San Antonio 10/1991- Ethnic Newswatch
San Antonio San Antonio Current 1/2001- Alternative PressWatch
San Antonio San Antonio Express-News 2/1994-6/1998 Factiva
San Antonio El Informador Hispano 3/1992-10/1993 Ethnic Newswatch

Utah

City Newspaper Dates Call Number or URL
Salt Lake City Salt Lake City Weekly
7/2001- Alternative PressWatch

Vermont

Bellows Falls
Bellows Falls Intelligencer
on same reel as:
Vermont Intelligencer and
Bellows Falls Advertiser
2-12/1822 FN 1872
Vermont Intelligencer 1817-1820 FN 1872
Vermont Intelligencer and
Bellows Falls Advertiser
on same reel as:
Bellows Falls Ingelligencer
1821-1/1822 FN 1872
Bennington
Bennington News-letter 3/1811-8/1815 FN 1872
Epitome of the World
on same reel as:
Tablet of the Times
1807 FN 1872
Green Mountain Farmer 1809-1816 FN 1872
Ploughman 1801-1802 FN 1872
Tablet of the Times
on same reel as:
Epitome of the World,
World
1797 FN 1872
Vermont Gazette 1783-1830 FN 1872
World
on same reel as:
Tablet of the Times
1807-1809 FN 1872
Bennington Falls
Vermont Gazette 1783-1870
1816-1820
1843-1844
FA10-VT4
FA10-VT4
FN 1872
Brattleboro
American Yoeman 1817-1818 FN 1872
Federal Galaxy
& Vermont Federal Galaxy
1799-1803 FN 1872
Independent Inquirer 9/1833-9/1834 FN 1872
Reporter 1803-1820 FN 1872
Vermont Federal Galaxy 8/1-10/31-1800 FN 1872
Burlington
American Repertory 1821-2/1822 FN 1872
American Repertory
& Advertiser
2/1822-3/1823 FN 1872
Burlington Gazette 1814-1817
1819
FN 1872
FN 1872
Centinel 12/1812-1815 FN 1872
Vermont Centinel
(Northern Centinel)
1801-1805
12/1810-1812
1808-1810
1816-1818
FN 1872
FN 1872
Chester
Green Mountain Palladium 1807-1808 FN 1872
Christian Herald
on same reel as:
St. Albans Advertiser
9/1815-10/1816 FN 1872
Christian Messenger
on same reel as:
St. Albans Advertiser
1816-1819 FN 1872
Danville
North Star 1817-1826 FN 1872
Middlebury
Columbian Patriot 1813-1815 FN 1872
Middlebury Gazette 1801-1810 FA10-VT3
Middlebury Mercury 1801-1810 FN 1872
National Standard 1815-1820 FN 1872
Religious Reporter 1820 FN 1872
Vermont Mirror 1812-1816 FN 1872
Montpelier
Vermont Precursor 1806-1807 FN 1872
Watchman 1807-1808 FN 1872
Peacham
Green Mountain Patriot 2/1798-1/1810 FN 1872
Rutland
Farmers' Library
on same reel as:
Herald of Vermont
1793-1794 FN 1872
Herald of Vermont
on same reel as:
Farmer's Library
1792 FN 1872
Rutland Herald 1794-1800
1802-1803
1806-1808
FN 1872
FN 1872
FN 1872
Rutland Vermont Herald 1808,1810 FN 1872
Rutland Herald 1810-1811
1813
FN 1872
FN 1872
Vermont Courier 1808-1810 FN 1872
Vermont Mercury 1802-1804 FN 1872
St. Albans
Champlain Reporter
on same reel as:
St Albans Advertiser
5/1809-6/1810 FN 1872
Franklin County Advertiser
on same reel as:
St Albans Advertiser
7/1810-10/1810 FN 1872
St. Albans Advertiser 1808-1809 FN 1872
Vermont State Paper 1835-1836 FN 1872
Vergennes
Vergennes Gazette 1798-1801 FN 1872
Windsor
Morning Ray 1791-1792 FN 1872
Post-Boy 1805-1807 FN 1872
Spooner's Vermont Journal 3/1792-1798
1801-1806
1809-1810
1815-1816
FN 1872
FN 1872
FN 1872
FN 1872
Vermont Journal 1783-1791
1/1794-12/1798
FN 1872
FN 1872
Vermont Journal and
Universal Advertiser
1/1792-3/1792 FN 1872
Vermont Republican 1811-1814
1817-1818
FN 1872
Vermont Repulican and
American Yeoman
1819-1820 FN 1872
Washingtonian 1810-1816 FN 1872
Windsor Federal Gazette 3/1801-1804 FN 1872
Woodstock
Woodstock Observer 1820-1822 FN 1872
Woodstock Observer, and
Windsor and Orange
County Gazette
1823-1830 FN 1872

Virginia

Alexandria
Alexandria Advertiser 1797-1820 FN 1872
Alexandria Advertiser Times
and DC Daily Advertiser
4/1797-7/1802 FN 1872
Alexandria Expositor 11/1802-6/1804 FN 1872
Alexandria Gazette 6/1808-1820 FN 1872
Alexandria Gazette and
Daily Advertiser
on same reel as:
Alexandria Gazette
and Advertiser
1-3/1822 FN 1872
Alexandria Gazette and
Advertiser
on same reel as:
Alexandria Gazette
and Daily Advertiser
4/1822-1823 FN 1872
Alexandria Herald 1811-1812,
1814-1819
FN 1872
FN 1872
Alexandria Times 1797-1820 FA10-VA3
Columbian Advertiser 1802 FN 1872
Louisiana Advertiser 1819-1820 FN 1872
Louisiana Herald 1819-1820 FN 1872
Louisiana Planter 1810 FN 1872
Louisiana Rambler 1818 FN 1872
Arlington
USA Today
(Full-Text)
past two weeks
4/1987-
1989-
4/1987-
in Journalism
ProQuest Direct
Lexis-Nexis Academic Universe
Factiva
Leesburg
Genius of Liberty 1817-1820 FN 1872
True American 1798-1800 FN 1872
Washingtonian 1808-1820 FN 1872
Norfolk
American Beacon 1815-1820 FN 1872
American Citizen 1800-1810 FN 1872
New Journal & Guide
(Abstract)
(1/1989-9/2001) ProQuest Direct
Virginia Chronicle 1792-1794 FN 1872
Richmond
Afro-American and
Richmond Planet
1938-1969 FN 2251
Richmond Dispatch 1852-1902 FN 255
Richmond Enquirer 5/1804-1827,
1834, 1836,
1838-1840
FN 1872

Richmond Enquirer 1804-1867
Civil War years
FN 200
Accessible Archives
Virginia Gazette 1736-1780 F 109
Virginia Patriot 12/1809-1811 FN 1872
Miscellaneous titles 1789-1821 FA10-VA5
Warrenton
Palladium of Liberty 1817-1820 FN 1872
Williamsburg
Virginia Gazette 9/1736-9/1746
1736-1780
FN 1872
FA10-VA5
F109
Virginia/misc. titles 1789-1820 FN1872

Washington

City Newspaper Dates Call Number or URL
Seattle International Examiner 2/1992- Ethnic Newswatch
Seattle North American Post 5/1997- Ethnic Newswatch
Seattle Northwest Asian Weekly 5/1993- Ethnic Newswatch
Seattle Northwest Nikkei 8/1993-4/1994 Ethnic Newswatch
Seattle Seattle Skanner 10/1991- Ethnic Newswatch
Seattle Seattle Times 1/1990-
10/1984-
Lexis-Nexis Academic Universe
Factiva

West Virginia

City Newspaper Dates Call Number or URL
Charleston Farmers' Repository 1808-1820 FN 1872

Wisconsin

City Newspaper Dates Call Number or URL
Hayward News From Indian Country 3/1985- Ethnic Newswatch
Hayward Ojibwe Akiing 12/1996- Ethnic Newswatch
Milwaukee Milwaukee Journal 1884-1988 FN 256
Milwaukee Milwaukee Journal-Sentinel 1/1990- Factiva

Wyoming

City Newspaper Dates Call Number or URL
Lander Wind River News 12/1991- Ethnic Newswatch

Selected Newspaper Databases

The following databases were used to compile this checklist of U.S. Newspapers in the Columbia University Libraries:

  • Alt-PressWatch
    Provides full text access to the newspapers, magazines, journals and newsletters of the alternative and independent press. Titles include Anarcho-Syndicalist Review, Chicago Reader, Dissent, Off Our Backs, Poverty & Race.
  • Factiva
    Provides the full text of thousands of newspapers, magazines, and trade and industry publications. It is the only online source for the full text of The Wall Street Journal.
  • Ethnic Newswatch
    Includes some 200 newspapers and magazines, with full text coverage extending back to 1991 in most cases.
  • Lexis-Nexis Academic Universe
    Provides full-text access to U.S. and foreign newspapers, magazines, and wire service stories, as well as a wealth of business and legal information. It is available via the Web for all current Columbia affiliates.
  • ProQuest Direct
    An interdisciplinary full-text periodicals database, incorporating ABI Inform Global, Periodicals Abstracts, and Newspaper Abstracts into a web-accessible database that includes page images for some titles. ProQuest Direct is available via the Web for all current Columbia affiliates.

Other Newspaper-Related Websites

  • AJR Newslink
    An extensive list of some 5,000 newspapers, maintained by the American Journalism Review. Scope is world-wide, with most publications from the US.
  • E-News
    A guide to online news resources maintained by the Columbia Journalism Librarian.
  • New York Newspaper Project
    Identifies, describes, preserves, and makes available to researchers the significant newspapers in all communities in New York State since the first publication in 1725. This site is maintained by the New York State Library in Albany, and includes a checklist of New York papers available throughout the state, including the considerable holdings at New York Public Library.