Selected News Resources
- CLIO: Columbia Libraries Online Catalog
Search for holdings of newspaper and magazine titles. CLIO is the online catalog for the Columbia and Barnard libraries.
An online catalog of the collections of 24,000 member libraries of the OCLC consortium, comprising more than 36 million records for books, serials, manuscript collections, audiovisual materials, computer files, and other media.
- Center for Research Libraries
Find primary sources, and rare materials
Newspapers & Magazines
Full-text articles from alternative press publications.
- China core newspaper databases
Full-text electronic articles of over 300 major newspapers in China at national, regional, and local levels.
- Ethnic newsWatch
Full-text newspaper, magazine, and journal articles from the ethnic, minority, and native press in the U.S. Coverage is from 1960 to date.
Full-text business information; general news and current event coverage.
- Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) Daily Reports
Full-text translations of foreign news media from all over the world, covering 1974-1996. For coverage 1996-present, see World News Connection below.
Full-text and abstracts of a wide variety of feminist and gender studies periodicals.
- Historical black newspapers
Full text and full-image articles from African American newspapers: Atlanta daily world, Los Angeles sentinel, New York Amsterdam news, Pittsburgh courier, and The Chicago defender.
- The Nation digital archive
Searchable full text archive of The Nation published from 1865 - present.
Links to over 4000 newspapers, magazines, broadcasters, & news services worldwide.
Covers business, economics, management, health, news and general interest journals and newspapers.
- Proquest Historical Newspapers
Fulltext archive of the Atlanta Constitution, Boston Globe, Chicago Tribune, Los Angeles Times, New York Times, Wall Street Journal, Washington Post.
- The Times Archive (1785-1985)
Full-text articles from the Times of London.
- World News Connection
Full-text summaries and translations into English of newspaper articles, conference proceedings, radio and television broadcasts, periodicals, non-classified technical reports and local media sources from around the world. Specializes in socioeconomic, political, scientific, technical, and environmental issues and events. Coverage is 1996-present.
- DevNews Media Center
Current development news from the World Bank.
- Global Security Newswire
Daily news on nuclear, biological and chemical weapons, terrorism and related issues.
- Institute for War & Peace Reporting
An independent media group which focuses on the Balkans, the Caucasus, and other areas in Eastern Europe and the former Soviet Union, IWPR "aims to inform the international debate on conflict and provides training and a platform for independent media and other democratic voices."
- ISI Emerging Markets
Newspapers and wire services (both in original languages and English translation) and detailed financial information from China, India, and countries in South America, Eastern Europe, and the former Soviet Union.
- Lexis-Nexis Academic Universe
A full text news, business, legal, and reference database.
- RFE/RL Newsline
RFE/RL Newsline is a daily report of developments in Eastern Europe, Russia, the Caucasus and Central Asia. Archived content up to May 2008.