Cultural Anthropology Resources



Resources marked with this symbol are restricted to Columbia affiliates.

Find Books & Manuscripts

  • CLIO: Columbia Libraries Online Catalog
    CLIO is the online catalog for the Columbia and Barnard libraries. It includes over 4 million records for books, journal or newspaper titles (not articles), online resources, government documents, microforms, sound or video recordings, archival collections, etc.
  • Digital Dissertations
    Access to almost all American dissertations accepted at an accredited institution since 1861. Abstracts are included for doctoral dissertation records from July 1980 to the present In addition, the full text of dissertations published since 1997 (and some from earlier dates) is available.
  • Educat: Teachers College Catalog
    The online catalog for includes for books on Education.
  • WorldCat
    An online catalog of the collections of 24,000 member libraries of the OCLC consortium, comprising more than 36 million records for books, serials, manuscript collections, audiovisual materials, computer files, and other media.
  • Borrow Direct
    A borrowing service offered by the university libraries of Columbia, Brown, Cornell, Dartmouth, Pennsylvania, Princeton, and Yale. It is designed to allow students, faculty and staff to request (and receive in four days) books directly from each other's collections.

Background Information

Find Journal Articles

Find Book Reviews

  • Book Review Index Plus
    An index to book reviews from approximately 600 scholarly and popular English-language journals with links to more than 630,000 full-text reviews
  • International bibliography of book reviews : IBR
    An interdisciplinary index to book reviews published in scholarly journals, primarily in the social sciences and the humanities, including many European journals.

Research Methodology

Find Conference Papers/Proceedings

  • PapersFirst
    Provides access to indexes of published papers presented at conferences worldwide, based on items received by the British Library Supply Centre. Also available in French, Spanish, Chinese, Japanese, and Korean. Coverage begins in 1993.
  • ProceedingsFirst
    Contains citations to proceedings of every congress, symposium, conference, exposition, workshop and meeting received at The British Library from October 1993 to the present.
  • MRS proceedings library
    Collection of online proceedings papers from Materials Research Society meetings.

Archival Collections

  • Avery Architectural & Fine Arts Library
    Home to books and periodicals in architecture, historic preservation, art history, painting, sculpture, photography, decorative arts, city planning, real estate, and archaeology.
  • Burke Library at Union Theological Seminary
    Home to the largest theological library in the western hemisphere, containing rich collections for theological study and research.
  • Digital Dissertations
    Access to almost all American dissertations accepted at an accredited institution since 1861. Abstracts are included for doctoral dissertation records from July 1980 to the present In addition, the full text of dissertations published since 1997 (and some from earlier dates) is available.
  • Ethnographic video online 
    Contains classic and contemporary documentaries; previously unpublished footage from working anthropologists and ethnographers in the field; and select feature films. Includes footage from every continent and hundreds of unique cultures.
  • Human Relations Area Files (HRAF) Collection for Archaeology
    A collection of full-text information on archaeological traditions from around the world. Coverage 1930s to present.
  • Human Relations Area Files (HRAF) Collection of Ethnography
    A collection of full-text primary source materials on ca. 400 different cultural, ethnic, religious and national groups in the following regions of the world: Asia, Europe, Africa, Middle East, North America, Oceania, Eurasia and South America. Access is via keyword, as well as through geographic (OWC) codes and a topical (OCM) classification scheme.
  • National Anthropological Archives
    "The National Anthropological Archives collects and preserves historical and contemporary anthropological materials that document the world's cultures and the history of the discipline."
  • Rare Book & Manuscript Library
    Home to many of Columbia's greatest treasures. The library contains cuneiform tablets, papyri, ostraca, astronomical and mathematical instruments, maps, works of art, photographs, posters, early printing presses and papermaking equipment, type specimens, sound and moving image recordings, theater set models, puppets, masks, ephemera and memorabilia.

Professional Associations & Research Centers