International Relations Resources
- CLIO: Columbia Libraries Online Catalog
CLIO is the online catalog for the Columbia and Barnard libraries. It includes over 4 million records for books, journal or newspaper titles (not articles), online resources, government documents, microforms, sound or video recordings, archival collections, etc.
- Pegasus: Columbia University Law School Library Online Catalog
Pegasus includes: U.S. federal and state law, selected Commonwealth jurisdictions, major foreign language collections and, since 1983, vernacular and Western language materials pertaining to law in Japan and the People's Rep. of China.
An online catalog of the collections of 24,000 member libraries of the OCLC consortium, comprising more than 36 million records for books, serials, manuscript collections, audiovisual materials, computer files, and other media.
- Borrow Direct
A borrowing service offered by the university libraries of Columbia, Brown, Cornell, Dartmouth, Pennsylvania, Princeton, and Yale. It is designed to allow students, faculty and staff to request (and receive in four days) books directly from each other's collections.
- BBC News: Country Profiles
Full profiles provide an instant guide to history, politics and economic background of countries. They also include audio and video clips from the BBC archives.
- Countries and their Cultures. 4 vols.
Call Number: GN307 .C68 2001
An emphasis on the ethnic groups and cultural difference within and between countries.
- Country Studies/Area Handbooks
Most books in the series deal with a particular foreign country, describing and analyzing its political, economic, social, and national security systems and institutions, and examining the interrelationships of those systems and the ways they are shaped by cultural factors.
- The Greenwood Encyclopedia of International Relations. 4 vols.
Call Number: JZ1160 .N65 2002 (Copies available in multiple locations)
- International Affairs Contact Network
The IACNet is a comprehensive database of organizations and experts in international affairs. Its contents can be searched by organizational name, location, subject, type, and resource offerings. IACNet is an initiative of the University Center for International Studies at the University of Pittsburgh.
- Portals to the World
Links to electronic resources selected by Library of Congress subject experts.
- MSU Global Access, Michigan State University
Provides information about the world - its regions and peoples and important international issues. You can search simultaneously by world region or country and by thematic area.
- The WWW Virtual Library: International Affairs Resources
This section of the WWW Virtual Library system presents over 2400 annotated links in a wide range of international affairs and international relations topics, including Getting Started, Media Sources, Organizations, Regions and Countries, and Topics.
Find Journal Articles
- CIAO: Columbia International Affairs Online
Provides full text access to working papers from university research institutes, occasional papers series from NGOs, foundation-funded research projects, and proceedings from conferences, from 1991 to the present.
- International Bibliography of the Social Sciences
Provides access to citations and abstracts to over 2,600 scholarly journals in the social sciences, from 1951 to the present.
Provides full-text articles from more than 320 scholarly journals, from volume 1 but excluding the latest 3-5 years.
- PAIS International
Provides access to citations and abstracts to over 460,000 American and international scholarly journal articles, from 1972 to the present.
- Rand Abstracts
Provides citations, abstracts and full-text Rand publications, from 1946 to the present.
- Worldwide Political Science Abstracts
Provides access to citations and abstracts to over 1000 American and international scholarly journals, from 1975 to the present.
Statistics & Data
- Country Indicators for Foreign Policy, Paterson School of International Affairs, Carleton University, Ottawa
An on-going effort to identify and assemble statistical information conveying the key features of the political, economic, social and cultural environments of countries around the world.
- DSSC Data Service, Columbia University
Located in 215 Lehman Library, the DSSC Data Service offers the University community access to a wide variety of numerical data resources and related services.
- The Economist Intelligence Unit
Includes full-text databases, e.g. Country Reports, regional newsletters, and a time series database providing information and data on over 190 countries. The time series database provides 270 series for 115 countries.
- EIU Country Data
An analytical database of worldwide economic indicators and forecasts, covering more than 270 statistical variables in series for each of 115 countries.
- eldis Country Profiles
Provides profiles of Agriculture, Environment, Economics, Gender, Politics, Education, and Health, in addition to current news, maps, statistics, CIA and IMF country profiles, industrial and trade profiles, and human rights records; from the Electronic Development and Environment Information System.
- EuroStat: Statistical Office of the European Communities
Or in print: EuroStat Yearbook. Biennial.
Call Number: HA1107 .E89
Provides statistical tables from over 70 U.S. Federal Government agencies. Coverage varies by file.
- FIRST (Facts on International Relations and Security Trends)
FIRST draws upon the factual databases maintained by its project partners to create country profiles, including: Membership, agreements and events, Conflicts and peace keeping activities, Arms production and trade, Military expenditure, Weapons of mass destruction, Armed forces and conventional weapon holdings, Political system and country indicators, and Other reference data.
A general portal, with section on News, Players, Analysis, and Numbers.
- International Data Base (IDB), from the U.S. Census Bureau
A computerized data bank containing statistical tables of demographic, and socio-economic data for all countries of the world.
- Millennium Indicators
A framework of 8 goals, 18 targets and 48 indicators to measure progress towards the Millennium Development goals was adopted by a consensus of experts from the United Nations Secretariat in consultation with IMF, OECD and the World Bank, and other specialized agencies of the UN System.
- SourceOECD Weekly
OECD information on a country: annual reports, country surveys/reviews, news, policy briefs, other reports and working papers and reports from 1998 to the present.
- LexisNexis Statistical Insight. Monthly.
Washington, D.C. Congressional Information Service, 1973-
The LexisNexis Statistical database provides comprehensive access to statistical data. Many of the U.S. government sources are linked to the full text of the data, while state, private, and IGO sources are cited, allowing the researcher to then locate the statistical source in the library, either in print or as part of the microfiche service which accompanies the printed index. Print versions are:
- United Nations Statistics Division
Provides statistics from more than 190 countries.
- International Conflict Resolution
Guide with selected resources for research in conflict resolution
- International Security Policy & Military Affairs
A selective annotated guide to library materials and Internet resources on international security policy and military affairs.
- U.S. Government Documents
Columbia University Libraries
- U.S. Foreign Policy
A selective guide to resources for conducting research on United States foreign policy