Public Administration: Information Sources
- CLIO: Columbia Libraries Online Catalog
CLIO is the online catalog for the Columbia and Barnard libraries. It includes over 4 million records for books, journal or newspaper titles (not articles), online resources, government documents, microforms, sound or video recordings, archival collections, etc.
- Pegasus: Columbia University Law School Library Online Catalog
Pegasus includes: U.S. federal and state law, selected Commonwealth jurisdictions, major foreign language collections and, since 1983, vernacular and Western language materials pertaining to law in Japan and the People's Rep. of China.
An online catalog of the collections of 24,000 member libraries of the OCLC consortium, comprising more than 36 million records for books, serials, manuscript collections, audiovisual materials, computer files, and other media.
- Borrow Direct
A borrowing service offered by the university libraries of Columbia, Brown, Cornell, Dartmouth, Pennsylvania, Princeton, and Yale. It is designed to allow students, faculty and staff to request (and receive in four days) books directly from each other's collections.
- Guess, George M.
Cases in Public Policy Analysis 2nd ed.
Washington, D.C.: Georgetown University Press, 2000.
Call Number: H97 .G84 2000 (Copies available in multiple locations)
- Handbook of Research Methods in Public Administration. Gerald J. Miller, Ed.
New York : Marcel Dekker, c1999.
Call Number: JF1338.A2 H34 1999 (Copies available in multiple locations)
- Basic Documents of American Public Administration, 1776-1950.
Call Number: JK411 .B3
- Basic Documents of American Public Administration Since 1950.
Call Number: JK411 .B32 1982
- Handbook of Public Information Systems G. David Garson, Editor.
Call Number: JF1525 .A8 H36 2000 (Copies available in multiple locations)
- Handbook of Public Policy Evaluation
Call Number: H97 .H359 2002 (Copies available in multiple locations)
- Handbook of Research Methods in Public Administration
Call Number: JF1338.A2 H34 1999 (Copies available in multiple locations)
- Handbook of State Government Administration.
Call Number: JK2443 .H35 2000 (Copies available in multiple locations)
- Encyclopedia of American Public Policy.
Call Number: JK468.P64 J33 1999 (Copies available in multiple locations)
- The Guide to NYC Public Records. 4th ed.
Call Number: KFN 5752 .K76 1992g (Copies available in multiple locations)
- Handbook of Comparative Public Administration in the Asia-Pacific Basin.
Call Number: JQ24 .H36 1999
- International Encyclopedia of Public Policy and Administration. 4 vols. Jay M. Shafritz, Ed.
Call Number: H97 .I574 1998 (Copies available in multiple locations)
- Comparative Public Administration 2 v.
Call Number: JF1351 .C5854 1999
- The American Political Dictionary. 9th ed.
Call Number: JK9 .P55 1993
- Public Administration Schools on the Web
An alphabetical listing of schools, from the University of Delaware Public Affairs Institute.
- National Directory of State Agencies. Annual.
Washington, D.C.: Information Resources Press. 1974/75-
Call Number: JK2443 .N37 (Copies available in multiple locations)
- The New York State Directory. Annual.
Albany, N.Y.: The Empire State Report. 1985/86-
Call Number: JK3430 .N56 (Copies available in multiple locations)
- Green Book: Official Directory of the City of New York. Annual.
New York: City Record Office. 1984/1985-
Call Number: JS1222 .A3 N4 (Copies available in multiple locations)
- The Municipal Year Book. Annual.
Washington, D.C.: International City Management Association. 1976-
Call Number: JS342 .M925 (Copies available in multiple locations)
- Index to Current Urban Documents 2000- .
Citations & full-text for municipal publications.
Full-text articles from more than 600 scholarly journals.
- PAIS International and Archive. Monthly.
Citations and abstracts of public administration research, 1915 -
- Sociological Abstracts.
Includes articles on abuse and neglect, aging, anthropology, criminology, crisis intervention, demography, development policy, education, law and penology, race relations, social psychology, sociology, urban development, urban studies, violence. Coverage 1963 to the present.
- American Society for Public Administration (ASPA)
ASPA, established in 1939, is the largest and most prominent professional association in the field of public administration. The ASPA web site offers information about the association and its activities, fulltext of one of its publications, PA Times, and indexing to the other, the Public Administration Review.
- Association for Public Policy Analysis and Management (APPAM)
APPAM encourages excellence in research, teaching, and practice in the field of public policy analysis and management. The field of interest encompasses decisionmaking and policymaking theory, quantitative and other methods for analyzing public policies and their implementation, the theory and practice of public management, as well as the application of policy analysis theory and methods to substantive public policy problems.
- Conference of Minority Public Administrators
COMPA is a section within ASPA. Its web site provides information about the section's activities, table of contents for its publication, the Journal of Public Management and Social Policy, and links to other related sites.
- International City/County Management Association (ICMA)
Founded in 1914, ICMA is the professional and educational association for administrators serving cities, counties, other local governments, and regional entities around the world. ICMA's mission is to strengthen the quality of local government through professional management.
Nongovernmental Organizations (NGOs)
- Alliance for Redesigning Government
The Alliance is the center of a national network and clearinghouse for state, local, and federal innovators; nonprofit and corporate leaders; and scholars who advocate performance-based, results-driven governance.
- The Brookings Institution
A private, independent, nonprofit research organization which seeks to improve the performance of American institutions, the effectiveness of government programs, and the quality of U.S. public policies.
- Center for Governmental Research (CGR)
An independent nonprofit research organization focusing on municipal, county and metropolitan government, including studies on management and financial analysis.
- Center for Responsive Politics
A nonprofit research center devoted to improving the nation's political system with focus on PAC analysis, campaign financing and the effectivenes of the Federal Elections Commission.
- The Citizens Budget Commission
A nonpartisan, nonprofit civic organization devoted to influencing constructive change in the finances and services of New York City and New York State. CBC was founded in 1932, to analyze the City's finances, evaluate the management of City government, and recommend improvements to municipal officials. In 1984 CBC expanded this analysis to the fiscal affairs of State government.
- The Congressional Institute
A not-for-profit organization dedicated to helping Members of Congress better serve the nation, and helping the public to better understand public policy debates and the operations of the national legislature. Through the sponsorship of educational conferences and seminars, values-based research and this Internet site, the Institute seeks to further discourse on issues of public importance.
- The Heartland Institute
A nonprofit public policy research organization serving the nation's federal and state elected officials, journalists, Heartland Members, and other opinion leaders. Founded in 1984, Heartland was the first think tank in the nation to focus on free-market solutions to state and local public policy problems.
- Institute of Public Administration (IPA)
A private, nonprofit organization established in New York City in 1906, IPA operates worldwide with a program of research, technical assistance, and training.
- National Center for Public Productivity
A research and public service organization devoted to improving productivity in the public sector.
- OMB Watch
A nonprofit research, educational, and advocacy organization that focuses on budget issues, regulatory policy, nonprofit advocacy, access to government information, and activities at the Office of Management and Budget (OMB).
- Public Agenda Online
Public Agenda is a nonpartisan, nonprofit public opinion research and citizen education organization. Its two-fold mission is: help leaders better understand the public's point of view on major policy issues, and help citizens better understand critical policy issues so they can make their own more informed and thoughtful decisions. The site analyzes some two dozen public policy issues.
A nonprofit institution that helps improve public policy through research and analysis. The RAND Home Page provides online access to RAND Abstracts and to the full text of selected reports, issue papers, research briefs and other RAND Publications, as well as a link to the full text of the RAND Research Review, which reports on public policy issues studied in RAND's research programs.