U.S. Foreign Policy: Information Resources
Online Catalogs | Background Information | Research Guides | Directories
Indexes, Abstracts, & Databases | Executive Agencies & Departments | Congressional Publications
The Documentary Record of American Foreign Policy | Foreign Economic Relations & Foreign Aid
Research Institutes | Related Resources & Guides
This is a selective guide to resources at Columbia University Libraries and on the Internet, for conducting research on United States foreign policy. Most of the items included are available in Lehman Library or Offsite. Prior to 1976, documents are mostly located in Butler Library and can be located through the Butler Card Catalog.
- CLIO: Columbia Libraries Online Catalog
CLIO is the online catalog for the Columbia and Barnard libraries. It includes over 4 million records for books, journal or newspaper titles (not articles), online resources, government documents, microforms, sound or video recordings, archival collections, etc.
- Pegasus: Columbia University Law School Library Online Catalog
Pegasus includes: U.S. federal and state law, selected Commonwealth jurisdictions, major foreign language collections and, since 1983, vernacular and Western language materials pertaining to law in Japan and the People's Rep. of China.
An online catalog of the collections of 24,000 member libraries of the OCLC consortium, comprising more than 36 million records for books, serials, manuscript collections, audiovisual materials, computer files, and other media.
- Borrow Direct
A borrowing service offered by the university libraries of Columbia, Brown, Cornell, Dartmouth, Pennsylvania, Princeton, and Yale. It is designed to allow students, faculty and staff to request (and receive in four days) books directly from each other's collections.
- Ambiguous Legacy : U.S. Foreign Relations in the "American Century."
New York : Cambridge University Press, 1999.
Call Number: E 744 .A475 1999 (Copies available in multiple locations)
- American Diplomacy: Foreign Service Reports and Commentary on United States Foreign Policy
Published in cooperation with the University of North Carolina's Curriculum in Peace, War and Defense and the Triangle Institute for Security Studies
- Berridge, Geoff.
A Dictionary of Diplomacy. 2nd ed.
New York : Palgrave, 2003.
Call Number: JZ 1405 .B47 2003 (Copies available in multiple locations)
- Brune, Lester H.
Chronological History of United States Foreign Relations. 3 vols. 2nd ed.
New York : Garland, 2003.
Call Number: E 183.7 .B745 2003
Call Number: R973 B8361
- Cambridge History of American Foreign Relations. 4 vols.
Cambridge [England]; New York, N.Y. : Cambridge University Press, 1993.
Call Number: E 183.7 .C24 1993 (Copies available in multiple locations)
Volume 1: The Creation of a Republican Empire, 1776-1865; Volume 2: American Search for Opportunity, 1865-1913; Volume 3: Globalizing of America, 1913-1945; Volume 4: America in the Age of Soviet Power, 1945-1991.
Note: For the online version, click on "Browse," then "American History."
- Confidence in U.S. Foreign Policy Index
Produced by Public Agenda in collaboration with Foreign Affairs, the index is designed to track public views about international relations much the same way the Consumer Confidence Index measures public attitudes on the economy.
- Encyclopedia of American Foreign Policy 2nd ed. 3 vols.
New York : Scribner, 2002.
Call Number: E 183.7 .E52 2002 (Copies available in multiple locations)
- Encyclopedia of Globalization. 4 vols.
New York : MTM Pub., c2007.
Call Number: JZ 1318 .E63 2007
- Encyclopedia of International Relations and Global Politics. 4 vols.
London : Routledge, 2005.
Call Number: Z 1160 .E53 2005g
- Encyclopedia of Nationalism 2 vols.
San Diego, Calif. ; London : Academic, c2001.
Call Number: JC 311 .E47 2001g (Copies available in multiple locations)
- Encyclopedia of U.S. Foreign Relations. 4 vols.
New York : Oxford University Press, 1997.
Call Number: E 183.7 .E53 1997 (Copies available in multiple locations)
Call Number: R327.73 En19
- Feltham, R. G.
Diplomatic Handbook. 8th ed.
Leiden ; Boston : Nijhoff, c2004.
Call Number: JX 1662 .F4 2004
- Flanders, Stephen A.
Dictionary of American Foreign Affairs.
New York : Macmillan, 1993.
Call Number: E 183.7 .F58 1993
Call Number: R327.73 F59
- Foreign Policy of the United States.
Huntington, NY : Nova Science Publishers, 2000-
Call Number: E183.7 .F673 2000g
- Graebner, Norman A.
American Diplomatic History Before 1900.
Arlington Heights, IL : AHM, 1978.
Call Number: R016.973 G75
- Jones, Andrew.
Dictionary of Globalization.
Cambridge : Polity, 2006.
Call Number: JZ 1318 .J66 2006g (Copies available in multiple locations)
- Nolan, Cathal J.
The Greenwood Encyclopedia of International Relations. 4 vols.
Westport, Conn. : Greenwood Press, 2002.
Call Number: JZ 1160 .N65 2002
- Plischke, Elmer.
U.S. Department of State : a Reference History.
Westport, Conn. : Greenwood Press, 1999.
Call Number: JZ 1480 .A4 1999
- Foreign Affairs Agencies Reorganization
Contains the reorganization plans and reports initiated by the Clinton administration, as well as subsequent reorganization activities and an organizational chart as of October 1999. Organization Chart, May 2009.
- U.S. Public Diplomacy: Background and Current Issues, Congressional Research Service Report, December 2009
- United States. Department of State.
- Department Organization
A current, general overview with hyperlinks.
- A History of the United States Department of State, 1789-1996
- History of the Bureau of Diplomatic Security of the United States Department of State
- The International Affairs Budget: FY 2002-present
Text of the budget requests and related documents, from the Dept. of State
- Plans, Performance, Budget
Contains links to the U.S. International Affairs Budget, Financial Report, Strategic Plan, the Dept. of State Strategic Plan, Performance Plan, and Performance and Accountability Report.
- Department Organization
- United States Advisory Commission on Public Diplomacy.
A New Diplomacy for the Information Age (1996)
- Weigall, David.
International Relations: a Concise Companion.
London : Arnold, 2002.
Call Number: JZ 1161 .W45 2002g
- Ziring, Lawrence.
International Relations: a Political Dictionary. 5th ed.
Santa Barbara, Calif. : ABC-CLIO, c1995.
Call Number: JX 1226 .P55 1995 (Copies available in multiple locations)
- American Foreign Relations Since 1600: a Guide to the Literature. 2 vols. 2nd ed.
Santa Barbara, CA : ABC-CLIO, 2003.
Call Number: Z 6465 .U5 G84 2003
Call Number: R016.973 Am3547
Call Number: E 183.7 G84 2003
- Bemis, Samuel Flagg.
Guide to the Diplomatic History of the United States, 1775-1921.
Washington : GPO, 1935.
Call Number: R016.973 B4241 (Copies available in multiple locations)
- Foreign Affairs 50-year Bibliography. 5 vols.(1919/32-1962/72)
New York : Council on Foreign Relations, 1933-1976.
Call Number: Z 6461 .F62 (Copies available in multiple locations)
Call Number: R016.9 L2631
- Goehlert, Robert.
The Department of State and American Diplomacy: a Bibliography.
New York : Garland, 1986.
Call Number: Z 6465.U5 G63 1986
Call Number: R016.973 G553
- Haines, Gerald K.
A Reference Guide to United States Department of State Special Files.
Westport, Conn. : Greenwood Press, 1985.
Call Number: CD 3031 1984
Call Number: R016.973 Un3544
- Kahl, Chad M.
International Relations, International Security, and Comparative Politics : a Guide to Reference and Information Sources.
Westport, Conn. : Libraries Unlimited, 2008.
Call Number: Z 6461 .K34 2008
- Sears, Jean L.
Using Government Information Sources: Electronic and Print. 3rd ed.
Phoenix : Oryx Press, 2001.
Call Number: Z 1223 .Z7 S4 2001
Several chapters serve as excellent guides: Foreign Policy, Treaties, Foreign Countries, etc. Highly recommended.
- Federal Staff Directory. Semiannual.
Mount Vernon, VA : Congressional Staff Directory, 1982-
Call Number: JK 274 .F316
- Foreign Consular Offices in the U.S. Annual.
Washington, D.C. : Dept. of State : 1953-
Call Number: JX 1705 .A28 (Copies available in multiple locations)
- Foreign Service List. Annual.
Washington, D.C. : Dept. of State : 1857-1975.
- International Relations Research Directory.
London: Europe Publications, 1995.
Call Number: JX 1291 .I57 1995
A directory of major research institutes and periodicals concerned with international relations studies throughout the world.
- Key Officers of Foreign Service Posts. 3 times/yr.
Washington, GPO, 1975-
Call Number: S 1.40/5:
Call Number: JX 1705 .A255
- Leadership Library on the Internet
The Leadership Library, also known as Yellow Books, includes a Congressional directory, searchable by keyword, name, and agency; updated daily.
- Principal Officers of the Department of State and United States Chiefs of Mission
Washington, D.C. : Dept. of State, Office of the Historian, 1991-
Call Number: JX 1706 .A59 U54 1991
Brief information on major State Department representatives, 1789-present.
- United States. Dept. of State.
The Biographic Register. Annual. 1870-1974.
Call Number: 353.1 Un32
Biographical information on personnel of the Dept. of State and other Federal Government agencies in the field of foreign affairs.
- United States. Dept. of State.
- Websites of U.S. Embassies, Consulates and Diplomatic Missions
Links to U.S. embassies and consulates around the world.
- United States Government Manual. Annual.
Washington, D.C. : Office of the Federal Register, National Archives and Records Service, General Services Administration, 1974/74-
Call Number: JK 421 .Un34 (Copies available in multiple locations)
The organization manual for the Federal government.
Indexes, Abstracts & Databases
- American Foreign Policy and Treaty Index (AFPTI).
Washington, D.C. : CIS, 1993-1999. (Ceased publication)
Call Number: Z 1245 .A45 (Copies available in multiple locations)
A comprehensive index, with abstracts, to key foreign policy documents produced by the executive branch, Congress, and independent agencies, covering such topics as human rights, arms control, economic and military assistance, and international finance. Both depository and non-depository publications are indexed, with an accompanying AFPTI microfiche set of the full text of the non-depository publications.
- CIAO: Columbia International Affairs Online
Columbia International Affairs Online (CIAO) is designed to be the most comprehensive source for theory and research in international affairs. It publishes a wide range of scholarship from 1991 on that includes working papers from university research institutes, occasional papers series from NGOs, foundation-funded research projects, and proceedings from conferences.
- Declassified Documents Reference System - U.S.
Indexing and access to full text of previously classified U.S. government documents.
- Development Experience Clearinghouse
A searchable database for publications and reports of the Agency for International Development, which contains records for about 127,000 Agency technical and program documents. It also makes about 22,000 key Agency documents available for download.
- Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) Daily Reports
A database of full text translations of newspaper articles, conference proceedings, radio and television broadcasts, periodicals, non-classified technical reports and local media sources from around the world. Specializes in socioeconomic, political, scientific, technical, and environmental issues and events. Covers 1941-1996; continued by World News Connection, below.
- International Political Science Abstracts. Online 1989-present, updated quarterly.
Paris: International Political Science Association, 1951-
Call Number: JA 36 .I5 (1951-1999)
- ProQuest Congressional
A searchable database of congressional publications. Foreign policy materials may be located under such subject headings as "Foreign Assistance," Foreign Relations," "Military Assistance," and the names of specific acts and programs, as well as country name.
- ProQuest Statistical Insight
The ProQuest Statistical Insight database provides comprehensive access to statistical data.
- PAIS International.
New York: Public Affairs Information Service Inc. 1915-
Call Number: Z 7163 .P922 (Copies available in multiple locations)
- World News Connection
An index with links to full text translations of newspaper articles, conference proceedings, radio and television broadcasts, periodicals, non-classified technical reports and local media sources from around the world. Specializes in socioeconomic, political, scientific, technical, and environmental issues and events. Covers 1994 to the present; continues FBIS Daily Reports, above.
- Worldwide Political Science Abstracts
The database contains abstracts of books and articles from professional journals and major news magazines, devoted to North American and international politics.
Executive Agencies and Departments
The Department of State is the lead U.S. foreign affairs agency. The Secretary of State is the President's principal adviser on foreign policy and the person chiefly responsible for U.S. representation abroad. However, there are numerous other federal agencies which perform a vital role in the shaping of United States foreign policy.
- Department of State
- Agency for International Development
- Central Intelligence Agency
- Department of Commerce, International Trade Administration
- Department of Defense
- Department of Energy, National Nuclear Security Administration
- Department of Labor, Bureau of International Labor Affairs
- International Trade Commission
- National Security Agency
- National Security Council
- Office of the Director of National Intelligence
- United States Mission to the United Nations
- United States Trade Representative
- Congressional Research Service Reports, 1916-present
- ProQuest Congressional
A searchable database of congressional publications. Foreign policy materials may be located under such subject headings as "Foreign Assistance", "Foreign Relations", "Military Assistance", and the names of specific acts and programs, as well as country name.
- U.S. Advisory Commission on Public Diplomacy
Includes the Charter of the Commission, meeting transcripts, and reports.
- U.S. Congress. Congressional Budget Office.
- U.S. Congress. House. Committee on Foreign Affairs.
- Hearings, Prints, and Miscellaneous Publications.
Call Number: Microfiche Y 4.F 76/1:
- Country Reports on Human Rights Practices. Annual.
Washington, D.C. : U.S. G.P.O., 1977-
For print versions, search CLIO, using Title Search, under "Country reports on human rights practices".
A review of the status of human rights in various countries, prepared for use with Congress's foreign assistance program. Along with human rights information, a table showing U.S. economic and military assistance to each country is included.
- Hearings, Prints, and Miscellaneous Publications.
- U.S. Congress. House. Committee on Foreign Affairs.
Science, Technology, and American Diplomacy. Annual. 1986-
Call Number: MICFICHE Y 4.F 76/1-12:
- U.S. Congress. Senate. Committee on Foreign Relations.
- U.S. Congress. Senate. Committee on Foreign Relations and House Committee on International Relations.
Legislation on Foreign Relations Through [date]. Irregular. 1985-
Call Number: Y 4.F 76/2-10:
This series reprints, with annotations, the text of legislation and executive orders relating to foreign policy. Items are grouped by broad subject category; texts of treaties sometimes included. It is usually compiled for each Congress.
For web versions, see under Committee Prints in Hearings, Prints, and Miscellaneous Publications, above.
The Documentary Record of American Foreign Policy
The first two items listed in this section record the current status of regulation and law, respectively, in the area of foreign policy in general. The remaining items represent official foreign policy documents which were originally issued unclassified (or which passed the standard 30-year declassification period, in the case of FRUS). For reference to declassified documents, please consult sections on Classified/Declassified Documents and FOIA in the United States Intelligence Community guide.
- Code of Federal Regulations (CFR). Annual. 1936-
Washington, D.C. : Office of the Federal Register, National Archives and Records Service, 1938-
Print version not available.
S A.3 C642 - Law Microfiche (1938-present)
Online versions: 1996-present, 1936-present
- United States Code. Published every six years, with supplements.
Washington, D.C. : U.S. Congress. House, 1926-
The most relevant section is Title 22: Foreign Relations and Intercourse, but several other titles also apply to specific areas of foreign policy.
- The Department of State Web Site
Contains all of the current major publications of the Dept. of State, with links to archives of publications 2001-present.
- Daily Press Briefings
Full text of each day's press briefing (Questions and Answers)
- Daily Press Briefings
- Electronic Research Collection, U.S. Dept. of State and the University of Illinois at Chicago Library
ERC has two purposes. First, it is responsible for electronically archived information products produced by State Department from 1990 to 2001. UIC also works to assure that the electronic archives are easily accessible and clearly organized. Second, the UIC depository librarians work with the State Department public affairs staff to answer email questions from the public, and help users find other information sources about U.S. foreign policies and programs.
- American Foreign Policy
- Basic Documents, 1977-1980.
Washington, D.C. : GPO, 1983.
Call Number: JX 1417 .A131
Contains texts of major official messages, addresses, statements, reports, and communications relating to foreign policy.
- Current Documents. Annual.
Washington, D.C. : GPO, 1981-1990.
Call Number: JX 1417 .A132
Annual update of title above, but ceased in 1990.
- Foreign Affairs Press Briefings. Supplement. . Annual.
Washington, D.C. : U.S. Dept. of State, Office of the Historian, 1984-1989.
Call Number: JX 1417 .A1321 Suppl.
Contains full texts of Dept. of State Daily Press Briefings, Dept. of State and White House Special Press Briefings, and treaties, conventions, and protocols concluded in the year of publication.
- Basic Documents, 1977-1980.
- American Foreign Relations. Annual.
New York : New York University Press, 1971-1978.
Call Number: JX 231 .D652
Each volume presents a condensed historical narrative together with a selection of documents reflecting salient aspects of the foreign relations of the U.S. Formed by the merger of Documents on American Foreign Relations and The United States in World Affairs.
- American State Papers: Foreign Relations.
The American State Papers are a collection of documents comprising the legislative and executive documents of the first fourteen Congresses from 1789 to 1838. Class One deals with Foreign Relations.
From Hein Online: 1789-1828.
- CLIO Search
Columbia University Libraries has microform copies of large portions of the State Department Central Files and Diplomatic Post Records. The originals are located in the National Archives in Washington, D.C. To locate the Columbia Holdings for these microfilms, search CLIO under the subject headings: United States. Dept. of State Archives and United States. Dept. of State Archives Sources
Some of these records are also available online, as part of the Archives Unbound database.
- Department of State Bulletin. Monthly.
Washington, D.C. : GPO, 1939-1989.
Call Number: JX 232 .A2 (Copies available in multiple locations)
Continued by Dispatch, below.
- Digest of United States Practice in International Law
The Office of the Legal Adviser publishes the annual Digest of United States Practice in International Law to provide the public with a historical record of the views and practice of the Government of the United States in public and private international law. Each edition contains links to full text documents such as treaties, diplomatic notes and correspondence, legal opinion letters, judicial decisions, Senate committee reports and press releases.
- Digital National Security Archive
The Digital National Security Archive database includes more than 80,000 of the most important declassified documents regarding critical U.S. policy decisions. There are 39 complete collections, each offering specialized insights.
Washington, DC : Office of Public Communication, Bureau of Public Affairs, 1990-1999. (Ceased publication)
Call Number: S 1.3/5:
The record of official activities dealing with U.S. Foreign affairs. Contains major speeches, congressional testimony, fact sheets, policy statements, current treaty actions. Dispatch supplements often reprint the text of major documents, such as treaties. A weekly publication 1990-1996; monthly, 1997-1999. The predecessor to Dispatch was the monthly Department of State Bulletin, above.
- Documents on American Foreign Relations. Annual.
New York : Council on Foreign Relations, 1938/39-1969/70.
Call Number: JX 231 .D65
A concise documentary record of the key speeches,reports, communiques, agreements, and treaties bearing on U.S. diplomacy in any given year. The companion volumes, The United States in World Affairs, offer a narrative account of the material included here. Continued by American Foreign Relations: a Documentary Record.
HeinOnline provides full text of major U.S. documents. Particularly useful for foreign relations are the sections: Foreign Relations of the U.S. and the U.S. Presidential Library.
- United States. Dept. of State.
Foreign Relations of the United States. Irregular.
Washington : GPO, 1861-
Call Number: JX 233 .A3 (Copies available in multiple locations)
For additional print versions, search CLIO Title Search.
- Selected volumes from the Truman, Eisenhower, Kennedy, Johnson, Nixon-Ford and Carter administrations (U.S. State Dept.)
- Selected Volumes, 1861-1960 (University of Wisconsin)
- 1932-present, from Hein Online
Foreign Relations volumes contain documents from Presidential libraries, Departments of State and Defense, National Security Council, Central Intelligence Agency, Agency for International Development, and other foreign affairs agencies as well as the private papers of individuals involved in formulating U.S. foreign policy. Publication of FRUS volumes occurs after the declassification of the documents, therefore publication is delayed for the last (approx.) 30 years at any one time.
To commemorate the 150th anniversary of the Foreign Relations series, the Office of the Historian at the Department of State is exploring the story behind FRUS to uncover how it became an invaluable information resource. To see the results of their research, as well as presentations about FRUS at various academic conferences, visit the FRUS Commemoration Web Site.
The preparation of FRUS is overseen by the Advisory Committee on Historical Diplomatic Documentation.
- The Meeting Minutes and Annual Reports are provided by the Federation of American Scientists.
- Note on U.S. Covert Action Programs, from FRUS, 1964-1968, vol. XII (Western Europe)
- Status of Johnson and Nixon Era FRUS High Level Panel [HLP] Covert Action Cases, provided by the Federation of American Scientists
- United States. President.
United States Participation in the U.N.: Report by the President to the Congress for the Year [year] . Annual.
Washington, D.C. : Bureau of International Organization Affairs, 1970-
Call Number: S 1.70/8:
- United States Contributions to International Organizations. Annual.
Washington, D.C. : Bureau of International Organization Affairs, 1951/52-1998.
Call Number: S 1.70/9:
A description of international organizations to which the U.S. contributes; statistics on U.S. and other countries' contributions.
Continued by: United States Contributions to the United Nations System, 2007-present
- The United States in World Affairs. Annual.
New York : Council on Foreign Relations, 1931-1970.
Call Number: JX 1416 .Un34 (Copies available in multiple locations)
A concise, descriptive analysis of the development of American foreign policy. A companion volume to Documents on American Foreign Relations.
Continued by American Foreign Relations: a Documentary Record.
- University Publications of America indexes and microform sets
Microform Reading Room, Butler Library.
Indexes and microfilm sets for various declassified documents, such as the Confidential U.S. State Department Central Files, Documents of the National Security Council, and the national security files for John F. Kennedy and Lyndon B. Johnson. Check CLIO for specific titles.
- Voting Practices in the United Nations [year]. Annual.
Washington, D.C. : Dept. of State, 1983-
Call Number: S 1.1/8:
An analysis of the voting practices of U.N. members as it relates to U.S. policy.
Foreign Economic Relations & Foreign Aid
- Bureau of Economic and Business Affairs, U.S. Dept. of State
The Bureau of Economic and Business Affairs formulates and carries out U.S. foreign economic policy, integrating U.S. economic interests with our foreign policy goals so that U.S. firms and investors can compete on an equal basis with their counterparts overseas. It implements American economic policy in cooperation with U.S. companies, U.S. Government agencies, and other organizations. Under the direction of an Assistant Secretary, the bureau negotiates agreements with foreign governments and advances U.S. positions in such international organizations as the International Monetary Fund or World Trade Organization.
- Country Reports on Economic Policy and Trade Practices. Annual. 1993-2001.
Call Number: Microfiche Y 4 .F76/1: C83/3/
Call Number: HC 59 .C735
- DSCA (Facts Book): Foreign Military Sales, Foreign Military Construction Sales & Military Assistance Facts. Annual. 1973-
Call Number: UA 12 .U4613
Information on weapons systems, price, delivery dates; by country.
- Historical Statistics of the United States, Millennial ed.
This extraordinary database contains over 37,000 data sets, fully searchable and customizable. Retrieved tables can be downloaded as Excel or PDF files, printed and graphed. Date of coverage varies, but many tables include data 1790-2000. Also available as a print version, below.
- Historical Statistics of the United States: Earliest Times to the Present. 5 vols.
New York : Cambridge University Press, c2006.
Call Number: HA 202 .H57 2006 (Copies available in multiple locations)
- International Finance: Annual Report of the Chairman for the National Advisory Council on International Monetary and Financial Policies to the President and to the Congress for Fiscal Year [year] . Annual. 1965/66-1992.
Call Number: HG 181 .A263
Includes an overview of U.S. involvement in foreign aid through its activities in various development programs and international organizations, such as the IMF, the IBRD (World Bank), and the Asian Development Bank.
- Statistical Abstract of the United States. Annual. 1878-
Call Number: HA202 .Un31 (Copies available in multiple locations)
Both this title and Historical Statistics contain a section on "Foreign Commerce and Aid." Included are tables on foreign grants and credits and military assistance.
- Survey of Current Business. Monthly. 1921-
1994-present and 1921-2002
Contains articles on foreign direct investment, U.S. direct investment abroad, and U.S. affiliates of foreign companies operations.
- U.S. Foreign Assistance Reference Guide, 2005
Produced under the direction of the State-USAID Joint Policy Council, this 64-page document provides a wealth of information on U.S. Foreign Assistance programs.
- U.S. Office of the United States Trade Representative.
[Year] National Trade Estimate Report on Foreign Trade Barriers. Annual. 1986-
Call Number: HF 1456 .U53
Country-by-country review of foreign policies that are barriers to U.S. exports.
- Subsidies Enforcement Office
- Trade Policy Agenda and [year] Annual Report of the President of the United States on the Trade Agreements Program. Annual. 1960-
Call Number: HF1731 .Un31 (Copies available in multiple locations)
- U.S. Overseas Loans and Grants . Annual. 1973-
Call Number: S 18.2:OV 2/
The report is commonly known as "The Greenbook". The Greenbook shows a complete historical record of United States' (U.S.) foreign aid to the rest of the world by reporting all loans and grants authorized by the U.S. Government for each fiscal year.
- American Enterprise Institute: Foreign and Defense Policy Studies
AEI's work in foreign and defense policy seeks to improve the understanding of how American interests and political and economic freedom can be advanced around the world. AEI scholars analyze relations between the United States and its allies; security threats, currently focusing on Asia and the Middle East; the transition to democratic capitalism in developing and postcommunist countries; and the performance of international organizations and institutions.
- Atlantic Council of the United States
The Atlantic Council is a non-partisan network of leaders in the policy, academic and corporate communities who are convinced of the pivotal importance of effective U.S. foreign policy and the cohesion of U.S. international relationships. The Council is committed to enhancing U.S. initiative and leadership through sound and skillfully administered policies that identify and pursue national interests in a framework of global interdependence, and through the education of future leaders.
- The Brookings Institution: Foreign Policy
The Foreign Policy Studies program at the Brookings Institution seeks to analyze global events and their impact on the United States, and suggest policies suited for the post-Cold War world.
- Chicago Council on Global Affairs
International affairs organization serving thousands of members and highlighting the importance of foreign affairs. The Council provides members, specialized groups and the general public with a forum for the consideration of significant international issues and their bearing on American foreign policy.
- The Council on Foreign Relations
The Council is a national membership organization and think tank with headquarters in New York, offices in Washington, D.C., and programs nationwide. The aim is to provide insights into international affairs and to develop new ideas for U.S. foreign policy, particularly national security and foreign economic policy.
- Council on Hemispheric Affairs
Promotes better relationships between the nations of North and South America and encourages the development and adoption of constructive U.S. policies towards Latin America.
- The European Council on Foreign Relations
The European Council on Foreign Relations (ECFR) is the first pan-European think-tank. Launched in October 2007, its objective is to conduct research and promote informed debate across Europe on the development of coherent and effective European values-based foreign policy.
- The European Institute
Organization dedicated to the study of European-U.S. relations. Founded in 1989, The European Institute serves as a neutral and informal channel of communication between government representatives, business leaders, and individual members.
- Foreign Policy Association
The Foreign Policy Association (FPA) is a national, nonprofit, nonpartisan, nongovernmental, educational organization founded in 1918 to educate Americans about significant world issues that have an important impact on their lives.
- Hoover Institution on War, Revolution and Peace, Stanford University
The Hoover Institution is a public policy research center devoted to advanced study of politics, economics, and political economy—both domestic and foreign—as well as international affairs. With its world-renowned group of scholars and ongoing programs of policy-oriented research, the Hoover Institution puts its accumulated knowledge to work as a prominent contributor to the world marketplace of ideas defining a free society.
- Istituto Affari Internazionali
The Institute's main objective is to promote an understanding of the problems of international politics through studies, research, meetings and publications, with the aim of increasing the opportunities of all countries to move in the direction of supranational organization, democratic freedom and social justice.
- Middle East Policy Council
The Middle East Policy Council was founded in 1981 to expand public discussion and understanding of issues affecting U.S. policy in the Middle East.
- National Institute for Public Policy
The National Institute for Public Policy devotes its agenda to assessing U.S. foreign and defense polices in the post-Cold War environment.
- The Society for Historians of American Foreign Relations (SHAFR)
SHAFR studies the history of U.S. diplomacy, foreign relations, and national security, and publishes a journal, Diplomatic History.
- Women's Foreign Policy Group
The Women's Foreign Policy Group (WFPG) is an independent, nonpartisan, nonprofit, educational membership organization which promotes global engagement and the leadership, visibility and participation of women in international affairs.
- World Policy Institute, New School University
- Treaty Resources Subject Guide
Columbia University Libraries