Comparative Politics: Information Resources
- CLIO: Columbia Libraries Online Catalog
CLIO is the online catalog for the Columbia and Barnard libraries. It includes over 4 million records for books, journal or newspaper titles (not articles), online resources, government documents, microforms, sound or video recordings, archival collections, etc.
- Digital Dissertations
Access to almost all American dissertations accepted at an accredited institution since 1861. Abstracts are included for doctoral dissertation records from July 1980 to the present In addition, the full text of dissertations published since 1997 (and some from earlier dates) is available.
- Pegasus: Columbia University Law School Library Online Catalog
Pegasus includes: U.S. federal and state law, selected Commonwealth jurisdictions, major foreign language collections and, since 1983, vernacular and Western language materials pertaining to law in Japan and the People's Rep. of China.
An online catalog of the collections of 24,000 member libraries of the OCLC consortium, comprising more than 36 million records for books, serials, manuscript collections, audiovisual materials, computer files, and other media.
- Borrow Direct
A borrowing service offered by the university libraries of Columbia, Brown, Cornell, Dartmouth, Pennsylvania, Princeton, and Yale. It is designed to allow students, faculty and staff to request (and receive in four days) books directly from each other's collections.
Country & Regional Sources
- Background Notes - U.S. Department of State
Brief profiles of most countries of the world. Includes information on government type and structure, names of major government officials, and an overview of foreign relations.
- Chiefs of State and Cabinet Members of Foreign Governments
A country-by-country directory listing heads of state and major government officials.
- Country Studies - Library of Congress
Book-length country profiles previously published in hardcover by the Library of Congress between 1988 and 1998.
- CountryWatch forcast
A globally integrated 5-year macroeconomic forecast for each country of the world.
- Economist Intelligence Unit
Includes country-specific reports covering such topis as: political background, recent political events and developments, presidential succession, political forces, and key political figures.
- Europa World Plus
Political, economic, historical, and geographic profiles of 250+ countries and global regions. Search or browse by country, region, organization, or people.
- The Oxford Companion to Politics of the World. Joel Krieger, Ed. in Chief. 2nd ed.
New York: Oxford University Press, 2001.
Call Number: JA61 .O95 2001 (copies available in multiple locations)
- Political Parties of the World. 6th ed.
London : John Harper, 2005
Call Number: JF2051 .D39 2005g
- PARLINE Database
Information about parliaments in over 190 countries
- Political Handbook of the world
Contains entries on countries and territories around the world. It covers each country's political parties and includes names of key ambassadors, international memberships, and profiles intergovernmental organizations.
- The WWW Virtual Library
Contains over 2000 carefully selected, annotated links in 37 categories.
- Africa Wide - NiPAD
Combines bibliographic databases from around the world to form a multidisciplinary aggregation offering unique and extensive coverage of all facets of Africa and African studies.
Contains citations, abstracts and full text to economic research dating back to 1969.
- Historical Abstracts
Covers the history of the world from 1450 to the present.
- International Bibliography of the Social Sciences
Core social sciences and related materials from over 100 countries in more than 90 languages. Coverage 1951 to the present.
- International Political Science Abstracts
Citations, mostly with abstracts, 1989 to the present. Updated quarterly.
Provides page images of back issues of the core scholarly journals in the field of Political Science from the earliest issues to within a few years of current publication.
- Left Index
Provides a diverse literature of the left, including on politics and economics.
- PAIS Archive & International
Includes references to journal articles, books, government documents, statistical sources, grey literature, research reports, conference proceedings, and publications of international agencies, originally published in the PAIS Bulletin, 1915 to the present.
- Social Sciences Full text
Citations from 1983 to the present with abstracts starting in 1994. Updated monthly.
- Social Sciences Citation Index
Bibliographic information and cited references in articles in social sciences journals. Coverage 1965 to the present.
- Women in Politics Bibliographic Database
Citations to books, reports and journal articles, from the Inter-Parliamentary Union.
- Worldwide Political Science Abstracts
Provides access to citations and abstracts of journal articles appearing in ca 1000 political science journals. Coverage 1975 to the present.
- DSSC Data Service - Columbia University
Operated jointly by Columbia University Information Technology (CUIT) and Columbia University Libraries, EDS provides access to a wide variety of numerical data resources and services. EDS is located in Room 215 of Lehman Library, and staff members can provide guidance and instruction.
- Statistical Sources: Print & Internet
References and links to some of the many tools for finding and using statistical information, both in print and on the internet. Especially useful for comparative politics is the page on International Statistics
- Book review index plus
An index to book reviews from approximately 600 scholarly and popular English-language jounals with links to more than 630,000 full-text reviews
- International bibliography of book reviews : IBR
An interdisciplinary index to book reviews published in scholarly journals, primarily in the social sciences and the humanities, including many European journals.
- Law & Politics Book Review
Sponsored by the Law and Courts Section of the American Political Science Association, it provides thematic essays that address important substantive, theoretical, or methodological issues about the legal process and politics.
- Political ReviewNet
Povides reviews in all the major sub-disciplines of Politics and International Relations.
Conference Proceedings/Working Papers
- CIAO: Columbia International Affairs Online
Columbia International Affairs Online (CIAO) is designed to be the most comprehensive source for theory and research in international affairs. It publishes a wide range of scholarship from 1991 forward that includes working papers from university research institutes, occasional papers series from NGOs, foundation-funded research projects, and proceedings from conferences.
Provides access to indexes of published papers presented at conferences worldwide since in 1993.
Contains citations to proceedings of every congress, symposium, conference, exposition, workshop and meeting received at The British Library from October 1993 to the present.
- National Bureau of Economic research
The NBER is the nation's leading nonprofit economic research organization.
- Social Science Research Network
SSRN contains abstracts and full text of scholarly working papers and forthcoming papers.