Russia & the Commonwealth of Independent States


Resources marked with this symbol are restricted to Columbia affiliates.

Current Information Sources

This is a short list of factual information sources on political, economic and social aspects of Russia and the former Soviet Union; all are located in the Reference area of the Lehman Library unless another location is given. Please contact ref-global@columbia.edu for more help.

  • Country profile [Economist Intelligence Unit].
    Annual. 1986/87- .
    Baltic Republics - CLIO record
    Georgia, Armenia, Azerbaijan, Central Asian republics - CLIO record
    Russia - CLIO record
    Ukraine, Belarus, Moldova - CLIO record
    See also: Economist Intelligence Unit Country Data
  • Country report. Commonwealth of Independent States [Economist Intelligence Unit]. Quarterly. 1986- .
    CLIO record
  • Current digest of the post-Soviet press. Weekly. 1949- .
    CLIO record
  • Daily report. Central Eurasia/FBIS. 1992- .
    CLIO record
  • Diller, Daniel C. Russia and the independent states.
    CLIO record
  • Eastern Europe and the Commonwealth of Independent States. Biennial. 1992- .
    CLIO record
  • Handbook of political science research on the USSR and Eastern Europe: trends from the 1950s to the 1990s.
    CLIO record
  • Handbook of reconstruction in Eastern Europe and the Soviet Union.
    CLIO record
  • One nation becomes many: the Access guide to the former Soviet Union.
    CLIO record
  • Pockney, B. P. Soviet statistics since 1950.
    CLIO record
  • RFE/RL research report. [Continues: Report on the USSR] Weekly. 1992- .
    CLIO record
  • Soviet analyst. Semi-monthly. 1982- .
    CLIO record
  • Statistical handbook: states of the former USSR. Annual. 1992- .
    CLIO record
  • Summary of world broadcasts. Pt. 1: Former USSR. Daily, with weekly economic report. 1959-2001.
    CLIO record
  • USSR facts and figures annual. 1977- .
    CLIO record
  • Wilson, Andrew. Russia and the commonwealth A to Z.
    CLIO record

For individual countries, see the Area Handbook Series prepared by the Library of Congress and sponsored by the Department of the Army. You can locate series volumes in CLIO under title Area Handbook Series and under individual title, [Name of Country], a country study. Current editions are in the Reference area, in paper and on Countries of the World CD-ROM.

Current Literature Sources

This is a short list of important bibliographies and indexes to help you find books, articles and other printed materials on Russia and the former Soviet Union. All are located in the Reference area unless another location is given. Please contact ref-global@columbia.edu for more help.

  • American bibliography of Slavic and East European studies. Annual. 1956-.
    CLIO record
  • European bibliography of Soviet, East European and Slavonic studies. Annual. 1975- .
    CLIO record
  • Horak, Stephan M. Russia, the USSR and Eastern Europe: a bibliographic guide to English language publications, 1964-74, and supplements, 1975-80, 1981-85.
    CLIO record (1964-1974)
    CLIO record (1975-1980)
  • Index to U.S. government periodicals. Quarterly. 1970-1987.
    CLIO record
  • International bibliography of the social sciences: political science. Annual. 1952- .
    CLIO record
  • International political science abstracts. Bimonthly. 1951- .
    CLIO record
  • Official publications of the Soviet Union and Eastern Europe, 1945-80: a select annotated bibliography. Ed. by Gregory Walker.
    CLIO record
  • PAIS international. Monthly. 1915- .
    CLIO record (monthly)
    CLIO record (annual cumulated volumes)
  • Sage public administration abstracts. Quarterly. 1974-.
    CLIO record
  • Social sciences citation index. Triannual. 1956-.
    CLIO record
  • Social sciences index. Quarterly. 1974-.
    CLIO record

For individual countries, see the World Bibliographical Series published by ABC-CLIO. You can locate them in CLIO under title World Bibliographical Series, then under country name.

For individual countries, see the World Bibliographical Series published by ABC- CLIO. You can locate them in CLIO under title World Bibliographical Series, then under country name.

U.S. Government Documents in Lehman Library has reports on international and domestic affairs published by the United States government, as well as collections of statistical publications from international organizations, and declassified documents.