Economic and Political Development: Information Resources
This is a selective guide to resources at Columbia University Libraries and on the Internet, for conducting research on international economic and political development issues.
- CLIO: Columbia Libraries Online Catalog
CLIO is the online catalog for the Columbia and Barnard libraries. It includes over 4 million records for books, journal or newspaper titles (not articles), online resources, government documents, microforms, sound or video recordings, archival collections, etc.
- Pegasus: Columbia University Law School Library Online Catalog
Pegasus includes: U.S. federal and state law, selected Commonwealth jurisdictions, major foreign language collections and, since 1983, vernacular and Western language materials pertaining to law in Japan and the People's Rep. of China.
An online catalog of the collections of 24,000 member libraries of the OCLC consortium, comprising more than 36 million records for books, serials, manuscript collections, audiovisual materials, computer files, and other media.
- Borrow Direct
A borrowing service offered by the university libraries of Columbia, Brown, Cornell, Dartmouth, Pennsylvania, Princeton, and Yale. It is designed to allow students, faculty and staff to request (and receive in four days) books directly from each other's collections.
- Annual Review of Development Effectiveness.
Washington, D.C. : World Bank, 1998-2009.
Call Number: HG 3881.5 .W57 E932
- Arab Human Development Report.
New York : United Nations Development Programme, Regional Bureau for Arab States, c2002-
Call Number: HN 766 .A85 A73 2005g (printed version)
- Canadian Development Report
Each annual issue of the Canadian Development Report examines a specific issue facing the developing world.
- Corruption Surveys and Indexes, from Transparency International.
- Encyclopedia of International Development.
London ; New York : Routledge, 2005.
Call Number: HD 82 .E547 2005
- Encyclopedia of World Poverty. 3 vols.
Thousand Oaks, Calif. : SAGE Publications, c2006.
Call Number: HV 12 .E54 2006
- Human Development Report. Annual.
New York : Oxford University Press, 1990-
Call Number: HD 72 .H8 (copies available in multiple locations)
- Industrial Development Report. Annual.
Vienna : United Nations Industrial Development Organization, 1985- .
Call Number: HC 59.69 .I53
- The International Budget Partnership
Assists non-governmental organizations and researchers in analyzing and improving budget policies and decision-making processes, particularly in the developing world.
- The Least Developed Countries ... Report. Annual.
New York : United Nations, 1984-
Call Number: HC 59.7 .L3219
- Millennium Development Goals
Previously known as the International Development Goals, the UN General Assembly recognized the Millennium Development Goals as part of the road map for implementing the Millennium Declaration. The Goals set targets for reductions in poverty, improvements in health and education, and protection of the environment. They distill the experience of many years, expressed in the resolutions of major United Nations conferences. The goals have been adopted by the World Bank, the International Monetary Fund, the members of the Development Assistance Committee of the OECD, and many other agencies. The goals measure progress from 1990 and look to what can be accomplished by 2015. The site looks at the world through 21 indicators that measure progress toward the goals.
- State of the World
A Worldwatch Institute Report on Progress Toward a Sustainable Society.
New York : Norton, c1984 - present
- Trade and Development Report. Annual.
New York : United Nations Conference on Trade and Development, 1981-
Call Number: HD 82 .U56
- UNU-WIDER World Income Inequality Database (WIID)
The Social Development and Poverty Elimination Division of the United Nations Development Programme and the World Institute for Development Economics Research have produced this database with information on 149 countries, from 1950 to 2003.
- World Economic Outlook.
Washington, D.C. : International Monetary Fund, 1980-
Call Number: HC 59 .W65 (copies available in multiple locations)
- World Investment Report. Annual.
New York : United Nations, 1991-
Call Number: HG 4538 .W74
- World Survey on the Role of Women in Development.. Quinquennial. 1986-
New York : United Nations, [1986-
- Yearbook of International Co-operation on Environment and Development. Annual.
London : Earthscan, c1998-2004.
Call Number: HC 79 .E5 G741
Books, Journals, & Articles
- ABI/INFORM global
Search 1800 premier worldwide business periodicals for information on advertising, marketing, economics, management techniques, human resources, finance, taxation, computers, and more.
Indexes current and retrospective UN documents and publications and documents, including articles appearing in UN periodicals.
AGRICOLA (AGRICultural OnLine Access) is a bibliographic database of citations to the agricultural literature created by the National Agricultural Library and its cooperators. The records describe publications and resources encompassing all aspects of agriculture and allied disciplines, including animal and veterinary sciences, entomology, plant sciences, forestry, aquaculture and fisheries, farming and farming systems, agricultural economics, extension and education, food and human nutrition, and earth and environmental sciences.
- British Library for Development Studies
Search all serial titles, monographs acquired since 1987 and articles selectively indexed since 1990.
- CIAO: Columbia International Affairs Online
Columbia International Affairs Online (CIAO) is designed to be the most comprehensive source for theory and research in international affairs. It publishes a wide range of scholarship from 1991 on that includes working papers from university research institutes, occasional papers series from NGOs, foundation-funded research projects, and proceedings from conferences.
- Development Experience Clearinghouse
A family of bibliographic databases that contains records for over 150,000 U.S. Agency for International Development (USAID) technical and program documents, many full text online.
Links to full text reports on development topics, for developing countries.
EconLit is a comprehensive database for the literature of economics. It includes links to articles from all major economics journals, and citations to books, disserations, and working papers.
- The Economist Intelligence Unit
Includes full-text databases, e.g. Country Reports, Country Commerce, Country Finance, Country Monitor, Country Forecast, and CountryData, a time series database providing information and data on over 190 countries. Information is presented as analysis, briefings, commentary, or forecasts. The time series database provides 317 series for 150 countries.
- IMF eLibrary
The International Monetary Fund's (IMF) eLibrary simplifies analysis and research with direct access to the IMF’s periodicals, books, working papers and studies, and data and statistical tools. You will find information and perspective on macroeconomics, globalization, development, trade and aid, technical assistance, demographics, emerging markets, policy advice, poverty reduction, and more.
- International Political Science Abstracts.Bimonthly.
Paris: International Political Science Association, 1951-
Call Number: JA 36 .I5 (copies available in multiple locations)
- JOLIS: Joint World Bank & IMF Libraries Online Catalog
- Literature Survey on Corruption (2000-present) (2000)
This literature survey from the World Bank collects books, volumes, articles and working papers to inform both policy and scholarly community of the types of works that have been written recently on the subject matter of corruption.
- PAIS International. Monthly.
New York : Public Affairs Information Service, 1915-
Call Number: Z 7163 .P922 (copies available in multiple locations)
The online publications portal of the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD). Includes all OECD books, reports, periodicals and statistical databases.
- World Bank e-Library
The World Bank e-library is an online, fully cross-searchable portal of over 5,000 World Bank documents. The collection consists of over 2,000 World Bank publications and over 3,200 Policy Research Working Papers, plus each new book and paper as they are published.
- Directory of Development Organizations
The Directory is a compilation of contact data of the main sources of assistance available for private sector development (micro, small an medium-sized enterprises) and poverty reduction. A wide range of organizations is included in the Directory: international organizations, government ministries, private sector institutions, development agencies, universities, research and training institutes, NGOs/PDOs, grantmakers, banks, microfinance institutions, and development consulting firms.
- Directory of Trade and Investment Related Organizations of Developing Countries and Areas in Asia and the Pacific. Biennial.
New York : United Nations, 1995-
Call Number: HF 3751.8 .D57
- Leadership Library
A comprehensive set of directories which includes IGOs, NGOs, foreign governments and nonprofits.
- USAID Yellow Book
A comprehensive directory of contracts, grants and cooperative agreements with universities, firms and non-profit institutions.
U.S. Government & Foreign Government Agencies
- Foreign Aid: An Introduction to U.S. Programs and Policy, from the Congressional Research Service, February 10, 2011
- Agency for International Development (USAID)
The U.S. Agency for International Development is an independent government agency that conducts foreign assistance and humanitarian aid to advance the political and economic interests of the United States.
- U.S. International Food Assistance Report. Annual.
Call Number: HV 696 .F6 U85
Web versions: 1997, 1998, 1999, 2000, 2001, 2002, 2006, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010
- U.S. Official Development Assistance Database
This website provides U.S. Official Development Assistance (ODA) data as defined by the Organization for Economic Co-Operation and Development (OECD), Development Assistance Committee (DAC). These data are compiled annually by the U.S. Agency for International Development (USAID) for the U.S. Government and submitted to the OECD/DAC.
- International Food Aid Programs: Background and Issues, Congressional research Service, February 2010
Federal foreign food aid is distributed primarily through five program authorities: the Food for Peace Act (P.L. 480), which includes four primary programs; Section 416(b) of the Agricultural Act of 1949; the Food for Progress Act of 1985; the McGovern-Dole International Food for Education and Child Nutrition Program; and the Local and Regional Procurement Pilot Project.
- From Policy to Practice : Maximizing the Impact and Accountability of U.S. Global Development Efforts, April 2011
- An Assessment of USAID's Global Development Alliances, October 2004
- U.S. International Food Assistance Report. Annual.
- U.S. Overseas Loans and Grants and Assistance from International Organizations. Annual.
Call Number: S 18.2:Ov 2/
The report is commonly known as "The Greenbook". The Greenbook shows a complete historical record of United States' (U.S.) foreign aid to the rest of the world by reporting all loans and grants authorized by the U.S. Government for each fiscal year.
Trends in U.S. Foreign Assistance Over the Past Decade , August 2009
- Canadian International Development Agency
- Department for International Development (UK)
- Export-Import Bank of the United States
Ex-Im Bank's mission is to create jobs through exports. It provides guarantees of working capital loans for U.S. exporters, and it guarantees the repayment of loans or makes loans to foreign purchasers of U.S. goods and services. While Ex-Im Bank is not a foreign aid or development agency, its programs often help U.S. exporters participate in development projects. Ex-Im Bank has co-financed projects with the U.S. Agency for International Development, the World Bank, and regional development banks.
- Foreign Agricultural Service (FAS)
FAS is an agency of the U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA) that represents the diverse interests of U.S. farmers and the food and agricultural sector abroad. It also collects, analyzes, and disseminates information about global supply and demand, trade trends, and emerging market opportunities. FAS seeks improved market access for U.S. products and implements programs designed to build new markets and to maintain the competitive position of U.S. products in the global marketplace. FAS also carries out food aid and market-related technical assistance programs, as well as operates a variety of Congressionally mandated import and export programs.
- GTZ: Deutsche Gesellschaft für Internationale Zusammenarbeit
As an international cooperation enterprise for sustainable development with worldwide operations, the federally owned GTZ supports the German Government in achieving its development-policy objectives. It provides viable, forwardlooking solutions for political, economic, ecological and social development in a globalised world.
- Peace Corps
- U.S. Trade and Development Agency
The U.S. Trade and Development Agency assists in the creation of jobs for Americans by helping U.S. companies pursue overseas business opportunities. Through the funding of feasibility studies, orientation visits, specialized training grants, business workshops, and various forms of technical assistance, we help American businesses compete for infrastructure and industrial projects in middle-income and developing countries.
Intergovernmental Organizations (IGOs)
IGOs provide valuable information on both the developed and developing countries. For links to the publications of many IGOs, consult the guide IGO Publications Ready Reference Collection.
Nongovernmental Organizations (NGOs)
- Academy for Educational Development (AED)
The Academy for Educational Development is an independent, nonprofit service organization committed to addressing human development needs in the United States and throughout the world. Under contracts and grants, the Academy operates programs in collaboration with policy leaders; nongovernmental and community-based organizations; governmental agencies; international multilateral and bilateral funders; and schools, colleges, and universities. In partnership with its clients, the Academy seeks to meet today's social, economic, and environmental challenges through education and human resource development; to apply state-of-the-art education, training, research, technology, management, behavioral analysis, and social marketing techniques to solve problems; and to improve knowledge and skills throughout the world as the most effective means of stimulating growth, reducing poverty, and promoting democratic and humanitarian ideals.
- Berkeley Roundtable on the International Economy UC, Berkeley
The Berkeley Roundtable on the International Economy (BRIE) is a small, interdisciplinary research project at the University of California at Berkeley. For nearly fifteen years, BRIE has worked with academics, business leaders and scholars from around the world from such wide-ranging disciplines as urban planning, political science, economics and engineering to consider the real-world interactions of technology, markets and economies and to formulate path-breaking positions that challenge conventional economic policy-making.
- The Carter Center
The Carter Center is dedicated to resolving conflicts; promoting democracy; and fighting disease, hunger, poverty, and oppression through collaborative initiatives in the areas of democratization and development, global health, and urban revitalization. It operates programs in International Democratization & Development, Global & Domestic Health, and Urban Revitalization, in 65 countries.
- Centre for Development and Population Activities (CEDPA)
The Centre for Development and Population Activities (CEDPA) is a women-focused nonprofit international organization founded in 1975. CEDPA's mission is to empower women at all levels of society to be full partners in development. CEDPA's Strategies for empowerment include building the capacities of development institutions and networks, mobilizing women's participation at the policy level, linking reproductive health services and women's empowerment, and making youth an integral part of the development agenda. All CEDPA activities are designed to advance gender equity. Working with partner nongovernmental organizations and networks in more than 37 countries, CEDPA designs, implements, monitors, and evaluates projects in family planning and reproductive health, family life education, women's participation in empowerment, youth services, and international advocacy for women and girls.
- Center for Global Development
The Center for Global Development is dedicated to reducing global poverty and inequality through policy-oriented research and active engagement on development issues with the policy community and the public. A principal focus of the Center's work will be policies of the United States and other industrial countries that affect development prospects in poor countries.
- Development Initiatives
DI is an independent organisation concerned with poverty, aid, development cooperation and international relations. DI works on: policy analysis, dissemination of information, advocacy and government relations, NGO management, strategic planning and evaluation, and stakeholder analysis.
- Eldis: the Gateway to Development Information
ELDIS provides an ever increasing number of descriptions and links to a variety of information sources, including online documents, organisation's WWW sites, databases, library catalogues, bibliographies, and email discussion lists, research project information, map and newspaper collections.
Includes their Country Profiles.
- Global Development Network
The goal of the Global Development Network (GDN) is to support and link research and policy institutes involved in the field of development.
- Institute for Development Policy and Management, from the University of Manchester
It specializes in management and development in developing and transitional economies.
- Institute of Development Studies
The Institute of Development Studies is a leading global organisation for research, teaching and communications on international development. The research programmes at IDS are: Globalisation; Governance; Knowledge, Technology and Society; Participation, Power and Social Change; and Vulnerability and Poverty Reduction.
- International Development Exchange (IDEX)
IDEX was founded in 1985 to support community based development in Africa, Asia, and Latin America and to offer U.S. citizens an avenue for international understanding and action. IDEX serves as a bridge, linking international communities undertaking small-scale development projects with supportive partners, or sponsors, in the U.S.
- The International Development Research Centre (IDRC), Canada
Through funding of scientific research in Africa, Asia, Latin America, the Caribbean and Canada, the International Development Research Centre (IDRC) helps communities in the developing world find solutions to social, economic and environmental problems.
- International Institute for Environment and Development
IIED is an independent, non-profit organization promoting sustainable patterns of world development through collaborative research, policy studies, networking and knowledge dissemination. It works to address global issues, for example; mining, the paper industry and food systems.
- International Institute for Sustainable Development
Provides Linkages: a Multimedia Resource for Environment & Development Policy Makers
- Internet Center for Corruption Research
- Overseas Development Institute, London, UK
The Overseas Development Institute is an independent non-governmental centre for development research and a forum for discussion of the problems facing developing countries. The research programme is oriented towards improving policies and their implementation both within developing countries and at the British, European Union and international level.
- The Population Council
The Population Council is a nonprofit, nongovernmental research organization established in 1952. Its New York headquarters supports a global network of regional and country offices. The Council seeks to improve the wellbeing and reproductive health of current and future generations around the world, and to help achieve a humane, equitable and sustainable balance between people and resources. The Council analyzes population issues and trends; conducts biomedical research to develop new contraceptives; works with public and private agencies to improve the quality and outreach of family planning and reproductive health services; helps governments to influence demographic behavior; communicates the results of research in the population field to appropriate audiences; and helps build research capacities in developing countries.
- Population Reference Bureau
PRB is dedicated to providing timely,objective information on U.S. and international population trends. We inform policymakers, educators, the media, and concerned citizens working in the public interest about the demographic trends that shape our world. PRB is a nonprofit, nonadvocacy organization.
- Soros Economic Development Fund
The fund’s mission is to alleviate poverty and community deterioration. It does this by making investments – in the form of equity, loans, guarantees and deposits – in selected banks, microfinance institutions, cooperatives and social enterprise projects worldwide.
- Transparency International
"We work to ensure that the agendas of international organisations give high priority to curbing corruption. We are promoting new inter-governmental agreements to fight corruption in an internationally co-ordinated manner. Both the TI Secretariat and TI National Chapters around the world actively monitor the implementation of such agreements by the signatory countries. This includes monitoring of Conventions concluded within the framework of the OECD, the Council of Europe, the European Union and the Organisation of American States. Special emphasis is on monitoring the OECD Convention on Combating Bribery of Foreign Public Officials."
- World Economic Forum
Global Competitiveness Report. Annual.
Geneva : World Economic Forum, c1996-
Call Number: HF 1414 .G572 (copies available in multiple locations)
- World Neighbors
World Neighbors is a US-based non-profit organization working at the forefront of worldwide efforts to eliminate hunger, disease and poverty in Asia, Latin America and Africa. It encourages community leadership and self-help in rural communities though 89 programs in food security, community health, and family planning.
- Worldwatch Institute
Worldwatch is a nonprofit public policy research organization dedicated to informing policymakers and the public about emerging global problems and trends and the complex links between the world economy and its environmental support systems.
- SIPA MPA in Development Practice
- SIPA Program in Economic and Political Development
- SIPA Program in Economic Policy Management
- SIPA Program in International Economic Policy
- Population, Migration, and Refugee Studies: Information Resources
- Women in Development: Information Resources
- Global Studies Division
For resources on specific countries or regions of the world.