A Sampler of Basic Resources
Below are a few of the main resources for doing research in American History. All of them cover a significant amount of material that concerns the history of New York City. In order to identify and explore further resources in American history that may be useful to your New York City history research, see the Subject Guide for American History & American Studies.
- America: History and Life
Covers writings about the history and culture of United States and Canada from prehistory through the recent past. Provides brief summaries of journal articles and book articles, as well as listings for book reviews, media reviews, and dissertations. Also provides links to full text for selected journal articles.
- American Periodicals Series Online
Provides searchable full text and page images for more than 1,100 American magazines and journals that originated between 1741 and 1900. Derived from the American Periodicals Series microform collection.
- Archive of Americana
Comprehensive historical collections, containing books, pamphlets, broadsides, newspapers, government documents and ephemera. Collections include: American broadsides and ephemera, seriesI; Early American imprints, series I: Evans, 1639-1800; Early American imprints, series II: Shaw-Shoemaker, 1801-1819; America's Historical Newspapers, and government publications including American state papers, 1789-1838; and U.S. Congressional serial set, 1817-1980.
- Archives USA: Integrated Collection and Repository Information
A directory of archives and manuscript repositories, with some links to web pages for the repositories and to online finding aids. Indexes the microfilm collection, National Inventory of Documentary Sources, and reproduces the entries in the National Union Catalog of Manuscript Collections (NUCMC). Searchable by: collection name; city; state; National Inventory of Documentary Sources (NIDS) number; and National Union Catalog of Manuscript Collections (NUCMC) number.
- Proquest Historical Newspapers
Full-text and full-image articles, dating back to their first issues, for the following newspapers: the New York Times (1851-2001), the Wall Street Journal (1889-1987), the Washington Post (1877-1988), the Atlanta Constitution (1868-1925), the Boston Globe (1872-1922), the Chicago Tribune (1890-1946), and the Los Angeles Times (1881-1984).
NOTE: If you do not wish to search all of these newspapers simultaneously: click on "Select Multiple Databases"; scroll down to the Historical Databases; and de-select newspapers as you wish.